DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-29 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the fourth action on the merits.
As of the date of this action, information disclosure statements (IDS) have been filed on 10/18/2023, and 2/13/2025 and have been reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 9-12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzue et al. (US #5,245,779).
Regarding claim 2, Suzue teaches a fishing pole grip comprising: a fishing pole grip subassembly (Column 5, lines 1-7, this teaches that the multi-layered invention can be applied to the grip of the fishing pole as well as the rod) including a shell (1), a overmolded layer (3), and a carbon fiber tube (2, and 13, Column 2, lines 42-45, and Column 3, lines 21-30, this teaches that the tapered section can be made from a prepreg sheet, and that the prepreg sheet can be made of carbon fibers), the carbon fiber tube and overmolded layer overlying the shell and forming a joint (2, and 3 as seen in figure 1, and Column 2, lines 46-50); the overmolded layer being in contact with the shell (1, and 3 as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Suzue teaches the fishing pole grip of claim 2, wherein the carbon fiber tube forms a distal end portion of the fishing pole grip subassembly (2 as seen in figure 1) and the shell and overmolded layer form a proximal end portion of the fishing pole grip subassembly (1, 3, and 5 as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Suzue teaches the fishing pole grip of claim 9, wherein the carbon fiber tube forms an exterior surface of the distal end portion of the fishing pole grip subassembly (2 as seen in figure 1) and the overmolded layer forms an exterior surface of the proximal end portion of the fishing pole grip subassembly (3, and 5 as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Suzue teaches the fishing pole grip of claim 2, wherein a proximal end of the carbon fiber tube and a distal end of the overmolded layer abut one another (2, and 3 as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Suzue teaches the fishing pole grip of claim 2, wherein the fishing pole grip subassembly has a longitudinal axis, the joint formed by the carbon fiber tube and the overmolded layer being tapered relative to the longitudinal axis (2, and 3 as seen in figure 1, as can be seen the two layers abut when there is a significant change in the outer angle of the body).
Regarding claim 21, Suze teaches the fishing pole grip of claim 2, wherein the carbon fiber tube is a distinct entity from the shell and is connected to the shell (1, and 2 as seen in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzue et al. (US #5,245,779) in view of Priebe (US #3,466,783).
Regarding claim 8, Suzue teaches the fishing pole grip of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach that the fishing pole grip subassembly has an hourglass shape. However, Priebe does teach that the fishing pole grip subassembly has an hourglass shape (The grip as seen in figure 3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the grip be hourglass shape because Suzue and Priebe are both multilayered fishing rod grips. The motivation for having the grip be hourglass shape is that it can help to improve the comfort of holding the fishing rod.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzue et al. (US #5,245,779) in view of Iwata et al. (US #11,576,359).
Regarding claim 16, Suzue teaches the fishing pole grip of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach that the joint has an ovoid perimeter. However, Brackett does teach that the joint has an ovoid perimeter (Column 2, lines 52-58, this teaches that the whole handle can have an ovoid handle shape which will inherently result in portions of the perimeter having an ovoid shape). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the perimeter have an ovoid shape because Suzue and Brackett are both fishing handle systems. The motivation for having the perimeter have an ovoid shape is that it can make the handle more comfortable for the user to hold.
Response to Arguments
The examiner agrees with the applicant’s arguments directed to claim 1 and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-7, 14, and 22-29 are allowed.
Claims 13, 15, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM L GMOSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647