DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Xiao Wu et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2011/0088597, here after Wu), further in
view of Jin Geng (DE112019005644, here after Geng).
Claims 1, and 31 are rejected. Wu teaches a process for making a magnesium
oxychloride cementitious construction material, the process comprising:
forming a magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture into a plurality of boards on a
plurality of supports;
transferring the plurality of supports with the boards thereon through a curing
oven, the magnesium oxychloride mixture of the boards is cured to form the magnesium
oxychloride cementitious construction material comprising magnesium oxychloride
crystals [ 0001, 0002, 0026, 0060] which in fact generate exothermic heat. Wu does not
teach curing is in conveying oven. Geng teaches a method of conveying plurality of
substrates through a curing oven [fig. 21], the curing oven comprising an entrance, an
exit and a plurality of curing zones (at least 3) therebetween [fig. 1] through which the substrates are conveyed [column 1 lines 55- 61],
where each curing zone having one or more curing air inlets and one or more curing air outlets through which curing air is circulated in contact with the substrates when conveyed through the zone, wherein as the substrates are conveyed through the curing zones required for each board(substrate) to pass through the curing oven. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Wu where curing is done in Geng chamber, because it is suitable chamber for curing(drying) materials in form of paste. Geng teaches a heat zone which in fact transferring at least a portion of the (exothermic) heat generated in one or more of the curing zones to one or more curing zones upstream of the one or more of the curing zones from which the (exothermic) heat is transferred [abstract, last sentence]. Geng also teaches the plurality of curing zones comprises a first curing zone and a second curing zone adjacent the first curing zone[see above figure] and the one or more curing air inlets(above substrate) of the first curing zone and the one or more curing air inlets of the second curing zone(below substrate) are located on opposite sides of the oven and the one or more curing air outlets(below substrate) of the first curing zone and the one or more curing air outlets(above substrate) of the second curing zone are located on opposite sides of the oven. The curing air heated by the exothermic heat generated during curing of the magnesium oxychloride mixture in one of curing zones(first) obviously is withdrawn from the zone of the curing oven and introduced into next curing zone of the upstream [fig. 21].
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 13, 16, 19, 22-24, 27, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.
103 as being unpatentable Khin Thandar Soe (WO 2020/093111, here after Soe),
further in view of Jin Geng (DE112019005644, here after Geng).
Claims 1, and 31 are rejected. Soe teaches a process for making a magnesium
oxychloride cementitious construction material [0001], the process comprising:
forming a magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture into a plurality of boards on a
plurality of supports [0099, 00103];
transferring the plurality of supports with the boards thereon through a curing
oven [00104], the magnesium oxychloride mixture of the boards is cured to form the
magnesium oxychloride cementitious construction material comprising magnesium
oxychloride crystals [00140] which generate exothermic heat [0073, 00104]. Soe does
not teach curing is in conveying oven with plurality of curing zones. Geng teaches a
method of conveying plurality (more than 3) of substrates through a curing oven [fig. 21], the curing oven comprising an entrance, an exit and a plurality of curing zones therebetween [fig.1] through which the substrates are conveyed [column 1 lines 55- 61], where each curing zone having one or more curing air inlets and one or more curing air outlets through which curing air is circulated in contact with the substrates when conveyed through the zone, wherein as the substrates are conveyed through the curing zones required for each board(substrate) to pass through the curing oven. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Wu where curing is done in Geng chamber, because it is suitable chamber for curing(drying) materials in form of paste. Geng teaches a heat
zone which in fact transferring at least a portion of the (exothermic) heat generated in
one or more of the curing zones to one or more curing zones upstream of the one or
more of the curing zones from which the (exothermic) heat is transferred [abstract, last
sentence]. Geng also teaches the plurality of curing zones comprises a first curing zone
and a second curing zone adjacent the first curing zone [see above figure] and the one
or more curing air inlets (above substrate) of the first curing zone and the one or more
curing air inlets of the second curing zone (below substrate) are located on opposite
sides of the oven and the one or more curing air outlets (below substrate) of the first
curing zone and the one or more curing air outlets (above substrate) of the second
curing zone are located on opposite sides of the oven. The curing air heated by the exothermic heat generated during curing of the magnesium oxychloride mixture in one of curing zones(first) obviously is withdrawn from the zone of the curing oven and introduced into next curing zone of the upstream [fig. 21].
