DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhogal et al. (20190234617).
Bhogal teaches a method comprising:
accessing a temperature map (par. 0055 pixel to physical area maps; par. 0095 surface, internal temperature; fig. 11; par. 0140) of a food item in a cooking apparatus (par. 0095; fig. 11; par. 0135), wherein the temperature map comprises a plurality of regions of the food item (par. 0152; par. 0095 surface, internal temperature; fig. 11; par. 0135, 0140) and associates a temperature with each region (par. 0152; par. 0095; par. 0135 exterior, interior; par. 0140), and wherein the cooking apparatus cooks according to an initial heating technique (par. 0152 cooking stage; par. 0086, par. 0129 cooking instruction; par. 0136 target operation parameter)
determining, by a computing device (par. 0055; par. 0128 “computing system”), whether a temperature associated with at least one region of the food item violates a predetermined temperature constraint (par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate)
in response to a determination that the temperature associated with at least one region of the food item violates the predetermined temperature constraint (par. 0152; par. 0135; par. 0143), then
estimating one or more thermal properties of the food item based on the temperature map (par. 0094; par. 0055 pixel to physical area maps; par. 0095 surface, internal temperature; fig. 11; par. 0140) of the food item and the initial heating technique (par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate)
determining an optimal heating technique (par. 0100 foodstuff cooking progress; par. 0135) for the food item by predicting a future thermal evolution of the food item (par. 0135; estimating future cooking state par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate par. 0140), where Bhogal further teaches thermal partial differential equation (par. 0106) estimating a future thermal distribution (par. 0135 future cooking state par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate par. 0140) for the food item using (par. 0106) the estimated one or more thermal properties of the food item (par. 0100 internal external; par. 0094; par. 0055 pixel to physical area maps; par. 0095 surface, internal temperature; fig. 11; par. 0140) and a state-variable constraint for the thermal PDE constraining a temperature state of a least a portion of the food item (par. 0155 target parameter; target par. 0129 cooking instruction; par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate)
then determining an optimal heating technique (par. 152 rectify; par. 0135; par. 0143 operated to rectify) and instructing the cooking apparatus to cook according to the optimal heating technique (par. 0135; 0152); and
in response to a determination that the temperature of each region does not violate the predetermined temperature constraint (par. 0155 target parameter being met; alternatively relative intent of target being met par. 0129 i.e. cooking instruction), then determining that the initial heating technique should not be changed (par. 0155 stage complete, ready to eat).
Though silent to explicitly teaching the equation variables or the parameters taught by Bhogal as variables of the taught thermal partial differential equation (par. 0106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the same taught variables, i.e. the estimated one or more thermal properties of the food item (par. 0100 internal external; par. 0094; par. 0055 pixel to physical area maps; par. 0095 surface, internal temperature; fig. 11; par. 0140) and a state-variable constraint for the thermal PDE constraining a temperature state of a least a portion of the food item (par. 0155 target parameter; target par. 0129 cooking instruction; par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate) into the taught partial differential equation (par. 0106) for its art recognized purpose of monitoring cooking processes in real time, including image extracted features of the food including internal and external temperature (par. 0100) to achieve its art recognized and applicants intended purpose of rectifying cooking progress to achieve the target parameter (target par. 0129 cooking instruction).
With respect to claim 2, accessing a thermal image (par. 0095) of the food item in the cooking apparatus and creating the temperature map based on the thermal image (par. 0055 pixel to physical area maps; par. 0095 surface, internal temperature; fig. 11; par. 0140).
With respect to claim 10, where the thermal PDE is taken as above. Determining the optimal heating technique for the food item using a termination criterion for the heating process (par. 0152 cooking stage; par. 0086, par. 0129 cooking instruction; par. 0136 target operation parameter)
Claim 11, where the thermal PDE is taken as above
wherein determining the optimal heating technique comprises:
determining (1) a future heating time of the cooking apparatus (par. 0135) and (2) a future time-dependent heating output of the cooking apparatus during that future heating time (par. 0135).
Claim 12, where the thermal PDE is taken as above
wherein predicting the thermal evolution of the food item over time comprises predicting, based on the food stuff features from the image (par. 0106), a temperature evolution of the food item over time (par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate par. 0140).
Claim 13, determining that an observed temperature evolution of the food item differs from the predicted temperature evolution (par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate par. 0140) of the food item by a predetermined amount (par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate par. 0140);
in response to the determination that the observed temperature evolution of the food item differs from the predicted temperature of the food item by a predetermined amount, then updating the estimate of the one or more thermal properties of the food item ((par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate par. 0140; cooking parameters updated) and
updating the optimal heating technique based on the updated estimate of the thermal properties of the food item (par. 152 rectify; par. 0135; par. 0143 operated to rectify).
