Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloemendall (US Pub App 2014/0250717) in view of Cook (US 3,064,831).
Regarding claim 1, BLOEMENDALL discloses a robot (302) comprising:
an auger-based drive system (308);
a memory (18); and
a processor (16) coupled with the memory and configured to:
control movement of the robot relative to a piled granular material in a bulk store, via the auger-based drive system (Para.30-32), such that the robot traverses a first surface of the piled granular material in a mapping pattern (Para.50-52);
record a plurality of three-dimensional locations of the robot during the traversal in the mapping pattern (Para.50-52); and
assemble the plurality of three-dimensional locations of the robot into a three- dimensional surface map of the first surface of the piled granular material (Para.50-52).
Bloemendall does not further specifically disclose an auger atop a surface of piled granular material.
Cook teaches an unloader for storage containers wherein an auger sweep may be on an exposed surface of granular material (Fig.2, Col.4, lines 35+).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Bloemendall in view of Cook to have an auger atop a surface of piled granular material in order to aid in discharge.
Regarding claim 2, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the processor is further configured to:
responsive to the bulk store being filled with additional granular material onto the first surface such that a second surface is formed (Para.39), control movement of the robot (302) via the auger- based drive system (308), such that the robot traverses the second surface in a second mapping pattern (Para.39-40);
record a second plurality of three-dimensional locations of the robot during the traversal in the second mapping pattern (Para.39-41); and
assemble the second plurality of three-dimensional locations of the robot into a second three-dimensional surface map of the second surface of the piled granular material (Para.39-41, 50-52, Figs.10-12).
Regarding claim 3, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the processor is further configured to:
capture, by a sensor of the robot (34), a measurement of an environmental characteristic at each of a plurality of the plurality of three-dimensional locations and the plurality of second three-dimensional locations to achieve a plurality of measurements (Para.31-32); and
assemble measurements of the plurality of measurements, based on their respective three-dimensional locations of capture, into a three-dimensional map of the environmental characteristics of the bulk store (Para.50-52).
Regarding claim 4, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the sensor comprises one of a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, an air flow sensor, a barometric sensor, a carbon dioxide sensor, an optical camera, and an infrared camera (34 is moisture sensor which is a type of humidity sensor).
Regarding claim 5, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the processor is further configured to:
capture, by a sensor of the robot (34), a first measurement of an environmental characteristic at each of a plurality of the three-dimensional locations to achieve a plurality of measurements (Para.31-32); and
assemble measurements of the plurality of measurements, based on their respective three-dimensional locations of capture, into a three-dimensional map of the environmental characteristics of the surface of the piled granular material (Para.50-52).
Regarding claim 6, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the processor is further configured to:
capture, by a second sensor of the robot (34, multiple of), a second measurement of a second environmental characteristic at each of a second plurality of the three-dimensional locations to achieve a plurality of second measurements (Para.31-32); and
assemble measurements of the plurality of second measurements, based on their respective three-dimensional locations of capture, into the three-dimensional map of the environmental characteristics of the surface of the piled granular material (Para.50-52).
Regarding claim 7, BLOEMENDALL further discloses
the sensor is one of a temperature sensor and a humidity sensor (34 is moisture sensor which is a type of humidity sensor).; and
the second sensor is the other of the temperature sensor and the humidity sensor (34, multiple of, is moisture sensor which is a type of humidity sensor).
Regarding claim 9, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the processor configured to control movement of the robot via the auger-based drive system, relative to a piled granular material in a bulk store, such that the robot traverses a first surface of the piled granular material in a mapping pattern (Para.39-41) comprises the processor configured to:
control movement of the robot via the auger-based drive system, relative to the piled granular material in the bulk store, such that the robot traverses the first surface of the piled granular material in the mapping pattern while the bulk store is being filled with additional granular material atop the first surface (Para.39).
Regarding claim 10, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the processor configured to control movement of the robot via the auger-based drive system, relative to a piled granular material in a bulk store, such that the robot traverses a first surface of the piled granular material in a mapping pattern (Para.39-41) comprises the processor configured to:
control movement of the robot via the auger-based drive system, relative to the piled granular material in the bulk store, such that the robot traverses the first surface of the piled granular material in the mapping pattern while granular material of the piled granular material is being withdrawn from the bulk store (Para.53).
