DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt is acknowledged of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 12/04/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Kim discloses to prevent inflow of moisture from outside to under the supporter (see par [0063] of Kim - the encapsulation structure 150 is disposed on the opposite electrode 143, and the encapsulation structure 150 may prevent or reduce penetration of external water or oxygen through the display area DA).
So discloses in par [0095] The encapsulation layer 190 may cover or overlap the light-emitting element 180. The encapsulation layer 190 may seal the display area DA to protect the light-emitting element 180 from external impurities. So encapsulation layer is identical to that of Kim, which discloses to prevent inflow of moisture from outside to under the supporter (see par [0063] of Kim - the encapsulation structure 150 is disposed on the opposite electrode 143, and the encapsulation structure 150 may prevent or reduce penetration of external water or oxygen through the display area DA).
Drawings Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in claim 1, “the configured to support a mask used during a mask process” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a supporter configured to support a mask used during a mask process at the peripheral area outside of the dam” is unclear and indefinite if it is the “a supporter” is a at the peripheral area outside of the dam or if it is “a mask process” is at the peripheral area outside of the dam. As such the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. 20170345881.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1-2 of Kim discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 110 including a display area DA, and a peripheral area PA outside the display area;
a display element OLED at the display area;
a dam 170 at the peripheral area;
a supporter 180 configured to support a mask used during a mask process (this is necessary the case if a photoresist mask is apply on top of the supporter 180 then 180 will support the photoresist mask) at the peripheral area outside of the dam in a plan view; and
an encapsulation layer 150 on the display element,
wherein the encapsulation layer comprises:
a first inorganic encapsulation layer 151;
a second inorganic encapsulation layer 153; and
an organic encapsulation layer 152 between the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and
wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer or the second inorganic encapsulation layer extends in a direction from the display area to the peripheral area, and covers an upper surface of the supporter by a half or more of a width of the supporter (see fig. 2) to prevent inflow of moisture from outside to under the supporter (see par[0063] The encapsulation structure 150 is disposed on the opposite electrode 143, and the encapsulation structure 150 may prevent or reduce penetration of external water or oxygen through the display area DA.).
Regarding claim 3, fig. 2 and par [0076] of Kim discloses further comprising: a driving circuit TFT2 at the peripheral area; and a wiring region 127/128/136 outside the driving circuit, the wiring region comprising signal lines configured to supply signals to the driving circuit, wherein the supporter overlaps with the wiring region.
Regarding claim 5, par [0054]/[0058] of Kim discloses wherein the supporter comprises a plurality of organic insulating layers.
Regarding claim 21, fig. 2 of Kim discloses wherein the supporter is located at a same layer 151 as that of the dam, and has a width greater than a width of the dam in a plan view (fig. 1).
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SO et al. 20210320165 (SO).
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1-5 of SO discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 10C including a display area DA, and a peripheral area PA outside the display area;
a display element 180 at the display area;
a dam (DM1) at the peripheral area;
a supporter dm2 configured to support a mask used during a mask process (this is necessary the case if a photoresist mask is apply on top of the supporter DM12 then DM2 will support the photoresist mask) at the peripheral area outside of the dam in a plan view (fig. 4); and
an encapsulation layer 190 on the display element,
wherein the encapsulation layer comprises:
a first inorganic encapsulation layer 191;
a second inorganic encapsulation layer 193; and
an organic encapsulation layer 192 between the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and
wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer or the second inorganic encapsulation layer extends in a direction from the display area to the peripheral area, and covers an upper surface of the supporter by a half or more of a width of the supporter (see fig. 2) to prevent inflow of moisture from outside to under the supporter (par [0095] The encapsulation layer 190 may cover or overlap the light-emitting element 180. The encapsulation layer 190 may seal the display area DA to protect the light-emitting element 180 from external impurities).
Regarding claim 10, fig. 5 of SO discloses wherein the dam comprises a plurality of dams (DM1-3, DM1-2 and DM1-1) spaced from each other, and an interval between an outermost dam from among the plurality of dams and the supporter is greater than an interval between adjacent ones of the plurality of dams (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Park et al. 20200194534 (Park).
Regarding claim 4. Kim discloses claim 1. Kim does not disclose of further comprising a sealing material spaced from the supporter outside the supporter, wherein, in a plan view, the supporter is located between the sealing material and the dam, and the dam is located between the display area and the supporter.
However, fig. 10 of Park discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 100 including a display area DA, and a peripheral area PA outside the display area;
a display element 300 at the display area;
a dam 120 at the peripheral area;
a supporter 130 at the peripheral area outside of the dam located at a same layer PVX as that of the dam; and
an encapsulation layer 400 on the display element,
wherein the encapsulation layer comprises:
a first inorganic encapsulation layer 410;
a second inorganic encapsulation layer 430; and
an organic encapsulation layer 420 between the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer; and
further comprising a sealing material 500 spaced from the supporter 130 outside the supporter, wherein, in a plan view (this is necessary the case), the supporter is located between the sealing material and the dam, and the dam is located between the display area and the supporter.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form an apparatus of Kim further comprising a sealing material spaced from the supporter outside the supporter, wherein, in a plan view, the supporter is located between the sealing material and the dam, and the dam is located between the display area and the supporter such as taught by Park in order to form a protection structure for the apparatus.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SO in view of Park.
