DETAILED ACTION
The office acknowledges the receipt of applicants’ response 01/29/2026.
Elected Species
A search of the prior art did not show the elected species. As no claims where specifically drawn to applicants’ elected species in independent form, no claims have been indicated as allowable. Claims written in independent form which require all the limitations of the elected species along with any dependent claims which require all the limitations of the elected species would be allowable. Under MPEP 803.02, the search was expanded to find an examinable species.
Examinable Species
The examinable species is represented by Li-pg-51A:
Li-pg-51A reads on claims 1-2, 5-16, 18-19. Claims 17 and 20 are withdrawn as not reading on the examinable species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 10-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2018/0226593 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 10-13, 19, Li teaches an OLED including substrate 102, anode 104, hole-transporting material(s) (HTL) 106, light processing material 108, electron-transporting material(s) (ETL) 110, and a metal cathode layer 112. Light processing material 108 may be an emissive material (EML) including an emitter and a host (paragraph 154). The light processing material can be represented by Li-pg-51 (page 51)
Li-pg-51 shows Z1as B-R differs from applicants’ Formula 1 wherein Z1 = Se or Te. Li-pg-51 is derived from generic Formula VI (page 2):
Z2 in the above compound corresponds to applicants’ Z1. Li teaches that Z2 can be represented as follows
Z2 is represented by a finite set of options which are viewed as functionally equivalent substituents viewed as readily exchangeable whereby upon selections give rise to obvious variant of generic Formula VI. One such variant is achieved by merely exchanging the B-R1 in Li-pg-51 with a Se atom as shown below:
Li-pg-51A
Li-pg-51A reads on applicants’ Formula 1 and 1-12 wherein CY1 = benzimidazole group; CY4 = pyridine; CY3 = phenyl; CY5 = phenyl; CY2 = phenyl; A1-A4 = single bond; R2 and R4 = t-butyl groups; M = Pt; R = Ra in generic Formula VI include a host of options including alkyl and aryl.; T2 = O; Z2 (corresponding to applicants’ Z1) = Se; T1 and T3 = single bond.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have made a variety of derivatives of generic Formula VI by selecting various functional equivalent substituents for Z2 which would have included the above variant with Z2 as Se which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claims 1-2, 10-13, 19).
5-membered ring group is imidazole; 6-memebered ring group is phenyl (per claim 12).
Regarding Claim 7, Li teaches that the compounds (Li-pg-51A) are useful in a variety of applications such as light emitting materials in organic light emitting diodes (OLEDs), luminescent devices and displays, and other light emitting devices (paragraph 78) (per claim 7).
Regarding Claims 14-16, 18, Li-pg-51A shows applicants’ CY3-1 with Y3 as C; CY3 as phenyl; Z1 as Se; CY5 as phenyl; R3 as t-butyl ; R5 as H (per claim 14)
Li-pg-51A shows applicants’ CY1 as CY1-15 (per claim 15)
Li-pg-51A shows Y1-Y3 as C and Y4 as N (per claim 16)
Li-pg-51A shows on R4 as alkyl (per claim 18).
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2018/0226593 A1) as evidenced by Hong (Adv. Mater. 2021,2005630)
Regarding Claim 6, Li teaches the OLED containing Li-pg-51A were studied to address problem with stable emit blue light emission (paragraph 5). Li teaches Platinum complex but fails to mention the CIE value.
Hong teaches cites that blue phosphorescent OLED show CIE = 0.16, 0.29 (page 7 of 24). The office notes said value is within applicant range. The values taught by Hong are from Figure 7 which includes a Pt complex PtON7 with similar structural features as Li-pg-51A.
As Hong teaches that blue phosphorescent OLED showing CIE values in the claimed range which include an analogous Pt complex, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have considered the OLED containing the Pt- complex of Li in a similar CIE range meeting the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 6).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2018/0226593 A1) in view of Seki (US 2013/0105785).
Regarding Claims 8-9, Li teaches the invention of claim 1 but fails to mention the limitations of claim 8.
Seki teaches an image display apparatus including an organic light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor (TFT) device wherein the anode or a cathode of the organic light-emitting device is connected to a drain electrode or a source electrode of the TFT device. The thin-film transistor device serves as a device configured to apply an electrical current to the organic light-emitting device (paragraph 52). The organic light-emitting device also contains a color filter (paragraph 50).
As both Li and Seki teaches organic light-emitting devices and Seki teaches an organic light-emitting device configured in an electronic apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have used the organic light-emitting device of Li in known application areas which would have included in an electronic apparatus as taught by Seki which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per clam 8-9).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2018/0226593 A1) in view of Tamaru (US 2009/0236974).
Regarding Claim 5, Li teaches that the Pt complex can be used as a dopant (paragraph 156) but fails to mention the weight amount.
Tamaru teaches the content in the light emission layer of the host compound and the phosphorescent dopant is from 1 to 99% by weight, respectively, based on the total weight of all the compounds contained in the light emission layer. The content in the light emission layer of the phosphorescent dopant is preferably lower than that of the host compound, and more preferably 1 to 10% by weight of that of the host compound (paragraph 109).
The office regards the above as a generic teaching showing the general weight ratio of host to dopant in an OLEDs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have adjusted the weight ratio with the dopant in lower amount than the host since Tamaru teaches the content in the light emission layer of the phosphorescent dopant is preferably lower than that of the host compound, which would have included organometallic compound weight % which is in applicants range absent unexpected results (per claim 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to show:
The emission layer containing compound (per claim 3)
Fluorescent or delayed fluorescent with equation 1 (per claim 4)
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786