DETAILED ACTION
A response to the notice of non-compliant amendment was received on 02 February 2026. By this response, Claims 1, 3-8, 10-14, and 16-20 have been amended. No claims have been added or canceled. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application.
Response to Amendment
The amendment is not fully responsive under 37 CFR 1.111(b) which requires that Applicant reply to every ground of objection and rejection in the prior Office action. In particular, Applicant has not clearly acknowledged or addressed the objection to the specification and the corresponding requirement to provide a copy of the material incorporated by reference (see paragraph 0038) as per 37 CFR 1.57(f). As a courtesy, the present response has been entered and treated as though it were fully responsive; however, Applicant is again required to provide a copy of this material in response to the present Office action.
Drawings
The objection to the drawings is NOT withdrawn because not all issues have been addressed and/or because the amendments have raised new issues, as set forth below.
The drawings are objected to because they include informalities. In Figure 4A, reference numeral 420 is described as a “step” but also has a lead line pointing to the deployment tool; it appears that 420 should not be described as a step, as in Figures 4B and 4C. In Figure 4B, it is not clear what the distinctions between various parallel elements are intended to be (e.g. elements 436 and 460; elements 438, 454, 462; and elements 440, 444, 456, 468, and 464), and similarly, in Figure 4C, it is not clear what the distinctions between various parallel elements are intended to be (e.g. elements 470, 478, and 486; elements 472, 480, and 488; elements 474, 482, and 490; and elements 476, 484, and 492). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The objection to the abstract is NOT withdrawn because the amended abstract contains additional informalities as noted below.
As noted above, Applicant is again required to provide a copy of the material incorporated by reference (see paragraph 0038) as per 37 CFR 1.57(f).
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes informalities. In particular, the comma in line 2 before “storing” and the comma in line 3 before “accessing” should be replaced by semicolons, and a semicolon should be inserted before “and determining” in line 4, to make the distinctions between the list items more clear, because some items in the list also include internal commas. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant’s cooperation is again requested in correcting any other errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, lines 11-12, it appears that the second “based on” is redundant and should be deleted so that the phrase reads “based on either the requesting service or a user”.
In Claim 8, lines 15-16, it appears that the second “based on” is redundant and should be deleted so that the phrase reads “based on either the requesting service or a user”.
In Claim 14, lines 13-14, it appears that the second “based on” is redundant and should be deleted so that the phrase reads “based on either the requesting service or a user”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite is NOT withdrawn, because not all issues have been addressed and/or because the amendments have raised new issues, as detailed below.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the protected resource, including modifying the policy definitions” in line 15. It is grammatically unclear what the phrase “including modifying” is intended to modify. If this is intended to modify the step of modifying as recited in line 14, then this phrase should be amended to recite “wherein modifying the access control model includes modifying the policy definitions” or similar. The above ambiguities render the claim indefinite.
Claim 4 recites “policy definitions” in lines 1-2. It is not clear whether this may be intended to refer to the policy definitions as received in the access control model or the modified policy definitions, or to distinct policy definitions.
Claim 8 recites “a protected resource” in line 10. It is not clear whether this is intended to refer to the same protected resource as in lines 1-2 and 8, for example. The claim further recites “the protected resource including modifying the policy definitions” in line 20. It is grammatically unclear what the phrase “including modifying” is intended to modify. If this is intended to modify the step of modifying as recited in line 19, then this phrase should be amended to recite “wherein modifying the access control model includes modifying the policy definitions” or similar. The above ambiguities render the claim indefinite.
Claim 11 recites “policy definitions” in line 1. It is not clear whether this may be intended to refer to the policy definitions as received in the access control model or the modified policy definitions, or to distinct policy definitions.
Claim 13 recites “a protected resource” in line 3. It is not clear whether this is intended to refer to one of the protected resources recited in Claim 8 or to a distinct resource. Claim 13 further recites “the protected resource” in line 3. It is not clear to which of the plural resources this is intended to refer. The claim also recites “service role assignments, a service role delegate, user role assignments, and a user role delegate” in lines 4-5. It is not clear whether these elements are intended to refer to the same assignments and delegates as recited in lines 2-3 or to distinct assignments and delegates.
