DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 11/09/2022 claims 1-13 are pending. Claim 1 is independent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 5 remove “NTC” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue and remove “is” so that it reads “resistance value of the thermistor changes...” for improved readability. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gangsto et al. (USPGPN 20060170398).
With respect to independent claim 1, Gangsto teaches a battery management system with protection and equalization functions (Figs. 1-8; a battery management system with protection and equalization functions, see ¶ [17]).
Gangsto teaches a dedicated battery management IC integrating a battery protection module and an equalization module (Figs. 1-8; a microcontroller 100 integrating a battery protection module 106 and cell balancing module 108).
Gangsto teaches a plurality of sampling circuits coupled between the dedicated battery management IC and a lithium battery pack, wherein the sampling circuits are configured to collect parameters of the lithium battery pack and input the parameters into the dedicated battery management IC for analysis and processing (Figs. 1 and 3A; coulomb counter ADC 114 and voltage ADC 110 and their circuitry are coupled between the microcontroller 100 and the battery pack, wherein the coulomb counter ADC 114 and the voltage ADC 110 collect parameters of the battery pack and input those parameters into the microcontroller 100 for analysis and processing).
Gangsto teaches wherein the parameters comprise voltage, charge-discharge current and battery temperature of the lithium battery pack (Figs. 1, 3A, and 5-6; the coulomb counter ADC 114 measures charge or discharge current of the battery pack (see ¶ [64]) and the voltage ADC 110 measures voltage and temperature of the battery pack).
Gangsto teaches wherein the dedicated battery management IC is configured to analyze and process the parameters collected by the sampling circuits, and output corresponding control signals according to a result of the analysis and processing of the parameters, wherein the control signals comprise a protection signal and an equalization signal (Figs. 1, 3A, 4-6, and 8; the microcontroller 100 is configured to analyze and process the parameters (i.e., current, voltage, and temperature) from the coulomb counter ADC 114 and the voltage ADC 110, and outputs corresponding control signals according to a result of the analysis and processing of the parameters, wherein the control signals comprise a protection signal (i.e., the control signals associated with the protection circuitry of Fig. 8) and an equalization signal (i.e., the control signals associated with the cell balancing circuitry of Fig. 4)).
Gangsto teaches a plurality of execution circuits coupled between the dedicated battery management IC and the lithium battery pack, wherein the execution circuits are configured to receive the control signals output by the dedicated battery management IC, and perform battery protection function and voltage equalization function of the lithium battery pack (Figs. 4 and 8; a cell balancing circuit (see Fig. 4) and a battery protection circuit (see Fig. 8) coupled between the microcontroller 100 and the battery pack, wherein these circuits are configured to receive the control signal outputs from the microcontroller 100 and perform battery protection function and cell balancing function (i.e., voltage equalization) of the battery pack).
Gangsto teaches a protection execution circuit coupled to the battery protection module, wherein the battery protection module is configured to output the protection signal to the protection execution circuit to control the protection execution circuit to perform the battery protection function of the lithium battery pack (Figs. 1 and 8; the battery protection circuitry illustrated in Fig. 8 are coupled to the battery protection module 106, wherein the battery protection module 106 is configured to output the protection signals to the protection circuitry to control these to perform the battery protection function of the battery pack).
Gangsto teaches an equalization execution circuit coupled to the equalization module, wherein the equalization module is configured to output the equalization signal to the equalization execution circuit to control the equalization execution circuit to perform the voltage equalization function of the lithium battery pack (Figs. 1 and 4; the cell balancing circuitry illustrated in Fig. 4 are coupled to the cell balancing module 108; wherein the cell balancing module 108 is configured to output the equalization signals to the cell balancing circuitry to control these to perform cell balancing function (i.e., equalization function) of the battery pack).
With respect to claim 2, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Gangsto teaches wherein the protection execution circuit comprises a charge-discharge control switch coupled in series in a charge-discharge circuit of the lithium battery pack (Fig. 3A; a charge FET 352 and a discharge FET 354 in series in a charge-discharge circuit of the battery pack wherein these receive control signals from the battery protection module for battery protection. Thereby, one of ordinary skill understand these are part of the battery protection circuitry).
