DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200208259A1; Shin et al.; (hereinafter “Shin”) in view of US20070159048A1; Chang et al.; (hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding Claim 12 (currently amended), Shin teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus ([0008], using metal mask for manufacturing electroluminescence display), the method comprising:
forming a first spacer (#SP, Figure 2, spacer) in a first peripheral area (#IA, non-display area) between a first display area (#AA1, Figure 3 of Shin annotated, display area) and a second display area (#AA2, display area, wherein non-display area #IA-P1 includes #SP between #AA1 and #AA2, see [0039] of Shin) so that a distance from the first spacer to the first display area is different from a distance from the first spacer to the second display area (Figure 2, #SP dispose closer to a first display such as #AA1 than #AA2 on the opposite end of #IA), the first display area and the second display area of a mother glass (#SUB/#MB, Figure 3 of Shin annotated, [0036], glass substrate/mother substrate) being adjacent to each other in a first direction (#AA1 and #AA2 are adjacent to each other in Y direction);
arranging a first opening portion and a second opening portion of a mask (Figure 4, multiple apertures #OP of the mask #ADM) to respectively correspond to the first display area and the second display area of the mother glass (Figure 4, [0101], #OP correspond to each of the display areas #AA on #SUB); and
depositing a deposition material on the mother glass through the first opening portion and the second opening portion of the mask ([0099-0100], mask #ADM is used to deposit organic material into the emission layers of the display corresponding to each #OP).
Shin does not teach the mask is arranged such that a first protrusion integrally formed with the mask on a first shielding portion of the mask is disposed between the first shielding portion and the first spacer so as to overlap the first spacer.
However, Chang teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus ([0005-0007]), a mask (#600, Figure 4 of Chang annotated, shadow mask) is arranged such that a first protrusion (#PT) integrally formed with the mask (#600) on a first shielding portion of the mask (#605, main body of mask #600) is disposed between the first shielding portion (#605) and a first spacer (#510, spacer) so as to overlap the first
spacer (#PT vertically overlap #510).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shin with the teaching of Chang in order to prevent damage caused by the mask being in close contact with the substrate during manufacturing process according to [0013-0014] & [0032] of Chang.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Chang, further in view of US20200286963A1; Lee et al.; (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 13, Shin in view of Chang teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 12, wherein Shin further teaches the forming of the first spacer (#SP, Figure 2, spacers) comprises:
forming a first dam portion (#DM, Figure 1, dam) circumferentially surrounding the first display area (Figure 1 and Figure 3 of Shin annotated, [0058], #DM surrounds each display area #AA such as #AA1), wherein a portion of the first dam portion passes through the first peripheral area (#DM of #AA1 passes through non-display area #IA-P1 between #AA1 and #AA2);
forming a second dam portion (#DM) circumferentially surrounding the second display area (Figure 1 and Figure 3 of Shin annotated, [0058], #DM surrounds each #AA such as #AA2), wherein a portion of the second dam portion passes through the first peripheral area (#DM of #AA2 also passes through non-display area #IA-P1).
Shin in view of Chang does not teach forming the first spacer to be between the first dam portion and the second display area so that a distance of the first spacer from the first dam portion is different from a distance of the first spacer from the second dam portion.
However, Lee teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus ([0007] & [0017], display device and mask assembly for manufacturing) comprises forming the first spacer (#P”, Figure 12, [0219], spacer between sub-pixels) to be between the first dam portion (#F1”, sub-pixel, see above rejection for the dam portions surrounding each display areas) and the second display area (#F3”, sub-pixel) so that a distance of the first spacer from the first dam portion is different from a distance of the first spacer from the second dam portion (Figure 12, #P” disposes closer to sub-pixel #F1” than #F3”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Chang with the teaching of Lee, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (spacer and display areas of Shin) for another (spacer and display areas of Lee) to obtain predictable results (providing spacer between display areas that prevents damage when the mask and display substrate are in close contact during material deposition, see [0219] of Lee). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 15, Shin in view of Chang and Lee teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 13.
Shin in view of Lee does not explicitly teach the arranging of the mask comprises:
arranging a third protrusion to overlap the first dam portion, the third protrusion contacting the first opening portion and circumferentially surrounding the first opening portion, wherein a portion of the third protrusion is on the first shielding portion; and
arranging a fourth protrusion to overlap the second dam portion, the fourth protrusion contacting the second opening portion and circumferentially surrounding the second opening portion, wherein a portion of the fourth protrusion is on the first shielding portion.
