DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8-11, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein at least one of the tab supports connected with the electrode lead-out member is a square piece; the square piece comprises the two first surfaces, a third surface located between the two first surfaces and facing the electrode core body, and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface; and the tab support electrically connected to the electrode lead-out member is connected to the electrode lead-out member through the fourth surface”.
However, Claim 4 depends on Claim 1, which sets forth at least two electrode core bodies (e.g. at least two electrode cores each comprising an electrode core body) the claim is referring to.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “wherein at least one of the tab supports connected with one of the two electrode lead-out members is a square piece; the square piece comprises the two first surfaces, a third surface located between the two first surfaces and facing one of the electrode core bodies, and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface; and the at least one tab support electrically connected to the one of the two electrode lead-out members is connected to the one of the two electrode lead-out members through the fourth surface”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein an insulating spacer is provided between the tab support and the electrode core body”.
However, Claim 8 depends on Claim 1, which sets forth at least two electrode core bodies (e.g. at least two electrode cores each comprising an electrode core body) and therefore it is unclear which electrode core body the claim is referring to.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “wherein an insulating spacer is provided between one of the tab supports and one of the electrode core bodies”.
Claims 9-11 are dependent on Claim 8 and therefore are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the reasons set forth above.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the two opposite ends of the electrode core body in the first direction are V-shaped ends with a tip protruding outward, the two tabs of each of the electrode cores are respectively located at the tips of the two V-shaped ends, and a V- shaped space is formed between the V-shaped ends of two adjacent electrode core bodies at the same end in the first direction; and the insulating spacer is a V-shaped piece matching the shape of the V-shaped space, and the V- shaped piece is fitted in the V-shaped area”.
However, Claim 9 depends on Claims 1 and 8, which set forth at least two electrode core bodies (e.g. at least two electrode cores each comprising an electrode core body) and therefore it is unclear which electrode core body the claim is referring to.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “wherein the two opposite ends of the one of the electrode core bodies in the first direction are V-shaped ends with a tip protruding outward, the two tabs of each of the electrode cores are respectively located at the tips of the two V-shaped ends, and a V- shaped space is formed between the V-shaped ends of two adjacent electrode core bodies at the same end in the first direction; and the insulating spacer is a V-shaped piece matching the shape of the V-shaped space, and the V- shaped piece is fitted in the V-shaped area”.
Claim 10 is dependent on Claim 9 and therefore are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the reasons set forth above.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “wherein each of the battery core assemblies further comprises an insulating spacer between the tab support and the electrode core body”.
However, Claim 17 depends on Claim 16, which sets forth at least two electrode core bodies (e.g. two electrode cores each comprising an electrode core body) and therefore it is unclear which electrode core body the claim is referring to.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “wherein each of the battery core assemblies further comprises an insulating spacer between one of the tab supports and one of the electrode core bodies”.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein the hollow cavity is provided with an opening in at least one cavity wall, configured to communicate with the electrode lead-out hole on the”.
The Examiner notes that the limitation appears to be missing a portion and therefore it is unclear what is meant by “on the…”.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite wherein the hollow cavity is provided with an opening in at least one cavity wall, configured to communicate with the electrode lead-out hole on the spacer at the same side of the electrode assembly” in light of Claim 13 and [0022] of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO 2021/174402 A1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated November 3, 2025) and further in view of He et al. (CN 102104167 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated November 3, 2025), Shin et al. (KR 2016-0015751 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated November 3, 2025), and Yang et al. (US PGPub 2017/0125769 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Li discloses in Figs. 1-2 a battery core assembly (100) ([0087]), comprising an encapsulation housing (10) and an electrode core assembly (20, 27, 28) encapsulated in the encapsulation housing (10) ([0087]), wherein:
the electrode core assembly (20, 27, 28) comprises an electrode core assembly body (20) and two electrode lead-out members (27, 28) of opposite polarities electrically connected to the electrode core assembly body (20), and the electrode core assembly body (20) comprises at least two electrode cores (21) connected in parallel (Fig. 10, [0087], [0098]);
a length of the at least two electrode cores (21) extends along a first direction, a thickness of the at least two electrode cores (21) extends along a second direction, the at least two electrode cores (21) are arranged in a sequence along the second direction (Figs. 13-14), each of the electrode cores (21) comprises an electrode core body (24, 25, 26) and two tabs of opposite polarities (22, 23) that are electrically connected to the electrode core body (24, 25, 26), and the two tabs (22, 23) are respectively arranged at two opposite sides of the electrode core (21) in the first direction (Fig. 5, [0090], [0092]).
