DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0081200, hereinafter Ting) in view of Kim (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0312822, hereinafter Kim).
Re claim 1 Ting discloses in Fig 7-9 a method for mass transfer, comprising: placing the substrate(T) (Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “substrate” presently considered to be met by T since a substrate may be one layer underneath another layer that provides support and since T provides the surface of which something is deposited on/under it, T may be interpreted as a ‘substrate’) [0044 of Ting] above a display backplane(310), wherein a distance between the substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) after placing is greater than a height of an LED chip(220)(see Fig 8-9); the display backplane(310) by softening the adhesive(320) through heating[0050], wherein the softened adhesive subjected to heating is adhered to the display backplane(310); separating an LED chip(220) from the growth substrate(T), to make the separated LED chip(220) fall(since the 220’s drop or decrease in height in Fig 7-9, this may be interpreted as fall) onto a corresponding pad-group(120); and bonding the fallen LED chip(220) with the corresponding pad-group(120) on the display backplane(310).
Ting does not discloses applying an insulating-adhesive on a growth substrate(T), wherein the insulating-adhesive applied is between any two adjacent light-emitting diode (LED) chips on the growth substrate(T); forming an insulating-adhesive column between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) ;
separating an LED chip(220) from the growth substrate(T), to make the separated LED chip(220) fall(since the 220’s drop or decrease in height in Fig 7-9, this may be interpreted as fall) onto a corresponding pad-group(120) through a channel formed by insulating-adhesive columns around the separated LED chip(220);
Kim discloses applying an insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) on a growth substrate(100/50 of Kim), wherein the insulating-adhesive applied is between any two adjacent light-emitting diode (LED) chips(122/121 of Kim) on the growth substrate; forming an insulating-adhesive column(133 of Kim);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Ting in order to provide an improved bonding process [0006, Li]. In doing so, forming an insulating-adhesive column(133) between the growth substrate(100/50) and the display backplane(30 of Ting) ;
separating an LED chip(220 of Ting) from the growth substrate, to make the separated LED chip(220) fall onto a corresponding pad-group(120 of Ting) through a channel (channel between left/right 133 of Kim) formed by insulating-adhesive columns(45 extrusion of 40)[0054 of Li] around the separated LED chip(220 of Ting);
Re claim 2 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) is spaced apart from any two adjacent LED chip(220)s.
Re claim 3 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein in a thickness direction of the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim), the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) has a cross section with narrow ends and wide middle.
Re claim 4 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) has a cross section in a shape of a circle, an ellipse, or two isosceles trapezoids butted at two longer sides among two pairs of parallel sides.
Re claim 5 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) column has a cross section with narrow ends and wide middle.
Re claim 6 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) column has a cross section in a shape of an ellipse.
Re claim 7 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) column is spaced apart from any two adjacent LED chip(220)s.
Re claim 8 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) is lower than or flush with the LED chip(220).
Re claim 9 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein before applying the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) on the growth substrate(T), the method further comprises: defining a first groove between any two adjacent LED chip(220)s on the growth substrate(T), wherein at least part of the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) applied is in the first groove.
Re claim 10 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein before softening the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim), the method further comprises: defining a second groove between adjacent pad-group(120)s on the display backplane(310); and forming the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) column between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) comprises: forming the insulating-adhesive column between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) with at least part of the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) adhered to the display backplane(310) extended into the second groove.
Re claim 11 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the distance between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) is in a range of 20 microns to 70 microns.
Re claim 12 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein before applying the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 133/130 of Kim) on the growth substrate(T), the method further comprises: detecting a defective LED chip(220) on the growth substrate(T); and separating the LED chip(220) from the growth substrate(T) comprises: separating from the growth substrate(T) at least part of LED chip(220)s other than the defective LED chip(220).
Re claim 13 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 12, wherein after separating from the growth substrate(T) the at least part of LED chip(220)s other than the defective LED chip(220), the method further comprises: supplementing a further LED chip(220) to a pad-group(120) corresponding to the defective LED chip(220).
Re claim 14 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein an adhesive force[0062] of the insulating- adhesive column to the display backplane(310) is smaller than an adhesive force[0062] of the insulating- adhesive column to the growth substrate(T).
Re claim 15 Ting and Kim disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein a temperature for heating is in a range of 120°C to 140°C[0052].
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0081200, hereinafter Ting) in view of Lin (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2016/0118333, hereinafter Lin-333).