With respect to claim 14, wherein determining, based on the predicted thermal evolution of the food item over time, the optimal heating technique comprises minimizing a cost function for a thermal property of the food item (par. 0119; foodstuff features specific vs generic i.e. any; par. 0131 frozen; par. 0134 determine future), wherein the cost function is at least in part a function of an amount of thermal energy provided by the cooking apparatus (par. 0131 adjust to frozen vs no adjustment; par. 0134 rectify differences i.e. prevent waste).
With respect to claim 15, further comprising minimizing the cost function subject to at least one of: (1) one or more thermal constraints (par. 0119; foodstuff features specific vs generic i.e. any; par. 0131 frozen; par. 0134 determine future) or (2) one or more constraints on one or more control variables that define a heating technique (par. 0131 adjust to frozen vs no adjustment; par. 0134 rectify differences i.e. prevent waste).
Claim 16, wherein the one or more thermal constraints comprise: a minimum temperature that each region of the food item must exceed (par. 0089 temperature schedule foodstuff; par. 0155 target temperature) and a maximum temperature that each region of the food item must not exceed (par. 0155 target temperature).
Claim 17, wherein the thermal property comprises a completion time for cooking the food item (par. 0131 last 3 lines; par. 0138).
Claim 18, wherein: estimating one or more thermal properties of the food item comprises estimating a completion time for cooking the food item (par. 0131, 0138) and the method further comprises providing, for display to a user (par. 0155), the estimated completion time for cooking the food item (par. 0155).
Claim 19, wherein estimating one or more thermal properties of the food item comprises predicting, comprising a plurality of zones that are each defined by an associated temperature range (par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate), one or more aggregate temperature measures for at least a portion of the food item (par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate)
Though silent to explicitly teaching a heat exchange model. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the same taught variables, relative a model which provides a same desired information as taught by Bhogal for its art recognized purpose of monitoring cooking processes in real time, including image extracted features of the food including internal and external temperature (par. 0100) to achieve its art recognized and applicants intended purpose of rectifying cooking progress to achieve the target parameter (target par. 0129 cooking instruction).
Response to Arguments
With respect to applicants urging directed to Bhogal, being silent to a thermal partial differential equation. Bhogal teaches the PDE with respect to segmented images (par. 0106), in addition to teaching the images include a temperature map (par. 0055 pixel to physical area maps; par. 0095 surface, internal temperature; fig. 11; par. 0140) of a food item in a cooking apparatus (par. 0095; fig. 11; par. 0135), wherein the temperature map comprises a plurality of regions of the food item (par. 0152; par. 0095 surface, internal temperature; fig. 11; par. 0135, 0140) and associates a temperature with each region (par. 0152; par. 0095; par. 0135 exterior, interior; par. 0140), and wherein the cooking apparatus cooks according to an initial heating technique (par. 0152 cooking stage; par. 0086, par. 0129 cooking instruction; par. 0136 target operation parameter).
With respect to applicants urging Bhogal is silent to predicting a future thermal evolution of the food item, applicant is urged to par. 0135 estimating future cooking state, par. 0152 cooking too slowly, par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate and interior temperature increase slower than target rate par. 0140. Bhogal further teaches estimating a future thermal distribution (par. 0135 future cooking state par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate par. 0140).
Though silent to explicitly teaching the equation variables or the parameters taught by Bhogal as variables of the taught thermal partial differential equation (par. 0106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the same taught variables, i.e. the estimated one or more thermal properties of the food item (par. 0100 internal external; par. 0094; par. 0055 pixel to physical area maps; par. 0095 surface, internal temperature; fig. 11; par. 0140) and a state-variable constraint for the thermal PDE constraining a temperature state of a least a portion of the food item (par. 0155 target parameter; target par. 0129 cooking instruction; par. 0152 cooking too slowly; par. 0135 exterior temperature increase faster than target rate, interior temperature increase slower than target rate) into the taught partial differential equation (par. 0106) for its art recognized purpose of monitoring cooking processes in real time, including image extracted features of the food including internal and external temperature (par. 0100) to achieve its art recognized and applicants intended purpose of rectifying cooking progress to achieve the target parameter (target par. 0129 cooking instruction).
Bhogal teaches determining (1) a future heating time of the cooking apparatus (par. 0135) and (2) a future time-dependent heating output of the cooking apparatus during that future heating time (par. 0135).
Conclusion
/STEVEN N LEFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792