However, Li does not disclose wherein the encapsulation housing is specifically an encapsulation film.
He teaches in Fig. 1 an encapsulation housing (2), wherein the encapsulation housing (2) may be made of metal or may be made of plastic (e.g. an encapsulation film) in order to insulate an electrode assembly (e.g. electrode core) ([0013], [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an encapsulation film, as taught by He, as the encapsulation housing of Li, in order to insulate the electrode core assembly.
Furthermore, modified Li does not disclose wherein the electrode core assembly body further comprises tab supports each arranged between two adjacent tabs at a same side of the at least two electrode cores and electrically connected to the two adjacent tabs, and the two electrode lead-out members are respectively electrically connected to the tab supports located at two sides of the electrode core assembly body in the first direction.
Shin teaches a configuration for facilitating parallel connection of at least two electrode cores that improves the degree of freedom, thereby increasing workability and production efficiency ([0030]).
Specifically, Shin teaches in Figs 3-6b a battery core assembly comprising two electrode cores (10) connected in parallel, each of the electrode cores (10) including two tabs (102) of opposite polarities, and a tab support (30) arranged between two adjacent tabs (102) and electrically connected to the two adjacent tabs (102) ([0034], [0038], [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange tab supports between two adjacent tabs at a same side of the at least two electrode cores of modified Li, wherein the tabs supports are electrically connected to the two adjacent tabs, as taught by Shin, in order to facilitate the connection of the at least two electrode cores of modified Li in parallel, as desired by modified Li, while improving the degree of freedom, thereby increasing workability and production efficiency.
In light of the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to respectively electrically connect the two electrode lead-out members of modified Li to the tab supports located at two sides of the electrode core assembly body of modified Li in the first direction, in order to electrically connect the tabs of modified Li to the respective electrode lead-out member, as desired by modified Li.
Modified Li does not disclose wherein an interior of at least one of the tab supports includes a hollow cavity, and the hollow cavity is configured to store an electrolyte.
Yang teaches in Figs. 1-4 a battery comprising a tab support (1), wherein an interior of the tab support (1) includes a hollow cavity in order to reduce a weight of the tab support (1) ([0010], [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify at least one of the tab supports of modified Li such that an interior of the at least one tab supports includes a hollow cavity, as taught by Yang, in order to reduce a weight of the at least one tab support.
The Examiner notes that the limitation “the hollow cavity is configured to store an electrolyte solution" is intended use and therefore is not given patentable weight aside from the structure required to perform such function.
Thus, because modified Li discloses wherein an interior of at least one of the tab supports (30 of Li) includes a hollow cavity and wherein an electrolytic solution is capable of being stored in the hollow cavity (Figs. 1-4, [0010], [0046] of Yang), such reads on the claim limitation “the hollow cavity is configured to store an electrolyte solution".
Regarding Claim 3, modified Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Li further discloses wherein each of the tab supports (30 of Shin) comprises two first surfaces opposite to each other, wherein the two first surfaces face two adjacent tabs with the same polarity (22 or 23 of Li, corresponding to 102 of Shin) respectively, and the two adjacent tabs with the same polarity (22 or 23 of Li, corresponding to 102 of Shin) are respectively directly attached to the two first surfaces of the tab support (30 of Shin) (Fig. 3, [0040] of Shin).
Regarding Claims 16 and 20, Li discloses in Figs. 1-2 and 17 a vehicle (400), comprising a battery (300) ([0105]), comprising:
a casing (301); and
a plurality of battery core assemblies (100) serially connected and arranged in the casing (301) ([0106], [0087]), wherein each of the battery core assemblies (100) comprises:
an encapsulation housing (10) ([0087]);
two electrode cores (21) encapsulated in the encapsulation housing (10) and connected in parallel, each of the two electrode cores (21) including an electrode core body (24, 25, 26) and two tabs of opposite polarities (22, 23) at two opposite sides of the electrode core (21) that are electrically connected to the electrode core body (24, 25, 26) (Fig. 5, [0087], [0090], [0092]); and
two electrode lead-out members (27, 28) of opposite polarities electrically connected to the two electrode cores (21) (Fig. 10, [0087], [0098]).
However, Li does not disclose wherein the encapsulation housing is specifically an encapsulation film.
