DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Response filed on July 23rd, 2026. Claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 9-15, and 17-23 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to Applicant’s Response filed on July 23rd, 2026, Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 23rd, 2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding the arguments provided for the rejections of the claims as put forth on page 6 of Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues “In accordance with the discussion, Applicant has amended the claims so as to specifically claim that the processor is configured to switch back to the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, just as the processor is configured to switch from one to the other. In other words, depending on the sensors condition (i.e., what they sense), the processor will move back and forth between the manual mode and the autonomous mode. Applicant submits that the prior art does not disclose or suggest the switching back from one mode to the other mode depending on the sensor conditions. As such, Applicant submits that the claims should now be deemed allowable. In turn, Applicant submits that the application is in condition for allowance at the present time. Reconsideration is, therefore, respectfully requested”.
As to point (a), Applicant’s arguments, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WO-2020111190A1 (hereinafter, “Hayashi”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20190246858 (hereinafter, “Karasikov”) in view of US-20220066448 (hereinafter, “Corbett”) and WO-2020111190A1 (hereinafter, “Hayashi”).
Regarding claim 1 Karasikov discloses a mixed mode robot (see at least [0001]; “the present invention relates to cleaning devices. More particularly, the present invention relates to a cleaning robot with an arm and tool receptacles”) having an autonomous mode, wherein the robot moves autonomously (see at least [0059]; “a control system may be configured to autonomously control operation of the propulsion system”), and a manual mode, wherein the robot is passive and allows manual manipulation by a user (see at least [0194]; “Cleaning robot 10 may be configured to enable an operator to manually guide cleaning robot 10…when in a moving mode, drive wheels 26 may be disconnected (e.g., by turning off a drive motor or by operating a clutch to disable a transmission) such that cleaning robot 10 may be pushed or pulled by a human operator (e.g., by pushing or pulling on an appropriate handle)”), the mixed mode robot comprising:
a robot base (see at least fig. 1; robot base 16) having a plurality of wheels associated therewith (see at least Fig. 1; wheels 26a and 26b), and with each of at least two wheels having coupled thereto a direct drive…motor to drive the robot when in the autonomous mode (see at least [0082]; “robot base 16 may enclose a propulsion system that may be operated to enable self-propulsion of cleaning robot 10. The propulsion system may include one or more propulsion motors that may be configured to operate one or more drive wheels 26. For example, each drive wheel 26 may be operated by a separate motor, e.g., via a separate transmission assembly.”);
one or more handholds connected to the robot base and adapted for use by a user to move the robot when the robot is in the manual mode (see at least [0194]; “Cleaning robot 10 may be configured to enable an operator to manually guide cleaning robot 10…when in a moving mode, drive wheels 26 may be disconnected (e.g., by turning off a drive motor or by operating a clutch to disable a transmission) such that cleaning robot 10 may be pushed or pulled by a human operator (e.g., by pushing or pulling on an appropriate handle)”); and
a processor (see at least [0054]; “Some embodiments of the invention may include an article such as a computer or processor readable medium, or a computer or processor non-transitory storage medium, such as for example a memory, a disk drive, or a USB flash memory, encoding, including or storing instructions, e.g., computer-executable instructions, which when executed by a processor or controller, carry out methods disclosed herein”) configured to place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode and to switch back to the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode (see at least [0120]; “Control unit 20 may include one or more user controls 25 (e.g., pushbutton, touch screen, switch, keyboard, keypad, knob, pointing device, microphone, or other user operable control) to enable a human operator to manually control one or more operations of cleaning robot 10. For example, user controls 25 may enable the operator to tum electrical power to cleaning robot 10 on or off, to abort, pause, or start an operation, or otherwise control operation. User controls 25 may enable an operator to disable autonomous operation of cleaning robot 10 in case of an emergency situation (e. g., a panic or abort button or switch) in order to manually transport cleaning robot 10 to another room (e.g., using a handle that is attached to arm base 18, robot base 16, or elsewhere on cleaning robot 10 in FIG. 1).”), to navigate the robot via the direct drive…motors in the autonomous mode (see at least [0082]; “robot base 16 may enclose a propulsion system that may be operated to enable self-propulsion of cleaning robot 10. The propulsion system may include one or more propulsion motors that may be configured to operate one or more drive wheels 26. For example, each drive wheel 26 may be operated by a separate motor, e.g., via a separate transmission assembly”), and to depower the direct drive…motors in the manual mode to allow the user to easily move the robot using the at least two wheels having coupled thereto the direct drive hub motor (see at least [0194]; “Cleaning robot 10 may be configured to enable an operator to manually guide cleaning robot 10…when in a moving mode, drive wheels 26 may be disconnected (e.g., by turning off a drive motor or by operating a clutch to disable a transmission) such that cleaning robot 10 may be pushed or pulled by a human operator (e.g., by pushing or pulling on an appropriate handle)”),
