Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by SASAKI (Pub. No.: US 2017/0294610).
Re claim 1, SASAKI teaches a display device, comprising:
a stretchable substrate (50);
a pattern layer disposed on the stretchable substrate and including a plurality of plate patterns (521, FIG. 6A, ¶ [0078]) and a plurality of line patterns (40, [0095]) between the plurality of plate patterns (521);
a plurality of pixels (10/[17R/B/R]) disposed on each of the plurality of plate patterns; and
a plurality of connection lines (18, FIG. 9) disposed on each of the plurality of line patterns (40 as shown in FIG. 8) and coupling the plurality of pixels (10/[17R/B/R]), and
a buffer hole (523, FIG. 7) disposed in a portion between the plurality of connection lines (18) in each of the plurality of line patterns (40),
wherein side surfaces of the plurality of line patterns ([Sof40], FIG. 6A [as shown above]) contacts side surfaces of the plurality of plate patterns [Sof521] adjacent to each other.
Re claim 2, SASAKI teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of connection lines disposed on each of the plurality of line patterns transmit different voltages (Va/Vcat, FIG. 5).
Re claim 3, SASAKI teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of line patterns includes a straight area (diagonal lines portion) extending in a straight line and a curved area extending in a curved line (curve at the intersection between the two diagonal lines).
Re claim 4, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the buffer hole (523, [0070]) is disposed that does not overlap the plurality of connection lines (18).
Re claim 5, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the buffer hole is filled with a filling member (fill with resin 51, [0069]) having a modulus of elasticity lower than a modulus of elasticity of the plurality of line patterns (metal material of 40, [0116]).
Re claim 6, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the buffer hole is filled with a filling member (fill with resin 51, [0069]) having a modulus of elasticity higher than or equal to a modulus of elasticity of the plurality of line patterns (metal material of 40).
Re claim 7, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of connection lines (40) disposed on each of the plurality of line patterns include one side connection line (left 40 via 10) and the other side connection line (right 40 via10).
Re claim 8, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein at least one buffer hole (fill with resin 51, [0069]) is formed between the one side connection line (left 40) and the other side connection line (right 40).
Re claim 9, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the at least one buffer hole is filled with an elastomer (fill with resin 51, [0069]).
Re claim 16, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches a display device, comprising:
a substrate (51, FIG. 2);
a plurality of plate patterns (521) on the stretchable substrate, each plate pattern spaced apart from each other;
a plurality of line patterns (40) on the substrate between the plurality of plate patterns (521);
at least one pixel (10/[17R/B/R]) disposed on each plate pattern;
at least one connection line (18) disposed on each line pattern (40 as shown in FIG. 8) and coupled between adjacent pixels (10/[17R/B/R]);
a buffer hole (523) disposed in a portion of each of the plurality of line patterns (40),
wherein side surfaces of the plurality of line patterns [Sof40] contacts side surfaces of the plurality of plate patterns [Sof521] adjacent to each other.
Re claim 17, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches the display device of claim 16, wherein the at least one connection line has a first curvature (curve at the intersection between the two diagonal lines) at a first area and a second curvature at a second area (curve near the area contact with 10), the second area being contiguous to the first area,
wherein the at least one connection line includes a first connection line (one diagonal lines from left) and a second connection line (one diagonal lines from right) adjacent to and spaced apart from the first connection line,
wherein the first area has a constant first curvature that is greater than zero (curve at the intersection between the two diagonal lines), and
wherein the second area has a constant second curvature that is equal to zero (curve near the area contact with 10).
Re claim 18, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein in the first area, the each of the plurality of line patterns (40) includes a buffer hole (253), the buffer hole extending through each of the plurality of line patterns (40 of FIG. 6A) and exposing the substrate.
Re claim 19, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the buffer hole (253) is between the first connection line (left 18) and the second connection line (right 18).
Re claim 20, SASAKI, FIGS. 6A/6B teaches the display device of claim 19, comprising:
a filling member (fill with resin 51, [0069]) disposed in the buffer hole (253),
wherein a top surface of the filling member is flush with a top surface of the each of the plurality of line patterns (40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (Pub. No.: US 2020/0111390) in view of Chinese Patent No.: CN110289292) (hereinafter `292).