Gangsto teaches wherein the battery protection module outputs the protection signal to the charge-discharge control switch to turned on or turned off the charge-discharge control switch, so as to conduct or disconnect the charge-discharge circuit, thereby provide protection for the lithium battery pack during charging and discharging (¶ [82-90]; under-voltage, discharge over-current, charge over-current, and short-circuit protections wherein the charge FET 352 and the discharge FET 354 are controlled by protection signals to turn on/off in order to connect/disconnect the charge-discharge circuit).
With respect to claim 6, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Gangsto teaches wherein the lithium battery pack comprises a plurality of battery cells (Figs. 3A and 4; the battery pack comprises battery cells 404a-404d).
Gangsto teaches the sampling circuits comprise a battery voltage sampling circuit configured to collect the voltages of each battery cell of the lithium battery pack (Figs. 1, 3A, and 4-5; the Voltage ADC 110 and the associated circuitry is configured to collect the voltages of each battery cell 404a-404d of the battery pack).
Gangsto teaches wherein the battery voltage sampling circuit comprises a plurality of voltage sampling resistors corresponding to the battery cells of the lithium battery pack one by one (Figs. 1, 3A, and 4-5; resistors RP as illustrated in Fig. 4 for each battery cell 404a-404d are used to measure the voltage of the battery cells 404a-404d).
Gangsto teaches wherein the voltage sampling resistors also correspond to a plurality of voltage detection pins of the dedicated battery management IC one by one (Figs. 1, 3A, and 4-5; wherein the resistors RP correspond to voltage pins PV1-PV4 of the microcontroller 100).
Gangsto teaches wherein each of the voltage sampling resistors is coupled between a positive electrode of a corresponding battery cell and a corresponding voltage detection pin (Figs. 1, 3A, and 4-5; each resistor RP is coupled between the positive electrode of a corresponding battery cell 404a-404d and a corresponding voltage detection pin PV1-PV4).
Gangsto teaches wherein the dedicated battery management IC detects the voltage of the positive electrode of each battery cell through a corresponding voltage detection pin and a corresponding voltage sampling resistor (Figs. 1, 3A, and 4-5; the microcontroller 100 detects the voltage of the positive electrode of each battery cell 404a-404d through a corresponding voltage detection pin PV1-PV4 and a corresponding resistor RP).
With respect to claim 7, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Gangsto teaches wherein the battery voltage sampling circuit further comprises a plurality of capacitors corresponding to the voltage detection pins of the dedicated battery management IC one by one, wherein the capacitors also correspond to the voltage sampling resistors one by one (Fig. 3A; a plurality of capacitors corresponding to the voltage pings PV1-PV4 of the microcontroller 100 one by one, wherein the capacitors also correspond to the resistors RP one by one).
Gangsto teaches wherein each of the capacitors is coupled between a corresponding voltage detection pin and a power ground pin of the dedicated battery management IC (Fig. 3A; each capacitor is coupled between a corresponding voltage detection pin PV1-PV4 and a ground of the microcontroller 100).
Gangsto teaches each of the voltage sampling resistors form a RC filter loop with its corresponding capacitor to filter high-frequency noise on a corresponding battery sampling circuit (Fig. 3A; one of ordinary skill understands the RC network created by the resistor RP with its corresponding capacitor is used to filter high-frequency noise on the corresponding battery sampling circuit).
With respect to claim 8, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Gangsto teaches wherein the lithium battery pack comprises a plurality of battery cells coupled in series, wherein a negative electrode of one of the battery cells is grounded (Figs. 3A and 6; the battery pack comprises battery cells 404a-404d coupled in series, wherein a negative electrode of one of the battery cells is grounded).