wherein the processor is further configured to automatically place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode (see at least [0189]; “Navigation subunit 88, operation subunit 90, or another unit of processing unit 81 or control unit 20 may be configured to apply various pedestrian and face detection techniques or motion detection techniques to input from sensors 21 to detect the presence of any people within room 100,” [0200-0201]; “Cleaning robot 10 may operate one or more sensors 21 (e.g., a motion, thermal, or imaging sensor) to determine if there are any people in room 100 (block 22). If a human presence is detected, cleaning robot 10 may stop operation (block 225),” the sensors 21 correspond to the proximity sensor, if a person is detected the cleaning robot stops operation this would constitute stopping the propulsion system (depowering the motors) which would coincide with a manual mode).
Karasikov does not disclose wherein the direct drive motor is a direct drive hub motor…
wherein the processor is further configured to automatically place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode and to switch back the robot into the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, without the user having to actively select one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, based on a sensor suite comprising at least one of a proximity sensor, a touch sensor indicative to the processor that a user has grasped the handle causing the robot to automatically switch to manual mode, a wheel torque sensor and an inertial measurement unit
Corbett, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the direct drive motor is a direct drive hub motor (see at least [0022]; “The autonomous electronic bicycle 100 (also referred to herein as the AEB 100) can include one or more “direct drive” electric motors operating various components of the autonomous electronic bicycle 100. As used herein, a direct drive motor is an electric motor mounted to the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 such that the shaft of the electric motor forms or is part of the axle on which the moveable component of the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 rotates. One characteristic of systems using direct drive motors is the lack of an intermediate mechanical power transmission system between the direct drive motor and the moving component. As the direct drive motor directly rotates the axle where the moving component is mounted, a system using a direct drive motor does not require the use of gears, transmissions, belt or chain drives, or other mechanical power transmission systems to transmit the force of the direct drive motor to the axle of the moveable component.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Karasikov with the direct drive motor of Corbett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving durability of the vehicle by reducing break or wear (see at least Corbett; [0022]).
Karasikov in view of Corbett does not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to automatically place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode and to switch back the robot into the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, without the user having to actively select one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, based on a sensor suite comprising at least one of a proximity sensor, a touch sensor indicative to the processor that a user has grasped the handle causing the robot to automatically switch to manual mode, a wheel torque sensor and an inertial measurement unit.
Hayashi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to automatically place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode and to switch back the robot into the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, without the user having to actively select one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, based on a sensor suite comprising at least one of a proximity sensor, a touch sensor indicative to the processor that a user has grasped the handle causing the robot to automatically switch to manual mode, a wheel torque sensor and an inertial measurement unit (see at least [0011]; “temporarily stopping all or part of its autonomous actions when a predetermined location is touched. Here, "touch" refers to the state in which the user's hand makes contact with the robot. A touch can be a series of actions, such as a light "tap" that briefly touches the surface before being lifted off. Touch can also refer to a state of continuous contact, such as gripping” and [0070]; “After the specified time has elapsed, the robot 100 automatically resumes its interrupted autonomous actions (movement and head movements) (Figure 6D).” the stopping of the autonomous action corresponds to the robot switching to an autonomous mode, this occurs when touch is detected, once the touch is no longer detected autonomous action is resumed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Karasikov as modified by Corbett with the touch sensor of Hayashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of making it easier to use operating devices installed on the body of the robot (see at least Hayashi; [0005]).
