Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/26/2025 has been entered.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-16, and 19-20 are currently amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19, line 7: “…the bottom body with respect the other one…” should read as “…the bottom body with respect to the other one…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the claim limitation “the guide member includes a guide block…”. As written, it is unclear whether “a guide block” as recited in claim 15 is intended to refer to the first guide block and/or second guide block initially introduced in claims 13-14, or whether it is intended to refer to a new guide block different from that introduced in claims 13-14. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the ”a guide block” in claim 15 to refer to the first guide block and second guide block previously introduced in claims 13-14.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the through hole" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20180114707 A1) in view of Park (US 20190145001 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lim 4707 teaches a substrate treating apparatus (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0061], substrate treating apparatus 400) comprising:
a chamber body having a top body and a bottom body which combine to provide a treating space therein (Lim 4707, Fig. 10, [0065], upper body 430 is combined with lower body 420 to define treatment space 412 therein);
a substrate support unit configured to support a substrate at the treating space;
a fluid supply unit configured to supply a treating fluid to the treating space (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0067], substrate support unit 440 supports substrate W in treatment space 412); and
a fluid exhaust line for exhausting the treating fluid from the treating space (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0073], exhaust line 472 connected to treatment space 412 by exhaust port 426).
Lim 4707 fails to teach a guide member provided to partially surround a periphery of the substrate supported by the substrate support unit, and
wherein the guide member includes a first guide block and a second guide block separated from each other.
However, Lee teaches a guide member provided to partially surround a periphery of the substrate supported by the substrate support unit (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 surrounds side surfaces of wafer W), and
wherein the guide member includes a first guide block and a second guide block separated from each other (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts with spacing for substrate supporting member 200 to be positioned in between each part of guide portion 241).
Lee is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “…for exhausting the treating fluid from the treating space“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The apparatus of Lim contains an exhaust line in communication with the treatment space and the exhaustion unit, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 2, Lim 4707 teaches wherein the substrate support unit supports a first edge region of the substrate at the treating space (Lim 4707, Figs. 4 and 6, [0067], edge region of substrate W is supported by substrate maintaining members 444).
Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein the guide member is provided to surround a second edge region which is different from the first edge region of the substrate supported by the substrate support unit.
However, Lee teaches wherein the guide member is provided to surround a second edge region which is different from the first edge region of the substrate supported by the substrate support unit (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 surrounds side surfaces of wafer W not near side surfaces of wafer supported by member 200).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein each of the first guide block and the second guide block is in an arc shape supported by a bottom surface of the bottom body, and positioned at an outside of the second edge region when seen from above,
wherein the substrate support unit is placed in a circumferential gap between the arc shape of the first guide block and the arc shape of the second guide block when seen from above, and
wherein the arc shape of the first guide block, the arc shape of the second guide block, and the substrate support unit are arranged along an imaginary circle surrounding the substrate supported by the substrate support unit.
However, Lee teaches wherein each of the first guide block and the second guide block is in an arc shape supported by a bottom surface of the bottom body (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0062]-[0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts in arc shapes, supported by vertical rods 220 from bottom wall 104), and positioned at an outside of the second edge region when seen from above (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 surrounds side surfaces of wafer W not near side surfaces of wafer supported by member 200),
wherein the substrate support unit is placed in a circumferential gap between the arc shape of the first guide block and the arc shape of the second guide block when seen from above (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts with spacing for substrate supporting member 200 to be positioned in between each part of guide portion 241), and
wherein the arc shape of the first guide block, the arc shape of the second guide block, and the substrate support unit are arranged along an imaginary circle surrounding the substrate supported by the substrate support unit (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts with spacing for substrate supporting member 200 to be positioned in between each part of guide portion 241, making a complete circular shape).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
Regarding claim 4, Lim 4707 teaches wherein the substrate support unit comprises:
fixing rods which are fixedly installed to a bottom surface of the top body to downwardly protrude from the bottom surface of the top body (Lim 4707, Figs. 4 and 6, [0067], support members 442 of substrate support unit 440 extend from downward from bottom surface of upper body 430); and
a holder which extends in a horizontal direction with respect to the ground from a bottom end of each of the fixing rods (Lim 4707, Fig. 6, [0067], substrate maintaining member runs horizontally from the bottom end of supports 442), and which is provided to support a bottom surface of the first edge region of the substrate (Lim 4707, Figs. 4 and 6, [0067], edge region of substrate W is supported by substrate maintaining members 444).
