DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 25 November 2025, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1, 12-15, and 17-19 under Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Brigham and with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claim 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The examiner finds that Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Brigham alone does not teach the amended limitations of independent claims 1, 19, and 20. However, upon further search and consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Romerein. Please see 35 USC § 103 rejections below using Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein.
Applicant further argues that the rejections of claims dependent on these independent claims should be withdrawn since the secondary references used to reject these dependent claims fail to correct the deficiencies of Pun in view of Vaisman and Mina. The examiner respectfully disagrees and find this argument moot since a new secondary reference is used to reject the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 12-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pun (US 2022/0130773 A1) and further in view of Vaisman (US 10,861,803 B1), Mina (US 2014/0065817 A1), and Romerein (US 5,635,881 A).
Regarding claim 1, Pun teaches a module package (Fig. 5B, 100N) comprising:
a base (¶ [0051]: 110);
at least one component (¶ [0051], [0056]: 112 or 114) on the base; and
a housing (¶ [0052]: 130) over the base and encompassing the at least one component;
at least one PCB (¶ [0106]: left 320) that extends out of the housing and facilitates electrical connects with at least one component (¶ [0106]: left 320 has traces 322 is wirebonded to 112)
Pun further teaches the PCB to be a lead terminal (see ¶ 0106) that is comprised of traces (322). However, Pun does not teach the lead terminal to be coaxial.
Vaisman, in the same field of invention, teaches lead terminals to be either comprised of traces (Figs. 5B; Col. 4, Lns. 32-38: strip line or micro strip) or coaxial cables (Figs. 5B; Col. 4, Lns. 32-38), wherein the coaxial cables comprises a dielectric structure, a central conductor, and an outer conductor (see Fig. 5C; Col. 4, Lns. 60-67; Col. 5, Lns. 1-6).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to substitute traces on a PBC lead terminal with a coaxial structures. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of substituting equivalent means of providing transportation of energy (Vaisman Col. 4, Ln. 32-38) and for the further purpose of using coaxial cables for providing more efficient transportation at higher frequencies (Vaisman Col. 5, Lns. 7-29 ) with reduced signal reflections (Vaisman Col. 5, Lns 65-67 ) by allowing the optimization of the characteristic impedance (Vaisman Col. 6, Lns 1-6).
However, Pun in view of Vaisman does not teach the coaxial lead assembly, wherein the at least one coaxial lead assembly comprises a dielectric structure, a central conductor, and an outer conductor formed by a top wall extending between top ends of two side walls wherein:
the central conductor is positioned between the two side walls and vertically underneath the top wall, and
the dielectric structure resides between the central conductor and the outer conductor such that the central conductor and outer conductor are isolated from one another.
Mina, in the same field of invention, teaches a coaxial lead assembly (Fig. 1 or Figs. 5A-5B or Figs. 6A-6B; [0028], [0036], [0038]), wherein the at least one coaxial lead assembly comprises a dielectric structure (Fig,1, [0028]: 108&110 or Fig. 5A, [0037]: 504; or Fig. 6A, [0039]:604), a central conductor (Fig. 1, [0028]: 112 or Fig. 5A, [0036]:506 or Fig. 6A, [0038]:606 ), and an outer conductor (Fig. 1, [0028]:102&104&106&126&124&122 or Fig. 5A: 502&512 or Fig. 6A: 602&612) formed by a top wall (Fig. 1: top wall formed by 106; or Fig. 5: top portion of 502; or Fig. 6A: top portion of 602) extending between top ends (top ends of below-mentioned structures) of two side walls (Fig 1: side walls formed by 126&114&122 and 104&124&116; or Fig. 5: the left and right side portions of 502; or Fig. 6: left and right side portions of 602) wherein:
the central conductor is positioned between the two side walls (Fig. 1 shows 112 between the two side walls; Fig. 5A shows 506 between the two side walls; Fig. 6A shows 606 between the two side walls) and vertically underneath the top wall (Fig. 1 show 112 under top wall formed by 106; Figs. 5/6 shows 506/606 under top wall of 502/602), and
the dielectric structure resides between the central conductor and the outer conductor such that the central conductor and outer conductor are isolated from one another (Fig. 1 shows 110&108 in between 112 and the outer conductor; or Fig. 5A shows 504 in between 502 and 506; or Fig. 6A shows 604 in between 602 and 606).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to substitute the coaxial cable of Pun in view of Vaisman, which extends out of a housing and facilitates electrical connects with at least one component, with Mina’s coaxial lead assembly. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of substituting equivalent structures for the same purpose of providing electrical connection to various elements in a semiconductor package (Mina [0003]) and for the further purpose of using the coaxial cable structure for specifically carrying high-frequency or broadband signal for connecting devices such as radio transmitters and receivers with their antennas, internet connection, and cable tv signals with minimal interference from external electromagnetic fields (Mina [0003]), for optimizing the distance between the outer shielding conductor and the signal line (Mina [0004]), which further enhances design flexibility (Mina [0027]), and for building a package with a desired characteristic impedance (Mina [0026]).