Regarding claim 6 Karasikov in view of Corbett and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Karasikov, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein placing the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode comprises determining based on data from the sensor suite whether the user is attempting to manually move the robot, and placing the robot in the manual mode if it is determined that the user is trying to manually move the robot (see at least [0120]; “Control unit 20 may include one or more user controls 25 (e.g., pushbutton, touch screen, switch, keyboard, keypad, knob, pointing device, microphone, or other user operable control) to enable a human operator to manually control one or more operations of cleaning robot 10. For example, user controls 25 may enable the operator to tum electrical power to cleaning robot 10 on or off, to abort, pause, or start an operation, or otherwise control operation. User controls 25 may enable an operator to disable autonomous operation of cleaning robot 10 in case of an emergency situation (e. g., a panic or abort button or switch) in order to manually transport cleaning robot 10 to another room (e.g., using a handle that is attached to arm base 18, robot base 16, or elsewhere on cleaning robot 10 in FIG. 1),” an indication of a user touching the screen to switch modes would constitute a user trying to manually move the robot, the detection of a touch screen can be done using various types of sensors).
Regarding claim 7 Karasikov in view of Corbett and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Karasikov discloses further comprising a user interface (see at least [0120]; “Control unit 20 may include one or more user controls 25 (e.g., pushbutton, touch screen, switch, keyboard, keypad, knob, pointing device, microphone, or other user operable control) to enable a human operator to manually control one or more operations of cleaning robot 10. For example, user controls 25 may enable the operator to tum electrical power to cleaning robot 10 on or off, to abort, pause, or start an operation, or otherwise control operation,” the touch screen and/or the buttons both constitute a user interface).
wherein the processor is further configured to place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode based on a user action relative to the user interface (see at least [0120]; “Control unit 20 may include one or more user controls 25 (e.g., pushbutton, touch screen, switch, keyboard, keypad, knob, pointing device, microphone, or other user operable control) to enable a human operator to manually control one or more operations of cleaning robot 10. For example, user controls 25 may enable the operator to tum electrical power to cleaning robot 10 on or off, to abort, pause, or start an operation, or otherwise control operation. User controls 25 may enable an operator to disable autonomous operation of cleaning robot 10 in case of an emergency situation (e. g., a panic or abort button or switch) in order to manually transport cleaning robot 10 to another room (e.g., using a handle that is attached to arm base 18, robot base 16, or elsewhere on cleaning robot 10 in FIG. 1),” an indication of a user touching the screen to switch modes would constitute a user trying to manually move the robot, the detection of a touch screen can be done using various types of sensors).
Regarding claim 9 Karasikov in view of Corbett and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Karasikov discloses all of the limitations mentioned above except for wherein the mass of the robot is less than 200 kg. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the weight of the robot for the benefit of easier manipulation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the device. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10 Karasikov in view of Corbett and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Corbett, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising at least one projection on the base to prevent over-center tipping of the robot while being moved by the user or actuated by the processor autonomously (see at least [0036]; “In some implementations, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can include an actuated kickstand 170 which may enable the bike to stop and start in autonomous mode without falling over. For example, the actuated kickstand 170 can comprise a linear actuator or electronic motor used to extend and retract the kickstand depending on the current situation. For example, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can retract the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning (or preparing to transition) from a stop to movement and can extend the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning from autonomous movement to an inactive state (for example, when parking or otherwise indefinitely stopping autonomous motion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand as modified by Karasikov with the kickstand of Corbett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of preventing the vehicle from falling over (see at least Corbett; [0036]).
Regarding claim 11 Karasikov in view of Corbett and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 10. Additionally, Corbett, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one projection is configured such that the user can press the projection with their foot while pulling the robot towards them via the handle to tilt the robot (see at least [0036]; “In some implementations, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can include an actuated kickstand 170 which may enable the bike to stop and start in autonomous mode without falling over. For example, the actuated kickstand 170 can comprise a linear actuator or electronic motor used to extend and retract the kickstand depending on the current situation. For example, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can retract the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning (or preparing to transition) from a stop to movement and can extend the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning from autonomous movement to an inactive state (for example, when parking or otherwise indefinitely stopping autonomous motion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand as modified by Karasikov with the kickstand of Corbett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of preventing the vehicle from falling over (see at least Corbett; [0036]).