Claim 14 recites steps of “modifying” and “accessing” in lines 16-18 if it is determined to grant the requesting service access; however, these steps are not linked by a conjunction (e.g. “and” or “or”) and therefore it is not clear whether both are required or if they are alternatives. The claim additionally recites “the protected resource including modifying the policy definitions” in line 17. It is grammatically unclear what the phrase “including modifying” is intended to modify. If this is intended to modify the step of modifying as recited in line 19, then this phrase should be amended to recite “wherein modifying the access control model includes modifying the policy definitions” or similar. The above ambiguities render the claim indefinite.
Claim 17 recites “policy definitions” in lines 1-2. It is not clear whether this may be intended to refer to the policy definitions as received in the access control model or the modified policy definitions, or to distinct policy definitions.
Claims not explicitly referred to above are rejected due to their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kjelstrup et al, US Patent 11968241 (cited in the previous Office action).
In reference to Claim 1, Kjelstrup discloses a method for authorizing access to a protected resource, comprising: receiving an access control model comprising policy definitions for access by services and users to the protected resource and storing the access control model in a database (see column 8, lines 46-67, access control policy, i.e. model, received and stored to be auto-tuned); at a requesting service, generating a request to access the protected resource (column 9, lines 1-42, generating requests to access services and resources); at an authorization service coupled to the database, receiving the request to access the protected resource (column 9, lines 1-42, receiving requests to access services and resources); accessing, by the authorization service, the access control model and determining, based on the access control model, whether to grant the requesting service access to the protected resource based on either the requesting service or a user (column 9, line 43-column 10, line 2, performing access analysis, i.e. determining whether to grant access based on the policy); and if it is determined to grant the requesting service access: modifying the access control model to allow access by the requesting service to the protected resource, including modifying the policy definitions (column 10, lines 3-64, modifying policy, adding or removing permissions, see also Figure 3); and accessing, by the requesting service, the protected resource (see column 10, lines 3-32, granting access; see also Figure 5 and column 11, line 48-column 12, line 15, describing permissions including granting permissions); and if it is determined to not to grant the requesting service access: denying the requesting service access (see column 10, lines 33-64, restricting access; see also Figure 5 and column 11, line 48-column 12, line 31, describing permissions including denying access).
In reference to Claim 2, Kjelstrup further discloses that subsequent requests by the requesting service to access the protected resource are based on the modified policy definitions (column 10, lines 3-64, modifying policy, adding or removing permissions).
In reference to Claim 3, Kjelstrup further discloses deploying the access control model, wherein the deploying comprises: receiving the access control model at the authorization service, and the authorization service storing the access control model in the database (column 8, lines 46-67, access control policy received and stored).
In reference to Claim 4, Kjelstrup further discloses that policy definitions of the access control model for at least one of the services are received from a development tool (column 9, lines 1-16, input from developer).
In reference to Claim 5, Kjelstrup further discloses that the policy definitions as received comprise at least one delegate control model comprising delegate policy definitions, and wherein the determining to grant the requesting service access to the protected resource is further based on the at least one delegate control model (see column 11, line 48-column 12, line 15, and column 12, lines 42-64, delegation policy permissions).
In reference to Claim 6, Kjelstrup further discloses that the access control model comprises a namespace comprising: service role assignments, a service role delegate, user role assignments, a user role delegate, and the protected resource, where the protected resource further comprises: a first service role assignment, a first service role delegate, a first user role assignment, and a first user role delegate (see column 11, line 48-column 14, line 29, describing Figure 5 and numerous types of roles and delegates/delegation in the policy, i.e. model, which constitute the claimed namespace).
In reference to Claim 7, Kjelstrup further discloses that the policy definitions as received comprise workflow policy definitions, the services include a workflow service and a plurality of task services, and the receiving the access control model further comprises: receiving, from an administration tool, the workflow policy definitions for the workflow service and for the plurality of task services, wherein the authorization service determines whether to grant access between and among the workflow service and the plurality of task services and the protected resource based on the workflow policy definitions (see Figure 3, policy manager corresponds to administrator; see also column 13, lines 7-21, administration role; see also column 13, line 65-column 14, line 29, policy includes workflow and other tasks to be performed).
Claims 8-13 are directed to systems having functionality corresponding to the methods of Claims 1-6, and are rejected by a similar rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 14-20 are directed to software implementations of the methods of Claims 1-7, and are rejected by a similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Zachary A. Davis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492