Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on an application filed in the Republic of Korea on December 30, 2021, and receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. It should be noted that in order to effectively benefit from the foreign priority date, an English translation of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) filed together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate must be presented.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 7, 2023; February 14, 2024; and July 25, 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested:
“Organic Light Emitting Diode Display Device Having An Inclined, Tapered Bank Which Defines The Emission Area Along With Tapering Structures”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0157903), hereinafter Huang. For clarity, an annotated version of Huang Fig. 7 is provided below, hereinafter Fig. 7A.
Regarding Claim 1, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) comprising:
-a substrate ((1); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0075]) including an emission area ((EA); Fig. 7A, as given by opening (K1), Paragraph [0093]) and a non-emission area ((NEA); Fig. 7A, corresponding to the ‘pixel defining layer’ (4) and including portions (NEA1) and NEA2), Paragraph [0097]);
-a circuit element (‘driving transistor’ (22); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0083]) on the substrate (1);
-a light emitting element ((5); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0096]) electrically connected to the circuit element (22) and including a first electrode ((51); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0096]), a light emitting layer ((52); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0096]), and a second electrode ((53); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0096]);
-a bank (‘pixel defining layer’ (4); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0092]) on the first electrode ((51); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0097]), and defining the emission area (EA) where the first electrode (51) is exposed (i.e. no bank above it), and defining the non-emission area (NEA) where the bank (4) is located;
-a taper pattern (‘first bumps’ (7); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0148]) on the substrate (1) and interposed between (e.g. vertically) the circuit element (22) and the bank (4) at the non-emission area (NEA),
(Examiner notes that ‘taper’ is understood under broadest reasonable interpretation as given by the adjective definition in Merriam-Webster: “progressively narrowed toward one end.”)
-wherein the bank (4) includes an incline (given by the slope of the surface of (4)) extending from an edge of the emission area (EA) to a predetermined distance into the non-emission area (e.g. the width of (NEA2) to the edge of (NEA1) as denoted on Fig. 7A), the incline of the bank defining a taper area (e.g. (NEA2) on the left), and
-wherein the taper pattern (7) is adjacent to or overlaps the taper area (NEA2).
Regarding Claim 2, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the incline of the bank (4) has a predetermined angle ((α); Fig. 7A) relative to the substrate (1).
Regarding Claim 3, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the taper pattern encircles the emission area. (See Fig. 3, Paragraph [0110] - note the line M-M’ given as the direction of the cross-sectional view)
Regarding Claim 5, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 3, wherein:
-the taper pattern includes a plurality of segments (individual bumps of (7)) that encircle the emission area. (EA) (See Fig. 3, Paragraph [0110]- note the line M-M’ given as the direction of the cross-sectional view.)
Regarding Claim 6, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-the circuit element (22) includes a source electrode and a drain electrode ((223) and (224), respectively; Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0086]), and wherein the taper pattern (7) includes a same material as the source electrode or the drain electrode (Paragraph [0148]).
Regarding Claim 11, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 1, further comprising:
-a spacer (‘protrusion’ (61); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0113]) on the bank (4) and in the non-emission area (NEA).
Regarding Claim 12, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 11, wherein:
- the spacer (61) has a shape that includes at least one of a dot, a circle, an oval, a polygon, a line and a curve (“may be a strip [line], a circle, or a polygon.”, Paragraph [0114]).
Regarding Claim 17, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 11, wherein:
- the taper pattern (7) is formed on a same layer as a source-drain electrode ((214); Fig. 7A, Paragraph [0149]) connected to a source electrode or a drain electrode (e.g. (223)) constituting the circuit element (22) (See Paragraph [0148] and Fig. 7A).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koo et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0391397), hereinafter Koo.
Regarding Claim 18, Koo teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 2; Paragraphs [0067] and [0078]) comprising:
-a substrate ((110); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0096]) including an emission area ((EA); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0098]) and a non-emission area ((NEA); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0098]);
-a circuit element (‘transistor’ (120); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0096]) on the substrate (110);
-a light emitting element ((130); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0097]) electrically connected to the circuit element (120) and including a first electrode ((131); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0098]), a light emitting layer (‘organic layer’ (132); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0098]), and a second electrode ((133); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0102]);
-a bank ((114); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0098]) on the first electrode (131), and defining the emission area (EA) where the first electrode (131) is exposed (i.e. no bank above it), and defining the non-emission area (NEA) where the bank (114) is located;
-a taping spacer (‘protrusion’ (140); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0101]) on the bank (114),
(Examiner notes that ‘taping’ is understood under broadest reasonable interpretation as given by the adjective definition in Merriam-Webster: “progressively narrowed toward one end.”)
-wherein the bank (114) includes an incline (given by the slope of the surface of (114)) extending from an edge of the emission area (EA) to a predetermined distance into the non-emission area (e.g. half the width of the (NEA) denoted on the left of Fig. 4 as end of sub-area (NEA2)), the incline of the bank defining a taper area (e.g. (NEA2) on the left), and
-wherein the taping spacer (140) is on the taper area (NEA2) of the bank (114) and has a different slope (e.g. slope of one of the lateral sides) from a slope of the incline of the bank (given by the slope of the surface of (114)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
Regarding Claim 9, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-a spacer (‘protrusion’ (61); e.g. Fig. 3, Paragraph [0113]) overlaps the first electrode (51).