Regarding claim 12 Karasikov in view of Corbett and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 10. Additionally, Corbett, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one projection is foldable or removable by the user (see at least [0036]; “In some implementations, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can include an actuated kickstand 170 which may enable the bike to stop and start in autonomous mode without falling over. For example, the actuated kickstand 170 can comprise a linear actuator or electronic motor used to extend and retract the kickstand depending on the current situation. For example, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can retract the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning (or preparing to transition) from a stop to movement and can extend the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning from autonomous movement to an inactive state (for example, when parking or otherwise indefinitely stopping autonomous motion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand as modified by Karasikov with the kickstand of Corbett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of preventing the vehicle from falling over (see at least Corbett; [0036]).
Regarding claim 13 Karasikov in view of Corbett and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Karasikov discloses wherein the robot is configured to allow a line of sight from the user through the robot from front to back while the user is moving the robot in manual mode (see at least Fig. 1; the height of the robot of Karasikov relative to a person is unknown; however, it would be an obvious matter of design choice to change the height of the robot in order to provide a better line of sight around the vehicle).
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karasikov in view of Corbett and Hayashi, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of US-20190262485 (hereinafter, “Ramanand”).
Regarding claim 2 Karasikov in view of Corbett and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Karasikov does not disclose wherein the robot is a UVC site disinfection robot further comprising one or more UVC lights for site disinfection.
Ramanand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an ultraviolet floor curing device, wherein the robot is a UVC site disinfection robot further comprising one or more UVC lights for site disinfection (see at least [0035]; “the MUFC device 10 may represent a wide variety of devices configured to emit or facilitate emission of the UV light at a high intensity towards surfaces proximate to the ground (e.g., floor surface, baseboards, etc.) as well as those at a significant height from the ground (e.g., walls, roofs, ceilings, objects such as drawers, storage cabinets, door knobs, and bathroom sinks, etc.), where the intensity may be adapted to induce an intended effect (e.g., curing, disinfection, sintering, etc.),” and Fig. 11 and [0063]; “The UV tower 290 may include a transparent housing 300 enclosing a radiation source 310 such as a UV lamp configured to project the UV light exterior to the UV tower 290”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Karasikov as modified by Corbett and Hayashi with the UV lighting implement of Ramanand. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing effective disinfection of a room/floor (see at least Ramanand; [0003]).
Regarding claim 3 Karasikov in view of Corbett, Haysashi and Ramanand renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Ramanand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more UVC lights for site disinfection are supported in a tower connected to the robot base (see at least and Fig. 11 and [0063]; “The UV tower 290 may include a transparent housing 300 enclosing a radiation source 310 such as a UV lamp configured to project the UV light exterior to the UV tower 290”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Karasikov as modified by Corbett and Hayshi with the UV lighting implement of Ramanand. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing effective disinfection of a room/floor (see at least Ramanand; [0003]).
Regarding claim 4 Karasikov in view of Corbett, Hayashi, and Ramanand renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 3. Additionally, Ramanand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the tower is connected to the robot base in a user-removable manner (see at least [0075]; “Once secured, the radiation units 70 may not be removable from the UV panel 60 unless the disinfection mode is changed, the MUFC device 10 is turned off, or any similar accessory such as the UV tower 290 capable of providing area UV disinfection is disabled or not connected to the MUFC device 10” the UV tower is an accessory capable of being removed/disconnected from the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Karasikov as modified by Corbett and Hayashi with the UV lighting implement of Ramanand. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing effective disinfection of a room/floor (see at least Ramanand; [0003]).
Claim(s) 14-15, 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanand in view of Karasikov, Corbett, and Hayashi.
Regarding claim 14 Ramanand discloses a mixed mode UVC site disinfection robot having an autonomous mode, wherein the robot moves autonomously, and a manual mode, wherein the robot is passive and allows manual manipulation by a user (see at least [0038]; “The mobile carriage 15 may be manually maneuvered or operate autonomously for designated movements or operation within a defined space.”), the mixed mode robot comprising:
a robot base (see at least Fig. 1; mobile carriage 15) having a plurality of wheels associated therewith (see at least Fig. 1; wheels 80-1, 80-2, and 80-3), and with each of at least two wheels having coupled thereto a…motor to drive the robot when in autonomous mode (see at least [0038]; “For example (FIG. 2), the mobile carriage 15 may include omnidirectional wheels such as wheels 80-1, 80-2, 80-3 (collectively, wheels 80) for navigating the MUFC device 10 to a desired position within a designated space such as a room. The mobile carriage 15 may be manually maneuvered or operate autonomously for designated movements or operation within a defined space,”)
…one or more UVC lights attached to the robot base for site disinfection (see at least Fig. 11 and [0063]; “The UV tower 290 may include a transparent housing 300 enclosing a radiation source 310 such as a UV lamp configured to project the UV light exterior to the UV tower 290”);
one or more handholds connected to the robot base and adapted for use by a user to move the robot when the robot is in the manual mode (see at least fig. 1; handle 30 and [0040]; “The handle 30 may refer to any structure capable of assisting an operator to maneuver the MUFC device 10 from one point in space to another”).
