Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-11, 14, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burd et al (US 20140165585 as referenced in OA dated 10/18/2023) in view of Oksam et al (US 20170227224 as referenced in OA dated 10/18/2023) and York et al (US 20100212322)
Regarding claim 1, Burd discloses an assembly (Figure 3) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1), comprising:
a fuel injector assembly (Figure 3; 62, 68, 70, 72) including an air swirler (The swirler formed by the plurality of Figure 3; 70, 72),
the air swirler section including a radial air swirler (Figure 3; 72) and a swirler guide wall (Figure 3; 92, 88), the swirler guide wall extending axially along the axis to a distal end (Figure 3; 88) of the swirler guide wall, the air swirler configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) swirl air in the direction about an axis (Figure 3; 66) to provide swirled air (The swirled air from figure 3; 72), and the fuel injector assembly configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) inject the swirled air as an annular air flow (The annular air flow from Figure 3; 72), along the axis, adjacent and circumscribing a fuel flow (Figure 3; 40);
a tip (The tip of Figure 3; 62) of the fuel injector assembly extending axially towards the distal end of the swirler guide wall.
Burd does not disclose a fuel injector assembly including a fuel swirler, an inner nozzle wall and an outer nozzle wall circumscribing the inner nozzle wall;
the fuel swirler configured to swirl fuel in a direction about an axis to provide swirled fuel, the fuel swirler comprising an axial fuel swirler, the fuel injector assembly configured to inject the swirled fuel as an annular fuel flow along the axis, the fuel swirler including a plurality of fuel swirler vanes arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes extending radially from the inner nozzle wall to the outer nozzle wall;
the inner nozzle wall including an inner side, an outer side and an inner nozzle wall distal end, the inner nozzle wall extending radially between the inner side and the outer side, the inner side and the outer side radially tapering as the inner nozzle wall extends axially along the axis to the inner nozzle wall distal end, and
an outer surface of the outer nozzle wall radially tapering as the outer nozzle wall extends axially along the axis in a direction away from the radial air swirler to a tip of the fuel injector assembly, and a radial thickness of the outer nozzle wall decreasing as the outer surface of the outer nozzle wall radially tapers to the tip of the fuel injector assembly.
However, Oksam teaches an assembly (The assembly of Figure 1; 32 which includes 26) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 12), comprising:
a fuel injector assembly (Figure 1; 26) including a fuel swirler (Figure 4; 71. Paragraph 0014) and an air swirler (Figure 4; 73. Paragraph 0014), an inner nozzle wall (The wall having Figure 4; 84) and an outer nozzle wall (The wall having Figure 4; 60 and forming the outer wall of 50) circumscribing the inner nozzle wall;
the fuel swirler configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) swirl fuel in a direction (Figure 4; 104) about an axis (Figure 4; 100) to provide swirled fuel (The swirled annular fuel flow from Figure 4; 71), the fuel swirler comprising an axial fuel swirler (Figure 4; 71 is an axial fuel swirler), the fuel injector assembly configured to inject the swirled fuel as an annular fuel flow (The swirled annular fuel flow from Figure 4; 71) along the axis, the fuel swirler including a plurality of fuel swirler vanes (Figure 4; 71arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes extending radially from the inner nozzle wall to the outer nozzle wall;
the air swirler configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) swirl air in the direction about the axis to provide swirled air (The swirled annular air flow from Figure 4; 73), and the fuel injector assembly configured to inject the swirled air as an annular air (The swirled annular air flow from Figure 4; 73) flow along the axis, adjacent and circumscribing the annular fuel flow; and
the inner nozzle wall including an inner side (The inner side of the inner nozzle wall), an outer side (The outer side of the inner nozzle wall) and an inner nozzle wall distal end (The right end of the wall with Figure 4; 84)
an outer surface (The outer surface of the outer nozzle wall) of the outer nozzle wall radially tapering as the outer nozzle wall extends axially along the axis in a direction away from the air swirler to a tip (The right end of Figure 4; 32) of the fuel injector assembly, and a radial thickness (The radial thickness of Figure 4; 60) of the outer nozzle wall decreasing as the outer surface of the outer nozzle wall radially tapers to the tip of the fuel injector assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd to include a fuel injector assembly including a fuel swirler, an inner nozzle wall and an outer nozzle wall circumscribing the inner nozzle wall; the fuel swirler configured to swirl fuel in a direction about an axis to provide swirled fuel, the fuel swirler comprising an axial fuel swirler, the fuel injector assembly configured to inject the swirled fuel as an annular fuel flow along the axis, the fuel swirler including a plurality of fuel swirler vanes arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes extending radially from the inner nozzle wall to the outer nozzle wall; an outer surface of the outer nozzle wall radially tapering as the outer nozzle wall extends axially along the axis in a direction away from the air swirler (In the context of Burd, this is the radial air swirler) to a tip of the fuel injector assembly, and a radial thickness of the outer nozzle wall decreasing as the outer surface of the outer nozzle wall radially tapers to the tip of the fuel injector assembly as taught by and suggested by Oksam in order to segregate flows of fuel and air and/or facilitate relatively smooth merging (Paragraph 0018), provide additional liquid fuel (Paragraph 0014), and inducing swirl to the fuel and produce gas and/or fuel flow characteristics (Paragraph 0018, The modification has the Figure 2; 62 of Burd having a structure like Figure 4; 50, 70, 84, 56 with the fuel and air swirling in the same direction).