He teaches in Fig. 1 an encapsulation housing (2), wherein the encapsulation housing (2) may be made of metal or may be made of plastic (e.g. an encapsulation film) in order to insulate an electrode assembly (e.g. electrode core) ([0013], [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an encapsulation film, as taught by He, as the encapsulation housing of Li, in order to insulate the electrode core assembly.
Furthermore, modified Li does not disclose two tab supports each arranged between two adjacent tabs at a same side of the two electrode cores and electrically connected to the two adjacent tabs, wherein the two electrode lead-out members are respectively electrically connected to the two tab supports.
Shin teaches a configuration for facilitating parallel connection of at least two electrode cores that improves the degree of freedom, thereby increasing workability and production efficiency ([0030]).
Specifically, Shin teaches in Figs 3-6b a battery core assembly comprising two electrode cores (10) connected in parallel, each of the electrode cores (10) including two tabs (102) of opposite polarities, and a tab support (30) arranged between two adjacent tabs (102) and electrically connected to the two adjacent tabs (102) ([0034], [0038], [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange two tab supports between two adjacent tabs at the same side in each of the battery core assemblies of modified Li, wherein the two tabs supports are electrically connected to the two adjacent tabs, as taught by Shin, in order to facilitate the connection of the at least two electrode cores of modified Li in parallel, as desired by modified Li, while improving the degree of freedom, thereby increasing workability and production efficiency.
In light of the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to respectively electrically connect the two electrode lead-out members of opposite polarities of modified Li to the two tab supports in order to electrically connect the two electrode cores of modified Li to the respective electrode lead-out member, as desired by modified Li.
Modified Li does not disclose wherein an interior of at least one of the tab supports includes a hollow cavity, and the hollow cavity is configured to store an electrolyte.
Yang teaches in Figs. 1-4 a battery comprising a tab support (1), wherein an interior of the tab support (1) includes a hollow cavity in order to reduce a weight of the tab support (1) ([0010], [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify at least one of the tab supports of modified Li such that an interior of the at least one tab supports includes a hollow cavity, as taught by Yang, in order to reduce a weight of the at least one tab support.
The Examiner notes that the limitation “the hollow cavity is configured to store an electrolyte solution" is intended use and therefore is not given patentable weight aside from the structure required to perform such function.
Thus, because modified Li discloses wherein an interior of at least one of the tab supports (30 of Li) includes a hollow cavity and wherein an electrolytic solution is capable of being stored in the hollow cavity (Figs. 1-4, [0010], [0046] of Yang), such reads on the claim limitation “the hollow cavity is configured to store an electrolyte solution".
Modified Li discloses wherein the battery (300 of Li) provides electrical energy to the vehicle (400 of Li) ([0106] of Li).
However, modified Li does not disclose wherein the vehicle comprises a plurality of batteries.
The Examiner notes that the number of batteries utilized is an obvious matter of design choice based on the desired output of the skilled artisan.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a plurality of batteries in the vehicle of modified Li, as such is an obvious matter of design choice based on the desired output of the skilled artisan, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully provide electrical energy to the vehicle, as desired by modified Li.
Claims 2, 4, 12-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO 2021/174402 A1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated November 3, 2025) in view of He et al. (CN 102104167 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated November 3, 2025), Shin et al. (KR 2016-0015751 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated November 3, 2025), and Yang et al. (US PGPub 2017/0125769 A1), as applied to Claims 1, 3, and 16 above, and further in view of Kayano et al. (US PGPub 2015/0303415 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Li does not disclose wherein one of the tab supports is connected to one of the two electrode lead-out members and the two adjacent tabs at positions that are respectively located on different surfaces of the tab support.
Kayano teaches a battery with improved handling ([0005]).
Specifically, Kayano teaches in Figs. 1-6 a battery (1) ([0030]), comprising: a plurality of battery core assemblies serially connected and arranged in the casing (50) (Fig. 6, [0013], [0037]), wherein each of the battery core assemblies comprises two electrode cores (10) connected in parallel ([0036]), each of the electrode cores (10) including an electrode core body (11) and two tabs (12a, 12b) of opposite polarities at two opposite sides of the electrode core (10) that are electrically connected to the electrode core body (11) ([0031]); two tab supports (22) each arranged between two adjacent tabs (12a or 12b) at a same side of the two electrode cores (10) and connected to the two adjacent tabs (12a or 12b) ([0032]); and two electrode lead-out members (30) of opposite polarities respectively connected to the two adjacent tabs (12a or 12b) ([0032]).
