DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on May 07, 2026.
Claims 1, 9, and 16 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 07, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed May 07, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Response to 101 arguments
Applicant argues
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is allegedly directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Applicant respectfully submits that the claims, as amended, recite a practical application of technology that solves problems relating to monitoring and operation of an electrical submersible pump (ESP) in a wellbore. Some embodiments of the inventive subject matter relate to obtaining ESP data, determining deviations between predicted and actual ESP behavior over a defined test time period, classifying an incident associated with the ESP, and performing a wellbore operation to address the detected condition. As described in the specification, such operations improve the ability to detect anomalies and adjust operation of the ESP to maintain production and avoid damage to the system.
Applicant has amended claim 1 (and similarly claims 9 and 17) to explicitly recite
performing a wellbore operation including modifying one or more operating parameters of the electrical submersible pump based on the incident class. This amendment ties the claimed subject matter directly to the operation of a physical system and reflects the implementation of the determined incident class in controlling the ESP. For example, the specification describes adjusting operating parameters such as motor speed, operating mode, or other conditions of the ESP to mitigate anomalies and improve performance (see, e.g., [0013]) . This added limitation reflects a concrete application of the determined information in a real-world system.
Hence, Applicant respectfully submits that the claims (as amended) do not merely recite mental processes or abstract data analysis but instead recite a system that detects anomalies in an ESP and implements corrective actions by modifying operating parameters of the ESP during a wellbore operation. This constitutes a practical application of the claimed concepts in the control and operation of industrial equipment. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that the claims recite patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Withdrawal of the rejection and favorable reconsideration are respectfully requested.
Examiner Response
Although claims 1, 9, and 16 now recite modifying one or more operating parameters of the ESP based on the incident class, the claims do not specify which operating parameter is modified or how the modification is performed. Thus, the added limitation merely recites the result of applying the determinant incident class to operation of the ESP, rather than a particular technological implementation that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. Although Applicant identifies examples such as motor speed and operating mode in the specification come such particular modifications are not required by the claims.
Response to 103 arguments
Applicant argues
Claims 1-5, 9-13, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as allegedly
unpatentable over Boguslawski et al. (US 20230095709 Al, referred to as Boguslawski) in view of Beck et al. (US 11480039 B2, referred to as Beck). Claim 1 has been amended to recite (in part):
obtaining ESP data from a sensor of the ESP;
determining, from the ESP data, recent ESP behavior over a test time
period;
determining, via a forecasting model, predicted ESP behavior for the test
time period based on the ESP data;
comparing the predicted ESP behavior and the recent ESP behavior over
the test time period;
generating an alarm based on the ESP data, wherein the alarm is generated
in response to a deviation between the recent ESP behavior over the test
time period and a predicted ESP behavior over the test time period;
As shown in the amended claims, and described in the present application, a specific test time period is first selected from the ESP data, and the ESP data corresponding to that period is designated as the recent ESP behavior. The remaining ESP data is used to train a forecasting model. The forecasting model is then used to generate predicted ESP behavior for the test time period, and a health score (and resulting alarm) is generated by comparing the predicted ESP behavior and the recent ESP behavior for the corresponding test time period. See, e.g., [0022]- [0026]; FIG. 2.
This is a specific and structured workflow in which the prediction is not directed to a future operating condition, but rather to expected behavior for a defined segment of observed data (i.e., the test time period), enabling a direct comparison between predicted and actual behavior over that same temporal segment.
Neither reference, alone or in combination, discloses or suggests this arrangement. Boguslawski generally monitors ESP behavior and may detect deviations based on observed data or thresholds but does not disclose generating predicted behavior for a defined test time period and comparing that prediction to actual behavior over that same time period. Beck, on the other hand, utilizes machine learning to predict operating conditions, but such predictions are directed to future or ongoing conditions and are not generated for a selected test time period corresponding to observed data for purposes of comparison as claimed. Thus, the cited combination fails to teach or suggest the claimed framework in which both the predicted ESP behavior and the recent ESP behavior are tied to a defined test time period and are compared within that same temporal context to determine a deviation. Claims 9 and 16 have been amended to recite similar features. Accordingly, Applicant's representative submits claims 1-5, 9-13, 16, 17, and 18 are patentable over the cited art.