Burd in view of Oksam does not teach wherein the inner nozzle wall extending radially between the inner side and the outer side, the inner side and the outer side radially tapering as the inner nozzle wall extends axially along the axis to the inner nozzle wall distal end.
However, York teaches an inner nozzle wall (The nozzle wall having Figure 5; 22 and 24) including an inner side (Figure 5; 24), an outer side (Figure 5; 22) and an inner nozzle wall distal end (The right end of the nozzle wall), the inner nozzle wall extending radially between the inner side and the outer side, the inner side and the outer side radially tapering as the inner nozzle wall extends axially along an axis (The central axis of the nozzle wall) to the inner nozzle wall distal end
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd in view of Oksam wherein the inner nozzle wall extending radially between the inner side and the outer side, the inner side and the outer side radially tapering as the inner nozzle wall extends axially along the axis to the inner nozzle wall distal end as taught by and suggested by York in order to minimize the occurrence and size of wake zone and other low-veloicty recirculation regions (Paragraph 0028, The modification uses the shape of the inner nozzle wall of York).
Regarding claim 2, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd does not disclose wherein the fuel injector assembly is configured such that a swirl trajectory of the swirled fuel in the annular fuel flow matches a swirl trajectory of the swirled air in the annular air flow.
However, Oksam teaches wherein the fuel injector assembly is configured such that a swirl trajectory (The clockwise or counter-clockwise swirling of the fuel of Paragraph 0018) of the swirled fuel in the annular fuel flow matches a swirl trajectory (The swirling direction of the air that is in the same direction as the swirling fuel, Paragraph 0018) of the swirled air in the annular air flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd wherein the fuel injector assembly is configured such that a swirl trajectory of the swirled fuel in the annular fuel flow matches a swirl trajectory of the swirled air in the annular air flow as taught by and suggested by Oksam in order to segregate flows of fuel and air and/or facilitate relatively smooth merging (Paragraph 0018), provide additional liquid fuel (Paragraph 0014), and inducing swirl to the fuel and produce gas and/or fuel flow characteristics (Paragraph 0018, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd further discloses wherein the air swirler section further includes a first swirler wall (Figure 3; 68) and a second swirler wall (Figure 3; 70); and the radial air swirler includes a plurality of air swirler vanes (Figure 3; 72) arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of air swirler vanes extends axially from the first swirler wall to the second swirler wall.
Regarding claim 9, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd does not disclose wherein the fuel injector assembly is further configured to inject a second fuel flow along the axis; and the annular fuel flow is adjacent and circumscribes the second fuel flow.
However, Oksam teaches wherein the fuel injector assembly is further configured to inject a second fuel flow (The fuel flow from Figure 4; 84. Paragraph 0014) along the axis; and the annular fuel flow is adjacent and circumscribes the second fuel flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd wherein the fuel injector assembly is further configured to inject a second fuel flow along the axis; and the annular fuel flow is adjacent and circumscribes the second fuel flow as taught by and suggested by Oksam in order to segregate flows of fuel and air and/or facilitate relatively smooth merging (Paragraph 0018), provide additional liquid fuel (Paragraph 0014), and inducing swirl to the fuel and produce gas and/or fuel flow characteristics (Paragraph 0018, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd does not disclose wherein the fuel injector assembly further includes an inner nozzle passage, and an outer nozzle passage;
the inner nozzle passage is radially within the inner nozzle wall, and the inner nozzle passage extends axially along the inner nozzle wall to an inner nozzle outlet;
the outer nozzle passage is radially between the inner nozzle wall and the outer nozzle wall, and the outer nozzle passage extends axially along the inner nozzle wall and the outer nozzle wall, through the fuel swirler, to an outer nozzle outlet.