Claim 4 is rejected as Soe teaches mixing and reacting a source of magnesium
chloride brine with a source of magnesium oxide [0088-0090] in a premixer, thereby
forming a magnesium oxychloride cement premix; and mixing the magnesium
oxychloride cement premix with an aggregate in the mixer, thereby forming the
magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture [0091-0092]. It is also to skill of an ordinary
skill to transferring the magnesium oxychloride cement premix to a mixer in absence of
criticality.
Claim 7 is rejected as Soe teaches the curing air comprising humidified ambient
air (to increase the humidity on curing zone or each curing zone) [0093].
Claim 9 is rejected as Soe teaches the temperature of the magnesium chloride
brine is controlled to regulate the temperature of the formed magnesium oxychloride
(concrete) boards plurality of boards conveyed into the (first) curing zone [0007, 0088,
00104] (adjacent the entrance to the curing oven).
Claim 13 is rejected. Soe teaches monitoring the temperature of the magnesium
oxychloride mixture cement premix formed in the premixer;
comparing the temperature of the magnesium oxychloride mixture cement premix
formed in the premixer to a desired temperature [00127, 00105].
Claim 16 is rejected. Soe teaches the temperature of magnesium chloride brine
is in 22-23C [0088].
Claim 19 is rejected. Since by changing the temperature the volume of MgCI2
brine changes and the density of the bine changes, therefore it is to the skill of ordinary
person to adjust the density in response to a deviation in the temperature of the
magnesium oxychloride mixture from the desired temperature in absence of criticality.
Claim 22 is rejected as Soe teaches the molar ratio of MgO/MgCl2 is 8-11, and
H2O/MgCI2 is 19-21[0053].
Claim 23 is rejected as Soe teaches aggregate comprising perlite [0021].
Claim 24 is rejected as Soe teaches adding phosphoric acid to the premix prior to
adding aggregates (transferring to mixer) [0088].
Claim 27 is rejected as Soe teaches the relative humidity in curing zone (also in
plurality of curing zones) is continuously monitored [0093].
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao
Wu et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2011/0088597, here after Wu), Jin Geng
(DE112019005644, here after Geng), further in view of Yin Yang et al (Chinese
Patent: 101857414, here after Yang).
Claim 10 is rejected. Wu and Geng teach the limitation of claim 1, and Wu
teaches casting the mixture in moulds(supports) [0060], but does not teach prior to
forming the magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture into the plurality of boards, the
magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture is transferred to a holding vessel, and forming
the magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture into the plurality of boards comprises
extruding the mixture from the holding vessel onto a layer of material to be incorporated
into the magnesium oxychloride cementitious construction material and carried by the
supports. Yang teaches a process of making building material comprising magnesium
chloride and magnesium oxide, and teaches filling moulds with extrusion following by
curing [abstract, 0011]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in
the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Wu and Geng
where the moulds are filled with extrusion, because it is suitable method of filling moulds
for making building materials. Therefore, the magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture
transferred to a holding vessel(extrusion), and forming the magnesium oxychloride
concrete mixture into the plurality of boards comprises extruding the mixture from the
holding vessel onto a layer of material to be incorporated into the magnesium
oxychloride cementitious construction material and carried by the supports (moulds).
Claims 11-12 are rejected. Yang teaches the temperature of the magnesium
oxychloride mixture in the holding vessel(extrusion) is at room temperature (no
indication of heating the mixture in vessel). Although Geng does not teach the
temperature within the first curing zone adjacent the entrance of the curing oven is no
more than about 20°C (about 120°F) greater than the temperature of the magnesium
oxychloride concrete mixture retained in the holding vessel(23C). However, teaches
controlling the temperature to avoid formation of cracks [page 2 lines 17-20].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of Wu, Geng and Yang, were first curing
zone adjacent the entrance of the curing oven is 43C, because it is helps to avoid
cracks.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khin
Thandar Soe (WO 2020/093111, here after Soe), Jin Geng (DE112019005644, here
after Geng), further in view of Yin Yang et al (Chinese Patent: 101857414, here after
Yang).
