DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the amendment filed on 10/27/25. The applicant argument regarding Lim et al. is not persuasive; therefore, all the rejections based on Lim et al. is retained and repeated for the following reasons.
Summary of claims
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claims 1-17 are rejected.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on November 21th, 2022 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (U.S Pub. No. 2008/0088279).
As to claims 1, the prior art teaches a battery management system comprising:
a battery management system (BMS) monitoring a battery, turning on/off a main relay connected to an output of the battery, and receiving power through a power switch (see fig 1, fig 2 paragraph 0021-0030; especially, Lim et al. teach a battery management system (BMS) monitoring a battery, turning on/off a main relay connected to an output of the battery, and receiving power through a power switch as fig 1, fig 2 paragraph 0022-0028);
a sensor unit (see fig 1, element 10) measuring a state of the battery to generate battery state information (see fig 1-2 paragraph 0029-0039; especially, Lim et al. teach a sensor unit (see fig 1, element 10) measuring a state of the battery to generate battery state information as fig 1-2 paragraph 0030-0037);
and a controller configured to: receive the battery state information from the sensor unit, detect an occurrence of a failure event of the battery based on the battery state information, control the main relay based on whether a maintenance time of the failure event being longer than a reference time Tid and whether the number of times of the occurrence of the failure event being greater than a reference set value Sth, and provide a turn on/off command to the power switch (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0038-0047; especially, Lim et al. teach and a controller configured to: receive the battery state information from the sensor unit, detect an occurrence of a failure event of the battery based on the battery state information, control the main relay based on whether a maintenance time of the failure event being longer than a reference time Tid and whether the number of times of the occurrence of the failure event being greater than a reference set value Sth, and provide a turn on/off command to the power switch as fig 1-3 paragraph 0039-0046).
As to claim 2 and 12, the prior art teaches wherein the battery state information includes at least one of voltage information, current information, and temperature information of the battery (see fig 1-2 paragraph 0043-0049).
As to claim 3 and 13 the prior art teaches wherein the controller determines that the failure event has occurred when a measured voltage of the battery exceeds a reference voltage Vmax Or a measured temperature of the battery exceeds a reference temperature Tmax (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0048-0053).
As to claim 4 and 15, the prior art teaches wherein when the maintenance time of the failure event is longer than Tia, the controller diagnoses the failure event and determines whether or not the battery is abnormal for a predetermined time To (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0050-0055).
As to claim 5 and 16 the prior art teaches wherein the controller turns off the main relay when the predetermined time Ts is longer than a reference time Toth greater than Tua (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0053-0059).
As to claim 6, the prior art teaches wherein in a case where the predetermined time Tz is equal to or shorter than a reference time Teth greater than Tia, when a current of the battery is I0 that is a predetermined reference, the controller provides a turn-off command to the power switch (see fig 2-3 paragraph 0056-0061).
As to claim 7 and 17, the prior art teaches wherein in a case where the predetermined time Te is equal to or shorter than a reference time Teth greater than Tia, when a current of the battery is greater than I0 that is a predetermined reference, the controller turns off the main relay, and provides a turn-on maintenance command to the power switch (see fig 2-3 paragraph 0029-0036).
As to claim 8 and 14 the prior art teaches wherein the controller accumulatively increases a stress index of the battery when the failure event occurs, and turns off the main relay when a duration of the failure event is equal to or shorter than Tia and the stress index of the battery is greater than Sth (see fig 2-3 paragraph 0036-0043).
As to claim 9, the prior art teaches wherein the controller determines that the failure event has occurred when a measured voltage of the battery exceeds a reference voltage Vmax Or a measured temperature of the battery exceeds a reference temperature Tmax, and the stress index of the battery is a count value of the number of times the measured voltage of the battery exceeds the reference voltage Vmax or the measured temperature of the battery exceeds the reference temperature Tmax (see fig 2-3 paragraph 0042-0046).
As to claim 10 the prior art teaches wherein the controller determines that the failure event has occurred when a measured voltage of the battery exceeds a reference voltage Vmax Or a measured temperature of the battery exceeds a reference temperature Tmax, and the stress index of the battery is a degree to which the measured voltage of the battery exceeds the reference voltage Vmax or a degree to which the measured temperature of the battery exceeds the reference temperature Tmax (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0045-0051).
As to claim 11, the prior art teaches a method of managing a battery using a battery management system (BMS) monitoring the battery, turning on/off a main relay connected to an output of the battery, and receiving power through a power switch, comprising:
measuring battery state information (see fig 1-2 paragraph 0032-0037);
detecting an occurrence of a failure event of the battery based on the battery state information (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0038-0047);
controlling the main relay based on whether a maintenance time of the failure event being longer than a reference time Tia and whether the number of times of the occurrence of the failure event being greater than a reference set value Sth (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0038-0047);
and turning on/off the power switch (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0030-0040).
Remarks
Applicant’s response and remarks filed on 10/27/25 have been carefully reviewed. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Key argument and their response related to the claims are listed as below:
Applicant contends that Lim et al. do not describe “a battery management system (BMS) monitoring a battery, turning on/off a main relay connected to an output of the battery, and receiving power through a power switch” probes as claimed, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art (Lim et al. U.S Pub. No. 2008/0088279) do teach especially, Lim et al. teaches a battery management system (BMS) monitoring a battery, turning on/off a main relay connected to an output of the battery, and receiving power through a power switch (see fig 1, fig 2 paragraph 0021-0030; especially, Lim et al. teach a battery management system (BMS) monitoring a battery, turning on/off a main relay connected to an output of the battery, and receiving power through a power switch as fig 1, fig 2 paragraph 0022-0028)
Applicant contends that Lim et al. do not describe “a sensor unit (see fig 1, element 10) measuring a state of the battery to generate battery state information (see fig 1-2 paragraph 0029-0039; especially, Lim et al. teach a sensor unit” probes as claimed, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art (Lim et al. U.S Pub. No. 2008/0088279) do teach a sensor unit (see fig 1, element 10) measuring a state of the battery to generate battery state information (see fig 1-2 paragraph 0029-0039; especially, Lim et al. teach a sensor unit (see fig 1, element 10) measuring a state of the battery to generate battery state information as fig 1-2 paragraph 0030-0037).
Applicant contends that Lim et al. do not describe “a controller configured to: receive the battery state information from the sensor unit, detect an occurrence of a failure event of the battery based on the battery state information, control the main relay based on whether a maintenance time of the failure event being longer than a reference time Tid and whether the number of times of the occurrence of the failure event being greater than a reference set value Sth, and provide a turn on/off command to the power switch” probes as claimed, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art (Lim et al. U.S Pub. No. 2008/0088279) do teach a controller configured to: receive the battery state information from the sensor unit, detect an occurrence of a failure event of the battery based on the battery state information, control the main relay based on whether a maintenance time of the failure event being longer than a reference time Tid and whether the number of times of the occurrence of the failure event being greater than a reference set value Sth, and provide a turn on/off command to the power switch (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0038-0047; especially, Lim et al. teach and a controller configured to: receive the battery state information from the sensor unit, detect an occurrence of a failure event of the battery based on the battery state information, control the main relay based on whether a maintenance time of the failure event being longer than a reference time Tid and whether the number of times of the occurrence of the failure event being greater than a reference set value Sth, and provide a turn on/off command to the power switch as fig 1-3 paragraph 0039-0046).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851