However, Oksam teaches wherein the fuel injector assembly further includes an inner nozzle passage (The passage formed by Figure 4; 84), and an outer nozzle passage (Figure 4; 50);
the inner nozzle passage is radially within the inner nozzle wall, and the inner nozzle passage extends axially along the inner nozzle wall to an inner nozzle outlet (The outlet of Figure 4; 84);
the outer nozzle passage is radially between the inner nozzle wall and the outer nozzle wall, and the outer nozzle passage extends axially along the inner nozzle wall and the outer nozzle wall, through the fuel swirler, to an outer nozzle outlet (The outlet of Figure 4; 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd wherein the fuel injector assembly further includes an inner nozzle passage, and an outer nozzle passage; the inner nozzle passage is radially within the inner nozzle wall, and the inner nozzle passage extends axially along the inner nozzle wall to an inner nozzle outlet; the outer nozzle passage is radially between the inner nozzle wall and the outer nozzle wall, and the outer nozzle passage extends axially along the inner nozzle wall and the outer nozzle wall, through the fuel swirler, to an outer nozzle outlet as taught by and suggested by Oksam in order to segregate flows of fuel and air and/or facilitate relatively smooth merging (Paragraph 0018), provide additional liquid fuel (Paragraph 0014), and inducing swirl to the fuel and produce gas and/or fuel flow characteristics (Paragraph 0018, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd does not disclose wherein the inner nozzle wall distal end of the inner nozzle wall is axially recessed from an outer nozzle wall distal.
However, Oksam teaches wherein the inner nozzle wall distal end of the inner nozzle wall is axially recessed from an outer nozzle wall distal end (The right end of the outer nozzle wall in Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd wherein the inner nozzle wall distal end of the inner nozzle wall is axially recessed from an outer nozzle wall distal as taught by and suggested by Oksam in order to segregate flows of fuel and air and/or facilitate relatively smooth merging (Paragraph 0018), provide additional liquid fuel (Paragraph 0014), and inducing swirl to the fuel and produce gas and/or fuel flow characteristics (Paragraph 0018, This is the same modification as claim 1)
Regarding claim 14, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd does not disclose a hydrogen fuel source configured to provide the fuel to the fuel injector assembly such that the fuel swirled by the fuel swirler is hydrogen fuel.
However, Oksam teaches wherein a hydrogen fuel source (Figure 1; 28. Paragraph 0011) configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) provide the fuel to the fuel injector assembly such that the fuel swirled by the fuel swirler is hydrogen fuel (Paragraph 0011 states only the gaseous fuel can be used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd to include a hydrogen fuel source configured to provide the fuel to the fuel injector assembly such that the fuel swirled by the fuel swirler is hydrogen fuel as taught by and suggested by Oksam because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Oksam’s use of a hydrogen fuel according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Burd’s assembly, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case reducing emissions, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification uses hydrogen fuel from a hydrogen fuel source).
Regarding claim 21, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd further discloses wherein the fuel injector assembly further includes
an injector nozzle (Figure 3; 62. In the combined invention of Burd in view of Oksam comprises the fuel swirler, the inner nozzle wall, and the outer nozzle wall); and
an injector mount (Figure 3; 68) coupling the injector nozzle to the air swirler assembly, the injector mount projecting radially inward to an inner end (The inner end of Figure 3;68) of the injector mount which radially engages and is configured to move axially along the outer nozzle wall (Functional Language, putting the fuel nozzle through the injector mount has the inner end moving axially along the outer nozzle wall).
Regarding claim 22, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd further discloses wherein the tip of the fuel injector assembly is oriented axially along the axis (The tip is oriented axially along the axis).
Claim(s) 5, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burd in view of Oksam and York as applied to claim 1, 10 above, and further in view of Choi (US 20190137103 as referenced in OA dated 10/18/2023).
Regarding claim 5, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd in view of Oksam and York does not teach wherein a camber line of a first of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes is straight.
However, Choi teaches an assembly (The assembly of Figure 2; 1200) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 1000), comprising:
a fuel injector assembly (Figure 4) including an air swirler (Figure 4; 1236. Paragraph 0065), a fuel swirler (The swirler formed by the plurality of Figure 4; 1235), an inner nozzle wall (Figure 4; 1231) and an outer nozzle wall (Figure 4; 1232) circumscribing the inner nozzle wall;
the fuel swirler configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) swirl fuel in a direction about an axis (The direction of the swirled fuel about Figure 4; cylinder axis in 1232) to provide swirled fuel (Paragraph 0065), and the fuel injector assembly configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) inject the swirled fuel as an annular fuel flow along the axis (The annular fuel flow along the axis), the fuel swirler including a plurality of fuel swirler vanes (Figure 4; 1235) arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes extending radially from the inner nozzle wall to the outer nozzle wall,
the air swirler configured to swirl air in the direction about the axis to provide swirled air (Paragraph 0065), and the fuel injector assembly configured to inject the swirled air as an annular air flow (The annular air flow) along the axis, adjacent and circumscribing the annular fuel flow,
wherein a camber line (The chamber line of Figure 9; 1235) of a first (Any one instance of Figure 4; 1235) of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes is straight.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd in view of Oksam and York wherein a camber line of a first of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes is straight as taught by and suggested by Choi because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Choi’s usage of a straight camber line according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Burd in view of Oksam and York’s assembly, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case swirling fuel, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification uses a fuel swirler having vanes with straight chamber lines).