Claim 10 is rejected. Soe and Geng teach the limitation of claim 1, and Soe
teaches casting the mixture in moulds(supports), but does not teach prior to forming the
magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture into the plurality of boards, the magnesium
oxychloride concrete mixture transfer to a holding vessel, and forming the
magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture into the plurality of boards comprises
extruding the mixture from the holding vessel onto a layer of material to be incorporated
into the magnesium oxychloride cementitious construction material and carried by the
supports. Yang teaches a process of making building material comprising magnesium
chloride and magnesium oxide, and teaches filling moulds with extrusion following by
curing [abstract, 0011]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in
the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Soe and Geng
where the moulds are filled with extrusion, because it is suitable method of filling moulds
for making building materials. Therefore, the magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture
transfer to a holding vessel(extrusion), and forming the magnesium oxychloride
concrete mixture into the plurality of boards comprises extruding the mixture from the
holding vessel onto a layer of material to be incorporated into the magnesium
oxychloride cementitious construction material and carried by the supports (moulds).
Claims 11-12 are rejected. Yang teaches the temperature of the magnesium
oxychloride mixture retained in the holding vessel(extrusion) is at room temperature (no
indication of heating the mixture in vessel). Although Geng does not teach the
temperature within the first curing zone adjacent the entrance of the curing oven is no
more than about 20°C (about 120°F) greater than the temperature of the magnesium
oxychloride concrete mixture retained in the holding vessel(23C). However, teaches
controlling the temperature to avoid formation of cracks [page 2 lines 17-20].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of Soe, Geng and Yang, were first curing
zone adjacent the entrance of the curing oven is 43C, because it is helps to avoid
cracks.
Claims 4, 7, 16-17, 19, 22-24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Xiao Wu et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2011/0088597, here after
Wu), Jin Geng (DE112019005644, here after Geng), further in view of James Allen
Wambaugh et al (U. S. Patent: 10167232, here after Wambaugh).
Claim 4 is rejected as Wu teaches step of mixing and reacting a source of
magnesium chloride brine (MgCI2 aqueous solution) with a source of magnesium oxide
(calcined caustic magnesia); and mixing the magnesium oxychloride cement with an
aggregate (exfoliated vermiculite) in, thereby forming the magnesium oxychloride
concrete mixture [0063]. Wu does not teach forming a premix and transferring the
premix toa mixer and mix it with aggregate. Wambaugh teaches a process of making a
cementitious material comprising magnesium oxide and magnesium chloride, and
teaches mixing and reacting a source of magnesium chloride brine (MgCI2 and water)
and source of magnesium oxide (premixing in a premixer) [step 201, step 202-206], and
then mixing (obviously in a mixer) it with aggregate to form magnesium oxychloride
concrete mixture [step 208]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Wu and
Geng where a premix is made and then transferred to a mixer with added
aggregate to form mixture (as per ordinary skill in art in absence of criticality), because it
is suitable way to form magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture.
Claim 7 is rejected. Neither Wu not Geng teach curing air comprises
humidified ambient air. Wambaugh teaches a process of making a cementitious
material comprising magnesium oxide and magnesium chloride, and teaches relative
humidity of 30-100%, helps crystallizing amorphous phase [column 8 lines 22-25].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of Wu and Geng where the humidity of the
curing air introduced into each curing zone, because it' helps crystallization of
amorphous phase.
Claim 16 is rejected. Wu teaches the temperature of magnesium chloride brine
(magnesium chloride in water) is in room temperature(23C) [0063].
Claim 17 is rejected. Wu teaches adding water and MgCl2(to make brine) [0063],
but does not teach the density of the magnesium chloride brine. Wambaugh teaches a
process of making a cementitious material comprising magnesium oxide and
magnesium chloride, and teaches density of the brine is 1.26 g/mL [example 1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of Wu, Geng where the density of brine is
1.26, because it is suitable amount of MgCI2 solution for making cementitious material
by combination with MgO.
