DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on February 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Content of Specification
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i)-(p).
The claimed invention is defined by the positively claimed elements, the structural elements listed on separate indented lines listed in the body of the claim after the transitional phrase, “comprising”.
For claim 1, the Examiner notes that the phrase “for locating a test sample” is not a structural element of the claim, but instead represents the intended use of the claimed apparatus.
For claims 1-14, the Examiner notes that the phrase “configured to” does not impart structure to the claims, and will be read as an intended use limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first plurality of projections" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the first plurality of projections" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For claim 5, the Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the first wavelength as it relates to the spacing of the plurality of projections. Claim 5 states that the projections are characterized by an inter-feature spacing less than or equal to 1m/2 wherein 1m represents the first wavelength. It appears that claim 5 is stating that the spacing between the projections are dependent on 1m/2; however, one would have to know the first wavelength prior to forming the apparatus to ensure accurate spacing of the projections. The Examiner request Applicant amend the claim so that the relationship between the wavelength and spacing is clear, or provide arguments explaining why the claim is not indefinite.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the inter-feature spacing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For claim 5, the Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the first wavelength as it relates to the spacing of the plurality of projections. Claim 5 states that the projections are characterized by an inter-feature spacing less than or equal to 1m/2.75 wherein 1m represents the first wavelength. It appears that claim 5 is stating that the spacing between the projections are dependent on 1m/2.75; however, one would have to know the first wavelength prior to forming the apparatus to ensure accurate spacing of the projections. The Examiner request Applicant amend the claim so that the relationship between the wavelength and spacing is clear, or provide arguments explaining why the claim is not indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the range from -40 to +40 degrees" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the light" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first planar surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the plurality of projections" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For claim 13, the Examiner is unable to determine what “it” recited at line 7 references. The claim recites a detection system that detects “at least some of the plurality of wavelengths after it has passed through the test sample.” The Examiner is unable to determine if the singular “it” references the plurality of wavelengths, some of the plurality of wavelengths, or a single wavelength that is detected. As such, it is unclear what is being detected by the claimed detection system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohman et al., (US 2005/0042766).
For claim 1, Ohman et al., teach a microfluidic system comprising a support (sample holder, paragraph 0053), a substrate having a first surface (paragraph 0064, figure 11 #2), and a plurality of microposts that project from the substrate (paragraph 0064, figure 11 #1) wherein the microposts have a plurality of sidewalls and a plurality of tips (figure 11 #1). The Examiner notes that the substrate, plurality of sidewalls and plurality of tips, taught by Ohman et al., are structurally identical to that of the instant claims, thus they meet the limitation of a sample-collection surface. With respect to claim 2, the claim does not recite any additional structural elements regarding the geometric anti-reflection layer, thus the prior art microposts meets the limitation of the claimed geometric anti-reflection layer.
For claim 7, the Examiner notes that the claimed first light signal is not a structural element of the apparatus, thus the angle of incidence on the body is also not a structural limitation. As such, the device of Ohman et al., reads on the claim.
For claim 14, the claim does not recite any structural elements in addition to claim 1, thus the device of Ohman et al., as detailed for claim 1 reads on the limitations of claim 14.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schulz et al., (US 2015/0309214).
For claim 1, Schulz et al., teach an optical element (sample holder, figure 3F) comprising a substrate (body, paragraph 0030, figure 1A #10) having an organic layer (first surface, paragraph 0034, figure 1C #1), and a plurality of elevations extending from the organic layer (paragraph 0036, figure 1D #11) wherein the extensions have a sidewall and a tip (figure 1D #11). The Examiner notes that the substrate, plurality of sidewalls and plurality of tips, taught by Schulz et al., are structurally identical to that of the instant claims, thus they meet the limitation of a sample-collection surface. With respect to claim 2, the claim does not recite any additional structural elements regarding the geometric anti-reflection layer, thus the prior art extensions meets the limitation of the claimed geometric anti-reflection layer.
For claim 3, Schulz et al., teach the optical element having a second surface (top layer of substrate 10, figure 1D) distal to the first surface wherein the second surface comprises an anti-reflection layer (paragraph 0030, figure 1D #7).
For claim 4, Schulz et al., teach the anti-reflection layer being a coating (paragraph 0030).
For claim 7, the Examiner notes that the claimed first light signal is not a structural element of the apparatus, thus the angle of incidence on the body is also not a structural limitation. As such, the device taught by Schulz et al., reads on the claim.
For claims 8 and 9, Schulz et al., teach the substrate having a second surface (bottom layer of substrate 10, figure 1D) distal to the first surface wherein the second surface is a reflector (paragraph 0030, figure 1D #10). Schulz et al., teach the substrate comprises or consists of silicone (paragraph 0030) which is a material that reflects light. The Examiner notes that the term “reflector” is not claimed as an additional structure, thus the substrate of Schulz et al., reads on the claimed reflector. Additionally, the Examiner notes that the phrase “configured to” does not impart structure to the claim, but instead represents the intended use of the device.
For claim 10, Schulz et al., teach the reflector between the first and second surfaces (figure 1D #7).
For claim 11, Schulz et al., teach an anti-reflection layer on the first surface and the plurality of extensions (paragraph 0049, figure 3F #’s 7 and 12).
For claim 14, the claim does not recite any structural elements in addition to claim 1, thus the device of Schulz et al., as detailed for claim 1 reads on the limitations of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz et al., (US 2015/0309214) in view of Montagu (US 2004/0125370).
Regarding claim 13, Schulz et al., do not teach an apparatus comprising a light source, a spectral filter, and a detection system.
Montagu teaches optically active substrates wherein an optical scanning system having at least one light source, several optical detectors, and spectral filters is utilized to interrogate the optically active substrate (paragraph 0043). Montagu teaches that it is advantageous to provide a spectral filter as a means of detecting wavelength specific radiation (paragraph 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Schulz et al., to include an optical scanning system having at least one light source, several optical detectors, and spectral filters in order to detect wavelength specific radiation as taught by Montagu.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a sample holder comprising a reflector wherein the reflector comprises a spectral figure as recited in claim 12.
Conclusion
/DWAN A GERIDO/Examiner, Art Unit 1797 /LYLE ALEXANDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1797