However, Chang teaches arranging of a mask (#600, Figure 3 or Figure 4 of Chang annotated, shadow mask) comprises:
arranging a third protrusion (#PT, protrusions) to overlap the first dam portion (see rejection of claim 13 for dam portion on each side of the spacer surrounding each display and passing through non-display area), the third protrusion (#PT) contacting a first opening portion (#700, openings) and circumferentially surrounding the first opening portion (Figures 2-4, mask #600 including protrusions #PT surrounds openings #700), wherein a portion of the third protrusion (#PT) is on a first shielding portion (#605, main body); and
arranging a fourth protrusion (#PT) to overlap the second dam portion (see rejection of claim 13 for dam portion on each side of the spacer surrounding each display and passing through non-display area), the fourth protrusion (#PT) contacting the second opening portion (#700) and circumferentially surrounding the second opening portion (Figures 2-4, mask #600 including protrusions #PT surrounds openings #700), wherein a portion of the fourth protrusion (#PT) is on the first shielding portion (#605).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Lee with the teaching of Chang for reason set forth in rejection of claim 12.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Chang and Lee, further in view of US20210111356A1; Song et al.; (hereinafter “Song”).
Regarding Claim 14, Shin in view of Chang and Lee teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 13.
Shin in view of Chang and Lee does not explicitly teach the forming of the first spacer comprises concurrently forming the first dam portion, the second dam portion, and the first spacer by using a same material.
However, Song teaches a method for manufacturing a display apparatus ([0023]), wherein the forming of the first spacer ([0142]) comprises concurrently forming the first dam portion, the second dam portion, and the first spacer ([0138-0142], process for forming partition walls #120 and spacer are described consecutively which can be performed at the same time according [0061]) by using a same material (layers #121A and #123A of #120 have the same material as planarization layer #109 and pixel defining layer #112 respectively according to [0141] which both can comprise polyimide according to [0114] and [0117]. The spacer also comprises polyimide according to [0142]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Chang and Lee with the teaching of Song, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (spacer and dam materials of Shin) for another (spacer and dam materials of Song) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claims 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Chang and Lee, further in view of US20230172032A1; Yang et al.; (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding Claim 16, Shin in view of Chang and Lee teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 13, wherein Shin further teaches forming a second spacer (#SP, Figure 2, spacer) in a second peripheral area (#IA, non-display area) between a third display area (#AA3, Figure 3 of Shin annotated, display area) and the first display area (#AA1, display area, wherein non-display area #IA-P2 includes #SP between #AA1 and #AA3, see [0039] of Shin) of the mother glass (#SUB/#MB, [0036], glass substrate/mother substrate), the third display area being spaced apart from the first display area in a second direction crossing the first direction (#AA1 and #AA3 are adjacent and spaced apart from each other in X direction).
Shin in view of Chang and Lee does not explicitly teach a distance from the second spacer to the first display area is equal to a distance from the second spacer to the third display area.
However, Yang teaches a method for manufacturing a display apparatus ([0020], display apparatus and use of mask during fabrication), wherein a distance (#L1, Figure 4) from the second spacer (#60, spacer) to the first display area (#40, green pixel) is equal to a distance (#L2) from the second spacer (#60) to the third display area (#50, blue pixel, wherein #L1 = #L2 according to [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Chang and Lee with the teaching of Yang in order to maintain a proper distance between the spacer and pixels and avoid interference according to [0059] of Yang.
Regarding Claim 17, Shin in view of Chang, Lee and Yang teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 16, wherein Shin further teaches the forming of the second spacer (#SP, Figure 2, spacer) comprises:
forming a third dam portion (#DM, Figure 1, dam) circumferentially surrounding the third display area (Figure 1 and Figure 3 of Shin annotated, [0058], #DM surrounds each display area #AA such as #AA3, wherein a portion of the third dam portion passes through the second peripheral area (#DM of #AA3 passes through non-display area #IA-P2); and
Shin in view of Chang and Lee does not explicitly teach forming the second spacer between the first dam portion and the third dam portion such that a distance of the second spacer from the first dam portion is equal to a distance the second spacer from the third dam portion.