Huang teaches:
-the taper pattern (7) is used to make an uneven rough surface on the connection portion ((6); Fig. 7A)) thereby generating the spacers (61) which improve the color separation (Paragraph [0152]).
Huang does not explicitly state an embodiment in writing or show in Figs. 7/7A:
-the taper pattern (7) overlaps the first electrode (51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the device embodiment shown in Figs. 7/7A of Huang such that the taper pattern overlaps the first electrode. This would be due to the fact that doing so generates spacers closer to the emission area, which comes down to a design choice as it relates to incorporating structures to ensure a good diffuse reflection effect which improves color separation (Paragraph [0152]).
Regarding Claim 10, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-a spacer (‘protrusion’ (61); e.g. Fig. 3, Paragraph [0113]) overlaps the taper area. (Sloping section of (4), as in (NEA2)).
Huang teaches:
-the taper pattern (7) is used to make an uneven rough surface on the connection portion ((6); Fig. 7A)) thereby generating the spacers (61) which improve the color separation (Paragraph [0152]).
Huang does not explicitly state an embodiment in writing or show in Figs. 7/7A:
-the taper pattern (7) overlaps the taper area (Sloping section of (4), as in (NEA2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the device embodiment shown in Figs. 7/7A of Huang such that the taper pattern overlaps the first electrode. This would be due to the fact that doing so generates spacers closer to the emission area, which comes down to a design choice as it relates to incorporating structures to ensure a good diffuse reflection effect which improves color separation (Paragraph [0152]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Choi et al. (U.S. Pub. 2023/0021482), hereinafter Choi.
Regarding Claim 4, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 3, wherein:
- the taper pattern (7) is annular in shape.
(Examiner notes that ‘annular’ is understood under broadest reasonable interpretation as given by the adjective definition in Merriam-Webster: “of, relating to, or forming a ring” thus, as (7) is found to have formed a ring around the (EA), it is annular)
Huang does not explicitly disclose:
- the emission area is circular in shape.
Choi teaches a display device ((10); Fig. 5, Paragraph [0053]) comprising an emission area ((EA); Fig. 8, Paragraph [0179]) including an OLED ((OLED’); Fig. 5, Paragraph [0117]), wherein:
- the emission area (EA) is circular in shape (Fig. 8, Paragraph [0179]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi into the device of Huang such that the emission area is circular in shape. This would be due to the fact that doing so would improve light transmittance and reduce refraction (Choi, Paragraph [0094]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Shim et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0061904), hereinafter Shim.
Regarding Claim 16, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 1, upon which it depends, but does not explicitly state:
- the bank is formed of a black material.
Shim teaches a display device comprising banks ((112); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0052]) surrounding an emission area, wherein:
-the bank is formed of a black material (“may be formed of a light-shielding organic material such as black resin.” Paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shim into the device of Koo such that the bank is formed of a black material. This would be due to the fact that doing so would give the expected result of increasing pixel resolution by reducing light transmission through the bank (Shim, “transmits almost no exposure light due to the low transmittance of the light-shielding material”, Paragraph [0057]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Shim.
Regarding Claim 19, Koo teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 2; Paragraphs [0067] and [0078]) of Claim 18, wherein:
-the bank is formed of acryl-based resin (Paragraph [0144])
But does not explicitly state:
-the bank is formed of a black material
Shim teaches a display device comprising banks ((112); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0052]) surrounding an emission area, wherein:
-the bank is formed of a black material (“may be formed of a light-shielding organic material such as black resin.” Paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shim into the device of Koo such that the bank is formed of a black material. This would be due to the fact that doing so would give the expected result of increasing pixel resolution by reducing light transmission through the bank (Shim, “transmits almost no exposure light due to the low transmittance of the light-shielding material”, Paragraph [0057]).
Regarding Claim 20, Koo as modified by Shim teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 2; Paragraphs [0067] and [0078]) of Claim 19, further comprising:
-a spacer (Koo, e.g. (360); Fig. 13B, Paragraphs [0145] and [0317]) on the bank (Koo, (114)) and in the non-emission area (Koo, (NEA)), and wherein
-the spacer (Koo, (360)) has a shape that includes at least one of a dot, a circle, an oval, a polygon, a line and a curve (Koo, e.g. a tapering curve / semi-oval, Fig. 13B).
Claims 7, 8, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Koo.
Regarding Claim 7, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 1, but doesn’t further comprise:
-a taping spacer on the incline of the bank, and having a different slope from a slope of the incline of the bank.