Regarding claim 12, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd in view of Oksam and York does not teach wherein the fuel injector assembly further includes a flow regulator at an upstream end of the inner nozzle passage; and
the fuel swirler is arranged axially along the axis between and axially spaced from the flow regulator and a nozzle tip of the fuel injector assembly.
However, Choi teaches an assembly (The assembly of Figure 2; 1200) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 1000), comprising:
a fuel injector assembly (Figure 4) including an air swirler (Figure 4; 1236. Paragraph 0065), a fuel swirler (The swirler formed by the plurality of Figure 4; 1235), an inner nozzle wall (Figure 4; 1231) and an outer nozzle wall (Figure 4; 1232) circumscribing the inner nozzle wall;
the fuel swirler configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) swirl fuel in a direction about an axis (The direction of the swirled fuel about Figure 4; cylinder axis in 1232) to provide swirled fuel (Paragraph 0065), and the fuel injector assembly configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) inject the swirled fuel as an annular fuel flow along the axis (The annular fuel flow along the axis), the fuel swirler including a plurality of fuel swirler vanes (Figure 4; 1235) arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes extending radially from the inner nozzle wall to the outer nozzle wall,
the air swirler configured to swirl air in the direction about the axis to provide swirled air (Paragraph 0065), and the fuel injector assembly configured to inject the swirled air as an annular air flow (The annular air flow) along the axis, adjacent and circumscribing the annular fuel flow;
wherein
the fuel injector assembly further includes an inner nozzle passage (The passage formed within Annotated Figure 4; labeled inner nozzle wall), an outer nozzle passage (The passage between Figure 4; 1231 and 1232);
the inner nozzle passage is radially within the inner nozzle wall, and the inner nozzle passage extends axially along the inner nozzle wall to an inner nozzle outlet (The outlet of Annotated Figure 4; labeled inner nozzle wall);
the outer nozzle passage is radially between the inner nozzle wall and the outer nozzle wall, and the outer nozzle passage extends axially along the inner nozzle wall and the outer nozzle wall, through the fuel swirler, to an outer nozzle outlet (The outlet of Figure 4; 1232),
wherein the fuel injector assembly further includes a flow regulator (Figure 4; 1238) at an upstream end (The upstream end of the inner nozzle passage) of the inner nozzle passage; and
the fuel swirler is arranged axially along the axis between and axially spaced from the flow regulator and a nozzle tip (The tip of Figure 4; 1231) of the fuel injector assembly (Figure 4 shows at least a portion of 1232 being axially between 1238 and the downstream end of 1231).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd in view of Oksam and York wherein the fuel injector assembly further includes a flow regulator at an upstream end of the inner nozzle passage; and the fuel swirler is arranged axially along the axis between and axially spaced from the flow regulator and a nozzle tip of the fuel injector assembly as taught by and suggested by Choi in order to create a turbulent flow of fuel (Paragraph 0066. The modification adds a flow regulator to the inner nozzle passage that is axially the left of Figure 4; 70 of Oksam).
Regarding claim 13, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd in view of Oksam and York does not teach wherein the fuel injector assembly further includes an endwall connected to the inner nozzle wall at an upstream end of the inner nozzle passage;
the endwall includes one or more perforations fluidly coupled to the inner nozzle passage; and
the fuel swirler is arranged axially along the axis between and axially spaced from the flow regulator and a nozzle tip of the fuel injector assembly.
