DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 03/05/2026, in which claims 1-2, 11-12 were amended, claims 3-8, 14-20 were withdrawn, claim 9 was cancelled, has been entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application KR10-2021-0154287 filed on 11/10/2021. The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application KR10-2021-0154287 has been received.
Filing Dates for the Claims — All Claims Not Entitled to Priority Date
To be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application KR10-2021-0154287 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application KR10-2021-0154287 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The foreign application must adequately support the claimed subject matter, meaning satisfy the written description and enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. 37 C.F.R. 1.55(g)(3)(ii)-(iii). To demonstrate compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a), applicant should point to support for their claimed subject matter in their translations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first, second, and third bridges". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of this Action, the above limitation of claim 10 will be interpreted and examined as -- the first, second, and third bridge portions--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IM et al. (WO2021145523), hereafter US Pub. 20230028524 is used as English translation, in view of in view of Nariya (US Pub. 20200030913) and Kim et al. (US Pub. 20220181595).
Regarding claim 1, IM et al. discloses in Fig. 5, Fig. 13-Fig. 14, Fig. 16-Fig. 18 an apparatus for manufacturing a display device, the apparatus comprising:
a mask [MK1, MK2, FP] arranged to face a substrate [M-SUB] and defining a first direction [DR2], a second direction [DR1] intersecting the first direction, and a third direction [DR3] orthogonal to the first and second directions and corresponding to a thickness direction of the mask [MK1, MK2, FP][Fig. 5, Fig. 13-14, Fig. 17-Fig. 18]; and
a deposition source [CR, NZ] arranged to face the mask [MK1, MK2, FP],
wherein the mask [MK1, MK2, FP] comprises:
a frame [FP] comprising a plurality of first frames that extend in the first direction [DR2] and a plurality of second frames that extend in the second direction [DR1] that intersects the first direction [Fig. 17]; and
openings [OP2] defined by the plurality of first frames and the plurality of second frames;
wherein the plurality of second frames comprise a first frame portion, a second frame portion, and a third frame portion arranged along the first direction [DR2][Fig. 13-Fig. 14, Fig. 13-14],
wherein the first frame portion comprises a first protrusion extending in the third direction [DR3] to a first contact surface, a second protrusion extending in the third direction [DR3] to a second contact surface, and a first bridge portion extending in the first direction [DR2] between the first and second protrusions [Fig. 13-Fig. 14],
wherein the first contact surface and the second contact surface are spaced apart along the first direction [DR2] and are configured to directly contact the substrate [Fig. 5, Fig. 13-Fig. 14],
wherein the second frame portion comprises a third protrusion extending in the third direction [DR2] to a third contact surface, a fourth protrusion extending in the third direction [DR3] to a fourth contact surface, and a second bridge portion extending in the first direction [DR2] between the third and fourth protrusions, wherein the third contact surface and the fourth contact surface are spaced apart along the first direction and are configured to directly contact the substrate [Fig. 5, Fig. 13-Fig. 14];
wherein third frame portion comprises a fifth protrusion extending in the third direction [DR3] to a fifth contact surface, a sixth protrusion extending in the third direction [DR3] to a sixth contact surface, and a third bridge portion extending in the first direction [DR2] between the fifth and sixth protrusions, wherein the fifth contact surface and the sixth contact surface are spaced apart along the first direction and are configured to directly contact the substrate [Fig. 5, Fig. 13-Fig. 14],
wherein the openings comprise a first opening extending continuously between the second and third contract surfaces, and a second opening extending continuously between the fourth and fifth contract surfaces [Fig. 13-Fig. 14, Fig. 17-Fig. 18];
wherein a plurality of laser marks [PT] are disposed on each of the first, second, and third bridge portions [Fig. 13-Fig. 14, paragraph [0149]];
wherein the plurality of laser marks [PT] is generated by irradiating a laser beam such that areas of the plurality of second frames in which the plurality of laser marks [PT] are located has a greater number of particles having a face-centered cubic structure compared to areas of the plurality of second frames in which the plurality of laser marks [PT] are not located, and
wherein the areas of the plurality of second frames in which the plurality of laser marks [PT] are located are co-planar with the areas of the plurality of second frames in which the plurality of laser marks [PT] are not located in a plane including the first and second directions.
It is noted that the limitation of “areas of the plurality of second frames in which the plurality of laser marks are located has a greater number of particles having a face-centered cubic structure compared to areas of the plurality of second frames in which the plurality of laser marks are not located” directs to property of the areas of the plurality of second frames after irradiating by a laser beam. IM et al. discloses areas of the plurality of second frames irradiating by a laser beam, thus areas of the plurality of second frames in which the plurality of laser marks are located would have the claimed property of “having a greater number of particles having a face-centered cubic structure compared to areas of the plurality of second frames in which the plurality of laser marks are not located”. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01 I.
IM et al. fails to disclose
wherein the plurality of laser marks faces the deposition source,
Nariya discloses in Fig. 1B, paragraph [0066]
wherein the plurality of laser marks [116] faces downward.
IM et al. discloses the deposition source is formed below the mask. Thus, the combination of Nariya and Im et al. would result to “the plurality of laser marks faces the deposition source.”
For further support for location of laser marks with respect to the deposition source, Kim is cited.
Kim discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 12
wherein the plurality of laser marks [115] faces the deposition source.
Kim further discloses in Figs. 17-18 that alternative, the plurality of laser marks [115] faces away the deposition source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim and Nariya into the method of IM et al. to include wherein the plurality of laser marks faces the deposition source. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify IM et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable position of plurality of laser marks with respect to the deposition source. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, IM et al. fails to disclose
wherein the plurality of laser marks are arranged spaced apart in the second direction.
Kim et al. discloses in Fig. 9A
wherein the plurality of laser marks [125] are arranged spaced apart in the second direction [X direction].
Nariya discloses in Fig. 1A
wherein the plurality of laser marks [116] are arranged spaced apart in the second direction.
Regarding claim 10, IM et al. discloses in Fig. 13, Fig. 14
wherein the plurality of laser marks [PT] are arranged on upper surfaces of the first, second, and third bridge portions that face the first, second, third fourth, fifth, and sixth contact surfaces.
Nariya discloses in Fig. 1B
the plurality of laser marks [116] are arranged on bottom surfaces of portions.
Kim suggests in Fig. 2, Fig. 12 that the plurality of laser marks [115] are arranged on bottom surfaces of bridge portions.
Thus, the combination of IM et al., Kim et al. and Nariya would suggest “wherein the plurality of laser marks are arranged on (bottom) surfaces of the first, second, and third bridges that face opposite the first, second, third fourth, fifth, and sixth contact surfaces.”
Regarding claim 11, IM et al. discloses in Fig. 13-Fig. 14, Fig. 17
wherein the first, second, and third bridge portions have a thickness different from portions of the first and second frame portions that face the first opening, portions of the second and third frame portions that face the second opening.
Regarding claim 12, Im et al. disclose in Fig. 13, Fig. 14, Fig. 17
when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the frame, the plurality of laser marks [PT] are located between the first and second protrusions, between the third and fourth protrusions, and between the fifth and sixth protrusions.
Regarding claim 13, Im et al. discloses in Fig. 17, Fig. 18
wherein the mask is provided integrally.
Kim discloses in Fig. 1-2, 6-7, 10-12
wherein the mask [100] is provided integrally;
Nariya discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B
wherein the mask is provided integrally.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 10-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art discloses similar materials, devices and methods.
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893