FINAL REJECTION
1. Claims 1-4, 6-11 and 13-22 are presented for examination.
2. The text of those applicable section of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action.
3. The rejections are respectfully maintained that is applicable to the amended claims for applicant's convenience.
4. Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11, 13 and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glover et al. (Glover), US publication no. 2009/0249862 in view of Sato (Sato), US publication no. 2011/0176275 and Nishida (Nishida), US publication no. 2005/0246514.
As per claim 1, Glover teaches a method comprising:
measuring an air temperature at an air intake of a fan that cools a hardware processing unit of a computing device [para 23, 25];
adjusting a rotational speed for the fan based on the air temperature at the air intake of the fan and at least one additional parameter measured around a time of measuring the temperature of the air; and sending, to the fan, an instruction to rotate at the rotational speed [figure 2; para 9, 23, 25].
Glover fails to teach of measuring an internal temperature of the hardware processing unit using a thermometer internal to the hardware processing unit and at least one additional parameter including the internal temperature of the hardware
processing unit.
Sato teaches of measuring a temperature (internal temperature) of the hardware processing unit [figure 2; para 4-5, 68]; adjusting a rotational speed for the fan based on the air temperature at the air intake of the fan and at least one additional parameter measured around a time of measuring the temperature of the air, the at least one additional parameter including the temperature of the hardware processing unit [para 13; claim 1].
Nishida teaches of measuring an internal temperature of the hardware processing unit using a thermometer [11B, figure 1] internal to the hardware processing unit [11, figure 1; para 23].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention to combine the teachings of Glover and Sato and Nishida because they disclose a fan cooling system, the specify teachings of Sato and Nishida stated above would have further enhanced the performance and functionality of Glover system to obtain predictable results.
Glover teaches:
[0009] One embodiment of the invention provides a method for measuring air density. The method comprises inducing air flow through a computer chassis at a known air
flow rate, measuring the temperature of the air at an air intake to the computer chassis, applying a known amount of thermal energy to a heat sink disposed within the chassis, measuring the temperature of the heat sink while the thermal energy is being applied, determining the air density as a function of the air flow rate and the difference between the intake air temperature and the heat sink temperature, and adjusting the air flow rate through the computer chassis in consideration of the air density. Typically, the air flow is induced by a fan, and the step of adjusting the air flow rate includes controlling the fan speed. Optionally, the steps of applying a known amount of thermal energy and determining the air density are performed periodically, such as at initial setup of a computer system. The thermal energy applied to the heat sink may be produced by a
dedicated resistance heater or a processor receiving a substantially constant processor load.
[0023] A first thermal sensor 28 is secured adjacent the air intake grill 16 to measure the air intake temperature and send an air intake temperature signal to the controller 26. A second thermal sensor 30 is secured on a downstream portion or fin of the heat sink 24 to measure the heat sink temperature and second a heat sink temperature signal to the controller 26. Because the controller 26 can control the heat-generating
device 22 and control the fan motor 19, and because the controller 26 monitors the temperature signal from the air intake thermal sensor 28 and monitors the temperature signal from the heat sink thermal sensor 30, the controller 26 is able to determine the density of the air flowing through the chassis.
[0025] In accordance with this embodiment, the air flow is induced through the chassis and controlled at a known air flow rate (step 40) and the ambient air intake temperature is measured (step 42). A known amount of thermal energy is applied to a heat sink disposed in the chassis for exposure to the air flow (step 44) and the temperature of the heat sink is measured(step 46). Then, the air density can be determined (step 48) as a function of the air flow rate and the difference between the intake air temperature and the heat sink temperature when the known amount of thermal energy is applied.
Having determined the air density, the air flow rate through the computer chassis may be adjusted in consideration of the air density (step 50).
Sato teaches:
[0013] According to an aspect of an embodiment of the invention, a cooling controlling apparatus that cools an electronic apparatus includes a cooling fan that discharges air in an inside of the electronic apparatus to an outside of the electronic apparatus; an intake air temperature detector that detects a temperature of air taken into the electronic apparatus by the cooling fan; a part temperature detector that detects a
temperature of an electronic part arranged inside the electronic apparatus; and a fan controller that controls a rotation number of the cooling fan based on the detected temperature of the electronic part and the detected intake air temperature.