Koo teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 2; Paragraphs [0067] and [0078]) comprising a light emitting element ((130); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0097]) and a bank ((114); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0098]) further comprising:
-a taping spacer (‘protrusion’ (140); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0101]) is on the taper area (NEA2) of the bank (114) and has a different slope (e.g. slope of one of the lateral sides) from a slope of the incline of the bank (given by the slope of the surface of (114)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Koo into the device of Huang such that it further comprises a taping spacer on the incline of the bank, and having a different slope from a slope of the incline of the bank. Furthermore, the incorporation would be done such that the different slope of the taping spacer (Koo, (140)) is greater than (See Fig. 4) the slope of the incline of the bank (Koo, (114)). This would be due to the fact that doing so would suppress lateral leakage current (Koo, Paragraphs [0106] and [0107]).
Regarding Claim 8, Huang as modified by Koo teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 7, wherein:
- the different slope of the taping spacer (Koo, (140)) is greater than the slope of the incline of the bank (Koo, (114)). (As stated in the incorporation of the teachings of Koo into Huang above, see also Koo Fig. 4)
Regarding Claim 11, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 1, but doesn’t further comprise:
-comprising a spacer on the bank and in the non-emission area.
Koo teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 2; Paragraphs [0067] and [0078]) comprising a light emitting element ((130); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0097]) and a bank ((114); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0098]) further comprising:
- a spacer (e.g. (360); Fig. 13B, Paragraphs [0145] and [0317]) on the bank (114) and in the non-emission area (NEA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Koo into the device of Huang such that it further comprises a spacer on the bank and in the non-emission area. Furthermore, the incorporation would be done such that the spacer (Koo, (360)) has a shape that includes at least one of a dot, a circle, an oval, a polygon, a line and a curve (Koo, e.g. a tapering curve / semi-oval, Fig. 13B). This would be due to the fact that doing so would maintain a predetermined distance from a deposition mask when a light emitting element is formed (during manufacturing) as well as suppress damage caused by a contact (Koo, Paragraph [0317]).
Regarding Claim 12, Huang as modified by Koo teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 11, wherein:
- the spacer (Koo, (360)) has a shape that includes at least one of a dot, a circle, an oval, a polygon, a line and a curve (As stated in the incorporation of the teachings of Koo into Huang above, see also Koo Fig. 13B)
Regarding Claim 13, Huang teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 1, but doesn’t further comprise:
-a taping spacer that is located in the non-emission area and overlapping the taper area.
Koo teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 2; Paragraphs [0067] and [0078]) comprising a light emitting element ((230) simplified to show only (231); Fig. 19C, Paragraph [0198]) and a bank ((1014); Fig. 19C, Paragraph [0412]) further comprising:
-a taping spacer (‘protrusion’ (1040); Fig. 10A, Paragraph [0101]) that is located in the non-emission area ((NEA) as could be understood in Fig. 4, Paragraph [0098]) and overlapping taper area ((NEA2) as could be understood in Fig. 4, as given by the slope of (1040)) of the bank (1040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Koo into the device of Huang such that a taping spacer that is located in the non-emission area and overlapping the taper area. Furthermore, the incorporation would be such the taping spacer (Koo, (1040) has a first portion adjacent to the emission area (Koo, bottom section of the dome shape of (1040), Fig. 19C) and a second portion opposite to the non-emission area (Koo, top section of the dome shape of (1040), Fig. 19C), and wherein a slope of the first portion is larger than a slope of the second portion. Additionally, the first portion and the second portion are portions of a curved surface of the taping spacer (Koo, (1040) – being a dome shape). This would be due to the fact that doing so would suppress lateral leakage current (Koo, Paragraphs [0106] and [0107]).
For clarity, an annotated version of Fig. 19C, hereinafter Fig. 19C-A, is provided below. The bottom lateral section of the dome shape of (1040) is identified as (1040a) and the top lateral section of the dome shape of (1040) is identified as (1040b). Here, it is readily apparent that the slope of (1040a) is larger than the slope of (1040b).
Regarding Claim 14, Huang as modified by Koo teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 13, wherein:
- the taping spacer (Koo, (1040)) has a first portion (Koo, (1040a), Fig. 19C-A) adjacent to the emission area and a second portion (Koo, (1040b), Fig. 19C-A) opposite to the non-emission area, and wherein a slope of the first portion (1040a) is larger than a slope of the second portion (1040b). (As stated in the incorporation of the teachings of Koo into Huang above, see also Koo Fig. 19C-A)
Regarding Claim 15, Huang as modified by Koo teaches a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs [0074] and [0220]) of Claim 14, wherein:
- the first portion (1040a) and the second portion (1040b) are portions of a curved surface of the taping spacer (Koo, (1040) – being a dome shape). (As stated in the incorporation of the teachings of Koo into Huang above, see also Koo Fig. 19C-A)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lim (U.S. Pub. 2019/0173042), hereinafter Lim.
The cited art discloses similar materials, devices, and methods. In particular, Lim discloses a display device ((100); Figs. 1 and 2A; Paragraphs [0046]) comprising a light emitting element ((OLED); Fig. 3, Paragraph [0073]), a bank ((355); Fig. 3, Paragraph [0080]), and a spacer ((250); Fig. 3, Paragraph [0085]).
/D.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812