Gangsto teaches the sampling circuits comprise a charge-discharge current sampling circuit configured to collect charge-discharge current of the lithium battery pack, wherein the charge-discharge current sampling circuit comprises a current sampling resistor coupled in series in the charge-discharge circuit of the lithium battery pack, and coupled to a charge-discharge current detection pin of the dedicated battery management IC (Figs. 1, 3A and 6; the coulomb counter ADC 114 and the associated circuitry is configured to collect the charge-discharge current of the battery pack, wherein the coulomb counter circuitry comprises a resistor Rsense coupled in series and coupled to the PI and NI pins of the microcontroller 100).
With respect to claim 10, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Further, Gangsto teaches wherein the charge-discharge control switch comprises a first charge-discharge control MOS transistor and a second charge-discharge control MOS transistor coupled in series in the charge-discharge circuit (Fig. 3A; charge FET 352 and the discharge FET 354 in series in the charge-discharge circuit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gangsto et al. (USPGPN 20060170398) and further in view of Kang et al. (USPGPN 20140340020).
With respect to claim 3, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Further, Gangsto teaches wherein the sampling circuits comprise a battery temperature sampling circuit (Fig. 5; the circuitry for measuring VTEMP which corresponds to temperatures at various locations inside the battery pack, see ¶ [60-61]).
However, Gangsto fails to explicitly teach wherein the battery temperature sampling circuit comprises a thermistor closely attached to a surface of the lithium battery pack for collecting the battery temperature of the lithium battery pack; wherein the resistance value of the thermistor NTC is changes with the change of the battery temperature of the lithium battery pack.
Kang teaches wherein the battery temperature sampling circuit comprises a thermistor closely attached to a surface of the lithium battery pack for collecting the battery temperature of the lithium battery pack (Fig. 2; TH2- is a thermistor which is understood to be closely attached to a surface of the battery pack (see ¶ [09-11]) for collecting the battery temperature of the battery pack).
Kang teaches wherein the resistance value of the thermistor NTC is changes with the change of the battery temperature of the lithium battery pack (¶ [59]; the value of the thermistor TH2 changes according to a change in temperature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply Kang’s thermistor based comparator circuit to Gangsto’s battery temperature sensing circuitry, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
With respect to claim 4, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. However, Gangsto fails to explicitly teach wherein the dedicated battery management IC further comprises a comparator; the battery temperature sampling circuit further comprises an adjustable resistor; wherein one terminal of the thermistor is coupled to a non-inverting input terminal of the comparator, and the other end of the thermistor is coupled to an inverting input terminal of the comparator through the adjustable resistor; wherein the non-inverting input terminal is pulled up to a reference standard voltage through a first resistor, the inverting input terminal is pulled up to the reference standard voltage through a second resistor, and a connection node between the thermistor and the adjustable resistor is grounded; the comparator outputs an output signal according to the voltages at the non-inverting input terminal and the inverting input terminal.
Kang teaches wherein the dedicated battery management IC further comprises a comparator (Fig. 2; comparator 290).
Kang teaches the battery temperature sampling circuit further comprises a resistor (Fig. 2; resistor R12).
Kang teaches wherein one terminal of the thermistor is coupled to an inverting input terminal of the comparator, and the other end of the thermistor is coupled to a non-inverting input terminal of the comparator through the resistor (Fig. 2; one terminal of thermistor TH2- is coupled to an inverting end of the comparator 290, and the other end of the thermistor TH2 is coupled to a non-inverting input terminal of the comparator 290 through the resistor R12).
Kang teaches wherein the non-inverting input terminal is pulled up to a reference standard voltage through a first resistor, the inverting input terminal is pulled up to the reference standard voltage through a second resistor, and a connection node between the thermistor and the resistor is grounded (Fig. 2; the non-inverting input terminal is pulled up to a reference voltage (i.e., output of voltage regulator 280) through a resistor R11, the inverting input terminal is pulled up to the reference voltage through a resistor R12, and a connection node between the thermistor and the resistor is grounded).
