DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on December 15, 2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
gas supply system in claim 1;
flow control device in claim 5.
the gas supply system in claim 1 is being interpreted as being a gas source as seen in Figure 3 reference 42, and
the flow control device in claim 5 is being interpreted as being a known flow controller as defined in Paragraph 0033.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lay et al, US 2019/0093218 A1, in view of Hwang et al, US 2020/0335313 A1, and Bartlett et al, US 9,034,142 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Lay et al teaches an apparatus 200 for feedback control in plasma processing systems using radical sensing, comprising: at least one process gas supply system 210 configured to output at least one process gas 201-203 and at least one precursor gas flow 204-205; at least one plasma source 222 configured to receive the at least one process gas 201-203 and generate at least one radical flow, wherein the at least one precursor gas flow is introduced into the at least one generated radical flow at the entrance of the pipe connected to the at least one processing chamber entrance 233; at least one process chamber 231 in communication with the at least one plasma source 222, wherein the at least one process chamber 231 receives the at least one precursor gas flow and the at least one radical flow and directs at least a portion of the received at least one precursor gas flow and the received at least one radical flow to one or more substrates (Paragraph 0010), the at least one process chamber configured to output at least one process chamber output 234; at least one gas analyzer 240 in communication with and configured to sample the at least one process chamber output 234; and at least one controller 250 communication with at least one of the process gas supply system 210 via control connection 251, at least one plasma source 222 via control connection 252, and at least one process chamber 231 and pump 235 via control connection 253, the controller 250 configured to generate at least one control signal based on data from the at least one gas analyzer 240 via control connection 254 and selectively control at least one of the process gas supply system 210, at least one plasma source 222, and the process chamber 231 and pump 235 (see Paragraph 0029 and 0030). (Figure 2)
Lay et al differs from the present invention in that Lay et al does not teach that: the gas analyzer samples from prior to the process chamber the at least one radical flow; or at least one output valve positioned proximate to or in fluid communication with at least one process chamber output; and control the at least one output valve to control at least one of a flow rate of gas exiting the at least one process chamber or a pressure within the at least one process chamber.
Hwang et al teaches in Figure 6 the use of a gas analyzer 120 prior to the chamber and a gas analyzer 130 downstream of the chamber 400.
Bartlett et al teaches at least one output valve (not labeled Column 13 lines 24-25) positioned proximate to or in fluid communication with at least one process chamber output (Figure 7); and a system controller 722 that controls the at least one output valve to control the flow rate of gas exiting the at least one process chamber and a pressure within the at least one process chamber (Column 13 lines 13-25).
The motivation for adding a gas analyzer prior to the process chamber in the apparatus of Lay et al is to monitor the radicals exiting the remote plasma source or prior to the at least one or more process chambers and to better control the concentration and uniformity of the radicals supplied to the processing chamber as taught by Hwang et al.
The motivation for adding the at least one output valve of Bartlett et al to the apparatus of Lay et al and to control the valve using the controller of Lay et al is to provide a valve and a controller to control the flow of gases out of the processing chamber and the pressure in the processing chamber as taught by Bartlett et al and well known in the art.
The Examiner notes that it has been held that:
applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.). In this case, it would have been obvious to:
add a gas analyzer prior to the process chamber in the apparatus of Lay et al to monitor the radicals exiting the remote plasma source or prior to the at least one or more process chambers and to better control the concentration and uniformity of the radicals supplied to the processing chamber as taught by Hwang et al.
add the at least one output valve of Bartlett et al to the apparatus of Lay et al to better control the flow of gases out of the processing chamber and the pressure in the processing chamber as taught by Bartlett et al and well known in the art.
automation is obvious. (In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958); MPEP 2144.04)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to: add the gas analyzer prior to the process chamber as taught by Hwang et al to the apparatus of Lay et al; to add the valve of Bartlett et al to the apparatus of Lay et al; and to use the controller of Lay et al to control the output valve of Bartlett et al so as to control the flow of gases out of the processing chamber and the pressure in the processing chamber as taught by Bartlett et al and well known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Lay et al teaches during use, said at least one plasma source 222 is configured to generate low-energy ions and atomic radicals in said at least one radical flow, directed into said one or more process chambers 231.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Lay et al teaches at least one gas analyzer further comprising at least one of a mass spectrometer and a special residual gas analyzer (see Paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 5, Lay et al teaches said at least one process gas supply system includes a mass flow controller 211 (see Paragraph 0029), or another flow control device 221, 223 configured to receive the at least one control signal (via control line 251) from the at least one controller 250 based on data from the at least one gas analyzer 240 via control line 254 and to selectively control the mass flow controller or another flow control devices.