Re claim 1, KIM teaches a display device, comprising:
a stretchable substrate;
a pattern layer disposed on the stretchable substrate (110, FIG. 1) and including a plurality of plate patterns (163, FIG. 2, ¶ [0087]) and a plurality of line patterns (181/182, [0095]) between the plurality of plate patterns (163);
a plurality of pixels (PX/SPX) disposed on each of the plurality of plate patterns; and
a plurality of connection lines (CT1/CT2, FIG. 9) disposed on each of the plurality of line patterns (181/182) and coupling the plurality of pixels (PX/SPX), and
wherein side surfaces of the plurality of line patterns (181/182) contacts side surfaces of the plurality of plate patterns (163, note that it is the same scenario as SASAKI of FIG. 6A as shown above) adjacent to each other.
Re claim 16, KIM teaches a display device, comprising:
a substrate (110, FIG. 1);
a plurality of plate patterns (163) on the substrate, each plate pattern spaced apart from each other;
a plurality of line patterns (181/182) on the substrate between the plurality of plate patterns (163);
at least one pixel (PX/SPX) disposed on each plate pattern;
at least one connection line (CNT1/CNT2) disposed on each line pattern (181/182) and coupled between adjacent pixels (PX/SPX); and
wherein side surfaces of the plurality of line patterns (181/182) contacts the side surfaces of plurality of plate patterns (163) adjacent to each other.
In re claims 1 and 16 KIM fails to teach a buffer hole disposed in a portion of each of the plurality of line patterns.
`292 teaches a buffer hole (103 filled with material 412, FIG. 7 → 9) disposed in a portion of each of the plurality of line patterns (415A/415B, note that 415B is formed on the island bridges 102 of FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of ensuring the stretchability of the structure as taught by `292.
Re claim 2, in the combination, KIM teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of connection lines disposed on each of the plurality of line patterns transmit different voltages (“as gate lines, data lines, high-potential power lines, and reference voltage lines”, [0097]).
Re claim 3, in the combination, KIM, FIG. 7 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of line patterns includes a straight area extending in a straight line and a curved area extending in a curved line (780).
Re claim 4, in the combination, `292 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the buffer hole (103) is disposed that does not overlap the plurality of connection lines (415A/415B).
Re claim 5, in the combination, `292 teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the buffer hole is filled with a filling member (412) having a modulus of elasticity lower than a modulus of elasticity of the plurality of line patterns (415A, page 11, 2nd paragraph).
Re claim 6, in the combination, `292 teaches, the display device of claim 4, wherein the buffer hole is filled with a filling member having a modulus of elasticity (elastic modulus material 0f 412) higher than or equal to a modulus of elasticity of the plurality of line patterns (metal material of 415A/B).
Re claim 7, in the combination, `292 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of connection lines (middle 412/ left 415A/ right 415A) disposed on each of the plurality of line patterns include one side connection line (left 415A) and the other side connection line (right 415B).
Re claim 8, in the combination, `292 teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein at least one buffer hole (103, FIG 7) is formed between the one side connection line (left 415A) and the other side connection line (right 415A).
Re claim 9, in the combination, `292 teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the at least one buffer hole is filled with an elastomer (elastic 412, page 11, 2nd paragraph).
Re claim 18, in the combination, `292 teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein in the first area, the each of the plurality of line patterns (415A/415B) includes a buffer hole (103), the buffer hole extending through each of the plurality of line patterns (415A/415B) and exposing the substrate (403/404/405/407/408/411).
Re claim 19, in the combination, `292 teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the buffer hole is between the first connection line (left 415A) and the second connection line (right 415A).
Re claim 20, in the combination, `292 teaches the display device of claim 19, comprising:
a filling member (412 of FIG. 9) disposed in the buffer hole (103),
wherein a top surface of the filling member is flush with a top surface of each of the plurality of line patterns (415A/415B).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 on the remarks filed on 07/29/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive because SASAKI still read on: a stretchable substrate (50);
a pattern layer disposed on the stretchable substrate and including a plurality of plate patterns (521, FIG. 6A, ¶ [0078]) and a plurality of line patterns (40, [0095]) between the plurality of plate patterns (521);
a plurality of pixels (10/[17R/B/R]) disposed on each of the plurality of plate patterns; and
a plurality of connection lines (18, FIG. 9) disposed on each of the plurality of line patterns (40 as shown in FIG. 8) and coupling the plurality of pixels (10/[17R/B/R]), and a buffer hole (523, FIG. 7) disposed in a portion between the plurality of connection lines (18) in each of the plurality of line patterns (40),
wherein side surfaces of the plurality of line patterns ([Sof40], FIG. 6A [as shown above]) contacts side surfaces of the plurality of plate patterns [Sof521] adjacent to each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893