Ramanand does not disclose wherein the motor is a direct drive hub motor…
…a processor configured to place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, and to switch back to the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, to navigate the robot via the direct drive hub motors in the autonomous mode and to depower the direct drive hub motors in the manual mode to allow the user to easily move the robot using the at least two wheels having coupled thereto the direct drive hub motor,
wherein the processor is further configured to automatically place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, and to switch back to the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, without the user having to actively select one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, based on a sensor suite comprising at least one of a proximity sensor, a touch sensor indicative to the processor that a user has grasped the handle causing the robot to automatically switch to manual mode, a wheel torque sensor and an inertial measurement unit.
Karasikov, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a processor (see at least [0054]; “Some embodiments of the invention may include an article such as a computer or processor readable medium, or a computer or processor non-transitory storage medium, such as for example a memory, a disk drive, or a USB flash memory, encoding, including or storing instructions, e.g., computer-executable instructions, which when executed by a processor or controller, carry out methods disclosed herein”) configured to place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, and to switch back to the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, (see at least [0120]; “Control unit 20 may include one or more user controls 25 (e.g., pushbutton, touch screen, switch, keyboard, keypad, knob, pointing device, microphone, or other user operable control) to enable a human operator to manually control one or more operations of cleaning robot 10. For example, user controls 25 may enable the operator to tum electrical power to cleaning robot 10 on or off, to abort, pause, or start an operation, or otherwise control operation. User controls 25 may enable an operator to disable autonomous operation of cleaning robot 10 in case of an emergency situation (e. g., a panic or abort button or switch) in order to manually transport cleaning robot 10 to another room (e.g., using a handle that is attached to arm base 18, robot base 16, or elsewhere on cleaning robot 10 in FIG. 1).”), to navigate the robot via the direct drive…motors in the autonomous mode (see at least [0082]; “robot base 16 may enclose a propulsion system that may be operated to enable self-propulsion of cleaning robot 10. The propulsion system may include one or more propulsion motors that may be configured to operate one or more drive wheels 26. For example, each drive wheel 26 may be operated by a separate motor, e.g., via a separate transmission assembly”), and to depower the direct drive…motors in the manual mode to allow the user to easily move the robot using the at least two wheels having coupled thereto the direct drive hub motor (see at least [0194]; “Cleaning robot 10 may be configured to enable an operator to manually guide cleaning robot 10…when in a moving mode, drive wheels 26 may be disconnected (e.g., by turning off a drive motor or by operating a clutch to disable a transmission) such that cleaning robot 10 may be pushed or pulled by a human operator (e.g., by pushing or pulling on an appropriate handle)”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand with the manual and autonomous mode activation of Karasikov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of easier movement between rooms (see at least Karasikov; [0120]).
Ramanand in view of Karasikov does not explicitly disclose wherein the motor is a direct drive hub motor…
wherein the processor is further configured to automatically place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, and to switch back to the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, without the user having to actively select one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, based on a sensor suite comprising at least one of a proximity sensor, a touch sensor indicative to the processor that a user has grasped the handle causing the robot to automatically switch to manual mode, a wheel torque sensor and an inertial measurement unit.
Corbett, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the motor is a direct drive hub motor (see at least [0022]; “The autonomous electronic bicycle 100 (also referred to herein as the AEB 100) can include one or more “direct drive” electric motors operating various components of the autonomous electronic bicycle 100. As used herein, a direct drive motor is an electric motor mounted to the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 such that the shaft of the electric motor forms or is part of the axle on which the moveable component of the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 rotates. One characteristic of systems using direct drive motors is the lack of an intermediate mechanical power transmission system between the direct drive motor and the moving component. As the direct drive motor directly rotates the axle where the moving component is mounted, a system using a direct drive motor does not require the use of gears, transmissions, belt or chain drives, or other mechanical power transmission systems to transmit the force of the direct drive motor to the axle of the moveable component.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand as modified by with the direct drive motor of Corbett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving durability of the vehicle by reducing break or wear (see at least Corbett; [0022]).
