DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendments filed 12/05/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shieh et al. (US 2008/0054290 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shieh discloses a microchip (“LED 30” in Fig. 2, ¶ 0017, using an orientation opposite to that shown in Fig. 2) comprising:
a chip body (32) having a first surface (321) and a second surface (323) facing the first surface; and an electrode layer (36) on the second surface.
wherein a surface roughness of the first surface is smaller than a surface roughness of an upper surface of the electrode layer (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Shieh further discloses wherein a width of the first surface is greater than a distance between the first surface and the upper surface of the electrode layer (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Shieh further discloses wherein an area of the first surface is greater than an area of the second surface (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Shieh further discloses wherein the microchip comprises a light-emitting diode (¶ 0017).
Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/0066592 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a microchip (Fig. 2, ¶ 0117) comprising:
a chip body (portion beneath 274/276) having a first surface (262) and a second surface (270) facing the first surface; and an electrode layer (274) on the second surface.
wherein a surface roughness of the first surface is smaller than a surface roughness of an upper surface of the electrode layer (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Kim further discloses wherein the first surface is hydrophilic (¶ 0120).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 8-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A CULBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2815