DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11, 17-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/30/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirringhaus (US 2003/0059984) in view of Kim (US 7794799).
Claims 1, 4-5:
Sirringhaus teaches a method for processing a substrate to have hydrophobic areas and hydrophilic areas (abstract). In one embodiment, the hydrophilic substrate is coated with hydrophobic polyimide and patterned by photolithography (i.e., coating the top surface with a resist, exposing portions of the resist, and removing portions of the resist) [0104] thereby forming a plurality of chemical stoppers on the substrate that comprise an opening exposing the top surface of the substrate (Fig. 7b). In another embodiment, the hydrophobic material is a SAM [0118]. Then, a plurality of liquid ink drops are deposited within the chemical stoppers (Fig. 7b) and dried to form a layer (Fig. 7c) (drying time [0111]). The purpose of the hydrophobic chemical stoppers is to repel the deposited ink and prevent the ink from flowing out of the designated area (indicating the surface tension of the chemical stoppers is less than the surface tension of the ink) [0104]. The purpose of this patterning is to form the source and drain electrodes of a TFT (Id.) illustrated as 2,3 in Fig. 6. In order to form these structures without the ink leaking out, the barrier that defines these structures must circumscribe the corresponding area and be spaced apart in the manner illustrated in Fig. 6.
Sirringhaus does not explicitly teach a first thermal treatment applied to the chemical stoppers or a second thermal treatment applied to the liquid ink drops.
With respect to the second thermal treatment applied to the liquid ink drops, Sirringhaus does teach drying the liquid ink drops. Applying a thermal treatment to facilitate this, at a particular elevated temperature, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with higher temperatures leading to faster dry time for example.
With respect to the first thermal treatment applied to the chemical stoppers, Kim teaches a method for manufacturing an array plate of hydrophilic and hydrophobic regions (7:10-11). After the polymer/SAM hydrophobic layer is coated, it is then baked at a temperature between 100-200°C (3:24-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Sirringhaus and apply thermal treatments to both the chemical stoppers and the liquid ink drops to facilitate baking/drying.
Claim 2:
Sirringhaus teaches chemical stopper thickness of 500 Ang (50 nm) [0118].
Claim 3:
The generally accepted range of hydrophobic surface tension is 35 mN/m or less. Sirringhaus further teaches the degree of hydrophobicity can be adjusted [0107], the selection of which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 8-9:
Sirringhaus teaches the liquid ink drops contain solvent can be water [0074]. The resulting surface tension of this liquid will be around 72 mN/m (the surface tension of water). Sirringhaus also teaches that this value is adjustable by addition of other solvents [0074].
Claim(s) 6-7, 10, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirringhaus (US 2003/0059984) in view of Kim (US 7794799) in view of Nishida (US 2009/0114888).
Claims 6-7, 10, 12-16:
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach refractive index or larger solid ink drops thickness.
However, Nishida teaches an implementation of the hydrophobic/hydrophilic substrate processing used to form a color filter [0294]. The black matrix is the hydrophobic chemical stopper and is filled with inkjet ink of RGB pigments [0296]. Nishida does not explicitly state the refractive index of the resulting color pixel, but this value would have been an obvious selection to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the refractive index of the surrounding material. It is noted that the refractive index range currently claimed is essentially the entire useful range of refractive index and is not assigned any criticality for that reason.
Nishida teaches the dried film thickness of the pixel material is between 1-3 µm [0304].
The combination of Sirringhaus and Nishida teaches a process that uses relatively thin hydrophobic walls around 50 nm to confine liquid droplets of several µm in size (Sirringhaus [0118]) and a dried droplet thickness between 1-3 µm (Nishida [0304]). The result is wall having a thickness much less than 50% of the dried droplet thickness.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention apply the method of processing a substrate of Sirringhaus/Kim/Mori to form a color filter. Nishida teaches that the formation of color filters relies on this type of substrate processing to confine and separate the different subpixel colors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As noted above, Sirringhaus is found to teach the amended claim language at [0104]. The Mori reference has been removed as unnecessary because Sirringhaus is found to teach circumscribing an area in a spaced apart manner as illustrated in Fig. 6. The Nishida is considered analogous because it pertains to hydrophobic/hydrophilic substrate processing, which is the same field as the other references and the instant claims as written.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759