Claim 19 is rejected. Since by changing the temperature the volume of MgCI2
brine changes and the density of the bine changes, therefore it is to the skill of ordinary
person to adjust the density in response to a deviation in the temperature of the
magnesium oxychloride mixture from the desired temperature in absence of criticality.
Claim 22 is rejected as Wu teaches the mixture contains magnesium oxide
(MgO), magnesium chloride (MgCI2) and water (H2O), on an active ingredient basis, at
a molar ratio of 5.32:1:17.2[0063].
Claim 23 is rejected as Wu teaches the aggregate comprises perlite [0041].
Claim 24 is rejected as Wambaugh teaches the process further comprising
introducing phosphoric acid into the magnesium oxychloride cement [step 204] premix prior to adding aggregates (its transfer to the mixer).
Claim 27 is rejected. Wu does not teach the source of magnesium oxide has a
BET surface area of from about 10 m2/g to about 120 m2/g. Wambaugh teaches a
process of making a cementitious material comprising magnesium oxide and
magnesium chloride, and teaches surface are of magnesium oxide have BET surface
area of 5 m2/g to 50 m2/g [column 3 lines 3-4, column 5 lines 47-48]. Therefore, it
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to have a method of Wu, Geng where the surface is of magnesium
oxide is 5-20 m2/g, because itis suitable surface area amount for oxide powder to mix
with magnesium chloride and make cementitious material. Although it does not teach 10
m2/g to about 120 m2/g, however overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of
obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have
selected the portion of [overlapping range] that corresponds to the claimed range. In re
Malagari, 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Wu,
Geng, and Wambaugh where the surface area O magnesium oxide is 10-50 m2/g,
because an ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of overlapping range
that corresponds to the claimed range in absence of criticality.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khin
Thandar Soe (WO 2020/093111, here after Soe), Jin Geng (DE112019005644, here
after Geng), further in view of James Allen Wambaugh et al (U. S. Patent: 10167232,
here after Wambaugh).
Claim 17 is rejected. Soe does not teach the density of the magnesium chloride
brine. Wambaugh teaches a process of making a cementitious material comprising
magnesium oxide and magnesium chloride, and teaches density of the brine is 1.26
g/mL [example 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Soe, Geng where
the density of brine is 1.26, because it is suitable amount of MgCI2 solution for making
cementitious material by combination with MgO.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao Wu et
al (U. S. Patent Application: 2011/0088597, here after Wu), Jin Geng
(DE112019005644, here after Geng). further in view of Irvin J. McMahon (U.S. Patent:
5603168, here after McMahoun).
Claim 25 is rejected. Wu and Geng do not teach the plurality of supports having
the boards(sheets) are supported horizontally on a rack. McMahoun teaches a method
of conveying plurality of supports with boards thereon through a curing oven [column 1
paragraph 2], the curing oven comprising an entrance, an exit and a plurality of curing
zones therebetween [fig. 1] through which the supports with the boards thereon are
conveyed [column 1 lines 55-61], and also teaches plurality of supports having the
boards(sheets) thereon are supported horizontally on a rack and spaced vertically from
one another such that no support is in contact with another support of the plurality of
supports [column 5 lines 65-end -column 6 lines 1-6]; and wherein the rack is conveyed
along a path from the entrance of the curing oven to the exit of the curing oven through
the plurality of curing zones along the path [fig. 1]. Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a
method of Wu and Geng where the sheets (mould or boards) are on racks(decks),
because it is suitable way to have the moulds stack and convey drying.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khin
Thandar Soe (WO 2020/093111, here after Soe), Jin Geng (DE112019005644, here
after Geng). further in view of Irvin J. McMahon (U.S. Patent: 5603168, here after
McMahoun).
