DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 11, 15-18, and 29-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20180012944 (Gunji).
Concerning claim 10, Gunji discloses a bottom emission display element ([0093], it is noted that a transparent electrode is used as the material for the first electrode in order to form a bottom emission display element) comprising:
a substrate (102); a planarized layer (162) formed above the substrate; a cathode electrode (168) ; an organic layer (166) ; an insulating layer (164); and a plurality of light emitting elements including at least a first light emitting element (the light emitting structure to the left to the first circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) and a second light emitting element (the light emitting structure formed to the right of the second circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) formed adjacent to each other (Fig. 9), wherein in a cross-sectional view: the first light emitting element includes a first anode electrode (144); and a first raised portion (the first circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) that includes a first portion of the organic layer, a first portion of the cathode electrode, and a first portion of the insulating layer that is partially contacted to the first anode electrode (note that the first circled region includes all the aforementioned layers), the second light emitting element includes a second anode electrode (144); and a second raised portion (the second circled region in the annotated Fig. 9 above) that includes a second portion of the organic layer, a second portion of the cathode electrode, and a second portion of the insulating layer that is partially contacted to the second anode electrode (note that the second circled region includes all the aforementioned layers), a groove (rectangular region in the annotated Fig. 9 above, it is noted that the groove region extend above the rectangular region but is not included in the annotated drawing for clarity of the drawings purposes) is located between the first raised portion and the second raised portion in a cross- sectional view (Fig. 9), and a top surface of the first raised portion is not parallel to a top surface of the substrate (Fig. 9, note that the first raised portion has several top surfaces most notably the slanted top surface leading to the topmost surface of the first raised portion. This slanted portion of the top surface of the first raised portion is what the examiner is relying for rejection purposes).
Continuing to claim 11, Gunji discloses wherein the first and second light emitting elements respectively emit one of red light, green light, blue light or white light ([0036]).
Considering claim 15, Gunji discloses wherein the groove extends through the planarized layer (Fig. 9).
Referring to claim 16, Gunji discloses wherein composition of the organic layer is different from composition of the planarized layer ([0003], [0054], and [0057]).
Regarding claim 17, Gunji discloses an electronic device comprising a bottom emission display element according to claim 10 ([0002]).
Pertaining to claim 18, Guni discloses wherein the first and second light emitting elements respectively emit one of red light, green light, blue light or white light ([0036]).
As to claims 29 and 33 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji discloses wherein a lowest part of the groove is below the first anode electrode and the second anode electrode (Fig. 9 above, it is noted that the groove extends through layer 164 and 162. The first and second anode are located above layer 162 and therefore the lowest part of the groove is located below both the first anode and the second anode).
Concerning claims 30 and 34 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji discloses wherein the groove includes a third portion of the cathode electrode (Fig. 9, the examiner is interpreting the third portion of the cathode electrode and the third portion of the organic layer to be the portion that is contained in the groove.).
Continuing to claims 31 and 35 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji discloses further comprising: a first portion of the planarized layer below the first raised portion that partially contacts the first anode electrode and the groove, and a second portion of the planarized layer below the second raised portion that partially contacts the second anode electrode and the groove (Fig. 9, note that the left portion of the planarized layer 162 lies below the first anode (left) and has a portion that contacts the groove and the right portion of the planarized layer lies below the second anode (right) and ha a portion that contacts the groove).
Considering claims 32 and 36 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji discloses wherein a lowest part of the third portion of the cathode electrode is closer to the substrate than the first portion of the cathode electrode (Fig. 9, it is noted that the groove extends through both layers 164 and 162 with the lowest part of the groove being at the bottom of layer 162. The first portion of the cathode is formed over insulating layer 164 and therefore is at a farther position from substrate than the first portion of the cathode. The organic layer (166) and cathode (168) extends along the entirety of the sidewalls and line the lowest part of the groove and therefore the lowest part of the third portion of the cathode electrode is closer to the substrate than the first portion).
Regarding claims 37 and 39 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji discloses
wherein the third portion of the organic layer is at least partially located at a same height from the substrate as the first anode electrode (Fig. 9 It is noted that the organic layer (166) extends along the entirety of the sidewalls and bottom of the groove and therefore a portion of the organic layer (the rectangular region seen in the annotated Fig. 9 above) is located at a same height as the first anode (144)).
Referring to claim 38 and 40 (with these claims being similar in scope), Gunji discloses wherein a lowest part of the third portion of the cathode electrode is closer to the substrate than a portion of the cathode electrode that is on a portion of the organic layer contacting the first anode electrode (Fig. 9 it is noted that the groove extends through both layers 164 and 162 with the lowest part of the groove being at the bottom of layer 162. The portion of the cathode that is formed on a portion of the organic layer contacting the first anode is overlies layer 162. The organic layer (166) and cathode (168) extends along the entirety of the sidewalls and line the lowest part of the groove (which extends through both layers 164 and 162) and therefore the lowest part of the third portion of the cathode electrode is closer to the substrate than the portion of the cathode that is formed on a portion of the organic layer contacting the first anode).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the top surface of the first raised portion is clearly parallel to the upper surface of the substrate and that as such it does not read on the limitation wherein “a top surface oof the first raised portion is not parallel to a top surface of the substrate.” However the examiner disagrees. The first raised portion has several top surfaces most notably the slanted top surface leading to the topmost surface of the first raised portion. This slanted portion of the top surface of the first raised portion is what the examiner is relying for rejection purposes. Therefore the arguments are not found to be persuasive and the rejection stands.
Conclusion
/VALERIE N NEWTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 03/07/26
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897