Regarding claim 7, SO discloses claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising a color control panel on the encapsulation layer, and configured to change a wavelength of light emitted from the display element.
However, fig. 10 of Park discloses a display apparatus comprising: a color control panel 200 on an encapsulation layer 400, and configured to change a wavelength of light emitted from the display element.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form an apparatus of SO further comprising a color control panel on the encapsulation layer, and configured to change a wavelength of light emitted from the display element such as taught by Park in order to form a desired light output.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 10 of Park disclose further comprising a filling layer between the color control panel and the encapsulation layer.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form an apparatus of So further comprising a filling layer between the first panel and the second panel such as taught by Park in order to buffer an external pressure.
Claims 11-14, 16-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SO in view of Park.
Regarding claims 11 and 13, fig. 1-5 of SO discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a first panel (fig. 3) comprising a display element 180; and
wherein the first panel further comprises:
a first substrate 10C comprising a display area DA, and a peripheral area PA (fig. 1) outside the display area, the display element being located at the display area, and a pixel circuit (fig. 2) electrically connected to the display element being located at the display area;
a driving circuit (PL1/PL2) at the peripheral area, and configured to supply signals to the pixel circuit;
an insulating layer (110-160) covering the pixel circuit and the driving circuit;
a dam DM1 on the insulating layer at the peripheral area;
a supporter DM2 on the insulating layer at the peripheral area, and spaced from the dam in a plan view, the supporter being located at a same layer as that of the dam and having a width greater than a width of the dam in a plan view (fig. 4); and
an encapsulation layer 190 on the display element,
wherein the encapsulation layer comprises:
a first inorganic encapsulation layer 191;
a second inorganic encapsulation layer 193; and
an organic encapsulation layer 192 between the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and
wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer or the second inorganic encapsulation layer extends in a direction from the display area to the peripheral area, and covers an upper surface of the supporter by a half or more of a width of the supporter to prevent inflow of moisture from outside to under the supporter (see rejection of claim 1).
SO does not disclose of a second panel comprising a color filter.
However, fig. 10 of Park discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a first panel (fig. 10) comprising a display element 300; and
a second panel 200 comprising a color filter (par [0206]);
wherein the first panel further comprises:
a substrate 100 including a display area DA, and a peripheral area PA outside the display area;
a display element 300 at the display area;
a dam 120 at the peripheral area;
a supporter 130 at the peripheral area outside of the dam located at a same layer PVX as that of the dam; and
an encapsulation layer 400 on the display element,
wherein the encapsulation layer comprises:
a first inorganic encapsulation layer 410;
a second inorganic encapsulation layer 430; and
an organic encapsulation layer 420 between the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer; and
further comprising a sealing material 500 spaced from the supporter 130 outside the supporter, wherein, in a plan view (this is necessary the case), the supporter is located between the sealing material and the dam, and the dam is located between the display area and the supporter.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form an apparatus of So further a second panel comprising a color filter and a sealing material spaced from the supporter outside the supporter, wherein, in a plan view, the supporter is located between the sealing material and the dam, and the dam is located between the display area and the supporter such as taught by Park in order to form a color filter to get desired light output and to form a protection structure for the apparatus.
Regarding claim 14, fig. 5 of SO discloses wherein the supporter comprises a plurality of organic insulating layers.
Regarding claim 16, fig. 5 of SO discloses wherein the dam comprises a plurality of dams spaced from each other, and an interval between an outermost dam from among the plurality of dams and the supporter is greater than an interval between adjacent ones of the plurality of dams.
Regarding claim 17, par [0078] of SO discloses wherein a thin-film transistor of the pixel circuit and a thin-film transistor of the driving circuit each include an oxide semiconductor.
Regarding claim 18, fig. 5 of So discloses wherein a height of the dam is equal to a height of the supporter (see fig. 5 of SO showing top of 173 equals to some height at the side of DM2).
Regarding claim 20, fig. 10 of Park discloses further comprising a filling layer 600 between the first panel and the second panel.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form an apparatus of So further comprising a filling layer between the first panel and the second panel such as taught by Park in order to buffer an external pressure.
Regard claim 22, fig. 5 of SO discloses wherein the supporter is located at a same layer 191 as that of the dam, and has a width greater than a width of the dam in a plan view (see fig. 4 of SO).
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over So in view of Park in view of Joo et al. 20200194502 in view of NAKAYAMA et al. 20220285441.
Regarding claim 19, SO and Park disclose claim 17, and Park discloses wherein the second panel further comprises: a color filter layer.
SO and Park do not disclose of that the color filter layer on a surface of a second substrate facing the display element; a color-converting layer on the color filter layer; and an organic insulating layer between the color filter layer and the color-converting layer.
However, fig. 6A of Joo discloses an apparatus comprising a color filter layer CF-R/G/B on a surface of a second substrate OC facing the display element; a color-converting layer CCF (layer) on a color filter layer LCL; and an organic insulating layer YF between the color filter layer and the color-converting layer.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form an apparatus of Lee comprising a color-converting layer on the color filter layer; and an insulating layer between the color filter layer and the color-converting layer such as taught by Kim in order to form a desire wavelength output.
Lee and Joo do not disclose of an organic insulating layer.
However, par [0077] of NAKAYAMA disclose of organic material that is included in the light-absorbing layer.
As such it would have been obvious to form an apparatus comprising organic insulating layer such as taught by NAKAYAMA since organic material that is included in the light-absorbing layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893