Kang teaches the comparator outputs an output signal according to the voltages at the non-inverting input terminal and the inverting input terminal (¶ [42]; the comparator outputs an output signal according to the voltages at the non-inverting input terminal and the inverting input terminal. One of ordinary skill understands the temperature comparison described in ¶ [42] is actually voltages at the input terminals of the comparator 290).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply Kang’s thermistor based comparator circuit to Gangsto’s battery temperature sensing circuitry, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Gangsto fails to explicitly teach an adjustable resistor. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use an adjustable resistor rather than a fixed value resistor, since applicant has not disclosed that using an adjustable resistor solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the adjustable resistor or with a fixed value resistor.
Gangsto fails to explicitly teach the thermistor goes into the non-inverting end and the adjustable resistor goes into the inverting end. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to swap the inputs into the comparator by inputting the thermistor into the non-inverting end and the adjustable resistor into the inverting end, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
With respect to claim 5, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Gangsto teaches wherein the battery protection module comprises a charge-discharge control unit coupled to the charge-discharge control switch (Figs. 1 and 3A; FET control module 104 is coupled to the charge FET 352 and the discharge FET 354).
Gangsto teaches the dedicated battery management IC further comprises a main control unit coupled to the charge-discharge control unit and the sensed temperature (Figs. 1, 3A, and 5; microcontroller 100 comprises AVR CPUU 116 which is coupled via data bus to the FET control module 104 and the sensed temperature VTEMP).
However, Gangsto fails to explicitly teach an output terminal of the comparator, respectively, wherein the main control unit is configured to determine whether the battery temperature of the lithium battery pack is too high according to the output signal output by the comparator, and then drive, according to a determination result, the charge-discharge control unit to output the protection signal to turn on or turn off the charge-discharge control switch, so as to conduct or disconnect the charge-discharge circuit of the lithium battery pack.
Kang teaches an output terminal of the comparator, respectively (Fig. 2; OUT1 of comparator 290).
Kang teaches wherein the main control unit is configured to determine whether the battery temperature of the lithium battery pack is too high according to the output signal output by the comparator, and then drive, according to a determination result, the charge-discharge control unit to output the protection signal to turn on or turn off the charge-discharge control switch, so as to conduct or disconnect the charge-discharge circuit of the lithium battery pack (Fig. 2; controller 210 is configured to determine whether the battery temperature of the battery pack 270 is too high according to the OUT1 signal of the comparator 290, and then drive, according to a determination result, protect the battery pack 270 by controlling the charging unit 260 by sending a signal EN to turn off or on charging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply Kang’s thermistor based comparator circuit and temperature based protection to Gangsto’s battery temperature sensing circuitry, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gangsto et al. (USPGPN 20060170398) and further in view of Zhang et al. (USPGPN 20230299602).
With respect to claim 9, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. Further, Gangsto teaches wherein the current sampling resistor comprises a first terminal coupled to the charge-discharge current detection pin (Figs. 1, 3A, and 6; the resistor Rsense comprises a terminal coupled to the pin PI/NI of the microcontroller 100).
Gangsto teaches the dedicated battery management IC detects, through the charge-discharge current detection pin, the voltage at the first terminal of the current sampling resistor, and determines a charge-discharge state and a charge-discharge current of the lithium battery pack according to the voltage detected through the charge-discharge current detection pin (Figs. 1, 3A, and 6; the microcontroller 100 detects, through the current detection pins PI and NI, the voltage at the terminal of the resistor R----sense of the battery pack according to the voltage detected through the PI and NI pins).
However, Gangsto fails to explicitly teach a second terminal coupled to the negative electrode of the one of the battery cell and grounded.
Zhang teaches a second terminal coupled to the negative electrode of the one of the battery cell and grounded (Fig. 1; a second terminal of RSEN coupled to the negative electrode of cell 1 and grounded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply Zhang’s current sensing resistor connections with respect to the battery cells and the microcontroller to Gangsto’s battery management system, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gangsto et al. (USPGPN 20060170398) and further in view of Mi et al. (USPGPN 20190310321).