Kayano further teaches wherein one of the tab supports (22) is connected to one of the two electrode lead-out members (30) and the two adjacent tabs (12a or 12b) at positions that are respectively located on different surfaces of the tab support (30) (Figs. 4, 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the two electrode lead-out members of modified Li to have the configuration taught by Kayano, such that one of the tab supports of modified Li is connected to one of the two electrode lead-out members and the two adjacent tabs of modified Li at positions that are respectively located on different surfaces of the tab support, in order to form a battery core assembly with improved handling.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein at least one of the tab supports (30 of Shin) connected with one of the two electrode lead-out members (27, 28 of Li) is a square piece; the square piece comprises the two first surfaces, a third surface located between the two first surfaces and facing one of the electrode core bodies (24, 25, 26 of Li), and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface.
However, modified Li does not disclose the at least one of the tab supports electrically connected to the one of the two electrode lead-out members is connected to the one of the two electrode lead-out members through the fourth surface.
Kayano teaches a battery with improved handling ([0005]).
Specifically, Kayano teaches in Figs. 1-6 a battery (1) ([0030]), comprising: a plurality of battery core assemblies serially connected and arranged in the casing (50) (Fig. 6, [0013], [0037]), wherein each of the battery core assemblies comprises two electrode cores (10) connected in parallel ([0036]), each of the electrode cores (10) including an electrode core body (11) and two tabs (12a, 12b) of opposite polarities at two opposite sides of the electrode core (10) that are electrically connected to the electrode core body (11) ([0031]); two tab supports (22) each arranged between two adjacent tabs (12a or 12b) at a same side of the two electrode cores (10) and connected to the two adjacent tabs (12a or 12b) ([0032]); and two electrode lead-out members (30) of opposite polarities respectively connected to the two adjacent tabs (12a or 12b) ([0032]).
Kayano further teaches wherein the at least one tab support (22) electrically connected to the one of the two electrode lead-out members (30) is connected to the one of the two electrode lead-out members (30) through the fourth surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the two electrode lead-out members of modified Li to have the configuration taught by Kayano, such the at least one tab support of modified Li is electrically connected to the one of the two electrode lead-out members is connected to the one of the two electrode lead-out members through the fourth surface, in order to form a battery core assembly with improved handling.
Regarding Claims 12 and 18, modified Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the electrode core assembly (20, 27, 28 of Li), comprising the at least two electrode cores (21 of Li), is arranged in an accommodating cavity defined by the encapsulation film (10 of Li and [0013, [0025] of He).
However, modified Li does not disclose a spacer further arranged in the accommodating cavity at a side of the electrode core assembly provided with one of the electrode lead-out members, and provided with an electrode lead-out hole for leading the one of the electrode lead-out members out.
Kayano teaches a battery with improved handling ([0005]).
Specifically, Kayano teaches in Figs. 1-6 a battery (1) ([0030]), comprising: a plurality of battery core assemblies serially connected and arranged in the casing (50) (Fig. 6, [0013], [0037]), wherein each of the battery core assemblies comprises two electrode cores (10) connected in parallel ([0036]), each of the electrode cores (10) including an electrode core body (11) and two tabs (12a, 12b) of opposite polarities at two opposite sides of the electrode core (10) that are electrically connected to the electrode core body (11) ([0031]); two tab supports (22) each arranged between two adjacent tabs (12a or 12b) at a same side of the two electrode cores (10) and connected to the two adjacent tabs (12a or 12b) ([0032]); and two electrode lead-out members (30) of opposite polarities respectively connected to the two adjacent tabs (12a or 12b) ([0032]).
Kayano further teaches a spacer (60) arranged at a side of the electrode core assembly provided with one of the electrode lead-out members (30), and provided with an electrode lead-out hole (61a) for leading the one of the electrode lead-out members out (30) in order to allow for multiple electrode core assemblies to be connected in series, thereby forming a battery (Figs. 14-15, [0034], [0084]-[0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange a spacer in the accommodating cavity of modified Li at a side of the electrode core assembly of modified Li provided with one of the electrode lead-out members, wherein the spacer is provided with an electrode lead-out hole for leading the one of the electrode lead-out members out, as taught Kayano, in order to allow for multiple electrode core assemblies to be connected in series, thereby forming a battery.