Regarding claim 5, Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein the first guide block includes support protrusions at a bottom surface to be spaced apart from the bottom surface of the bottom body.
However, Lee teaches wherein the first guide block includes support protrusions at a bottom surface to be spaced apart from the bottom surface of the bottom body (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0062]-[0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts in arc shapes, supported by vertical rods 220 from bottom wall 104, with space in between and under that space is exhaust port 330).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Lim 4707 teaches a lifting/lowering member for lifting and lowering any one of the top body and the bottom body with respect to the other one to be spaced apart to an open position or a closed position (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0068], lower body 420 may be moved up and down by elevation member 450 in relation to upper body 430, and chamber 410 is closed when the lower body 420 is elevated, Fig. 10, [0083]); and
a clamping unit configured to clamp the top body and the bottom body positioned at the closed position (Lim 4707, Fig. 11, [0083], clamping member 500 moves to locking location to clamp process chamber 410, which is comprised of closed upper body 430 and lower body 420).
Regarding claim 11, Lim 4707 teaches wherein the treating space is divided into a top space and a bottom space with respect to the substrate supported on the substrate support unit (Lim 4707, Fig. 14, [0067], treatment space 412 within which substrate supporting unit 440 is located, and there is a space above and below unit 440), and
the top body includes: a first supply channel connected to the fluid supply unit to supply the treating fluid to the top space (Lim 4707, Fig. 13, [0084], upper supply port 432 located within upper body 430 is in communication with the area above the substrate W, and is connected to fluid supply unit 490 by upper supply line 492 and upper valve 493), and
the bottom body includes: an exhaust channel connected to the fluid exhaust line to exhaust the treating fluid from the treating space (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0073], exhaust port 426, located within lower body 420, is in communication with the treating space 412, and is connected to exhaust line 472).
Regarding claim 12, Lim 4707 teaches wherein the treating fluid is a supercritical fluid phase (Lim 4707, [0064]-[0065], supercritical fluid is supplied to the treatment space 412).
Regarding claim 13, Lim 4707 teaches a substrate treating apparatus (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0061], substrate treating apparatus 400) comprising:
a chamber body defining a treating space for treating a substrate (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0064], chamber 410 defines treatment space 412 for treating a substrate W), the chamber body including a first chamber body and a second chamber body provided below the first chamber body (Lim 4707, Fig. 10, [0065], chamber 410 is defined by upper body 430 combined with lower body 420) to be relatively movable with respect to the first chamber body (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0068], lower body 420 may be moved up and down by elevation member 450 in relation to upper body 430);
a lifting/lowering member for lifting and lowering any one of the first chamber body and the second chamber body with respect to the other one to be spaced apart to an open position or a closed position (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0068], lower body 420 may be moved up and down by elevation member 450 in relation to upper body 430, and chamber 410 is closed when the lower body 420 is elevated, Fig. 10, [0083]);
a clamping body for clamping the first chamber body and the second chamber body, if the first chamber body and the second chamber body are in close contact in the closed position (Lim 4707, Fig. 11, [0083], clamping member 500 moves to locking location to clamp process chamber 410, which is comprised of closed upper body 430 and lower body 420); and
a substrate support unit configured to support the substrate at the treating space (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0067], substrate support unit 440 supports substrate W in treatment space 412);
a fluid supply unit configured to supply a treating fluid to the treating space (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0074], fluid supply unit 490 supplies treatment fluid to space 412); and
a fluid exhaust line for exhausting the treating fluid from the treating space (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0073], exhaust line 472 connected to treatment space 412 by exhaust port 426).