Ramanand in view of Karasikov and Corbett does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to automatically place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, and to switch back to the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, without the user having to actively select one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, based on a sensor suite comprising at least one of a proximity sensor, a touch sensor indicative to the processor that a user has grasped the handle causing the robot to automatically switch to manual mode, a wheel torque sensor and an inertial measurement unit.
Hayashi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to automatically place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode and to switch back the robot into the other of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, without the user having to actively select one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode, based on a sensor suite comprising at least one of a proximity sensor, a touch sensor indicative to the processor that a user has grasped the handle causing the robot to automatically switch to manual mode, a wheel torque sensor and an inertial measurement unit (see at least [0011]; “temporarily stopping all or part of its autonomous actions when a predetermined location is touched. Here, "touch" refers to the state in which the user's hand makes contact with the robot. A touch can be a series of actions, such as a light "tap" that briefly touches the surface before being lifted off. Touch can also refer to a state of continuous contact, such as gripping” and [0070]; “After the specified time has elapsed, the robot 100 automatically resumes its interrupted autonomous actions (movement and head movements) (Figure 6D).” the stopping of the autonomous action corresponds to the robot switching to an autonomous mode, this occurs when touch is detected, once the touch is no longer detected autonomous action is resumed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand as modified by Karasikov and Corbett with the touch sensor of Hayashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of making it easier to use operating devices installed on the body of the robot (see at least Hayashi; [0005]).
Regarding claim 15 Ramanand in view of Karasikov, Corbett, and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 14. Additionally, Ramanand discloses wherein the one or more UVC lights for site disinfection are supported in a removable tower connected to the robot base (see at least and Fig. 11 and [0063]; “The UV tower 290 may include a transparent housing 300 enclosing a radiation source 310 such as a UV lamp configured to project the UV light exterior to the UV tower 290,” and [0075]; “Once secured, the radiation units 70 may not be removable from the UV panel 60 unless the disinfection mode is changed, the MUFC device 10 is turned off, or any similar accessory such as the UV tower 290 capable of providing area UV disinfection is disabled or not connected to the MUFC device 10” the UV tower is an accessory capable of being removed/disconnected from the device).
Regarding claim 17 Ramanand in view of Karasikov, Corbett, and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 14. Additionally, Karasikov, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein placing the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode comprises determining based on data from the sensor suite whether the user is attempting to manually move the robot, and placing the robot in the manual mode if it is determined that the user is trying to manually move the robot (see at least [0120]; “Control unit 20 may include one or more user controls 25 (e.g., pushbutton, touch screen, switch, keyboard, keypad, knob, pointing device, microphone, or other user operable control) to enable a human operator to manually control one or more operations of cleaning robot 10. For example, user controls 25 may enable the operator to tum electrical power to cleaning robot 10 on or off, to abort, pause, or start an operation, or otherwise control operation. User controls 25 may enable an operator to disable autonomous operation of cleaning robot 10 in case of an emergency situation (e. g., a panic or abort button or switch) in order to manually transport cleaning robot 10 to another room (e.g., using a handle that is attached to arm base 18, robot base 16, or elsewhere on cleaning robot 10 in FIG. 1),” an indication of a user touching the screen to switch modes would constitute a user trying to manually move the robot, the detection of a touch screen can be done using various types of sensors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand with the manual and autonomous mode activation of Karasikov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of easier movement between rooms (see at least Karasikov; [0120]).
Regarding claim 18 Ramanand in view of Karasikov, Corbett, and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 14. Additionally, Ramanand discloses further comprising a user interface (see at least [0041]; “The display unit 40 may be in communication with a user interface (not shown) indicating information pertaining to the operation of MUFC device 10. Different types of user interfaces, including those, which are touch controlled, key-controlled, joystick-controlled, motion-controlled, voice-controlled, and so on may be employed.”).
