DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 15-18, and 29-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180012944 (Gunji) in view of US 8981352 (Yamada et al).
Concerning claim 10, Gunji discloses a bottom emission display element ([0093], it is noted that a transparent electrode is used as the material for the first electrode in order to form a bottom emission display element) comprising:
a substrate (102); a planarized layer (162) formed above the substrate; a cathode electrode (168) ; an organic layer (166) ; an insulating layer (164); and a plurality of light emitting elements including at least a first light emitting element (the light emitting structure to the left to the first circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) and a second light emitting element (the light emitting structure formed to the right of the second circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) formed adjacent to each other (Fig. 9), wherein in a cross-sectional view: the first light emitting element includes a first anode electrode (144); and a first raised portion (the first circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) that includes a first portion of the organic layer, a first portion of the cathode electrode, and a first portion of the insulating layer that is partially contacted to the first anode electrode (note that the first circled region includes all the aforementioned layers), the second light emitting element includes a second anode electrode (144); and a second raised portion (the second circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) that includes a second portion of the organic layer, a second portion of the cathode electrode, and a second portion of the insulating layer that is partially contacted to the second anode electrode (note that the second circled region includes all the aforementioned layers), a groove (rectangular region in the annotated Fig. 9 above, it is noted that the groove region extend above the rectangular region but is not included in the annotated drawing for clarity of the drawings purposes) is located between the first raised portion and the second raised portion in a cross- sectional view (Fig. 9).
Gunji does not disclose the first raised portion has an apex portion at a maximum height of the first raised portion from the substrate in the cross-sectional view, and the first portion of the cathode electrode and first portion of the organic layer are curved at the apex portion in the cross-sectional view. However, Yamada discloses a display device configuration (Figs. 4 and 5)
in a cross-sectional view: the first light emitting element (10R) includes a first anode electrode (13); and a first raised portion (the circled region 1 in the annotated Fig. 5 above) that includes a first portion of the organic layer (14), a first portion of the cathode electrode (15), and a first portion of the insulating layer (22) that is partially contacted to the first anode electrode (Fig. 4) (note that the first circled region includes all the aforementioned layers), the second light emitting element (10G) includes a second anode electrode (13); and a second raised portion (the circled region 2 in the annotated Fig. 5 above) that includes a second portion of the organic layer, a second portion of the cathode electrode, and a second portion of the insulating layer that is partially contacted to the second anode electrode (note that the circled region 2 includes all the aforementioned layers), a groove (30) is located between the first raised portion and the second raised portion in a cross- sectional view (Fig. 5) and the first raised portion has an apex portion at a maximum height of the first raised portion from the substrate in the cross-sectional view, and the first portion of the cathode electrode and first portion of the organic layer are curved at the apex portion in the cross-sectional view (Fig. 5). Yamada discloses that such configuration allows for the groove to be provided in the position between the organic EL devices adjacent to each other of the insulating film. Therefore, drive current leakage between the organic EL devices adjacent to each other is suppressed. Further, it is not necessary to perform the existing heat treatment, and accordingly, characteristics are allowed not to be deteriorated. (col. 2 lines 17-27). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of Gunji such that the first raised portion has an apex portion at a maximum height of the first raised portion from the substrate in the cross-sectional view, and the first portion of the cathode electrode and first portion of the organic layer are curved at the apex portion in the cross-sectional view as disclosed in Yamada in order to suppress drive current leakage between adjacent organic EL devices.
Continuing to claim 11, Gunji in view of Yamada discloses wherein the first and second light emitting elements respectively emit one of red light, green light, blue light or white light (Gunji [0036]).
Considering claim 15, Gunji in view of Yamada discloses wherein the groove extends through the planarized layer (Gunji Fig. 9).
Referring to claim 16, Gunji in view of Yamada discloses wherein composition of the organic layer is different from composition of the planarized layer (Gunji [0003], [0054], and [0057]).
Regarding claim 17, Gunji in view of Yamada discloses an electronic device comprising a bottom emission display element according to claim 10 (Gunji [0002]).
Pertaining to claim 18, Gunji in view of Yamada discloses wherein the first and second light emitting elements respectively emit one of red light, green light, blue light or white light (Gunji [0036]).
As to claims 29 and 33 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji in view of Yamada discloses wherein a lowest part of the groove is below the first anode electrode and the second anode electrode (Gunji Fig. 9 above, it is noted that the groove extends through layer 164 and 162. The first and second anode are located above layer 162 and therefore the lowest part of the groove is located below both the first anode and the second anode).
Concerning claims 30 and 34 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji in view of Yamada discloses wherein the groove includes a third portion of the cathode electrode (Gunji Fig. 9, the examiner is interpreting the third portion of the cathode electrode and the third portion of the organic layer to be the portion that is contained in the groove.).
Continuing to claims 31 and 35 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji in view of Yamada discloses further comprising: a first portion of the planarized layer below the first raised portion that partially contacts the first anode electrode and the groove, and a second portion of the planarized layer below the second raised portion that partially contacts the second anode electrode and the groove (Gunji Fig. 9, note that the left portion of the planarized layer 162 lies below the first anode (left) and has a portion that contacts the groove and the right portion of the planarized layer lies below the second anode (right) and ha a portion that contacts the groove).