With respect to claim 11¸Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Gangsto teaches wherein the lithium battery pack comprises a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 3A and 4; the battery pack comprises battery cells 404a-404d).
Gangsto teaches the equalization execution circuit comprises an equalization MOS array,
the equalization module outputs the equalization signal to the equalization MOS array to control an on-off state of the equalization MOS array, so as to equalize voltages of the battery cells in the lithium battery pack (Fig. 4; the cell balance circuitry comprises cell balancing FETs 402a-402d in which they are controlled by an on-of state at the level shift, so as to equalize voltages of the battery cells in the battery pack).
However, Gangsto fails to explicitly teach and an equalization transformer; wherein the equalization MOS array is coupled between the dedicated equalization module and the equalization transformer, the equalization transformer is configured to be coupled to the lithium battery pack.
Mi teaches an equalization transformer, wherein the equalization MOS array is coupled between the dedicated equalization module and the equalization transformer, the equalization transformer is configured to be coupled to the lithium battery pack (Fig. 17; a multi-winding transformer, wherein the equalizing MOSFETs Q-11-Q2X are coupled between the multi-winding transformer and the equalization module (i.e., at the base), the multi-winding transformer is configured to be coupled to the battery pack B11-B2X).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply Mi’s equalizing transformer to Gangsto’s battery management system, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
With respect to claim 12, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 11. However, Gangsto fails to explicitly teach wherein the equalization module comprises a PWM generator that is driven to generate PWM square wave signal and outputs the PWM square wave signal to the MOS array, wherein the PWM square wave signal is the equalization signal.
Mi teaches wherein the equalization module comprises a PWM generator that is driven to generate PWM square wave signal and outputs the PWM square wave signal to the MOS array, wherein the PWM square wave signal is the equalization signal (Fig. 17; a PWM signal is used to control the MOSFETs Q11-Q2X for battery equalization. One of ordinary skill understands a PWM circuit generates the PWM square wave signal and that the PWM square wave signal is the equalization signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply Mi’s equalizing transformer to Gangsto’s battery management system, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gangsto et al. (USPGPN 20060170398).
With respect to claim 13, Gangsto teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 7. However, Gangsto fails to explicitly teach wherein the battery management system comprises more than one dedicated battery management ICs that are cascaded, wherein each cascaded dedicated battery management IC is configured to provide protection and equalization for a preset number of battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to cascade more than one microcontroller 100 each configured to provide protection and equalization for a present number of battery cells, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mi et al. (USPGPN 20220416549) teaches an active equalizer circuit, a battery management system, a power supply system and an electrical equipment. The active equalizer circuit comprises a plurality of switching transistors, a driving transformer, a multi-port converter, a buck converter, and a microcontroller. Each of the switching transistors is coupled to a battery cell in the series battery pack on a one-to-one basis. The multi-port converter comprises an equalizing transformer and a bridge converter, each secondary winding of the bridge converter is coupled to a corresponding plurality of battery cells. The buck converter has an input terminal coupled to an output terminal of the series battery pack and an output terminal coupled to an input terminal of the bridge converter. The microcontroller is configured to output a first control signal to the buck converter, to make the buck converter transform an output voltage of the series battery pack and output the transformed output voltage to the bridge converter, and output a second control signal to the bridge converter, to control an operation state of the bridge converter. According to the embodiments of the present disclosure, the cost and volume of the active equalizer circuit can be reduced.
Zheng et al. (USPGPN 20220376316) teaches an electric quantity measuring apparatus, including a battery unit, a sampling unit, and a charging management integrated circuit. The sampling circuit is connected to the battery unit and configured to obtain a current signal of the battery unit. The charging management integrated circuit is arranged with a voltage detection pin and a current detection pin. The voltage detection pin is connected to the battery unit, and the current detection pin is connected to the sampling circuit. The charging management integrated circuit is configured to detect a voltage signal of the battery unit based on the voltage detection pin, detect the current signal of the battery unit based on the current sampling pin, and obtain voltage information, current information, and electric quantity information of the battery unit.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859