Lim 4707 fails to teach a guide member provided to partially surround a periphery of the substrate which is supported by the substrate support unit, and
wherein the guide member includes a first guide block and a second guide block separated from each other.
However, Lee teaches a guide member provided to partially surround a periphery of the substrate which is supported by the substrate support unit (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 surrounds side surfaces of wafer W), and
wherein the guide member includes a first guide block and a second guide block separated from each other (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts with spacing for substrate supporting member 200 to be positioned in between each part of guide portion 241).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “…for exhausting the treating fluid from the treating space“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The apparatus of Lim 4707 contains an exhaust line in communication with the treatment space and the exhaustion unit, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 14, Lim 4707 teaches wherein the substrate support unit supports a first edge region of the substrate at the treating space (Lim 4707, Figs. 4 and 6, [0067], edge region of substrate W is supported by substrate maintaining members 444).
Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein the guide member is provided to surround a second edge region which is different from the first edge region of the substrate supported on the substrate support unit,
wherein each of the first guide block and the second guide block is in an arc shape supported by a bottom surface of the bottom body, and positioned at an outside of the second edge region when seen from above,
wherein the substrate support unit is placed in a circumferential gap between the arc shape of the first guide block and the arc shape of the second guide block when seen from above, and
wherein the arc shape of the first guide block, the arc shape of the second guide block, and the substrate support unit are arranged along an imaginary circle surrounding the substrate supported by the substrate support unit.
However, Lee teaches wherein the guide member is provided to surround a second edge region which is different from the first edge region of the substrate supported on the substrate support unit (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 surrounds side surfaces of wafer W not near side surfaces of wafer supported by member 200),
wherein each of the first guide block and the second guide block is in an arc shape supported by a bottom surface of the bottom body (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0062]-[0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts in arc shapes, supported by vertical rods 220 from bottom wall 104), and positioned at an outside of the second edge region when seen from above (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 surrounds side surfaces of wafer W not near side surfaces of wafer supported by member 200),
wherein the substrate support unit is placed in a circumferential gap between the arc shape of the first guide block and the arc shape of the second guide block when seen from above (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts with spacing for substrate supporting member 200 to be positioned in between each part of guide portion 241), and
wherein the arc shape of the first guide block, the arc shape of the second guide block, and the substrate support unit are arranged along an imaginary circle surrounding the substrate supported by the substrate support unit (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts with spacing for substrate supporting member 200 to be positioned in between each part of guide portion 241, making a complete circular shape).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
Regarding claim 15, Lim 4707 teaches wherein the substrate support unit comprises:
fixing rods which are fixedly installed to a bottom surface of the first chamber body to downwardly protrude from the bottom surface of the first chamber body (Lim 4707, Figs. 4 and 6, [0067], support members 442 of substrate support unit 440 extend from downward from bottom surface of upper body 430); and
a holder which extends in a horizontal direction with respect to the ground from a bottom end of each of the fixing rods (Lim 4707, Fig. 6, [0067], substrate maintaining member runs horizontally from the bottom end of supports 442), and which is provided to support a bottom surface of the first edge region of the substrate (Lim 4707, Figs. 4 and 6, [0067], edge region of substrate W is supported by substrate maintaining members 444).
Lim 4707 fails to teach the guide member includes a guide block in an arc shape supported by the second chamber body, and which is positioned at an outside of the second edge region when seen from above.
However, Lee teaches the guide member includes a guide block in an arc shape supported by the second chamber body (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0062]-[0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts in arc shapes, supported by vertical rods 220 from bottom wall 104), and which is positioned at an outside of the second edge region when seen from above (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 surrounds side surfaces of wafer W not near side surfaces of wafer supported by member 200).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
Regarding claim 16, Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein the guide block and the bottom surface of the second chamber body are spaced apart from each other so that the treating fluid passes through a gap between the guide block and the bottom surface of the second chamber body.