However, Pun in view of Vaisman and Mina does not teach the coaxial lead assembly wherein the outer conductor is U-shaped and without a bottom wall extending between the bottom ends of the two side walls; and wherein no portion of the central conductor is completely surrounded by the outer conductor.
Romerein, in the same field of invention, teaches a coaxial cable distribution system (see abstract) wherein the outer conductor (124; see Figs. 10B & 22) is U-shaped (see claim 5 and Col. 16, Ln. 19-22 ) and without a bottom wall extending between the bottom ends of the two side walls (Figs. 10B & 22 show 124 without a bottom wall; see also Col. 16, Lns. 30-39); and
wherein no portion of the central conductor (122) is completely surrounded by the outer conductor (since the outer conductor does not have a bottom wall).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Romerein into the device of Pun in view of Vaisman and Mina to modify the shape of the outer conductor to be U-shaped, without a bottom wall, wherein no portion of the central conductor is completely surrounded by the outer conductor. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman and Mina in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the modified coaxial structure as an “air line” conductor (Romerein Col. 16, Lns 19-20) that is used in an improved electrically grounded housing for RF applications (see Background) that requires a grounded motherboard (32; see also ground planes GP1 and GP2 in Fig. 5) to be connected to an aerial terminal through the central and outer conductors (Col. 15, Lns 49-56), with the motherboard acting as a coupler and splitter (Col. 1, Ln, 30-40) and with the grounded motherboard acts as a mount for both the U-shaped outer conductor and central conductor (see Romerein Fig. 22; also see Fig. 5 wherein 122 and 124 are electrically connected to GP1 and terminal B, respectively).
Regarding claim 9, the module package of claim 1 wherein the central conductor has a vertical contact (C, see Examiner Fig. 1) at one end that extends toward a bottom (C extends towards 32) of the at least one coaxial lead assembly (the assembly consists of outer conductor 124 and inner conductor 122).
Examiner Fig. 1. Taken from Romerein Fig. 22.
Regarding claim 12, the module package of claim 1 wherein the at least one coaxial lead assembly comprises two coaxial lead assemblies (Pun Fig. 5B shows two terminals 320; Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein substitute each of the 320 with the coaxial lead assembly of Mina).
Regarding claim 13, the module package of claim 12 wherein the two coaxial lead assemblies are located on opposing sides of the housing (Pun Fig. 5B shows two terminals on opposite sides of 130; Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein substitute each of the 320 with the coaxial lead assembly of Mina).
Regarding claim 14, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein teach the module package of claim 1, wherein the bottom ends of the two side walls are electrically connected to a ground plane (GP1; see Romerein Fig. 6 and Col. 15, Lns 65-67: “RF ground plane GP1 is connected to both the inside and outside surfaces of outer air line conductor 124 at 126”) so as to provide an outer shield to the central conductor (Col. 18, Lns. 30-57; Col. 19, Lns. 11-12).
Romerein further teaches the ground plane to be within a PCB (32 is a PCB; see Fig. 5 and Col. 3, Lns. 5-9).
However, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein does not teach the module package further a laminate structure on the base, wherein:
the at least one component is laterally surrounded by the laminate structure without residing over the laminate structure;
the at least one coaxial lead assembly is mounted on the laminate structure with the housing; and
the electrically ground plane is within the laminate structure.
Pun, through a different embodiment, teaches a module package (Fig. 5A: 100M) further comprising a laminate structure (316&314&134; see ¶ 0101) on the base (312), wherein:
the at least one component is laterally surrounded by the laminate structure without residing over the laminate structure (Fig. 5A shows 112 / 114 is horizontally surrounded by 134 without 112/114 residing over 134);
the at least one coaxial lead assembly is mounted on the laminate structure (Fig. 5A shows 310L/310R mounted on 316&314&134; Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein substitute these leads to be a coaxial lead assembly, see claim 1 rejection) with the housing (130); and
the electrically ground plane is within the laminate structure (since another embodiment of Pun teaches the PCB, as described in claim 1, to be substituted with a laminate structure and since Romerein teaches the ground plane to be within the PCB, then Pun et al teaches the ground plane to be within the laminate structure).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of another embodiment of Pun into the device of Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein to substitute the PCB as described in claim 1 with a laminate structure on a base, with the at least one component being laterally surrounded by the laminate structure and without the at least one component residing over the laminate structure; to mount an at least one coaxial lead assembly on the laminate structure with a housing; and to place the grounding plane within the laminate structure. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of creating a cavity (132, see Pun Fig. 5A) within the package in order to make space for wire bonds (116), encapsulant (120), and lid (130) that are electrically connecting and/or mechanically protecting the plurality of components in the package and for the further purpose of enhancing the thermal characteristics of the module package (Pun [0100]).
Regarding claim 15, the module package of claim 1 wherein the at least one component is configured to operate on a radio frequency signal (Pun [0106]: 112 are RF transistor dies) that is received from the central conductor or provide a radio frequency signal that is passed by the central conductor (Pun [0106]: PBC 320 act input and output leads of the package; Mina Fig. 1 & [0028] teaches 112 to be a signal wire; hence, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein teaches 112 receiving RF signals through the central conductor or 112 provide RF signals passing through the central conductor ).
Regarding claim 17, the module package of claim 1 wherein at least portions (Mina Figs. 5A or 6A: [0034]: not shown, but is believed to be behind the outer slots 512 / 612) of the central conductor comprise at least one slot via (Mina Fig. 5A, [0037]: 512 or Fig. 6A, [0039]: 612; these are slot vias of the outer conductor; furthermore, [0034] discloses the inner conductor having a similar structure as outer conductor; hence Mina teaches the central conductor comprises at least one slot via).
Regarding claim 18, the module package of claim 17 wherein at least portions of the outer conductor comprise slot vias (Mina Fig. 5A, [0037]: 512 or Fig. 6A, [0039]: 612).
Regarding claim 19, Pun teaches the method for forming a module package (Fig. 5B, 100N) comprising:
providing a base (¶ [0051]: 110);
providing at least one component (¶ [0051], [0056]: 112 or 114) on the base; and
providing a housing (¶ [0052]: 130) over the base and encompassing the at least one component;
at least one PCB (¶ [0106]: left 320) that extends out of the housing and facilitates electrical connections with the at least one component (¶ [0106]: left 320 has traces 322 is wirebonded to 112).
Pun further teaches the PCB to be a lead terminal (see ¶ 0106) that is comprised of traces (322). However, Pun does not teach the lead terminal to be coaxial.
Vaisman, in the same field of invention, teaches lead terminals to be either comprised of traces (Figs. 5B; Col. 4, Lns. 32-38: strip line or micro strip) or coaxial cables (Figs. 5B; Col. 4, Lns. 32-38), wherein the coaxial cables comprises a dielectric structure, a central conductor, and an outer conductor (see Fig. 5C; Col. 4, Lns. 60-67; Col. 5, Lns. 1-6).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to substitute traces on a PBC lead terminal with a coaxial structures. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of substituting equivalent means of providing transportation of energy (Vaisman Col. 4, Ln. 32-38) and for the further purpose of using coaxial cables for providing more efficient transportation at higher frequencies (Vaisman Col. 5, Lns. 7-29 ) with reduced signal reflections (Vaisman Col. 5, Lns 65-67 ) by allowing the optimization of the characteristic impedance (Vaisman Col. 6, Lns 1-6).