Claim 25 is rejected. Soe and Geng do not teach the plurality of supports having
the boards(sheets) are supported horizontally on a rack. McMahoun teaches a method
of conveying plurality of supports with boards thereon through a curing oven [column 1
paragraph 2], the curing oven comprising an entrance, an exit and a plurality of curing
zones therebetween [fig. 1] through which the supports with the boards thereon are
conveyed [column 1 lines 55-61], and also teaches plurality of supports having the
boards(sheets) thereon are supported horizontally on a rack and spaced vertically from
one another such that no support is in contact with another support of the plurality of
supports [column 5 lines 65-end -column 6 lines 1-6]; and wherein the rack is conveyed
along a path from the entrance of the curing oven to the exit of the curing oven through
the plurality of curing zones along the path [fig. 1]. Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a
method of Soe and Geng where the sheets (mould or boards) are on racks(decks),
because it is suitable way to have the moulds stack and convey drying.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khin
Thandar Soe (WO 2020/093111, here after Soe), further in view of Irvin J. McMahon (U.
S. Patent: 5603168, here after McMahoun), and Norman Sherman et al (U. S. Patent:
4613627, here after Sherman).
Claim 5 is rejected. Soe teaches a process for making a magnesium oxychloride
cementitious construction material [0001], the process comprising:
mixing and reacting a source of magnesium chloride brine with a source of
magnesium oxide in a premixer, thereby forming a magnesium oxychloride cement
[0088-0090] premix; transferring (obvious for ordinary skill in art) the magnesium
oxychloride cement premix to a mixer [0068];
mixing the magnesium oxychloride cement premix with an aggregate in the mixer
[0092, 0068, 0091], thereby forming a magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture;
continuously forming the magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture into a planar
mass of the desired dimensions for board production onto a plurality of supports and
cutting the planar mass into boards of the desired length [0093, 00103]; and
continuously conveying the supports with the boards thereon through a curing
oven [0093], to form magnesium oxychloride crystals [00140]. Soe does not teach
curing comparing plurality of curing zones. McMahoun teaches a method of conveying
plurality of supports with boards thereon through a curing oven [column 1 paragraph 2],
the curing oven comprising an entrance, an exit and a plurality of curing zones
therebetween [fig. 1] through which the supports with the boards thereon are
conveyed [column 1 lines 55-61], each curing zone having one or more curing air inlets
and one or more curing air outlets through which curing air is circulated in contact with
the boards when conveyed through the zone, wherein as the boards are conveyed
through the curing zones [abstract, column 4 last paragraph] required for each board to
pass through the curing oven. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Soe where
curing is done in McMahoun chamber, because it is suitable chamber for curing(drying)
materials in form of sheets and boards. Soe does not teach transferring the magnesium
chloride mixture from a mixer to a holding vessel. Sherman teaches a method of making
construction material with magnesium oxychloride as binder [column 2 lines 47-57] and
teaches forming a brine and mixing it with other material and transferring the mixture to
a holding vessel (extruder, auger), and continuously forming the mixture transferred to
the holding vessel into mould for production [fig. 1]. Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a
method of Soe and McMahoun, where the moulds are filled with extrusion, because it is
suitable method of having extrusion prior to molding for making building materials.
Therefore, the magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture transferred to a holding
vessel(extrusion), and forming the magnesium oxychloride concrete mixture into the
plurality of boards comprises extruding the mixture from the holding vessel onto a layer
of material to be incorporated into the magnesium oxychloride cementitious construction
material and carried by the supports (moulds). Although Sherman does not teach auger
has larger capacity than the mixer, however since Sherman process is continues if the
capacity of auger is less or equal to the mixer, the material would over flow, therefore
the capacity of the auger must be larger than the mixer. Since by changing the
temperature the volume of MgCI2 brine and the density of the brine changes, therefore it is to the skill of ordinary person to adjust the density in response to a deviation in the
temperature of the magnesium oxychloride mixture from the desired temperature in
absence of criticality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Geng reference is not parallel to horizontal surface of the boards and in fact is perpendicular. The examiner did not find a reference to reject claim 32.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/14/26, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(d) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C 112(d) of claim 31 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues Geng does not teach exothermic heat form one zone introduce to another upstream zone, however curing in first zone (for example) is exothermic and it is obvious with movement of the substrate from first zine to the second zone heat will transfer to the second and adjacent zone.
The applicant argument regrading claim 5 rejection is not persuasive, the office action indicated by changing temperature of the brine, the volume of brine changes, therefore the temperature has to be controlled in holding vessel. Furthermore Sherman is cited to teach extrusion and holding vessel and the limitation of continuous curing is taught by McMahoun.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718