However, Lee teaches herein the guide block and the bottom surface of the second chamber body are spaced apart from each other so that the treating fluid passes through a gap between the guide block and the bottom surface of the second chamber body (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0062]-[0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts in arc shapes, supported by vertical rods 220 from bottom wall 104, with space in between and under that space is exhaust port 330).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “so that the treating fluid passes through gaps between the bottom surface of the bottom body and each of the first guide block and the second guide block” is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The ring body of Lee is supported by shafts which create an open space between it and the surface the shafts are mounted to, enabling fluid to flow between the guide block and the lower surface, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitations. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 19, Lim 4707 teaches a substrate treating apparatus for treating a substrate by using a treating fluid in a supercritical state (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0061], substrate treating apparatus 400 uses a supercritical solvent), the substrate treating apparatus comprising:
a chamber body having a top body and a bottom body which combine to provide a treating space therein (Lim 4707, Fig. 10, [0065], upper body 430 is combined with lower body 420 to define treatment space 412 therein);
a substrate support unit configured to support the substrate at the treating space (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0067], substrate support unit 440 supports substrate W in treatment space 412);
a lifting/lowering member for lifting and lowering any one of the top body and the bottom body with respect the other one to be spaced apart to an open position or a closed position (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0068], lower body 420 may be moved up and down by elevation member 450 in relation to upper body 430, and chamber 410 is closed when the lower body 420 is elevated, Fig. 10, [0083]);
a clamping unit configured to clamp the top body and the bottom body positioned at the closed position (Lim 4707, Fig. 11, [0083], clamping member 500 moves to locking location to clamp process chamber 410, which is comprised of closed upper body 430 and lower body 420);
a fluid supply unit configured to supply the treating fluid to the treating space (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0074], fluid supply unit 490 supplies treatment fluid to space 412);
a fluid exhaust line for exhausting the treating fluid from the treating space (Lim 4707, Fig. 4, [0073], exhaust line 472 connected to treatment space 412 by exhaust port 426); and
wherein the substrate support unit is provided at the top body (Lim 4707, Figs. 4 and 6, [0067], support members 442 of substrate support unit 440 extend from downward from bottom surface of upper body 430) to support a first edge region of the substrate at the treating space (Lim 4707, Figs. 4 and 6, [0067], edge region of substrate W is supported by substrate maintaining members 444).
Lim 4707 fails to teach a guide member provided to surround a periphery of the substrate supported by the substrate support unit, and
wherein the guide member is provided to partially surround a second edge region which is different from the first edge region of the substrate supported by the substrate support unit, and
wherein the guide member includes a first guide block and a second guide block separated from each other.
However, Lee teaches a guide member provided to surround a periphery of the substrate supported by the substrate support unit (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 surrounds side surfaces of wafer W), and
wherein the guide member is provided to partially surround a second edge region which is different from the first edge region of the substrate supported by the substrate support unit (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 surrounds side surfaces of wafer W not near side surfaces of wafer supported by member 200), and
wherein the guide member includes a first guide block and a second guide block separated from each other (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts with spacing for substrate supporting member 200 to be positioned in between each part of guide portion 241).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “…for exhausting the treating fluid from the treating space“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The apparatus of Lim contains an exhaust line in communication with the treatment space and the exhaustion unit, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Claims 6-8, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20180114707 A1) in view of Park (US 20190145001 A1), as applied in claims 1-5, 10-16, and 19, and further in view of Yoo (US 20060201623 A1).
The limitations of claims 1-5, 10-16, and 19 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 6, modified Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein the first guide block includes through holes which the treating fluid passes through.
However, Yoo teaches wherein the first guide block includes through holes which the treating fluid passes through (Yoo, Figs. 1-3, [0019], holes 204 in ring 104).