However, Pun in view of Vaisman does not teach the coaxial lead assembly, wherein the at least one coaxial lead assembly comprises a dielectric structure, a central conductor, and an outer conductor formed by a top wall extending between top ends of two side walls wherein:
the central conductor is positioned between the two side walls and vertically underneath the top wall, and
the dielectric structure resides between the central conductor and the outer conductor such that the central conductor and outer conductor are isolated from one another.
Mina, in the same field of invention, teaches a coaxial lead assembly (Fig. 1 or Figs. 5A-5B or Figs. 6A-6B; [0028], [0036], [0038]), wherein the at least one coaxial lead assembly comprises a dielectric structure (Fig,1, [0028]: 108&110 or Fig. 5A, [0037]: 504; or Fig. 6A, [0039]:604), a central conductor (Fig. 1, [0028]: 112 or Fig. 5A, [0036]:506 or Fig. 6A, [0038]:606 ), and an outer conductor (Fig. 1, [0028]:102&104&106&126&124&122 or Fig. 5A: 502 or Fig. 6A: 602) formed by a top wall (Fig. 1: top wall formed by 106; or Fig. 5: top portion of 502; or Fig. 6A: top portion of 602) extending between top ends (top ends of below-mentioned structures) of two side walls wherein (Fig 1: side walls formed by 126&114&122 and 104&124&116; or Fig. 5: the left and right side portions of 502; or Fig. 6: left and right side portions of 602):
the central conductor is positioned between the two side walls (Fig 1 shows 112 between the two side walls; Fig. 5A shows 506 between the two side walls; Fig. 6A shows 606 between the two side walls) and vertically underneath the top wall (Fig. 1 show 112 under top wall formed by 106; Figs. 5/6 shows 506/606 under top wall of 502/602), and
the dielectric structure resides between the central conductor and the outer conductor such that the central conductor and outer conductor are isolated from one another (Fig. 1 shows 110&108 in between 112 and the outer conductor; or Fig. 5A shows 504 in between 502 and 506; or Fig. 6A shows 604 in between 602 and 606).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to substitute the PCB of Pun, which extends out of a housing and facilitates electrical connects with at least one component, with Mina’s substrate having the said coaxial lead structure above. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of substituting equivalent structures for the same purpose of providing electrical connection to various elements in a semiconductor package (Mina [0003]) and for the further purpose of using the coaxial cable structure for specifically carrying high-frequency or broadband signal for connecting devices such as radio transmitters and receivers with their antennas, internet connection, and cable tv signals with minimal interference from external electromagnetic fields (Mina [0003]), for optimizing the distance between the outer shielding conductor and the signal line (Mina [0004]), which further enhances design flexibility (Mina [0027]), and for building a package with a desired characteristic impedance (Mina [0026]).
However, Pun in view of Vaisman and Mina does not teach the coaxial lead assembly wherein the outer conductor is U-shaped and without a bottom wall extending between the bottom ends of the two side walls; and wherein no portion of the central conductor is completely surrounded by the outer conductor.
Romerein, in the same field of invention, teaches a coaxial cable distribution system (see abstract) wherein the outer conductor (124; see Figs. 10B & 22) is U-shaped (see claim 5 and Col. 16, Ln. 19-22 ) and without a bottom wall extending between the bottom ends of the two side walls (Figs. 10B & 22 show 124 without a bottom wall; see also Col. 16, Lns. 30-39); and
wherein no portion of the central conductor (122) is completely surrounded by the outer conductor (since the outer conductor does not have a bottom wall).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Romerein into the device of Pun in view of Vaisman and Mina to modify the shape of the outer conductor to be U-shaped, without a bottom wall, wherein no portion of the central conductor is completely surrounded by the outer conductor. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman and Mina in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the modified coaxial structure as an “air line” conductor (Romerein Col. 16, Lns 19-20) that is used in an improved electrically grounded housing for RF applications (see Background) that requires a grounded motherboard (32; see also ground planes GP1 and GP2 in Fig. 5) to be connected to an aerial terminal through the central and outer conductors (Col. 15, Lns 49-56), with the motherboard acting as a coupler and splitter (Col. 1, Ln, 30-40) and with the grounded motherboard acts as a mount for both the U-shaped outer conductor and central conductor (see Romerein Fig. 22; also see Fig. 5 wherein 122 and 124 are electrically connected to GP1 and terminal B, respectively).