However, Choi teaches an assembly (The assembly of Figure 2; 1200) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 1000), comprising:
a fuel injector assembly (Figure 4) including an air swirler (Figure 4; 1236. Paragraph 0065), a fuel swirler (The swirler formed by the plurality of Figure 4; 1235), an inner nozzle wall (Figure 4; 1231) and an outer nozzle wall (Figure 4; 1232) circumscribing the inner nozzle wall;
the fuel swirler configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) swirl fuel in a direction about an axis (The direction of the swirled fuel about Figure 4; cylinder axis in 1232) to provide swirled fuel (Paragraph 0065), and the fuel injector assembly configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) inject the swirled fuel as an annular fuel flow along the axis (The annular fuel flow along the axis), the fuel swirler including a plurality of fuel swirler vanes (Figure 4; 1235) arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes extending radially from the inner nozzle wall to the outer nozzle wall,
the air swirler configured to swirl air in the direction about the axis to provide swirled air (Paragraph 0065), and the fuel injector assembly configured to inject the swirled air as an annular air flow (The annular air flow) along the axis, adjacent and circumscribing the annular fuel flow;
wherein
the fuel injector assembly further includes an inner nozzle passage (The passage formed within Annotated Figure 4; labeled inner nozzle wall), an outer nozzle passage (The passage between Figure 4; 1231 and 1232);
the inner nozzle passage is radially within the inner nozzle wall, and the inner nozzle passage extends axially along the inner nozzle wall to an inner nozzle outlet (The outlet of Annotated Figure 4; labeled inner nozzle wall);
the outer nozzle passage is radially between the inner nozzle wall and the outer nozzle wall, and the outer nozzle passage extends axially along the inner nozzle wall and the outer nozzle wall, through the fuel swirler, to an outer nozzle outlet (The outlet of Figure 4; 1232),
the fuel injector assembly further includes an endwall (Figure 4; 1238) connected to the inner nozzle wall at an upstream end (The upstream end of the inner nozzle passage) of the inner nozzle passage; and
the endwall includes one or more perforations (The perforations of Figure 4; 1238. Figure 7 and 8 show the perforations of 1238 and Paragraph 0066 states 1238 is a perforated plate) fluidly coupled to the inner nozzle passage; and
the fuel swirler is arranged axially along the axis between and axially spaced from the flow regulator and a nozzle tip (The tip of Figure 4; 1231) of the fuel injector assembly (Figure 4 shows at least a portion of 1232 being axially between 1238 and the downstream end of 1231).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd in view of Oksam and York wherein the fuel injector assembly further includes an endwall connected to the inner nozzle wall at an upstream end of the inner nozzle passage; the endwall includes one or more perforations fluidly coupled to the inner nozzle passage; and the fuel swirler is arranged axially along the axis between and axially spaced from the flow regulator and a nozzle tip of the fuel injector assembly as taught by and suggested by Choi in order to create a turbulent flow of fuel (Paragraph 0066. The modification adds a flow regulator to the inner nozzle passage that is axially the left of Figure 4; 70 of Oksam).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burd in view of Oksam and York as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Stewart et al (US 20110247342 as referenced in OA dated 10/18/2023).
Regarding claim 6, Burd in view of Oksam and York teaches the invention as claimed.
Burd in view of Oksam and York does not teach wherein at least a portion of a camber line of a first of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes is curved.
However, Stewart teaches an assembly (The assembly of Figure 1; 10) for a gas turbine engine (Paragraph 0002), comprising:
a fuel injector assembly (Figure 3) including a fuel swirler (The plurality of Figure 3; 40);
the fuel swirler configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) swirl fuel in a direction (The swirl direction from Figure 4; 40) about an axis (Figure 3; 36) to provide swirled fuel (The swirled annular fuel flow from Figure 3; 40), and the fuel injector assembly configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) inject the swirled fuel as an annular fuel flow (The swirled annular fuel flow from Figure 3; 40) along the axis; and
wherein
the fuel injector assembly further includes an inner nozzle wall (Figure 3; 30) and an outer nozzle wall (Figure 3; 32) circumscribing the inner nozzle wall;
the fuel swirler includes a plurality of fuel swirler vanes (Figure 3; 40) arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes extends radially from the inner nozzle wall to the outer nozzle wall; and
at least a portion of a camber line (The chamber line of Figure 4; 40) of a first (Any one of Figure 4; 40) of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes is curved (The chamber in Figure 4; 46 is curved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Burd in view of Oksam and York wherein at least a portion of a camber line of a first of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes is curved as taught by and suggested by Stewart in order to provide the desired direction, mass flow rate, axial velocity, and angular velocity of the fuel (Paragraph 0030, The modification uses the shape of the fuel vanes of Stewart in the combined invention of Burd in view of Oksam).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oksam in view of York and Choi.