Thus, modified Li discloses wherein the spacer (60 of Kayano) is arranged in the accommodating cavity at each side of the two electrode cores (21 of Li, corresponding to 10 of Kayano) (Figs. 14-15, [0034], [0084]-[0085] of Kayano).
Regarding Claims 13 and 19, modified Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the hollow cavity is provided with an opening (10 of Yang) in at least one cavity wall (Figs. 1-4, [0010], [0046] of Yang).
The Examiner notes that the limitations “configured to communicate with the electrode lead-out hole on the spacer at the same side of the electrode core assembly” and “configured as a first liquid reservoir” are intended use and therefore are not given patentable weight aside from the structure required to perform such function.
Thus, because modified Li discloses wherein the interior of the at least one tab support (30 of Li) includes a hollow cavity provided with an opening (10 of Yang) in at least one cavity wall, including the cavity wall facing the electrode lead-out member (27 or 28 of Li, corresponding to 21 of Yang), such reads on the limitations “configured to communicate with the electrode lead-out hole on the spacer at the same side of the electrode core assembly” and “configured as a first liquid reservoir”.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the electrolyte solution is injected in the accommodating cavity ([0100] of Li).
However, modified Li does not disclose wherein the spacer is provided with at least one second liquid reservoir, wherein the at least one second liquid reservoir is recessed from an outer surface of the spacer to an interior of the spacer; and the at least one second liquid reservoir communicates with the accommodating cavity and is configured to sore the electrolyte solution.
Yang further teaches in Figs. 1-4 a battery, wherein an electrolyte solution is injected in the interior of the battery ([0004], [0008], [0010]).
Specifically, Yang teaches in Figs. 1-4 wherein the battery comprises a spacer (1), wherein the spacer (1) is provided with at least one second liquid reservoir (12), wherein the at least one second liquid reservoir (12) is recessed from an outer surface of the spacer (1) to an interior of the spacer (1), and the at least one second liquid reservoir (12) communicates with an interior of the battery in order to allow the electrolyte to more easily flow, thus improving utilization of the electrolyte ([0051], [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the spacer of modified Li with at least one second liquid reservoir, wherein the at least one second liquid reservoir is recessed from an outer surface of the spacer to an interior of the spacer and the at least one second liquid reservoir communicates with the accommodating cavity of modified Li, as taught by Yang, in order to allow the electrolyte solution of modified Li to more easily flow, thus improving utilization of the electrolyte solution.
The Examiner notes that the limitations “configured to store the electrolyte solution” is intended use and therefore is not given patentable weight side from the structure required to perform such function.
Thus, because modified Li discloses wherein spacer (60 of Kayano) is provided with at least one second reservoir (12 of Yang) (Figs. 1-4, [0051], [0010] of Yang), such reads on the limitations “configured to store the electrolyte solution”.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the spacer (60 of Kayano) has an accommodating space at a side facing the electrode core assembly body (20 of Li, corresponding to 11 of Kayano), and wherein two spacers (60 of Kayano) are respectively mounted around two opposite sides of the electrode core assembly body (20 of Li, corresponding to 11 of Kayano) in the first direction, and the two opposite sides of the electrode core assembly body (20 of Li, corresponding to 11 of Kayano) in the first direction are respectively fitted in the accommodating space of a corresponding spacer (60 of Kayano)
Claims 8-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO 2021/174402 A1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated November 3, 2025) in view of He et al. (CN 102104167 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated November 3, 2025), Shin et al. (KR 2016-0015751 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated November 3, 2025), and Yang et al. (US PGPub 2017/0125769 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US PGPub 2012/0058391 A1).
Regarding Claims 8-9 and 17, modified Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Li does not disclose wherein an insulating spacer is provided between one of the tab supports and one of the electrode core bodies and further does not disclose wherein the two opposite ends of the one of the electrode core bodies in the first direction are two V-shaped ends with a tip protruding outward, the two tabs of each of the electrode cores are respectively located at the tips of the two V-shaped ends, and a V- shaped space is formed between the two V-shaped ends of two adjacent electrode core bodies at the same end in the first direction; and the insulating spacer is a V-shaped piece matching the shape of the V-shaped space, and the V- shaped piece is fitted in the V-shaped area.