Claims 2-5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pun (US 2022/0130773 A1), Vaisman (US 10,861,803 B1), Mina (US 2014/0065817 A1) and Romerein (US 5,635,881 A) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Palino (US 4,972,253 A).
Regarding claim 2, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein teaches the module package of claim 1, wherein:
the top wall and the two side walls of the outer conductor are formed from at least first portions (Mina Fig. 1, [0028]: top portions of 106; side portions of 104 &114&116; alternatively, Mina Fig. 5A, [0037]: portions of 510; alternatively, Mina Fig. 6A, [0038]: portions of 610) of one or more of the metal layers (Mina Fig. 1: 104 & 106; alternatively, Mina Fig. 5A: 510; alternatively, Mina Fig. 6A: 610) and a first set of the vias (Mina Fig. 1, [0028]: 124 & 126&128; alternatively, Mina Fig. 5A , [0037]: 512; alternatively, Mina Fig. 6A, [0039]: 612); and
the central conductor is formed from at least second portions (Mina Fig. 1: portions of 112; alternatively, Mina Fig. 5, [0036]: portions of 506; alternatively, Mina Fig. 6, [0038]: portions of 606) of one or more of the metal layers (Mina Fig. 1: 112; alternatively, see [0034]).
However, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein does not teach: wherein the at least one coaxial lead assembly is formed from a multi-layer laminate structure comprising vias and alternating dielectric layers and metal layers.
Palino, in the same field of invention, teaches a module package (Figs. 1 & 4; Column 4, Line 36-68: 11) wherein the PCB (10) is formed from a multi-layer laminate structure (see abstract; Column 3, Ln. 42-51) comprising vias (50, 53-55; see also Col. 5, Line 51) and alternating dielectric layers (ceramic) and metal layers (41-45).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Palino into the device of Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein to from a coaxial lead assembly from a multi-layer laminate structure comprising vias and alternating dielectric layers and metal layers. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of adding programmable vias (Palino Column 5, Line 49-56) in a redistribution layer, i.e., the alternating layers of dielectric and metal layers, for the further purpose of minimizing the changes needs in the masks for accommodating different chip designs (Palino Column 5, Line 25-47), hence simplifying the method of making the redistribution layer and reducing its cost of manufacturing (Palino Col. 5, Line 44).
Regarding claim 3, the module package of claim 2 wherein the central conductor is further formed from a second set of vias (Mina Fig. 5A, [0037]: 512 or Fig. 6A, [0039]: 612; these are vias of the outer conductor; furthermore, [0034] discloses the inner conductor having a similar structure as outer conductor; hence Mina teaches the central conductor comprises a second set of vias ).
Regarding claim 4, the module package of claim 2 wherein the dielectric structure is formed from at least portions of one or more of the dielectric layers (Palino Fig. 4 shows one or more dielectric layers, i.e., ceramic; Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, Romerein, and Palino teaches the dielectric structure of Mina to have the layers as taught by Palino).
Regarding claim 5, the module package of claim 2 wherein the central conductor is positioned between bottom ends of the two side walls (Mina Figs. 5A & 6A show central conductor 506/606 between the bottom ends of the side walls of 502/602).
Regarding claim 21, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein teaches the module package of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach: wherein at least portions of the central conductor comprise a plurality of individual vias, which are aligned in a series.