Regarding claim 15, Oksam discloses an apparatus (The assembly of Figure 1; 32 which includes 26) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 12), comprising:
a fuel injector assembly (Figure 1; 26) including a fuel injector nozzle (At least the wall having Figure 4; 84 as well as the wall having Figure 4; 60 and forming the outer wall of 50) and an air swirler (Figure 4; 73. Paragraph 0014);
the fuel injector nozzle including an inner nozzle passage (The passage formed by Figure 4; 84), an outer nozzle passage (Figure 4; 50) and a fuel swirler (Figure 4; 71. Paragraph 0014) within the outer nozzle passage;
the inner nozzle passage extending along an axis (Figure 4; 100) to an inner nozzle outlet at an axial distal end (The right axial distal end of Figure 4; 60) of the fuel injector nozzle, and the fuel injector nozzle configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language direct inner fuel out of the inner nozzle passage through the inner nozzle outlet (The outlet of Figure 4; 84); as an inner fuel flow (The flow fuel through Figure 4; 84 from 56) along the axis;
the outer nozzle passage extending along the axis to an outer nozzle outlet (The outlet of Figure 4; 60) at the distal end of the fuel injector nozzle, and the fuel injector nozzle configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language direct outer fuel (The fuel through Figure 4; 50) swirled by the fuel swirler out of the outer nozzle passage through the outer nozzle outlet as an outer fuel flow (The outer fuel flow through the outer nozzle passage) along the axis, adjacent and circumscribing the inner fuel flow;
the air swirler configured to swirl air in a direction about the axis to provide swirled air within a swirler passage, and the fuel injector assembly configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language inject the swirled air (The swirled annular air flow from Figure 4; 73) as an air flow (The swirled annular air flow from Figure 4; 73) along the axis, adjacent and circumscribing the outer fuel flow; and
the fuel injector nozzle including an inner nozzle wall (The wall having Figure 4; 84) and an outer nozzle wall (The wall having Figure 4; 60 and forming the outer wall of 50) circumscribing the inner nozzle wall, the inner nozzle wall including an inner side and an outer side, the inner side forming an outer peripheral boundary (Figure 4; 84 forms an outer peripheral boundary of the inner nozzle passage) of the inner nozzle passage to the inner nozzle outlet, the outer side of the inner nozzle wall forming an inner peripheral boundary (The outer surface of the inner nozzle wall forms an inner peripheral boundary of the outer nozzle passage)of the outer nozzle passage, a radial thickness (The radial thickness of the inner nozzle wall) of the inner nozzle wall decreasing as the inner nozzle wall extends axially along the axis in a direction (The right direction in Figure 4 away from the fuel swirler) away from the fuel swirler towards a tip of the fuel injector assembly (The tip of Figure 1; 26), the outer nozzle wall forming an outer peripheral boundary (The inner surface of the outer nozzle wall forms an outer peripheral boundary of the outer nozzle passage) of the outer nozzle passage to the outer nozzle outlet, and the outer nozzle wall forming an inner peripheral boundary (The outer surface of the outer nozzle wall forms an inner peripheral boundary of the swirler passage) of the swirler passage,
wherein the fuel swirler includes a plurality of fuel swirler vanes (Figure 4; 71), the plurality of fuel swirler vanes arranged circumferentially about the axis, each of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes extending radially across the outer nozzle passage.
Oksam does not disclose the inner side of the inner nozzle wall and the outer side of the inner nozzle wall converging as the inner nozzle wall extends axially towards the inner nozzle outlet,
wherein the fuel swirler includes a fuel manifold passage, an endwall, and one or more perforations extend axially through the endwall fluidly coupling the fuel manifold passage to the inner nozzle passage.
However, York teaches an inner side (Figure 5; 24) of an inner nozzle wall (The nozzle wall having Figure 5; 22 and 24) and an outer side (Figure 5; 22) of the inner nozzle wall converging as the inner nozzle wall extends axially towards an inner nozzle outlet (The outlet of the inner nozzle wall).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Oksam wherein the inner side of the inner nozzle wall and the outer side of the inner nozzle wall converging as the inner nozzle wall extends axially towards the inner nozzle outlet as taught by and suggested by York in order to minimize the occurrence and size of wake zone and other low-veloicty recirculation regions (Paragraph 0028, The modification uses the shape of the inner nozzle wall of York).
Oksam in view of York does not teach wherein the fuel swirler includes a fuel manifold passage, an endwall, and one or more perforations extend axially through the endwall fluidly coupling the fuel manifold passage to the inner nozzle passage.