Yoo is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the holes of Yoo into the apparatus of modified Lim as doing so would allow the pressure in the upper portion separated by the guide member and lower portion separated by the guide member to be substantially balanced or equalized (Yoo, [0019]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “…through holes which the treating fluid passes through“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The opening portions in the ring body of Yoo extend through the entirety of the ring body and are communication with areas in which fluid is flowed, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitations. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 7, Lim 4707 teaches wherein the treating space is divided into a top space and a bottom space with respect to the substrate supported by the substrate support unit (Lim 4707, Fig. 14, [0067], treatment space 412 within which substrate supporting unit 440 is located, and there is a space above and below unit 440).
Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein the first guide block includes a top surface positioned at the top space and a bottom surface positioned at the bottom space.
However, Lee teaches wherein the first guide block includes a top surface positioned at the top space and a bottom surface positioned at the bottom space (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0062]-[0063], top surface of guide portion 241 is located at the top space defined by supporting member 200, and the bottom surface of guide portion 241 is located at the bottom space defined by supporting member 200).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein each of the through holes comprises: a first inlet connected to the top space; a second inlet connected to the bottom space; and a connection path connecting the first inlet and the second inlet.
However, Yoo teaches wherein each of the through holes comprises: a first inlet connected to the top space; a second inlet connected to the bottom space; and a connection path connecting the first inlet and the second inlet (Yoo, Figs. 1-3, [0019], holes 204 have opening at top surface of ring 104, opening at bottom surface of ring 104, where the opening are connected by a through hole running through the length of ring 104).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the holes of Yoo into the apparatus of modified Lim as doing so would allow the pressure in the upper portion separated by the guide member and lower portion separated by the guide member to be substantially balanced or equalized (Yoo, [0019]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein the guide block includes through holes which the treating fluid passes through.
However, Yoo teaches wherein the guide block includes through holes which the treating fluid passes through (Yoo, Figs. 1-3, [0019], holes 204 in ring 104).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the holes of Yoo into the apparatus of modified Lim as doing so would allow the pressure in the upper portion separated by the guide member and lower portion separated by the guide member to be substantially balanced or equalized (Yoo, [0019]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “…through holes which the treating fluid passes through“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The opening portions in the ring body of Park extend through the entirety of the ring body and are communication with areas in which fluid is flowed, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitations. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 18, Lim 4707 teaches wherein the treating space is divided into a top space and a bottom space with respect to the substrate supported by the substrate support unit (Lim 4707, Fig. 14, [0067], treatment space 412 within which substrate supporting unit 440 is located, and there is a space above and below unit 440).
Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein the through hole includes: a first inlet connected to the top space; a second inlet connected to the bottom space; and a connection path connecting the first inlet and the second inlet.
However, Yoo teaches wherein the through hole includes: a first inlet connected to the top space; a second inlet connected to the bottom space; and a connection path connecting the first inlet and the second inlet (Yoo, Figs. 1-3, [0019], holes 204 have opening at top surface of ring 104, opening at bottom surface of ring 104, where the opening are connected by a through hole running through the length of ring 104).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the holes of Yoo into the apparatus of modified Lim as doing so would allow the pressure in the upper portion separated by the guide member and lower portion separated by the guide member to be substantially balanced or equalized (Yoo, [0019]).
Regarding claim 20, Lim 4707 fails to teach wherein each of the first guide block and the second guide block comprises:
support protrusions at a bottom surface of each of the first guide block and the second guide block, wherein a bottom surface of the bottom body and each of the first guide block and the second guide block are spaced apart from each other so that the treating fluid passes through gaps between the bottom surface of the bottom body and each of the first guide block and the second guide block; and
through holes which the treating fluid passes through.