Regarding claim 11, BLOEMENDALL discloses a method of mapping within a bulk store of granular material, the method comprising:
traversing in a mapping pattern, by a robot (302) comprising an auger-based drive system (308), a first surface of a piled granular material in a bulk store (Para.30-32);
recording (memory 18), by the robot (302), a plurality of three-dimensional locations of the robot during the traversal in the mapping pattern (Para.50-52); and
assembling, by the robot, the plurality of three-dimensional locations of the robot into a three-dimensional surface map of the first surface of the piled granular material (Para.50-52).
Bloemendall does not further specifically disclose an auger atop a surface of piled granular material.
Cook teaches an unloader for storage containers wherein an auger sweep may be on an exposed surface of granular material (Fig.2, Col.4, lines 35+).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Bloemendall in view of Cook to have an auger atop a surface of piled granular material in order to aid in discharge.
Regarding claim 12, BLOEMENDALL further discloses
responsive to the bulk store being filled with additional granular material onto the first surface such that a second surface is formed (Para.39), traversing, by the robot (302), the second surface in a second mapping pattern (Para.39-40);
recording a second plurality of three-dimensional locations of the robot during the traversal in the second mapping pattern (Para.39-41); and
assembling the second plurality of three-dimensional locations of the robot into a second three-dimensional surface map of the second surface of the piled granular material (Para.39-41, 50-52, Figs.10-12).
Regarding claim 13, BLOEMENDALL further discloses
capturing, by a sensor of the robot (34), a measurement of an environmental characteristic at each of a plurality of the plurality of three-dimensional locations and the plurality of second three-dimensional locations to achieve a plurality of measurements (Para.31-32; and
assembling measurements of the plurality of measurements, based on their respective three-dimensional locations of capture, into a three-dimensional map of the environmental characteristics of the bulk store.
Regarding claim 14, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the capturing, by a sensor of the robot (34), a measurement of an environmental characteristic each of a plurality of the plurality of three- dimensional locations and the plurality of second three-dimensional locations to achieve a plurality of measurements (Para.31-32) comprises:
capturing one of a temperature measurement, a humidity measurement, an air flow measurement, a barometric measurement, a carbon dioxide measurement, an optical image, and an infrared image (34 is moisture sensor which is a type of humidity sensor).
Regarding claim 15, BLOEMENDALL further discloses
capturing, by a sensor of the robot (34), a first measurement of an environmental characteristic at each of a plurality of the three-dimensional locations to achieve a plurality of measurements (Para.31-32); and
assembling, by the robot, measurements of the plurality of measurements, based on their respective three-dimensional locations of capture, into a three-dimensional map of the environmental characteristics of the surface of the piled granular material (Para.50-52).
Regarding claim 16, BLOEMENDALL further discloses
capturing, by a second sensor of the robot (34, multiple of), a second measurement of a second environmental characteristic at each of a second plurality of the three-dimensional locations to achieve a plurality of second measurements (Para.31-32); and
assembling, by the robot, measurements of the plurality of second measurements, based on their respective three-dimensional locations of capture, into the three-dimensional map of the environmental characteristics of the surface of the piled granular material (Para.50-52).
Regarding claim 17, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the capturing, by a sensor of the robot (34), a first measurement of an environmental characteristic at each of a plurality of the three- dimensional locations comprises:
capturing one of a temperature measurement and a humidity measurement (34 is moisture sensor which is a type of humidity sensor); and
wherein capturing, by a second sensor of the robot, a second measurement of a second environmental characteristic at each of a second plurality of the three-dimensional locations (Para.31-32) comprises:
capturing the other of the temperature measurement and the humidity measurement (34, multiple of, is moisture sensor which is a type of humidity sensor).
Regarding claim 19, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the traversing in a mapping (Para.39-41) pattern, by a robot (302) comprising an auger-based drive system (308), a first surface of a piled granular material in a bulk store comprises:
traversing in a mapping pattern, by a robot comprising an auger-based drive system, a first surface of a piled granular material in a bulk store while the bulk store is being filled with additional granular material atop the first surface (Para.39).
Regarding claim 20, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the traversing in a mapping pattern (Para.39-41), by a robot comprising an auger-based drive system, a first surface of a piled granular material in a bulk store comprises:
traversing in a mapping pattern, by a robot comprising an auger-based drive system, a first surface of a piled granular material in a bulk store while granular material of the piled granular material is being withdrawn from the bulk store (Para.53).