However, Choi teaches an apparatus (Figure 2; 1200) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 1000), comprising:
a fuel injector assembly (Figure 4) including a fuel injector nozzle (The nozzle formed by Figure 4; 1232) and an air swirler (Figure 4; 1236. Paragraph 0065);
the fuel injector nozzle including an inner nozzle passage (The passage formed within Annotated Figure 4; labeled inner nozzle wall), an outer nozzle passage (The passage between Figure 4; 1231 and 1232), and a fuel swirler (The swirler formed by the plurality of Figure 4; 1235) within the outer nozzle passage;
the inner nozzle passage extending along an axis (Figure 4; cylinder axis in 1232) to an inner nozzle outlet (The outlet of Annotated Figure 4; labeled inner nozzle wall) at a distal end (The right end of Annotated Figure 4; labeled inner nozzle wall) of the fuel injector nozzle, and the fuel injector nozzle configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) direct inner fuel (The fuel flow in and from the inner nozzle passage. Paragraph 0063) out of the inner nozzle passage through the inner nozzle outlet as an inner fuel flow (The fuel flow in and from the inner nozzle passage. Paragraph 0063) along the axis;
the outer nozzle passage extending along the axis to an outer nozzle outlet (The outlet of Figure 4; 1232 which begins at the right end of Annotated Figure 4; labeled inner nozzle wall) at the distal end of the fuel injector nozzle, and the fuel injector nozzle configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) direct outer fuel (The fuel flow in and from the outer nozzle passage. Paragraph 0065) swirled by the fuel swirler out of the outer nozzle passage through the outer nozzle outlet as an outer fuel flow (The fuel flow in and from the outer nozzle passage. Paragraph 0065) along the axis, adjacent and circumscribing the inner fuel flow;
the air swirler configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) to swirl air (The air swirled by the air swirler) in a direction (The direction of the swirled air) about the axis to provide swirled air (The swirled air from the air swirler) within a swirler passage (Figure 4; 1233), and the fuel injector assembly configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) inject the swirled air as an air flow (The air flow from the swirled air) along the axis, adjacent and circumscribing the outer fuel flow;
the fuel injector nozzle including an outer nozzle wall (Figure 3; 1232), the outer nozzle wall forming an outer peripheral boundary (The outer peripheral boundary of the outer nozzle passage formed by the nozzle wall) of the outer nozzle passage to the outer nozzle outlet, and the outer nozzle wall forming an inner peripheral boundary (The inner peripheral boundary of the swirler passage formed by the nozzle wall) of the swirler passage;
wherein
the fuel injector nozzle further includes an inner nozzle wall (Annotated Figure 4; labeled inner nozzle wall) where the outer nozzle wall circumscribes the inner nozzle wall;
the inner nozzle wall forms an outer peripheral boundary (The inner nozzle wall forms an outer peripheral boundary of the inner nozzle passage) of the inner nozzle passage to the inner nozzle outlet, and the inner nozzle wall forms an inner peripheral boundary (The inner nozzle wall forms an inner peripheral boundary of the outer nozzle passage) of the outer nozzle passage;
the fuel swirler includes a plurality of fuel swirler vanes (Figure 4; 1235) arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes extends radially across the outer nozzle passage;
wherein the fuel swirler includes a fuel manifold passage (Annotated Figure 4; labeled fuel manifold passage), an endwall (Figure 4; 1238), and one or more perforations (The perforations of Figure 4; 1238. Figure 7 and 8 show the perforations of 1238 and Paragraph 0066 states 1238 is a perforated plate) extend axially through the endwall fluidly coupling the fuel manifold passage to the inner nozzle passage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Oksam in view of York wherein the fuel swirler includes a fuel manifold passage, an endwall, and one or more perforations extend axially through the endwall fluidly coupling the fuel manifold passage to the inner nozzle passage as taught by and suggested by Choi in order to create a turbulent flow of fuel (Paragraph 0066. The modification adds Figure 4; 1238 of Choi to the inner nozzle passage that is axially the left of Figure 4; 70 of Oksam).
Regarding claim 16, Oksam in view of York and Choi teaches the invention as claimed.
Oksam further discloses wherein the fuel swirler is configured to (As a note, the limitations following “configured to” are functional language) swirl fuel in the direction (Paragraph 0011, 0018) about the axis within the outer nozzle passage (The fuel swirler swirls fuel in the direction about the axis).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oksam in view of Knapp et al (US 20140318135 as referenced in OA dated 5/9/2025) and Evulet et al (US 20090314000).
Regarding claim 19, Oksam discloses a method for operating a combustor assembly (The assembly of Figure 1; 20 which includes 26) of a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 12), comprising:
swirling fuel (The swirling of fuel by Figure 4; 71. Paragraph 0014, 0018) in a direction (The swirl direction by Figure 4; 71. Paragraph 0014) about an axis (Figure 4; 100) to provide swirled fuel;
injecting the swirled fuel into a combustion chamber (Figure 1; 25) as an annular fuel flow (The annular fuel flow from Figure 4; 71) along the axis;
swirling air (The swirling of air by Figure 4; 73. Paragraph 0014, 0018. The swirled air is in the same direction as the swirled fuel) in the direction about the axis to provide swirled air;
injecting the swirled air into the combustion chamber as an annular air flow (The annular air flow from Figure 4; 73) along the axis, wherein the annular air flow is adjacent and radially outboard of the annular fuel flow; and
injecting un-swirled fuel (The un-swirled fuel from Figure 4; 84. Paragraph 0014) into the combustion chamber as a non-annular fuel flow (The fuel from Figure 4; 84 is a non-annular fuel flow) along the axis, wherein the non-annular fuel flow is adjacent and radially inboard of the annular fuel flow.