Claims 6-8, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as allegedly unpatentable over Boguslawski et al. (US 20230095709 A1, referred to as Boguslawski), in view of Beck et al. (US 11480039 B2, referred to as Beck), in view of Zhu (US 20130211811 A1, referred to as Zhu). Claims 6-8, 14-15, and 19-20 are patentable at least for the reasons given for their parent claims, and because Zhu fails to cure the deficiencies of Boguslawski and Beck.
Examiner Response
Applicant’s characterization of the claimed workflow relies on limitations not recited in claim 1, including selecting a historical test period, excluding that period form training data, and using the remaining ESP data to train the forecasting model. The claim requires predicted ESP behavior for a test time period and comparison of that predicted behavior with recent ESP behavior over the test time period. Boguslawski teaches monitoring ESP behavior over defined time windows, while Beck teaches predicting ESP operating behavior using a deep learning model. As set forth in the rejection, it would have been obvious to use Beck’s predicted operating condition as the expected baseline in Boguslawski’s monitoring framework and compare the monitored ESP behavior for the corresponding time period with the precited condition to detect a deviation. The fact that Beck describes generating a prediction for a future time does not distinguish the claim, which does not require that the test time period be historical when the prediction is generated. Accordingly, the combination teaches or suggest the claimed comparison.
Applicant present no separate argument regarding the additional; limitations of claims 6-8, 14-15, and 19-20, but instead relies on the alleged deficiency of Boguslawski’ and Beck. Because the alleged deficiency is not persuasive, Applicant’s corresponding argument regarding Zhu is likewise not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
To determine if a claim is directed to patent ineligible subject matter, the Court has guided the Office to apply the Alice/Mayo test, which requires:
Step 1: Determining if the claim falls within a statutory category.
Step 2A: Determining if the claim is directed to a patent ineligible judicial exception consisting of a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or abstract idea; and Step 2A is a two prong inquiry. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A). Under the first prong, examiners evaluate whether a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea is set forth or described in the claim. Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes. MPEP 2104.04(a)(2). The second prong is an inquiry into whether the claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application. MPEP 2106.04(d).
Step 2B: If the claim is directed to a judicial exception, determining if the claim recites limitations or elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-8 are directed to a method (a process), Claim 9-15 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium (a manufacture), and Claims 16-20 is directed to a system comprising a processor and computer-readable medium (a machine). Therefore, Claims 1-20 are directed to a process, machine or manufacture or composition of matter.
Regarding claim 1
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 1 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “machine learning model”, “forecasting model”) [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)].
“determining, from the ESP data, recent ESP behavior over a test time period” (e.g., a human can compare data from the same source, gathered over a period of time and determine differences in its functioning)
“determining, …, predicted ESP behavior for the test time period based on the ESP data” (e.g., a human can observe operational information and then make a judgment/prediction about how the that operational information may change)
“comparing the predicted ESP behavior and the recent ESP behavior over the test time period” (e.g., a human can compare expected behavior with observed behavior over a time period and determine if that behavior differs)
“determining, …, an incident class based on the ESP data”(e.g., a human can decide what levels to assign different anomalies depending on received alarms)
“wherein the alarm is generated in response to a deviation between the recent ESP behavior over the test time period and a predicted ESP behavior over the test time period” (e.g., evaluation of numerical relationships, to compare values for determination of a deviation)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “machine learning model” and “forecasting model”, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The Examiner notes that this is used throughout the claim limitations and is rejected thusly for each claim which recites the same language.
Regarding the “obtaining ESP data from a sensor of the ESP” limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of obtaining data to input for a model, i.e., pre-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The examiner notes that specifying that the data is specific to, “ESP data”, is a field of use, and is discussed below.
Regarding the “ESP data” which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), as it limits the data collection to a particular technological environment. The Examiner notes that this is used throughout the claim limitations and is rejected thusly for each claim which recites the same language.