Regarding claim 21, BLOEMENDALL discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions embodied thereon which, when executed, cause a processor to perform a method of mapping within a bulk store of granular material (Para.30), the method comprising:
traversing in a mapping pattern, by a robot (302) comprising an auger-based drive system (308) under control of the processor (16), a first surface of a piled granular material in a bulk store (Para.30-32);
recording, by the robot under control of the processor, a plurality of three-dimensional locations of the robot during the traversal in the mapping pattern (Para.50-52); and
assembling, by the robot under control of the processor, the plurality of three- dimensional locations of the robot into a three-dimensional surface map of the first surface of the piled granular material (Para.50-52).
Bloemendall does not further specifically disclose an auger atop a surface of piled granular material.
Cook teaches an unloader for storage containers wherein an auger sweep may be on an exposed surface of granular material (Fig.2, Col.4, lines 35+).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Bloemendall in view of Cook to have an auger atop a surface of piled granular material in order to aid in discharge.
Regarding claim 22, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the method further comprises:
responsive to the bulk store being filled with additional granular material onto the first surface such that a second surface is formed (Para.39), traversing, by the robot under control of the processor, the second surface in a second mapping pattern (Para.39-40);
recording, by the robot under control of the processor, a second plurality of three-dimensional locations of the robot during the traversal in the second mapping pattern (Para.39-41); and
assembling, by the robot under control of the processor, the second plurality of three- dimensional locations of the robot into a second three-dimensional surface map of the second surface of the piled granular material (Para.39-41, 50-52, Figs.10-12).
Regarding claim 23, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the method further comprises:
capturing, by a sensor (34) of the robot under control of the processor, a measurement of an environmental characteristic at each of a plurality of the plurality of three-dimensional locations and the plurality of second three-dimensional locations to achieve a plurality of measurements (Para.31-32); and
assembling, by the robot under control of the processor, measurements of the plurality of measurements, based on their respective three-dimensional locations of capture, into a three- dimensional map of the environmental characteristics of the bulk store (Para.50-52).
Regarding claim 24, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the method further comprises:
capturing, by a sensor of the robot (34) under control of the processor, a first measurement of an environmental characteristic at each of a plurality of the three-dimensional locations to achieve a plurality of measurements (Para.31-32) and
assembling, by the robot under control of the processor, measurements of the plurality of measurements, based on their respective three-dimensional locations of capture, into a three- dimensional map of the environmental characteristics of the surface of the piled granular material (Para.50-52).
Regarding claim 25, BLOEMENDALL further discloses the method further comprises:
capturing, by a second sensor (34, multiple of) of the robot under control of the processor. a second measurement of a second environmental characteristic at each of a second plurality of the three- dimensional locations to achieve a plurality of second measurements (Para.30-32); and
assembling, by the robot under control of the processor, measurements of the plurality of second measurements, based on their respective three-dimensional locations of capture. into the three-dimensional map of the environmental characteristics of the surface of the piled granular material (Para.50-52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the processor configured to control movement of the robot via the auger-based drive system, relative to a piled granular material in a bulk store, such that the robot traverses a first surface of the piled granular material in a mapping pattern comprises the processor configured to: control movement of the robot via the auger-based drive system, relative to the piled granular material in the bulk store, such that the robot traverses the first surface of the piled granular material in the mapping pattern, wherein the traversal of the piled granular material intentionally incites sediment gravity flow in a sloped portion of the piled granular material by disruption of viscosity of the sloped portion through agitation of the sloped portion of the piled granular material by auger rotation of the auger-based drive system.
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 18 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the traversing in a mapping pattern, by a robot comprising an auger-based drive system, a first surface of a piled granular material in a bulk store comprises: traversing in a mapping pattern, by a robot comprising an auger-based drive system, a first surface of a piled granular material in a bulk store, wherein the traversal of the piled granular material intentionally incites sediment gravity flow in a sloped portion of the piled granular material by disruption of viscosity of the sloped portion through agitation of the sloped portion of the piled granular material by auger rotation of the auger-based drive system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/19/2025, with respect to the double patenting rejections, together with the Terminal Disclaimer filed 11/19/2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/2025 with respect to the 102 and 103 rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply based on the new grounds of rejection and new interpretation of the references being used in the current rejection, necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ashley K. Romano/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652