Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 2/19/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Patent Number 10,598,699 has been reviewed and is NOT accepted. The prior patent was cited incorrectly. The correct citation is 10,598,699, rather than 10/598,699; the slash should be replaced with a comma. Additionally, all claims stand rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over Patents 10,598,699 and 10,823,761; however, a terminal disclaimer has been filed only for Patent 10,598,699.
NOTE: Per MPEP 804, a complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) is either a reply by Applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer. Such a showing or filing will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 10,598,699. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are anticipated by the claims of the patent as layout below.
Pending Application 17/984,209
All the limitations of the below pending claims are anticipated by the underlined limitations of the patent.
Patent 10598699
Claim 1. A method for indicating tampering with a utility enclosure, the utility enclosure comprising a meter box [meter box 1], the method comprising:
uniting a connector housing member [a connector 5] to a receiver housing member [receiving housing 4] comprising an engaging member [engaging member 11];
disposing a frangible member [frangible portion (or urging member) 8] on the receiver housing member [4] for urging contact of the connector housing member [5] with the engaging member [11],
wherein the connector housing member [5] may be urged into contact with the engaging member [11] of the receiver housing member [4].
Claim 1. A method for creating a seal,
the method comprising:
uniting a connector housing member comprising a force-bearing surface to a receiver housing member comprising an engaging member;
disposing a frangible member on the receiver housing member for urging contact of the connector housing member with the engaging member,
wherein the frangible member bears against the force-bearing surface of the connector housing member urging contact of the connector housing member with the engaging member during the uniting; and flexibly biasing the engaging member to engage the connector housing member to create a seal, wherein the engaging member is disposed separably with respect to the frangible member.
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of creating a tamper-evident seal.
Claim 4. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of creating a tamper-evident seal.
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of mounting the connector housing member [5] and receiver housing member [4] on a retaining member [retaining band 13].
Claim 5. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of mounting the connector housing member and receiver housing member on a retaining member.
Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein the engaging member [11] is disposed separately from the frangible member [8].
Claim 24. The method of claim 1, wherein the engaging member is disposed separately from the frangible member.
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the frangible member [8] further comprises a frangible sealing device.
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the frangible member further comprises a frangible sealing device.
Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein the engaging member [11] is integrally formed with the receiver housing member [4].
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the engaging member is integrally formed with the receiver housing member.
Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the connector housing member [5] is mounted to a first end of a meter sealing ring [retaining band 13], and the receiver housing member [4] is mounted to a second end of the sealing ring [13] for securing a meter [2] to a meter box [1].
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the connector housing member is mounted to a first end of a meter sealing ring, and the receiver housing member is mounted to a second end of the sealing ring for securing a meter to a meter box.
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 10,823,761. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are anticipated by the claims of the patent as layout below.
Pending Application 17/984,209
All the limitations of the below pending claims are anticipated by the underlined limitations of the patent.
Patent 10823761
Claim 1. A method for indicating tampering with a utility enclosure, the utility enclosure comprising a meter box [meter box 1], the method comprising:
uniting a connector housing member [a connector 5] to a receiver housing member [receiving housing 4] comprising an engaging member [engaging member 11];
disposing a frangible member [frangible portion (or urging member) 8] on the receiver housing member [4] for urging contact of the connector housing member [5] with the engaging member [11],
wherein the connector housing member [5] may be urged into contact with the engaging member [11] of the receiver housing member [4].
Claim 1. A method for indicating tampering with a meter box,
the method comprising:
uniting a connector housing member comprising a force-bearing surface to a receiver housing member comprising an engaging member;
disposing a frangible member on the receiver housing member for urging contact of the connector housing member with the engaging member,
wherein the frangible member bears against the force-bearing surface of the connector housing member urging contact of the connector housing member with the engaging member during the uniting; and biasing the engaging member to engage the connector housing member.
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of creating a tamper-evident seal.
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of creating a tamper-evident seal.
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of mounting the connector housing member [5] and receiver housing member [4] on a retaining member [retaining band 13].
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of mounting the connector housing member and receiver housing member on a retaining member.
Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein the engaging member [11] is disposed separately from the frangible member [8].
Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein the engaging member is disposed separately from the frangible member.
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the frangible member [8] further comprises a frangible sealing device.
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the frangible member further comprises a frangible sealing device.
Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein the engaging member [11] is integrally formed with the receiver housing member [4].
Claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein the engaging member is integrally formed with the receiver housing member.
Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the connector housing member [5] is mounted to a first end of a meter sealing ring [retaining band 13], and the receiver housing member [4] is mounted to a second end of the sealing ring [13] for securing a meter [2] to a meter box [1].
Claim 7. The method of claim 6, wherein the connector housing member is mounted to a first end of a meter sealing ring, and the receiver housing member is mounted to a second end of the sealing ring for securing a meter to a meter box.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The specification discloses that “a tamper-evident seal could be used with the urging member” (page 23, lines 1-2) and that “the sealing device 7 as shown in the following embodiments, comprises a frangible portion 8 (or urging member)” (page 13, lines 14- 15). Disposing the frangible member 8 as recited in claim 1 inherently results in a tamper-evident seal. Accordingly, this limitation does not further limit claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Langdon et al (U.S. Patent 4,934,747.
As to claim 1, Langdon et al teaches uniting a connector housing member [tongue 34] to a receiver housing member [three-sided hollow housing 42] comprising an engaging member [a threaded fastener 60; column 5, lines 6-9]; disposing a frangible member [thin wire 88] on the receiver housing member [housing 42; disposing the thin wire 88 on tabs 80 & 82; tabs 80 & 82 are part of the housing 42; column 6, lines 13-20] for urging contact [threaded fastener 60 threadingly engages the apertures 36 in the tongue 34] of the connector housing member [tongue 34] with the engaging member [threaded fastener 60], wherein the connector housing member [tongue 34] may be urged into contact with the engaging member [threaded fastener 60] of the receiver housing member [42].
As to claim 2, Langdon et al teaches the step of creating a tamper-evident seal (column 6, lines 59-61).
As to claim 3, Langdon et al teaches the step of mounting the connector housing member [tongue 34; column 4, lines 22-27] and receiver housing member [housing 42; column 4, 61-62] on a retaining member [band 22].
As to claim 5, Langdon et al teaches wherein the engaging member [threaded fastener 60] is disposed separately [clearly illustrated in Fig 5] from the frangible member [thin wire 88].
As to claim 6, Langdon et al teaches wherein the frangible member [thin wire 88] further comprises a frangible sealing device [seal means 86].
As to claim 7, Langdon et al teaches wherein the engaging member [threaded fastener 60] is integrally formed [clearly illustrated in Fig 4] with the receiver housing member [housing 42].
As to claim 8, Langdon et al teaches wherein the connector housing member [tongue 34] is mounted [column 4, lines 25-27] to a first end [first end 30] of a meter sealing ring [band 22], and the receiver housing member [housing 42] is mounted [column 4, line 61] to a second end [second end 32] of the sealing ring [band 22] for securing a meter to a meter box.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858