DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 09/29/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0081200, hereinafter Ting) in view of Li (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2022/0399238, hereinafter Li).
Re claim 1 Ting discloses in Fig 7-9 a method for mass transfer, comprising: placing the substrate(T) (Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “substrate” presently considered to be met by T since a substrate may be one layer underneath another layer that provides support and since T provides the surface of which something is deposited on/under it, T may be interpreted as a ‘substrate’) [0044 of Ting] above a display backplane(310), wherein a distance between the substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) after placing is greater than a height of an LED chip(220)(see Fig 8-9); the display backplane(310) by softening the adhesive(320) through heating[0050], wherein the softened adhesive subjected to heating is adhered to the display backplane(310); separating an LED chip(220) from the growth substrate(T), to make the separated LED chip(220) fall(since the 220’s drop or decrease in height in Fig 7-9, this may be interpreted as fall) onto a corresponding pad-group(120); and bonding the fallen LED chip(220) with the corresponding pad-group(120) on the display backplane(310).
Ting does not discloses applying an insulating-adhesive on a growth substrate(T), wherein the insulating-adhesive applied is between any two adjacent light-emitting diode (LED) chips on the growth substrate(T); forming an insulating-adhesive column between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) ;
separating an LED chip(220) from the growth substrate(T), to make the separated LED chip(220) fall(since the 220’s drop or decrease in height in Fig 7-9, this may be interpreted as fall) onto a corresponding pad-group(120) through a channel formed by insulating-adhesive columns around the separated LED chip(220);
Li discloses in Fig 5-6 applying an insulating-adhesive(40) on a growth substrate(10), wherein the insulating-adhesive applied is between any two adjacent light-emitting diode (LED) chips(20) on the growth substrate; forming an insulating-adhesive column(45)[0054 of Li] between the growth substrate(10) and the display backplane(30) ;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Li to the teachings of Ting in order to improving a utilization efficiency of the light-emitting elements, or other requirements [0020, Li]. In doing so, separating an LED chip(220 of Ting) from the growth substrate, to make the separated LED chip(220) fall onto a corresponding pad-group(120 of Ting) through a channel (multiple)[0054 of Li] formed by insulating-adhesive columns(45 extrusion of 40)[0054 of Li] around the separated LED chip(220 of Ting);
Re claim 2 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) is spaced apart from any two adjacent LED chip(220)s.
Re claim 3 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein in a thickness direction of the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li), the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) has a cross section with narrow ends and wide middle.
Re claim 4 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) has a cross section in a shape of a circle, an ellipse, or two isosceles trapezoids butted at two longer sides among two pairs of parallel sides.
Re claim 5 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) column has a cross section with narrow ends and wide middle.
Re claim 6 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) column has a cross section in a shape of an ellipse.
Re claim 7 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) column is spaced apart from any two adjacent LED chip(220)s.
Re claim 8 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) is lower than or flush with the LED chip(220).
Re claim 9 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein before applying the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) on the growth substrate(T), the method further comprises: defining a first groove between any two adjacent LED chip(220)s on the growth substrate(T), wherein at least part of the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) applied is in the first groove.
Re claim 10 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein before softening the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li), the method further comprises: defining a second groove between adjacent pad-group(120)s on the display backplane(310); and forming the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) column between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) comprises: forming the insulating-adhesive column between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) with at least part of the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) adhered to the display backplane(310) extended into the second groove.
Re claim 11 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein the distance[0020 of Li] between the growth substrate(T) and the display backplane(310) is in a range of 20 microns to 70 microns.
Re claim 12 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein before applying the insulating-adhesive(40 of Li) on the growth substrate(T), the method further comprises: detecting a defective LED chip(220) on the growth substrate(T); and separating the LED chip(220) from the growth substrate(T) comprises: separating from the growth substrate(T) at least part of LED chip(220)s other than the defective LED chip(220).
Re claim 13 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 12, wherein after separating from the growth substrate(T) the at least part of LED chip(220)s other than the defective LED chip(220), the method further comprises: supplementing a further LED chip(220) to a pad-group(120) corresponding to the defective LED chip(220).
Re claim 14 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein an adhesive force[0062] of the insulating- adhesive column to the display backplane(310) is smaller than an adhesive force[0062] of the insulating- adhesive column to the growth substrate(T).
Re claim 15 Ting and Li disclose the method for mass transfer of claim 1, wherein a temperature for heating is in a range of 120°C to 140°C[0052].
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812