However, Lee teaches wherein each of the first guide block and the second guide block comprises:
support protrusions at a bottom surface of each of the first guide block and the second guide block (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0062]-[0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts in arc shapes, supported by vertical rods 220 from bottom wall 104 connecting to bottom surface of each part 241), wherein a bottom surface of the bottom body and each of the first guide block and the second guide block are spaced apart from each other so that the treating fluid passes through gaps between the bottom surface of the bottom body and each of the first guide block and the second guide block (Lee, Figs. 9-10, [0062]-[0063], guide portion 241 is in two parts in arc shapes, supported by vertical rods 220 from bottom wall 104, with space in between and under that space is exhaust port 330).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the guide portion and vertical rods of Lee as doing so would help inhibit or prevent solvent from flowing down from the wafer W (Lee, [0063]).
Modified Lim 4707 fails to teach through holes which the treating fluid passes through.
However, Yoo teaches through holes which the treating fluid passes through (Yoo, Figs. 1-3, [0019], holes 204 in ring 104).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the holes of Yoo into the apparatus of modified Lim as doing so would allow the pressure in the upper portion separated by the guide member and lower portion separated by the guide member to be substantially balanced or equalized (Yoo, [0019]).
To clarify the record, the limitations “so that the treating fluid passes through gaps between the bottom surface of the bottom body and each of the first guide block and the second guide block” and “…through holes which the treating fluid passes through“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The ring body of Lee is supported by shafts which create an open space between it and the surface the shafts are mounted to, enabling fluid to flow between the guide block and the lower surface, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitations. As well, the opening portions in the ring body of Yoo extend through the entirety of the ring body and are communication with areas in which fluid is flowed, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitations. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20180114707 A1) in view of Park (US 20190145001 A1), as applied in claims 1-5, 10-16, and 19, and further in view of Lim 3067 (US 20050173067 A1).
The limitations of claims 1-5, 10-16, and 19 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 9, modified Lim 4707 fails to teach a block driving unit for sliding the first guide block to adjust a gap between the first guide block and an edge region of the substrate placed on the substrate.
However, Lim 3067 teaches a block driving unit for sliding the first guide block to adjust a gap between the first guide block and an edge region of the substrate placed on the substrate (Lim 3067, Figs. 1 and 3, [0053]-[0054], radial direction-controlling aligners 58 have piston rods 582 that move forward and backward to adjust position of parts along the wafer plane).
Lim 3067 is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the radial direction-controlling aligners of Lim 3067 into modified Lim 4707 as doing so would provide a mechanism to change the position of parts along the plane of the wafer even after the initial loading of the wafer (Lim 3067, [0054]), avoiding having to transfer the substrate additional times.
To clarify the record, the limitation “to adjust a gap between the guide block and the edge region of the substrate“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The radial direction-controlling aligners of Lim 3067 are installed inside the chamber to move in the same plane as the wafer, making contact from the peripheral edge, and would therefore be structurally capable of moving the ring body in relation to the wafer position, thereby meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Response to Arguments
In the Applicant’s response filed 11/26/2025, the Applicant asserts that none of the cited prior art, particularly Lim 4707 further in view of Park, teach the claim limitations “a guide member provided to partially surround a periphery of the substrate supported by the substrate support unit, wherein the guide member includes a first guide block and a second guide block separated from each other” of independent claim 1 and 19 as newly amended, as well as the limitations “wherein each of the first guide block and the second guide block is in an arc shape supported by a bottom surface of the bottom body, and positioned at an outside of the second edge region when seen from above, wherein the substrate support unit is placed in a circumferential gap between the arc shape of the first guide block and the arc shape of the second guide block when seen from above, and wherein the arc shape of the first guide block, the arc shape of the second guide block, and the substrate support unit are arranged along an imaginary circle surrounding the substrate supported by the substrate support unit” of claims 3 and 14 as newly amended. In response to the amendments, the Examiner has newly rejected the claims in the “Claims Rejections” sections above, thereby rendering the arguments moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TODD M SEOANE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718