Regarding the “generating an alarm based on the ESP data” limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of determining a threshold and creating an alarm based on what threshold is met/surpassed, i.e., post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “the predicted ESP behavior being determined based on the ESP data via a forecasting model” which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “inputting the ESP data into a trained machine learning model” limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of obtaining data to input for a model, i.e., pre-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “performing a wellbore operation including modifying one or more operating parameters of the ESP based on the incident class” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “machine learning model”, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “obtaining ESP data from the ESP”, “generating an alarm based on the ESP data “, and “inputting the ESP data into a trained machine learning model”, limitations, these additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of data gathering, and data manipulation. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high-level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding the “ESP data” which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding the “the predicted ESP behavior being determined based on the ESP data via a forecasting model” which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “performing a wellbore operation including modifying one or more operating parameters of the ESP based on the incident class” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional element individually or in combination does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 2
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 2 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “machine learning model”) [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)].
determining at least one mitigation activity from a plurality of historical
“determining at least one mitigation activity from a plurality of historical mitigation activities based on the incident class” (e.g., a human can determine what mitigation to take to prevent further issues based on different incidents that occurred)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
In accordance with Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements, and the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 3
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 3 does not introduce any new abstract ideas, but recites the abstract idea identified in claim 1 and claim 2.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional element of a “inputting the incident class and the plurality of historical mitigation activities into a correlation model to determine the at least one mitigation activity”, limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering an incident class to then input into a model for further processing, i.e., pre-solution activity of gathering data to input into a model (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “inputting the incident class and the plurality of historical mitigation activities into a correlation model to determine the at least one mitigation activity”, limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of data gathering, and data manipulation. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high-level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional element individually or in combination does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 4
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 4 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “machine learning model”) [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)].
determining at least one mitigation activity from a plurality of historical
“updating the alarm based on the incident class” (e.g., a human can determine what incident level is necessary to then adjust alarm levels depending on their severity)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
In accordance with Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements, and the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 5
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 5 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “machine learning model”) [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)].
determining at least one mitigation activity from a plurality of historical
“separating the recent ESP behavior from at least a portion of the ESP data to generate a training dataset” (e.g., a human can identify, and separate data based on recent information and create a spreadsheet of datasets)
“generating an ESP health score based on a comparison of the recent ESP behavior and the predicted ESP behavior, wherein the comparison is based on attributes including a prediction interval and distance metrics” (e.g., a human can compare recent data from a pump and what it should be at and determine its health)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional element of a “inputting the training dataset into the forecasting model to determine the predicted ESP behavior”, limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering and inputting data into a model for further processing, i.e., post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “generating the alarm based on the ESP health score” limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of determining a threshold and creating an alarm based on what threshold is met/surpassed, i.e., post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated (e.g., obtaining information for processing in a computer system (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “inputting the training dataset into the forecasting model to determine the predicted ESP behavior”, limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of data gathering, and data manipulation. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high-level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding the “generating the alarm based on the ESP health score”, limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of data manipulation. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high-level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional element individually or in combination does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 6
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 6 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “machine learning model”) [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)].
determining at least one mitigation activity from a plurality of historical
“determining, …, a feature set, wherein the feature set includes an ESP data feature” (e.g., a human can identify and separate data to create a dataset(examiner notes, that specifying the feature set includes an ESP data feature merely limits the data to a particular technological environment/field of use))
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional element of a “configuring the first machine learning model to receive the feature set as input”, limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for training of a model, i.e., post-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “generating training samples”, limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of producing datasets for training of a model, i.e., post-solution activity of data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “training the first machine learning model based on the training samples to generate the trained machine learning model, wherein each training sample includes an incident class sample that is associated with at least one cluster sample”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “configuring the first machine learning model to receive the feature set as input”, and “generating training samples”, limitations, these additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of data gathering, and data outputting. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high-level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding the “training the first machine learning model based on the training samples to generate the trained machine learning model, wherein each training sample includes an incident class sample that is associated with at least one cluster sample”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional element individually or in combination does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 7
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 7 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “machine learning model”) [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)].
“labelling each of the at least one cluster samples with an incident class sample to generate the training samples”(e.g., a human can label different outputs of a set for creating further training sets)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional element of a “obtaining a historical ESP data sample”, and “inputting the processed dataset into a second machine learning mode” limitations, these additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of obtaining data to input for a model, i.e., pre-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “historical ESP data” which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), as it limits the data collection to a particular technological environment.