Oksam does not disclose wherein a swirl velocity of the swirled fuel in the annular fuel flow is within at least thirty percent of a swirl velocity of the swirled air in the annular air flow,
an annular combustion chamber.
However, Knapp teaches wherein a swirl velocity of a swirled fuel (The swirl velocity of the fuel of Figure 5b; 18 of 14’. For clarification, 18 is a fuel/air mixture, see Paragraph 0008, 0037) is within at least thirty percent (Paragraph 0047, The relative swirl velocities are close to zero and are within at least 30% of each other) of a swirl velocity of the swirled air fuel (The swirl velocity of the air of Figure 5b; 18 of 14”. For clarification, 18 is a fuel/air mixture, see Paragraph 0008, 0037)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Oksam wherein a swirl velocity of the swirled fuel (In the context of Oksam, the swirled fuel is in the annular fuel flow) in the annular fuel flow is within at least thirty percent of a swirl velocity of the swirled air fuel (In the context of Oksam, the swirled air is in the annular air flow) as taught by and suggested by Knapp in order to provide low shear forces and low turbulences (Paragraph 0047, the modification has the swirled fuel and air having the same swirl velocity).
Oksam in view of Knapp does not teach an annular combustion chamber.
However, Evulet teaches a method for operating a combustor assembly (Figure 1; 12) of a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10), comprising:
an annular combustion chamber (The combustion chamber defined by Figure 2; 26 and 22. Paragraph 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Oksam in view of Knapp to have an annular combustion chamber as taught by and suggested by Evulet because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Evulet’s use of an annular combustor according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Oksam in view of Knapp’s gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case to be able to forming a combustor for a gas turbine engine, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification makes the combustor of Oksam in view of Knapp an annular combustor).
Regarding claim 20, Oksam in view of Knapp and Evulet teaches the invention as claimed.
Oksam further discloses a swirl trajectory (The clockwise or counter-clockwise swirling of the fuel of Paragraph 0018) of the swirled fuel in the annular fuel flow matches a swirl trajectory (The swirling direction of the air that is in the same direction as the swirling fuel, Paragraph 0018) of the swirled air in the annular air flow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the prior art of record does not disclose, teach or suggest, “the fuel swirler comprising an axial fuel swirler” and “the tip of the fuel injector assembly extending axially towards the distal end of the swirler guide wall”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Oksam teaches the fuel swirler comprising an axial fuel swirler while Burd discloses the tip of the fuel injector assembly extending axially towards the distal end of the swirler guide wall
Furthermore, Applicant asserts that the incorporation of Oksam in Burd would not facilitate relatively smooth merging and limit aerodynamic blockage. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Adding at least Figure 4; 50 which includes 60 of Oksam to Burd facilitates smooth merging and limits aerodynamic blockage, Paragraph 0018 of Oksam. Furthermore, this assertion is conclusory, so that it is not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Oksam does not disclose “the inner nozzle passage extending along an axial to an inner nozzle outlet at an axial distal end of the fuel injector nozzle”, “the outer nozzle passage extending along the axis to an outer nozzle outlet at the axial distal end of the fuel injector nozzle”, “wherein the fuel swirler includes a plurality of fuel swirler vanes, the plurality of fuel swirler vanes arranged circumferentially about the axis, each of the plurality of fuel swirler vanes extending radially across the outer nozzle passage” Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown above in this OA, Oksam discloses these claim limitations.
Applicant asserts that Oksam in view of York are not combinable because the combination does not facilitate relatively smooth merging and limit aerodynamic blockage. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The shape of York as shown in Figure 5 would allow for relative smooth merging and limit aerodynamic blockage because the tapering of the nozzle in Figure 5 of York. Furthermore, this assertion is conclusory, so that it is not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15, 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taamallah et al (Fuel flexibility, stability and emissions in premixed hydrogen-rich gas turbine combustion: Technology, fundamentals, and numerical simulations as referenced in OA dated 6/1/2023) states that hydrogen rich fuels (syngas) produces lower emissions in 3.2.2.
Witham et al (US 20170009995 as referenced in OA dated 10/18/2023) states in Paragraph 0039 state the fuel injector slides inside an injector mount
Leparoux et al (US 20170023251 as referenced in OA dated 10/18/2023) states in Paragraph 0007 state the fuel injector slides inside an injector mount
Lunel et al (US 20200033007 as referenced in OA dated 10/18/2023) states in Paragraph 0006 state the fuel injector slides inside an injector mount
Evulet (US 20070107436) states in Paragraph 0022 that can, can-annular, and annular combustors are interchangeable
Crothers et al (US 20150219019) states in Paragraph 0018 at can, can-annular, and annular combustors are interchangeable
Elkady et al (US 20080115501) states in Paragraph 0023 that can, can-annular, and annular combustors are interchangeable
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741