Jiang teaches in Figs. 1-5 a battery core assembly comprising at least two electrode cores (3), each of the at least two electrode cores (3) comprising an electrode core body and two tabs of opposite polarity that are respectively arranged at two opposite sides of the electrode core body, wherein the two opposite ends of the electrode core body in the first direction are two V-shaped ends with a tip protruding outward, the two tabs of each of the electrode cores are respectively located at the tips of the two V-shaped ends, and a V-shaped space is formed between the two V-shaped ends of two adjacent electrode core bodies at the same end in the first direction ([0020]).
Specifically, Jiang teaches wherein an insulating spacer (1) having a V-shaped piece (151 of 1) matching the shape of the V-shaped space is fitted into the V-shaped area in order to reduce motions of the electrode cores (3) caused by motions, shakings, or vibrations of the battery core assembly (Fig. 5, [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the at least two electrode cores of modified Li such the two opposite ends of the one of the electrode core bodies in the first direction are V-shaped ends with a tip protruding outward, the two tabs of each of the electrode cores are respectively located at the tips of the two V-shaped ends, and a V- shaped space is formed between the V-shaped ends of two adjacent electrode core bodies at the same end in the first direction, as taught by Jiang, as such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the at least two electrode cores desired by modified Li.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an insulating spacer between one of the tab supports of modified Li and one of the electrode core bodies of modified Li, wherein the insulating spacer is a V-shaped piece matching the shape of the V-shaped space, and the V- shaped piece is fitted in the V-shaped area, as further taught by Jiang, in order to reduce motions of the electrode cores of modified Li caused by motions, shakings, or vibrations of the battery core assembly of modified Li.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Li remains silent regarding an angle of the V-shaped space and consequently does not disclose wherein such is about 90 to 150 degrees.
However, the Examiner notes that the angle is necessarily and inherently greater than 0 degrees and less than 180 degrees, which encompasses the instantly claimed range of about 90 to 150 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the electrode core bodies of modified Li to have two V-shaped ends such that the V-shaped space has an angle within the encompassing portion of the range disclosed by modified Li, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the electrode cores desired by modified Li.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Li does not disclose wherein the insulating spacer is fixed to the one of the tab supports by snap fit.
Jiang further teaches in Figs. 1-5 wherein the insulating spacer (1) may be fixed to a member by snap fit ([0028], Claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to fix the insulating spacer of modified Li to the one of the tab supports of modified Li by snap fit, as further taught by Jiang, as such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully achieve an insulating spacer that reduces motions of the electrode cores of modified Li caused by motions, shakings, or vibrations of the battery core assembly of modified Li, as desired by modified Li.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended Claim 1, the Applicant argues that claimed invention recites a cavity of the tab supports, which can be configured to store electrolyte solution, thereby increasing the volume of the electrolyte solution and maximizing the capacity of the battery. The content of the electrolyte solution in the battery is an important factor affecting the service life of the battery. The electrolyte solution store in the cavities can be used for replenishing the loss of the electrolyte solution during the use of the battery, thereby improving the cycle life of the battery. See specification at paragraphs [0072]-[0073].
The Applicant further argues that Yang discloses a spacer 1 has a hollow space inside (Fig. 1). However, Yang does not disclose the hollow space of the spacer 1 is used for storing electrolyte solution. Further, Yang discloses, in paragraphs [0010] and [0051], liquid guiding slots 12 are formed on the outer surface of the spacer body, and in a case of electrolyte overflow, to let the liquid electrolyte flow out. Thus, Yang fails to teach or suggest "an interior of at least one of the tab supports includes a hollow cavity, and the hollow cavity is configured to store an electrolyte solution".
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that, as set forth in the prior rejection, modified Li discloses wherein an interior of at least one of the tab supports (30 of Li) includes a hollow cavity (Figs. 1-4, [0010], [0046] of Yang).
The Examiner notes that the limitation “the hollow cavity is configured to store an electrolyte solution" is intended use and therefore is not given patentable weight aside from the structure required to perform such function.
Thus, because modified Li discloses wherein an interior of at least one of the tab supports (30 of Li) includes a hollow cavity and wherein an electrolytic solution is capable of being stored in the hollow cavity (Figs. 1-4, [0010], [0046] of Yang), such reads on the claim limitation “the hollow cavity is configured to store an electrolyte solution".
The Examiner suggests that the Applicant amend the new limitation to recite “an interior of at least one of the tab supports includes a hollow cavity, wherein an electrolyte solution is stored in the hollow cavity” in order to require an electrolyte solution to be stored in the hollow cavity.
Thus, the arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725