Re claim 1 Ting discloses in Fig 7-9 a method for mass transfer, comprising: placing the substrate(T) (Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “substrate” presently considered to be met by T since a substrate may be one layer underneath another layer that provides support and since T provides the surface of which something is deposited on/under it, T may be interpreted as a ‘substrate’) [0044 of Ting] above a display backplane(310), wherein a distance between the substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) after placing is greater than a height of an LED chip(220)(see Fig 8-9); the display backplane(310) by softening the adhesive(320) through heating[0050], wherein the softened adhesive subjected to heating is adhered to the display backplane(310); separating an LED chip(220) from the growth substrate(T), to make the separated LED chip(220) fall(since the 220’s drop or decrease in height in Fig 7-9, this may be interpreted as fall) onto a corresponding pad-group(120); and bonding the fallen LED chip(220) with the corresponding pad-group(120) on the display backplane(310).
Ting does not discloses applying an insulating-adhesive on a growth substrate(T), wherein the insulating-adhesive applied is between any two adjacent light-emitting diode (LED) chips on the growth substrate(T); forming an insulating-adhesive column between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) ;
separating an LED chip(220) from the growth substrate(T), to make the separated LED chip(220) fall(since the 220’s drop or decrease in height in Fig 7-9, this may be interpreted as fall) onto a corresponding pad-group(120) through a channel formed by insulating-adhesive columns around the separated LED chip(220);
Lin-333 discloses applying an insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] on a growth substrate(110/substrate of 150 of Lin-333), wherein the insulating-adhesive applied is between any two adjacent light-emitting diode (LED) chips(138/84)[0003 of Lin-333] on the growth substrate; forming an insulating-adhesive column(120)[0066 of Lin-333];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Lin-333 to the teachings of Ting in order to reduce cycle time and increase yield [0002, Lin-333]. In doing so, forming an insulating-adhesive column(120)[0066 of Lin-333] between the growth substrate(100/50) and the display backplane(30 of Ting) ;
separating an LED chip(220 of Ting) from the growth substrate, to make the separated LED chip(220) fall onto a corresponding pad-group(120 of Ting) through a channel (channel between left/right 120 of Lin-333) formed by insulating-adhesive columns(45 extrusion of 40)[0054 of Li] around the separated LED chip(220 of Ting);
Re claim 2 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] is spaced apart from any two adjacent LED chip(220)s.
Re claim 3 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein in a thickness direction of the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333], the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] has a cross section with narrow ends and wide middle.
Re claim 4 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] has a cross section in a shape of a circle, an ellipse, or two isosceles trapezoids butted at two longer sides among two pairs of parallel sides.
Re claim 5 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] column has a cross section with narrow ends and wide middle.
Re claim 6 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] column has a cross section in a shape of an ellipse.
Re claim 7 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] column is spaced apart from any two adjacent LED chip(220)s.
Re claim 8 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] is lower than or flush with the LED chip(220).
Re claim 9 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein before applying the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] on the growth substrate(T), the method further comprises: defining a first groove between any two adjacent LED chip(220)s on the growth substrate(T), wherein at least part of the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] applied is in the first groove.
Re claim 10 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein before softening the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333], the method further comprises: defining a second groove between adjacent pad-group(120)s on the display backplane(310); and forming the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] column between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) comprises: forming the insulating-adhesive column between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) with at least part of the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] adhered to the display backplane(310) extended into the second groove.
Re claim 11 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the distance between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) is in a range of 20 microns to 70 microns.
Re claim 12 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein before applying the insulating-adhesive(adhesive of 120)[0066 of Lin-333] on the growth substrate(T), the method further comprises: detecting a defective LED chip(220) on the growth substrate(T); and separating the LED chip(220) from the growth substrate(T) comprises: separating from the growth substrate(T) at least part of LED chip(220)s other than the defective LED chip(220).
Re claim 13 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 12, wherein after separating from the growth substrate(T) the at least part of LED chip(220)s other than the defective LED chip(220), the method further comprises: supplementing a further LED chip(220) to a pad-group(120) corresponding to the defective LED chip(220).
Re claim 14 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein an adhesive force[0062] of the insulating- adhesive column to the display backplane(310) is smaller than an adhesive force[0062] of the insulating- adhesive column to the growth substrate(T).
Re claim 15 Ting and Lin-333 disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein a temperature for heating is in a range of 120°C to 140°C[0052].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812