DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2018/0254271, hereinafter Woo) in view of Hoentschel (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2014/0319620, hereinafter Hoentschel) and Chuang (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2010/0019344, hereinafter Chuang).
Re claim 1 Woo discloses in Fig 5/6 an integrated resistor, comprising: a resistor tub(30/18/12) in a dielectric region[0027], the resistor tub(30/18/12) including a laterally- extending tub base(laterally-extending base of 30/18/12) and vertically-extending tub sidewalls(vertically-extending sidewalls of 30/18/12) extending upwardly from the laterally- extending tub base(laterally-extending base of 30/18/12), wherein the laterally-extending tub base and vertically-extending tub sidewalls(vertically-extending sidewalls of 30/18/12) define a resistor tub interior opening(opening of 30/18/12); a dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] formed in the resistor tub interior opening(opening of 30/18/12); and a resistive element(54r/57rb) formed over the dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] in the resistor tub interior opening(opening of 30/18/12), the resistive element(54r/57rb) including a pair of resistor heads(54r) connected by a laterally-extending resistor body(57rb), wherein the dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] electrically insulates the resistive element(54r/57rb) from the resistor tub(30/18/12).
Woo does not disclose a resistor tub(30/18/12) formed from a conformal metal; a dog-bone shaped resistor tub formed from a conformal metal in a dog-bone shaped opening, the dog-bone shaped resistor tub including a laterally-extending tub base and vertically-extending tub sidewalls extending upwardly from the laterally-extending tub base, the laterally-extending tub base and vertically-extending tub sidewalls define adog-bone shaped resistor tub interior opening; a dielectric liner formed in the resistor tub interior opening; and a unitary dog-bone shaped resistive element formed over the dielectric liner in the resistor tub interior opening, the unitary dog-bone shaped resistive element including a pair of resistor heads connected by a laterally-extending resistor body,
Hoentschel discloses in Fig 11 a resistor tub(138)[0035,0036 of Hoentschel] formed from a conformal metal;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Hoentschel to the teachings of Woo in order to enhance signal processing performance [0002, Hoentschel].
Woo and Hoentschel does not disclose a dog-bone shaped resistor tub formed from a conformal metal in a dog-bone shaped opening, the dog-bone shaped resistor tub including a laterally-extending tub base and vertically-extending tub sidewalls extending upwardly from the laterally-extending tub base, the laterally-extending tub base and vertically-extending tub sidewalls define adog-bone shaped resistor tub interior opening; a dielectric liner formed in the resistor tub interior opening; and a unitary dog-bone shaped resistive element formed over the dielectric liner in the resistor tub interior opening, the unitary dog-bone shaped resistive element including a pair of resistor heads connected by a laterally-extending resistor body,
Chuang disclose in Fig 5, 21A a dog-bone shaped resistor[0064]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Chuang to the teachings of Woo in order to minimize lower than desirable resistivity, and accordingly requires higher than desirable area overhead [0002, Chuang]. In doing so, a dog-bone shaped resistor[0064 of Chuang] tub(30/18/12) formed from a conformal metal[0026 of Chuang] in a dog-bone shaped[0064 of Chuang] opening, wherein the laterally-extending tub base and vertically-extending tub sidewalls(vertically-extending sidewalls of 30/18/12) define a dog-bone shaped resistor[0064 of Chuang] tub interior opening(opening of 30/18/12); a dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] formed in the resistor tub interior opening(opening of 30/18/12); and a unitary dog-bone shaped resistor[0064 of Chuang](since the resistor is whole this may be interpreted as unitary) resistive element(54r/57rb) formed over the dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] in the resistor tub interior opening(opening of 30/18/12), the unitary dog-bone shaped resistor[0064 of Chuang] resistive element(54r/57rb) including a pair of resistor heads(54r) connected by a laterally-extending resistor body(57rb),
Re claim 2 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 1, wherein the laterally-extending resistor body(57rb) has a vertical thickness[0139] of at least 0.5 pm.
Re claim 3 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 1, wherein the resistive element(54r/57rb) has a dog-bone shape.
Re claim 4 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 1, wherein the conformal metal[0135,0136 of Hoentschel] comprises tungsten.
Re claim 5 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 1, wherein the resistive element(54r/57rb) comprises nickel chromium, tantalum nitride, silicon chromium, silicon carbide chrome, or titanium nitride[0119].
Re claim 6 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 1, comprising a pair of resistor head connection elements(see Fig 5) formed in a metal interconnect layer[0127,0128] and conductively connected to the pair of resistor heads(54r).
Re claim 7 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 1, wherein the integrated resistor is formed between a shallow trench insulation (STI) field oxide region(6s) and a metal interconnect layer[0127,0128].
Re claim 8 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 1, wherein the integrated resistor is formed between a polysilicon layer[0031] and a metal interconnect layer[0127,0128].
Re claim 9 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 1, wherein the integrated resistor is formed between two metal interconnect layer[0127,0128]s.
Re claim 10 Woo discloses in Fig 5/6 an integrated circuit (IC) device, comprising: an IC structure[0060] including a vertically-extending contact(78/79) comprising a first portion of a conformal metal layer[0119]; and an integrated resistor comprising: a resistor tub(30/18/12), the resistor tub(30/18/12) including a laterally-extending tub base and vertically-extending tub sidewalls(vertically-extending sidewalls of 30/18/12) extending upwardly from the laterally-extending tub base, wherein the laterally-extending tub base and vertically-extending tub sidewalls(vertically-extending sidewalls of 30/18/12) define a resistor tub interior opening(opening of 30/18/12);a dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] formed in the resistor tub interior opening(opening of 30/18/12); anda resistive element(54r/57rb) formed over the dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] in the resistor tub interior opening(opening of 30/18/12), the resistive element(54r/57rb) including a pair of resistor heads(54r) connected by a laterally-extending resistor body(57rb),wherein the dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] electrically insulates the resistive element(54r/57rb) from the resistor tub(30/18/12).