Ramanand does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode based on a user action relative to the user interface, wherein the user interface is one of a manual interface and a graphical user interface (GUI).
Karasikov, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to place the robot in a selected one of the autonomous mode and the manual mode based on a user action relative to the user interface, wherein the user interface is one of a manual interface and a graphical user interface (GUI) (see at least [0120]; “Control unit 20 may include one or more user controls 25 (e.g., pushbutton, touch screen, switch, keyboard, keypad, knob, pointing device, microphone, or other user operable control) to enable a human operator to manually control one or more operations of cleaning robot 10. For example, user controls 25 may enable the operator to tum electrical power to cleaning robot 10 on or off, to abort, pause, or start an operation, or otherwise control operation. User controls 25 may enable an operator to disable autonomous operation of cleaning robot 10 in case of an emergency situation (e. g., a panic or abort button or switch) in order to manually transport cleaning robot 10 to another room (e.g., using a handle that is attached to arm base 18, robot base 16, or elsewhere on cleaning robot 10 in FIG. 1),” an indication of a user touching the screen to switch modes would constitute a user trying to manually move the robot, the detection of a touch screen can be done using various types of sensors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand with the manual and autonomous mode activation of Karasikov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of easier movement between rooms (see at least Karasikov; [0120]).
Regarding claim 19 Ramanand in view of Karasikov, Corbett, and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 14. Ramanand in view of Karasikov, Corbett, and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations mentioned above except for wherein the mass of the robot is less than 200 kg. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the weight of the robot for the benefit of easier manipulation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the device. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 20 Ramanand in view of Karasikov, Corbett, and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 14. Additionally, Corbett, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising at least one projection on the base to prevent over-center tipping of the robot while being moved by the user or actuated by the processor autonomously (see at least [0036]; “In some implementations, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can include an actuated kickstand 170 which may enable the bike to stop and start in autonomous mode without falling over. For example, the actuated kickstand 170 can comprise a linear actuator or electronic motor used to extend and retract the kickstand depending on the current situation. For example, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can retract the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning (or preparing to transition) from a stop to movement and can extend the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning from autonomous movement to an inactive state (for example, when parking or otherwise indefinitely stopping autonomous motion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand as modified by Karasikov with the kickstand of Corbett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of preventing the vehicle from falling over (see at least Corbett; [0036]).
Regarding claim 21 Ramanand in view of Karasikov, Corbett, and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 20. Additionally, Corbett, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one projection is configured such that the user can press the projection with their foot while pulling the robot towards them via the handle to tilt the robot (see at least [0036]; “In some implementations, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can include an actuated kickstand 170 which may enable the bike to stop and start in autonomous mode without falling over. For example, the actuated kickstand 170 can comprise a linear actuator or electronic motor used to extend and retract the kickstand depending on the current situation. For example, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can retract the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning (or preparing to transition) from a stop to movement and can extend the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning from autonomous movement to an inactive state (for example, when parking or otherwise indefinitely stopping autonomous motion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand as modified by Karasikov with the kickstand of Corbett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of preventing the vehicle from falling over (see at least Corbett; [0036]).
Regarding claim 22 Ramanand in view of Karasikov, Corbett, and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 20. Additionally, Corbett, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one projection is foldable or removable by the user (see at least [0036]; “In some implementations, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can include an actuated kickstand 170 which may enable the bike to stop and start in autonomous mode without falling over. For example, the actuated kickstand 170 can comprise a linear actuator or electronic motor used to extend and retract the kickstand depending on the current situation. For example, the autonomous electronic bicycle 100 can retract the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning (or preparing to transition) from a stop to movement and can extend the actuated kickstand 170 in response to transitioning from autonomous movement to an inactive state (for example, when parking or otherwise indefinitely stopping autonomous motion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the robot of Ramanand as modified by Karasikov with the kickstand of Corbett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of preventing the vehicle from falling over (see at least Corbett; [0036]).
Regarding claim 23 Ramanand in view of Karasikov, Corbett, and Hayashi renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 14. Additionally, Ramanand discloses wherein the robot is configured to allow a line of sight from the user through the robot from front to back while the user is moving the robot in manual mode (see at least Fig. 11; user has an unobstructed line of sight when operating the robot in manual mode).
Conclusion
/ASHLEIGH NICOLE TURNBAUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
9/16/26