Romerein further teaches connecting the central conductor to a first terminal (B, see Fig. 6) of a PCB (32) through the use of a via (C, see Examiner Fig. 1 in claim 9 rejection above) at a first end (left end of 122, see Fig. 6) of the central conductor and connecting the central conductor to a coaxial cable pin (P2) of a second terminal (38A) at a second end (right end of 122) of the central conductor, with these vias and connections aligned in a series (horizontally as shown in Fig. 6).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to add a plurality of individual vias, which are aligned in a series. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to connect the central conductor to a coaxial cable pin, or to any other terminals required by device, using the same manner as connecting the central conductor to the PCB.
However, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein does not teach: the vias are electrically connected through metal traces.
Palino, in the same field of invention, teaches a module package (Figs. 1 & 4; Column 4, Line 36-68: 11) wherein the PCB (10) is formed from a multi-layer laminate structure (see abstract; Column 3, Ln. 42-51) comprising vias (50, 53-55; see also Col. 5, Line 51) are electrically connected through metal traces (41-45).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Palino into the device of Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein to have the vias be electrically connected through metal traces. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of adding programmable vias (Palino Column 5, Line 49-56) in a redistribution layer, i.e., the alternating layers of dielectric and metal layers, for the further purpose of minimizing the changes needs in the masks for accommodating different chip designs (Palino Column 5, Line 25-47), hence simplifying the method of making the redistribution layer and reducing its cost of manufacturing (Palino Col. 5, Line 44).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pun (US 2022/0130773 A1), Vaisman (US 10,861,803 B1), Mina (US 2014/0065817 A1) and Romerein (US 5,635,881 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2020/0203902 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein teaches the module package of claim 1 but does not teach wherein exposed ends of the central conductor and the outer conductor comprise contacts.
Wang, in the same field of invention, teaches a connector for coaxial cables wherein exposed ends (Fig. 4, [0067]: exposed ends of 4 & 6) of the central conductor (4) and the outer conductor (6) comprise contacts (Figs. 2 & 4& 5, [0067]-[0068]: 9 & 16, with 4 is connected to 9 and 6 is connected to 16).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Wang into the device of Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein to attach contacts to exposed ends of a central conductor of a coaxial lead assembly and an outer conductor of the coaxial lead assembly. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the bond pads as a means of connecting the inner and outer conductor of the coaxial lead assembly to external circuit boards (Wang Figs. 1-2 and 7, [0070]: 2) for the further purpose of reducing radiation losses and return loss and improving the accuracy and stability of the engaging position (Wang [0071]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pun (US 2022/0130773 A1), Vaisman (US 10,861,803 B1), Mina (US 2014/0065817 A1), and Romerein (US 5,635,881 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lao (US 2003/0096447 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein the module package of claim 1 but does not teach the package further comprising a plurality of leads that extend out of the housing and facilitate further electrical connections with the at least one component.
Lao, in the same field of invention, teaches the a plurality of leads (Fig. 2: 252) that extend out of the housing (as shown in Fig. 2, 252 extends out of the housing) and facilitate further electrical connections with the at least one component (254, see ¶ 0028).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Lao into the device of Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein to have a module package further comprising a plurality of leads that extend out of the housing and facilitate further electrical connections with the at least one component. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of substituting different types of input/output connectors that is suitable for the purpose of the type of signal connected, i.e., an RF broadband signal may require coaxial leads (Lao Fig. 2, [0028]: 251), whereas a non-RF signal such as power or ground may require regular terminals and/or BGA bumps (Lao [0028]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pun (US 2022/0130773 A1), Vaisman (US 10,861,803 B1), Mina (US 2014/0065817 A1) and Romerein (US 5,635,881 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vadlamani (US 2020/0168569 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein teaches the module package of claim 1 but does not teach wherein the at least one coaxial lead assembly is further configured to provide at least one compartment that is defined by metal walls and through which at least one conductor that is surrounded by a dielectric material extends.