Woo does not disclose a resistor tub(30/18/12) comprising a second portion of the conformal metal layer; and an integrated resistor spaced laterally apart from the IC structure and comprising: a resistor tub comprising a second portion of the conformal metal layer,
Hoentschel discloses in Fig 11 a resistor tub(138)[0035,0036 of Hoentschel][0035] comprising a second portion of the conformal metal layer
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Hoentschel to the teachings of Woo in order to enhance signal processing performance [0002, Hoentschel].
Woo and Hoentschel does not disclose an integrated resistor spaced laterally apart from the IC structure
Chuang disclose in Fig 5, 21A and an integrated resistor [0064 of Chuang]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Chuang to the teachings of Woo in order to minimize lower than desirable resistivity, and accordingly requires higher than desirable area overhead [0002, Chuang]. In doing so, an integrated resistor [0064 of Chuang] spaced laterally apart from the IC structure [0060]
Re claim 11 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe IC device of Claim 10, wherein the IC structure comprises a transistor[0041] structure and the vertically-extending contact(78/79) comprises a transistor[0041] gate contact.
Re claim 12 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe IC device of Claim 10, wherein the IC structure comprises an interconnect structure[0127,0128] and the vertically-extending contact(78/79) comprises an interconnect via.
Re claim 13 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe IC device of Claim 10, wherein:the vertically-extending contact(78/79) has a lateral width in the range of 0.1-0.5 pm[0108]; and the laterally-extending resistor body(57rb) of the resistive element(54r/57rb) has a lateral width in the range of 1-100 pm and a vertical thickness of at least 0.5 pm[0108,0139].
Re claim 14 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe IC device of Claim 10, wherein:the conformal metal[0135,0136 of Hoentschel] layer comprises tungsten; and the resistive element(54r/57rb) comprises nickel chromium, tantalum nitride, silicon chromium, silicon carbide chrome, or titanium nitride[0119].
Re claim 15 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe IC device of Claim 10, comprising (a) a pair of resistor head connection elements(see Fig 5) and (b) an IC device connection element, formed in a common metal layer; wherein the pair of resistor head connection elements(see Fig 5) are conductively connected to the pair of resistor heads(54r); and wherein the IC device connection element is conductively connected to the vertically- extending contact(see Fig 6).
Re claim 21 Woo discloses in Fig 5/6 an integrated resistor, comprising: a dog-bone shaped resistor tub(30/18/12) in a dielectric region[0027]; a dog-bone shaped dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] formed in the opening defined by the dog-bone shaped resistor tub(30/18/12); and a dog-bone shaped resistive element(54r/57rb) formed over the dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] in the opening defined by the dog-bone shaped resistor tub(30/18/12), the dog-bone shaped resistive element(54r/57rb) including a pair of resistor heads(54r) connected by a laterally-extending resistor body(57rb); wherein the dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] electrically insulates the dog-bone shaped resistive element(54r/57rb) from the dog-bone shaped resistor tub(30/18/12).
Woo does not disclose a resistor tub(30/18/12) formed from a conformal metal; a dog-bone shaped opening in a dielectric region; a dog-bone shaped resistor tub formed in the dog-bone shaped openingfrom a conformal metal; and a unitarydog-bone shaped resistive element formed over the dielectric liner in the opening defined by the dog-bone shaped resistor tub, the unitarydog-bone shaped resistive element including a pair of resistor heads connected by a laterally-extending resistor body;
Hoentschel discloses in Fig 11 a resistor tub(138)[0035,0036 of Hoentschel] formed from a conformal metal[0035];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Hoentschel to the teachings of Woo in order to enhance signal processing performance [0002, Hoentschel].
Woo and Hoentschel does not disclose a dog-bone shaped opening in a dielectric region; a dog-bone shaped resistor tub formed in the dog-bone shaped openingfrom a conformal metal; and a unitarydog-bone shaped resistive element formed over the dielectric liner in the opening defined by the dog-bone shaped resistor tub, the unitarydog-bone shaped resistive element including a pair of resistor heads connected by a laterally-extending resistor body;
Chuang disclose in Fig 5, 21A a dog-bone shaped resistor[0064 of Chuang]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Chuang to the teachings of Woo in order to minimize lower than desirable resistivity, and accordingly requires higher than desirable area overhead [0002, Chuang]. In doing so, a unitary dog-bone shaped [0064 of Chuang](since the resistor is whole this may be interpreted as unitary) resistive element(54r/57rb) formed over the dielectric liner(51r/33r)[0046] in the opening defined by the dog-bone shaped resistor tub(30/18/12), the unitary dog-bone shaped resistive element(54r/57rb) including a pair of resistor heads(54r) connected by a laterally-extending resistor body(57rb);
Re claim 22 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 21, wherein an upper surface of the dog- bone shaped resistor tub(30/18/12) and an upper surface of the dog-bone shaped resistive element(54r/57rb) are coplanar(see Fig 6).
Re claim 23 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 21, wherein the dog-bone shaped resistor tub(30/18/12) includes a laterally-extending tub base(laterally-extending base of 30/18/12) and vertically-extending tub sidewalls(vertically-extending sidewalls of 30/18/12) extending upwardly from the laterally-extending tub base.
Re claim 24 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 21, wherein the integrated resistor is formed between a polysilicon layer[0031] and a metal interconnect layer[0127,0128].
Re claim 25 Woo and Hoentschel and Chuang disclosethe integrated resistor of Claim 21, wherein the integrated resistor is formed between two metal interconnect layer[0127,0128]s.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15, 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812