DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 19, the claim needs to end with a period “.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a chirplet pre-processing module (Claims 5-7, 9); deciper module (Claim 10); a multilateration module (Claim 11-12); an estimator (Claim 13); a collimator, a lens or a fiber optic connector (Claim 16); fiber optics, a fiber optic beam splitter (Claim 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Computation module (Claim 1, 5, 10, 11, 13)
Chirplet pre-processing module (Claim 5, 6, 7, 9)
Decipher module (Claim 10, 12)
Multilateration module (Claim 11, 12)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “Computation module (Claim 1, 5, 10, 11, 13), Chirplet pre-processing module (Claim 5, 6, 7, 9), Decipher module (Claim 10, 12), Multilateration module (Claim 11, 12)” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification fails to disclose the corresponding structure used for the listed claim limitations such a “CPU, Computer, image processor or a processor” for preforming the claimed functions. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 2-4, 8, 14-20 are rejected because of there dependency on claims listed above.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As discussed above, claims 1, 5-7, 9-13 is indefinite for failure to disclose adequate structure in the specification. Because there is inadequate disclose of the claimed invention, the inventor has also not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the invention. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Massey et al. (2006/0187470).
Claim 1
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses a system for optical metrology, the system comprising: one or more sensors (Fig. 1, Ref. 10; optical metrology sensor assembly) communicatively (light source producing a beam is the communication) coupled with one or more optical metric markers (Fig. 1, Ref. 16; reflector cube corner); a computation module (Fig. 6, Ref. 65; control processor) communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors (Fig. 1, Ref. 10), wherein the computation module (Fig. 6, Ref. 65) is configured to receive data from the one or more sensors (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) and one or more optical metric markers (Fig. 1, Ref. 16)(Para. 0055); and a transmission structure with one or more surfaces (Fig. 5, Characterized Structure), wherein the one or more optical metric markers (Fig. 5, Ref. 51) are located on the one or more surfaces (Fig. 5, Characterized Structure).
Claim 3
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses at least one optical design of an emitted signal from the one or more sensors (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) comprises a circular or elliptical cone (Para. 0054).
Claim 4
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses the transmission structure (Fig. 5, Characterized Structure) comprises a space object (Para. 0001; spacecraft structures).
Claim 14
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses one or more physical attributes of the one or more optical metric markers are adjustable (Fig. 5, Ref. 51; the markers Ref. 51 are adjustable for being place in different positions on the characterized structure).
Claim 15
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses changing the one or more physical attributes (Having more than one reflector Ref. 51) increases an ability of the system to identify adjustments in RF transmission (Therefore, having more than one reflector Ref. 51 allows the system to identify changes in the transmission)(Para. 0049).
Claim 16
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses one or more sensors comprise one or more of a collimator, a lens, or a fiber optic connector (Fig. 1, Ref. 14, 15; lenses).
Claim 17
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses one or more sensors (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) periodically transmits one or more optical signals to the one or more optical metric markers (Fig. 1, Ref. 16) (Para. 0044; modulation source).
Claim 18
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses the one or more optical signals transmit a delayed intervals (time delay), wherein the delayed intervals differentiate information received by the one or more sensors (Fig. 1, Ref. 10)(Para.0057).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-13, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massey et al. (2006/0187470).
Claim 2
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses the claimed invention except for one or more a shape, a size, or a coating of the one or more optical metric markers define a range. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Massey et al. (2006/0187470) with a shape, a size, or a coating of the optical marker since it was well known in the art that shape and size of markers are crucial for accurately measuring the dimensions and geometrics of objects being inspected, therefore the optical metrology system can achieve high-resolution and high-precision measurements.
Claims 5-8
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses the claimed invention except for a chirplet pre-processing module communicatively coupled with the computation module or one or more sensors, wherein the chirplet pre-processing module is configured to calculate a range velocity and a corrected range or one or more sensors detect motion; the chirplet pre-processor receives OFDR frequency data and the OFDR frequency data comprise a Fourier transform of the time data. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Massey et al. (2006/0187470) with chirplet pre-processing module and functions listed above since it was well known in the art that using a chirplet pre-processing module allows for the analysis of signals whose frequency content changes over time, therefore allowing the transforms to extract information from signals for improved accuracy of range velocity and corrected range calculation.
Claim 9
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses the claimed invention except for chirplet pre-processor limits risk of inaccuracies due to structural vibrations. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Massey et al. (2006/0187470) with chirplet pre-processor listed above since it was well known in the art that a chirplet pre-processor is used to limit the risk of inaccuracies by applying a series of mathematical transformations and filters to help smooth out the signals which reduce the effects of vibration, therefore enhancing the accuracy of the measurements.
Claim 10
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses the claimed invention except for a decipher module is configured to associate a range with one or more sensors and one or more optical metric markers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Massey et al. (2006/0187470) with a decipher module since it was well known in the art that a decipher module ensures that each measurement is correctly linked to its corresponding sensor or optical marker, therefore maintaining the systems accuracy and reliability.
Claim 11, 12
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses the claimed invention except for a multilateration module communicatively coupled with the computation module, wherein the multilateration module is configured to translate a range into a coordinate or multilateration module periodically receives a range and a first range rate set with sensor and optical metric marker metadata from the deciphering module and output coordinates of correlated sensors and optical metric markers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Massey et al. (2006/0187470) with a multilateration module since it was well known in the art that using a multilateration module can accurately determine the position of an object by calculating the distance to multiple known locations, therefore helping to achieve a more reliable and repeatable measurement.
Claim 13
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses the claimed invention except for an estimator communicatively coupled with the computation module, wherein the estimator is configured to characterize a structure from information from the computation module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Massey et al. (2006/0187470) with an estimator since it was well known in the art that an estimator is used to convert raw, indirect optical signals into high-precision data with complex data fitting and noise reduction, therefore allowing for high-speed detection.
Claim 19
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses the claimed invention except for fiber optics of predetermined lengths between a fiber optic beam splitter and position sensors, wherein the predetermined lengths at partially define a signal delay. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Massey et al. (2006/0187470) with fiber optics and fiber optic beam splitter listed above since it was well known in the art that having predetermined fiber optic path lengths with a fiber optic beams splitter ensures that the optical signals are precisely timed and synchronized for accurate phase-based measurement, therefore allowing the device to distinguish, isolate, and accurately measure signals from multiple points or paths.
Claim 20
Massey et al. (2006/0187470) discloses the one or more signal delays (time delay) form a unique and identifiable range (two-dimensional position) based at least partially on measurements from each of the one or more sensors (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) (Para. 0057).
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 February 25, 2026