Vadlamani, in the same field of invention, teaches a device wherein the at least one coaxial lead assembly (Fig. 2, [0020]: 204) is further configured to provide at least one compartment (Fig. 6A: the square areas of 602 that contains another wiring 602 ) that is defined by metal walls (602 is a metal layer) and through which at least one conductor (Fig. 6A and [0032] shows a layer of 602 inside each of the square areas) that is surrounded by a dielectric material (318) extends.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Vadlamani into the device of Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein to configure a coaxial lead assembly to provide at least one compartment that is defined by metal walls and through which at least one conductor that is surrounded by a dielectric material extends. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Romerein in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the centrally-located metal layers within each compartment as waveguide interconnects within a signal routing layer and using the dielectric to electrically insulate these waveguides from the other waveguides (Vadlamani [0032]) and for the further purpose of using these waveguides for chip-to-chip interconnects within the package (Vadlamani [0020]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pun (US 2022/0130773 A1) and further in view of Vaisman (US 10,861,803 B1), Mina (US 2014/0065817 A1), Khlat (US 2016/0164551 A1) and Romerein (US 5,635,881 A).
Regarding claim 20, Pun teaches the communication device (Abstract: RF transistor device) comprising:
a module package (Fig. 5B, 100N) for amplifying a radio frequency signal ([0003]-[0007]: RF transistor amplifier; see also Fig. 8 and ¶ [0127] ), the module package comprising:
a base (¶ [0051]: 110);
at least one component (¶ [0051], [0056]: 112 or 114) on the base;
a housing (¶ [0052]: 130) over the base and encompassing the at least one component; and
at least one PCB (¶ [0106]: left 320) that extends out of the housing and facilitates electrical connections with the at least one component (¶ [0106]: left 320 has traces 322 is wirebonded to 112)
Pun further teaches the PCB to be a lead terminal (see ¶ 0106) that is comprised of traces (322). However, Pun does not teach the lead terminal to be coaxial.
Vaisman, in the same field of invention, teaches lead terminals to be either comprised of traces (Figs. 5B; Col. 4, Lns. 32-38: strip line or micro strip) or coaxial cables (Figs. 5B; Col. 4, Lns. 32-38), wherein the coaxial cables comprises a dielectric structure, a central conductor, and an outer conductor (see Fig. 5C; Col. 4, Lns. 60-67; Col. 5, Lns. 1-6).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to substitute traces on a PBC lead terminal with a coaxial structures. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of substituting equivalent means of providing transportation of energy (Vaisman Col. 4, Ln. 32-38) and for the further purpose of using coaxial cables for providing more efficient transportation at higher frequencies (Vaisman Col. 5, Lns. 7-29 ) with reduced signal reflections (Vaisman Col. 5, Lns 65-67 ) by allowing the optimization of the characteristic impedance (Vaisman Col. 6, Lns 1-6).
However, Pun in view of Vaisman does not teach the coaxial lead assembly, wherein the at least one coaxial lead assembly comprises a dielectric structure, a central conductor, and an outer conductor formed by a top wall extending between top ends of two side walls wherein:
the central conductor is positioned between the two side walls and vertically underneath the top wall, and
the dielectric structure resides between the central conductor and the outer conductor such that the central conductor and outer conductor are isolated from one another.