Considering claims 32 and 36 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji in view of Yamada discloses wherein a lowest part of the third portion of the cathode electrode is closer to the substrate than the first portion of the cathode electrode (Gunji Fig. 9, it is noted that the groove extends through both layers 164 and 162 with the lowest part of the groove being at the bottom of layer 162. The first portion of the cathode is formed over insulating layer 164 and therefore is at a farther position from substrate than the first portion of the cathode. The organic layer (166) and cathode (168) extends along the entirety of the sidewalls and line the lowest part of the groove and therefore the lowest part of the third portion of the cathode electrode is closer to the substrate than the first portion).
Regarding claims 37 and 39 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji in view of Yamada discloses
wherein the third portion of the organic layer is at least partially located at a same height from the substrate as the first anode electrode (Gunji Fig. 9 It is noted that the organic layer (166) extends along the entirety of the sidewalls and bottom of the groove and therefore a portion of the organic layer (the rectangular region seen in the annotated Fig. 9 above) is located at a same height as the first anode (Gunji 144)).
Referring to claim 38 and 40 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji in view of Yamada discloses wherein a lowest part of the third portion of the cathode electrode is closer to the substrate than a portion of the cathode electrode that is on a portion of the organic layer contacting the first anode electrode (Gunji Fig. 9 it is noted that the groove extends through both layers 164 and 162 with the lowest part of the groove being at the bottom of layer 162. The portion of the cathode that is formed on a portion of the organic layer contacting the first anode is overlies layer 162. The organic layer (166) and cathode (168) extends along the entirety of the sidewalls and line the lowest part of the groove (which extends through both layers 164 and 162) and therefore the lowest part of the third portion of the cathode electrode is closer to the substrate than the portion of the cathode that is formed on a portion of the organic layer contacting the first anode).
Regarding claim 41, Gunji in view of Yamada discloses wherein the apex portion is only a single peak in the first raised portion in the cross-sectional view (Yamada Fig. 5).
Pertaining to claim 42, Gunji discloses a bottom emission display element ([0093], it is noted that a transparent electrode is used as the material for the first electrode in order to form a bottom emission display element) comprising:
a substrate (102); a planarized layer (162) formed above the substrate; a cathode electrode (168) ; an organic layer (166) ; an insulating layer (164); and a plurality of light emitting elements including at least a first light emitting element (the light emitting structure to the left to the first circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) and a second light emitting element (the light emitting structure formed to the right of the second circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) formed adjacent to each other (Fig. 9), wherein in a cross-sectional view: the first light emitting element includes a first anode electrode (144); and a first raised portion (the first circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) that includes a first portion of the organic layer, a first portion of the cathode electrode, and a first portion of the insulating layer that is partially contacted to the first anode electrode (note that the first circled region includes all the aforementioned layers), the second light emitting element includes a second anode electrode (144); and a second raised portion (the second circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) that includes a second portion of the organic layer, a second portion of the cathode electrode, and a second portion of the insulating layer that is partially contacted to the second anode electrode (note that the second circled region includes all the aforementioned layers), a groove (rectangular region in the annotated Fig. 9 above, it is noted that the groove region extend above the rectangular region but is not included in the annotated drawing for clarity of the drawings purposes) is located between the first raised portion and the second raised portion in a cross- sectional view (Fig. 9).
Gunji does not disclose and the organic layer is not in contact with the planarized layer in proximity to the groove. However, Yamada discloses a display device configuration (Figs. 31-33)
in a cross-sectional view: the first light emitting element (10R) includes a first anode electrode (13); and a first raised portion (the circled region 1 in the annotated Fig. 33 above) that includes a first portion of the organic layer (14), a first portion of the cathode electrode (15), and a first portion of the insulating layer (22) that is partially contacted to the first anode electrode (Fig. 31) (note that the first circled region includes all the aforementioned layers), the second light emitting element (10G) includes a second anode electrode (13); and a second raised portion (the circled region 2 in the annotated Fig. 33 above) that includes a second portion of the organic layer, a second portion of the cathode electrode, and a second portion of the insulating layer that is partially contacted to the second anode electrode (note that the circled region 2 includes all the aforementioned layers), a groove (30) is located between the first raised portion and the second raised portion in a cross- sectional view (Fig. 33) and the organic layer is not in contact with the planarized layer in proximity to the groove. (Fig. 33). Yamada discloses that such configuration allows for the groove to be provided in the position between the organic EL devices adjacent to each other of the insulating film. Therefore, drive current leakage between the organic EL devices adjacent to each other is suppressed. Further, it is not necessary to perform the existing heat treatment, and accordingly, characteristics are allowed not to be deteriorated. (col. 2 lines 17-27). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of Gunji such that the organic layer is not in contact with the planarized layer in proximity to the groove.as disclosed in Yamada in order to suppress drive current leakage between adjacent organic EL devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 06/05/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 10, 11, 15-18, and 29-40 under 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 8981352 (Yamada et al).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE N NEWTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 08/25/26
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897