CTNF 17/989,845 CTNF 82484 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 3/23/26 has been entered. Applicant's amendment/arguments filed on 3/23/26 as being acknowledged and entered. By this amendment claims 1-2 and 8 are pending and claims 3-6 are withdrawn. Priority Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2 and 8are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US PGPub 2020/0201157) in view of Okumura (US PGPub 2020/0174177) Claim 1: Suzuki teaches (Fig. 3, 5) a light source device comprising: a light emitting element (622) having a light emitting surface configured to emit first light having a first wavelength band; a wavelength conversion member (58) which includes a phosphor [0056], and which is configured to convert the first light emitted from the light emitting element into second light having a second wavelength band different from the first wavelength band (ABS); and a reflecting member (63) separate from the wavelength conversion member having a reflecting surface configured to reflect the second light generated by the wavelength conversion member, wherein the wavelength conversion member has a first face which crosses a longitudinal direction of the wavelength conversion member, and which emits the second light, a second face which crosses the longitudinal direction of the wavelength conversion member, and which is located at an opposite side to the first face, and a third face crossing the first face and the second face, the light emitting surface is disposed so as to be opposed to at least a part of the third face, the reflecting surface of the reflecting member is disposed so as to be opposed to the second face of the wavelength conversion member, and further comprising an angle conversion member (56) which is disposed so as to be opposed to the first face, and which is configured to convert an angle distribution of the second light emitted from the first face; and a bonding member [0068] disposed between the angle conversion member and the first face. Suzuki does not teach at least one of the second face and the reflecting surface is a rough surface. Okumura teaches at least one of the second face (21) and the reflecting surface is a rough surface (50) to improve extraction efficiency of the system [0064]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the surface of at least one of the second face and the reflecting surface to be a rough surface to improve extraction efficiency of the system [0064] as taught by Okumura. Claim 2: Okumura teaches (Fig. 1) [0064] the second face is a rough surface, and the reflecting surface is a smooth surface. Claim 8: Okumura teaches (Fig. 1) [0004] a projector comprising: the light source device according to claim 1;a light modulation device configured to modulate light including the second light emitted from the light source device in accordance with image information; and a projection optical device configured to project the light modulated by the light modulation device. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SARAH KATE SALERNO whose telephone number is (571)270-1266. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 6:30am-2:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wael Fahmy can be reached at 5712721705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814 Application/Control Number: 17/989,845 Page 2 Art Unit: 2814 Application/Control Number: 17/989,845 Page 3 Art Unit: 2814 Application/Control Number: 17/989,845 Page 4 Art Unit: 2814 Application/Control Number: 17/989,845 Page 5 Art Unit: 2814