Mina, in the same field of invention, teaches a coaxial lead assembly (Fig. 1 or Figs. 5A-5B or Figs. 6A-6B; [0028], [0036], [0038]), wherein the at least one coaxial lead assembly comprises a dielectric structure (Fig,1, [0028]: 108&110 or Fig. 5A, [0037]: 504; or Fig. 6A, [0039]:604), a central conductor (Fig. 1, [0028]: 112 or Fig. 5A, [0036]:506 or Fig. 6A, [0038]:606 ), and an outer conductor (Fig. 1, [0028]:102&104&106&126&124&122 or Fig. 5A: 502 or Fig. 6A: 602) formed by a top wall (Fig. 1: top wall formed by 106; or Fig. 5: top portion of 502; or Fig. 6A: top portion of 602) extending between top ends (top ends of below-mentioned structures) of two side walls wherein (Fig 1: side walls formed by 126&114&122 and 104&124&116; or Fig. 5: the left and right side portions of 502; or Fig. 6: left and right side portions of 602):
the central conductor is positioned between the two side walls (Fig 1 shows 112 between the two side walls; Fig. 5A shows 506 between the two side walls; Fig. 6A shows 606 between the two side walls) and vertically underneath the top wall (Fig. 1 show 112 under top wall formed by 106; Figs. 5/6 shows 506/606 under top wall of 502/602), and
the dielectric structure resides between the central conductor and the outer conductor such that the central conductor and outer conductor are isolated from one another (Fig. 1 shows 110&108 in between 112 and the outer conductor; or Fig. 5A shows 504 in between 502 and 506; or Fig. 6A shows 604 in between 602 and 606).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to substitute the PCB of Pun, which extends out of a housing and facilitates electrical connects with at least one component, with Mina’s substrate having a coaxial lead assembly. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of substituting equivalent structures for the same purpose of providing electrical connection to various elements in a semiconductor package (Mina [0003]) and for the further purpose of using the coaxial cable structure for specifically carrying high-frequency or broadband signal for connecting devices such as radio transmitters and receivers with their antennas, internet connection, and cable tv signals with minimal interference from external electromagnetic fields (Mina [0003]), for optimizing the distance between the outer shielding conductor and the signal line (Mina [0004]), which further enhances design flexibility (Mina [0027]), and for building a package with a desired characteristic impedance (Mina [0026]).
However, Pun in view of Vaisman and Mina does not teach the communication device comprising a control system; transmit circuitry associated with the control system and comprising a circuit for amplifying a radio frequency signal.
Khlat, in the same field of invention, teaches a communication device comprising
a control system (Fig. 4, [0033]: 62);
transmit circuitry (Fig. 2, [0025]: 18) associated with the control system ([0009]) and comprising
a circuit ([0026]: 22) for amplifying a radio frequency signal ([0026]: input of RF amplifier).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Khlat into the device of Pun in view of Vaisman and Mina to design a communication device comprising of a control system and a transmit circuitry associated with the control system, with the transmit circuitry comprising a module package for amplifying a radio frequency signal, and with the module package at least comprising of a base, at least one component on the base, a housing over the base and encompassing the at least one component, and at least one coaxial lead assembly that facilitates electrical connections with the at least one component, and with the coaxial lead assembly at least comprising of a dielectric structure, a central conductor, and an outer conductor formed by a top wall extending between two side walls. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman and Mina in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of designing a communication device with envelope tracking with reduced circuit area and power consumption (Khlat Abstract, [0004]-[0005]).
However, Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Khlat does not teach the coaxial lead assembly wherein the outer conductor is U-shaped and without a bottom wall extending between the bottom ends of the two side walls; and wherein no portion of the central conductor is completely surrounded by the outer conductor.
Romerein, in the same field of invention, teaches a coaxial cable distribution system (see abstract) wherein the outer conductor (124; see Figs. 10B & 22) is U-shaped (see claim 5 and Col. 16, Ln. 19-22 ) and without a bottom wall extending between the bottom ends of the two side walls (Figs. 10B & 22 show 124 without a bottom wall; see also Col. 16, Lns. 30-39); and
wherein no portion of the central conductor (122) is completely surrounded by the outer conductor (since the outer conductor does not have a bottom wall).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Romerein into the device of Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Khlat to modify the shape of the outer conductor to be U-shaped, without a bottom wall, wherein no portion of the central conductor is completely surrounded by the outer conductor. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Pun in view of Vaisman, Mina, and Khlat in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the modified coaxial structure as an “air line” conductor (Romerein Col. 16, Lns 19-20) that is used in an improved electrically grounded housing for RF applications (see Background) that requires a grounded motherboard (32; see also ground planes GP1 and GP2 in Fig. 5) to be connected to an aerial terminal through the central and outer conductors (Col. 15, Lns 49-56), with the motherboard acting as a coupler and splitter (Col. 1, Ln, 30-40) and with the grounded motherboard acts as a mount for both the U-shaped outer conductor and central conductor (see Romerein Fig. 22; also see Fig. 5 wherein 122 and 124 are electrically connected to GP1 and terminal B, respectively).
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS YAP/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899