[0068] In the system board 20, a temperature sensor 22a adjacent to the device 21a mounted on the system board 20 is arranged. Here, the "device" represents an electronic part such as a semiconductor element which generates heat according to an operation or a heat generating part which generates heat. The temperature sensor 22a is a temperature sensor such as a thermistor and a semiconductor temperature sensor which detects a temperature of the device 21a. Similarly, temperature sensors 22b and 22c respectively adjacent to the devices 21b and 21c are arranged. The temperature sensors 22b and 22c are temperature sensors which detect the temperatures of the devices 21b and 21c, respectively.
Nishida teaches:
[0023] The processor 11 comprises an arithmetic section 11A to execute the programs stored in the memory 13, and a temperature sensor 11B to measure an internal temperature of the processor 11, which is related to the heat generated from the processor 11 based on the operation status of the arithmetic section 11A. Information on the temperature measured by the temperature sensor 11B is supplied to a
FAN/temperature controller 22. The FAN/temperature controller 22 controls the driving of a cooling fan 22 to cool the processor 11 based on the temperature information supplied from the temperature sensor 11B.
As per claim 2, Glover teaches of measuring the air temperature comprises measuring the air temperature via a temperature sensor coupled to the fan and located next to the air intake of the fan [figure 1; para 21, 23].
As per claim 3, Sato teaches of adjusting the rotational speed for the fan based on the air temperature at the air intake comprises increasing the rotational speed for the fan above a current rotational speed of the fan in response to detecting that the air temperature has surpassed an ambient temperature threshold [para 47, 52, 77, 79].
As per claim 4, Sato teaches of adjusting the rotational speed for the fan based on the air temperature at the air intake comprises decreasing the rotational speed for the fan below a current rotational speed of the fan in response to detecting that the air temperature has decreased below an ambient temperature threshold [para 47, 52, 77, 79].
As per claim 6, Glover teaches the at least one additional parameter comprises a current electrical power usage of the hardware processing unit [figure 1; para 22, 25].
As per claim 8, Glover teaches the at least one additional parameter comprises a current electrical power usage of the hardware processing unit [figure 1, para 22, 25]. Nishida teaches that at least one additional parameter comprises an internal temperature of the hardware processing unit [figure 1; para 23].
As per claim 21, Nishida teaches the thermometer is arranged within a casing
of the hardware processing unit [figure 1; para 23].
5. Claims 7, 9, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glover et al. (Glover), US publication no. 2009/0249862 in view of Sato (Sato), US publication no. 2011/0176275 and Nishida (Nishida), US publication no. 2005/0246514 and Shabbir et al. (Shabbir), US publication no. 2021/0329813.
As per claim 7, Glover fails to teach that the at least one additional parameter comprises an expected acoustic output of the fan at the rotational speed.
Shabbir teaches that the at least one additional parameter comprises an expected acoustic output of the fan at the rotational speed [para 6, 51-2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention to combine the teachings of Glover and Sato and Shabbir because they disclose a fan cooling system, the specify teachings of Shabbir stated above would have further enhanced the performance and functionality of Glover system to obtain predictable results.
As per claim 9, Sato teaches of detecting that at least one of an internal hardware processing unit temperature and the air temperature has surpassed a temperature threshold [figure 3B; para 47, 52, 73-74, 77, 79]; and Shabbir teaches of displaying an alert to a user while the threshold is surpassed [para 47].
As per claim 10, Shabbir teaches displaying a graphical user interface on a display of the computing device that comprises the air temperature at the air intake of
the fan [figure 9; para 47, 48].
As to claims 11, 13-18 and 22, basically are the corresponding elements that are carried out the method of operating step in claims 1-4, 6-10 and 21. Accordingly, claims 11, 13-18 and 22 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-4, 6-10 and 21.
As to claims 19 and 20, directed to a computer-readable medium storing the computer readable instructions to perform the method of steps executed by the system as set forth in claims 11 and 13. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
6. Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
8. In the remarks, applicants argued in substance that Glover and Sato and Nishida fail to disclose " i. measuring an internal temperature of the hardware processing using a thermometer internal to the hardware processing unit. " and “ii. adjusting a rotational speed for the fan based on ... at least one additional parameter including the internal temperature of the hardware processing unit.”.
9. In response to applicant’s argument, Nishida discloses the limitation “measuring an internal temperature of the hardware processing using a thermometer internal to the hardware processing unit” [para 23]. And Sato discloses the limitation “adjusting a rotational speed for the fan based on ... at least one additional parameter including the internal temperature of the hardware processing unit” [para 13, claim 1].
Also see detailed action above.
Conclusion
10. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115