Regarding claim 6, Lay et al teaches said at least one controller 250, during use, capable of continuously adjusting one or more operational parameters of the apparatus based on gas analyzer data received from the at least one gas analyzer sampling, in real-time, the radical gas flow from said plasma source. (Paragraph 0029)
Regarding claim 19, Lay et al and Hwang et al teach that the at least one gas analyzer is further configured to sample the at least one process chamber output. (Figure 2)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see arguments entitled “Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) - Written Description Rejection of Claim 19” and “Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. Q 112(d) - Rejection of Claim 19”, filed July 20, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 19 under 112(a) and 112(d) have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed July 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to the arguments directed to the 103 rejection, the Examiner disagrees for the following reasons:
Applicant’s description of Bartlett et al and Hwang et al are accurate.
Applicant’s description of Lay et al is not accurate. Lay et al does teach that the gas analyzer 240 samples only the process-chamber output 234, and the controller 250 responds to that exhaust measurement by adjusting upstream gas delivery (e.g., mass flow controller 211 and valves 221/223) - not by controlling an output valve. However, Lay et al also teaches in Paragraph 0030 that “the Si concentration or the change of Si concentration can be used to determine a time to switch off the RF power on the remote plasma source 222, close the valve 221, and open the bypass valve 223 so as to directly supply the reaction gas for a chemical cleaning process to the reaction chamber 231 without going through the remote plasma source 222” and “when the Si concentration or the change of the Si concentration reaches a predefined threshold value, the computer 250 can provide a control signal through the connection 253 to the reaction chamber heater 232 as well as the vacuum pump 235 to prepare a a temperature and pressure in the reaction chamber for the chemical cleaning process using molecular F.sub.2”. Therefore, the controller of Lay et al uses the Si concentration detected by in-line gas analyzer 240 to shut down the plasma, open and close valves, and control the temperature and pressure of the reaction chamber.
The addition of the pressure control valve and its controller to the apparatus of Lay et al improves the control of the pressure and gas flow exiting the chamber. Lay et al relies on controlling the vacuum pump to control the pressure and gas flow in the reaction chamber. This is inefficient because the pump can only efficiently function in a small range of gas flow and pressure, and the momentum of the pump makes it slow in response to changes in the pressure or gas flow rate. The well-known improvement taught by Bartlett et al uses a valve to control the pressure and gas flow in the reaction chamber. This allows the vacuum pump to be run at it most efficient pressure and speed while the valve can be opened or closed to quickly adjust the pressure and gas flow through the reaction chamber. Thus applying the known technique of Bartlett et al to the known device ready for improvement of Lay et al to yield the predictable results of improved pressure and gas flow control is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
The combination of Lay et al and Bartlett et al controls the pressure and gas flow out of the reaction chamber based on the Si concentration detected by in-line gas analyzer and reported to the controller. The controller sends a control signal from the controller to the valve. Therefore, the combination of Lay et al, Hwang et al, and Bartlett et al teach the claimed invention. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art teaches the technological background of the invention. The cited art contains patents that could be used to reject the claims under 35 USC § 103. These rejections have not been made because they do not provide any additional or different teachings, and if they were applied, would have resulted in an undue multiplication of references. (See MPEP 707.07(g))
The following references could be used to reject at least claim 1 under 103, specifically: US 20230375506 A1; WO 2019241718 A1; US 9034142 B2; and US 20090178714 A1. The following references also teach an outlet valve: WO 2019241718 A1, US 20190035698 A1, JP 2006121072 A, and JP 2006121072 A.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716