However, Yang teaches forming the second spacer (#60, Figure 4, spacer) between the first dam portion and the third dam portion (see above rejection for dam portion surround each of the display areas) such that a distance of the second spacer from the first dam portion is equal to a distance the second spacer from the third dam portion (according to [0059], #L1 and #L2 are equal distances from #60 to green pixel #40 and blue pixel #50 respectively, hence #60 also spaces apart equally between the dam portions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Chang and Lee with the teaching of Yang for the reason set forth in the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding Claim 20, Shin in view of Chang, Lee and Yang teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 17.
Shin in view of Lee and Yang does not teach the arranging of the mask comprises:
arranging a second protrusion to overlap the second spacer, the second protrusion being on a second shielding portion of the mask;
arranging a third protrusion to overlap the first dam portion, the third protrusion contacting the first opening portion, circumferentially surrounding the first opening portion, and being on the second shielding portion; and
arranging a fifth protrusion to overlap the third dam portion, the fifth protrusion contacting a third opening portion of the mask corresponding to the third display area of the mother glass, circumferentially surrounding the third opening portion, and being on the second shielding portion.
However, Chang teaches arranging of a mask (#600, Figure 3 or Figure 4 of Chang annotated, shadow mask) comprises:
arranging a second protrusion (#PT, protrusions) to overlap a second spacer (#510, spacers), the second protrusion (#PT) being on a second shielding portion (#605, main body) of the mask (#600);
arranging a third protrusion (#PT) to overlap the first dam portion (see rejection of claim 13 for dam portion on each side of the spacer surrounding each display and passing through non-display area), the third protrusion (#PT) contacting a first opening portion (#700, openings), circumferentially surrounding the first opening portion (Figures 2-4, mask #600 including protrusions #PT surrounds openings #700), and being on the second shielding portion (#605); and
arranging a fifth protrusion (#PT) to overlap the third dam portion (see rejection of claim 13 for dam portion on each side of the spacer surrounding each display and passing through non-display area), the fifth protrusion (#PT) contacting a third opening portion (#700, openings) of the mask corresponding to the third display area of the mother glass (openings #700 correspond to display regions on array substrate #500), circumferentially surrounding the third opening portion (Figures 2-4, mask #600 including protrusions #PT surrounds openings #700), and being on the second shielding portion (#605).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Lee and Yang with the teaching of Chang for reason set forth in rejection of claim 12.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Chang, Lee and Yang, further in view of Song.
Regarding Claim 18, Shin in view of Chang, Lee and Yang teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 17.
Shin in view of Chang, Lee and Yang does not explicitly teach the forming of the first spacer and the forming of the second spacer are performed concurrently.
However, Song teaches a method for manufacturing a display apparatus ([0023]), wherein the forming of the first spacer and the forming of the second spacer are performed concurrently ([0142], process for forming spacers can be performed at the same time according [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Chang, Lee and Yang with the teaching of Song, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (process of forming the spacers of Shin) for another (process of forming the spacers of Song) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 19, Shin in view of Chang, Lee, Yang and Song teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 18.
Shin in view of Chang, Lee and Yang does not explicitly teach the forming of the first spacer and the forming of the second spacer comprise concurrently forming the first dam portion, the second dam portion, the third dam portion, the first spacer, and the second spacer by using a same material.
However, Song teaches the forming of the first spacer and the forming of the second spacer comprise concurrently forming the first dam portion, the second dam portion, the third dam portion, the first spacer, and the second spacer ([0138-0142], process for forming partition walls #120 and spacer are described consecutively which can be performed at the same time according [0061]) by using a same material (layers #121A and #123A of #120 have the same material as planarization layer #109 and pixel defining layer #112 respectively according to [0141] which both can comprise polyimide according to [0114] and [0117]. The spacers also comprise polyimide according to [0142]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Chang, Lee and Yang with the teaching of Song for the reason set forth in the rejection of claim 18.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant's amendment to claim 12 and corresponding arguments, pages 7-8 of the remarks, filed 09/02/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claim 12 as unpatentable over Shin in view of Oh have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Chang. Chang has been introduced in view of the amendment to claim 12 (see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of amended claim 12 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US20230403916A1 – Figures 7-8
US20220006050A1 – Figure 12
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812