Regarding the “generating a processed dataset based on the historical ESP data sample”, and “generating, with the second machine learning model, at least one cluster sample based on the processed dataset”, limitations, these additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of generating processed data, i.e., post-solution activity of data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “obtaining a historical ESP data sample”, “inputting the processed dataset into a second machine learning mode”, “generating a processed dataset based on the historical ESP data sample”, and “generating, with the second machine learning model, at least one cluster sample based on the processed dataset”, limitations, these additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of data gathering, and data outputting. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high-level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding the “historical ESP data” which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), as it limits the data collection to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional element individually or in combination does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 8
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 8 does not introduce any new abstract ideas, but recites the abstract idea identified in claim 7.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional element of a “wherein the second machine learning model comprises unsupervised clustering”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “wherein the second machine learning model comprises unsupervised clustering”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional element individually or in combination does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 9-12
Claims 9-12 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium. Which corresponds directly to the method steps of claims 1-4, respectively, with the addition of hardware and computer-readable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Regarding claims 13-15
Claims 13-15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium. Which corresponds directly to the method steps of claims 5-7, respectively, with the addition on hardware and computer-readable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Regarding claims 16, and 17
Claims 16, and 17 recites a system comprising a processor and computer-readable medium. Which corresponds directly to the method steps of claims 1, and 2, respectively, with the addition on hardware and computer-readable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Regarding claims 18-20
Claims 18-20 recites a system comprising a processor and computer-readable medium. Which corresponds directly to the method steps of claims 5-7, respectively, with the addition on hardware and computer-readable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13, 16, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boguslawski et al. (US 20230095709 A1, referred to as Boguslawski) in view of Beck et al. (US 11480039 B2, referred to as Beck).
Regarding claim 1, Boguslawski teaches a computer-implemented method for monitoring an electrical submersible pump (ESP) disposed in a wellbore ([0040-0041]: Describes an ESP installed in downhole in a wellbore then details the surface control/PAC receives ESP operation data and data from sensors/ I/O devices positioned around/within the wellbore.), the method comprising:
obtaining ESP data from a sensor of the ESP([0041]: Describes receiving ESP/wellbore operational data from a sensor of the ESP because operational parameters (flow rate, pressure, temperature, current/voltage, vibration) are provided by I/O devices including temperature/pressure/flow/current/vibration0sensors positioned around and within the wellbore, form which data is acquired for monitoring ESP operation.);
determining, form the ESP data, recent ESP behavior over a test time period (FIG. 10, FIG. 11, [0072-73]: Describes determining, performing event detection/prediction on a stepwise basis using successive time windows over the operational data (windows starting at tie t, t + 1, etc.) and determines parameter behavior within each window by performing slope determinations on a per-window basis (with window sizes on the order of seconds, minutes, hours, or days.);
generating an alarm based on the ESP data, wherein the alarm is generated in response to a deviation between the recent ESP behavior over the test time period ([Boguslawski [0096-0100]: Describes generating an alarm based on ESP data because operational parameters are processed to derive correlated probabilities and a resultant probability vector P, which is compared to a preselected threshold value. When the resultant probability fails to meet the threshold, an indicator of abnormal operation is displayed. It monitors probability trends and identifies deviation from a stable operating region, including estimating time remaining until threshold violation and issuing an indicator if abnormal operation is imminent.)
Although Boguslawski teaches obtaining ESP data from a sensor of the ESP, and determining, form the ESP data, recent ESP behavior over a test time period. It does not teach determining, via a forecasting model, predicted ESP behavior for the test time period based on the ESP data.
Beck teaches, determining, via a forecasting model, predicted ESP behavior for the test time period based on the ESP data(Col. 8, lines 35-57: Describes determining predicted ESP behavior via a forecasting model because the deep learning model outputs a prediction of an operating condition at a future time (flow rate or gas lock in the future) based on sensor-derived operating condition data, which provides predicted ESP behavior over a time period via a model.);
It would have been obvious to cone of ordinary skill in the art at the time if the claimed invention to have combined the ESP monitoring system of Boguslawski with the deep learning predictive model of beck. Doing so would have enabled the system to enable proactive detection of abnormal ESP operation and improve ESP monitoring and control based on sensor derived operating conditions.
Boguslawski in view of Beck teaches comparing the predicted ESP behavior and the recent ESP behavior over the test time period (Boguslawski FIG. 10, FIG. 11, [0072-73]: Describes monitoring ESP operational behavior within successive time windows and comparing the behavior determined within each time window for event detection/prediction.; Beck Col. 8, lines 35-57: Describes that predicted ESP operating behavior determined using a predictive deep-learning model.; Together, Beck’s predicted operating condition is used as the expected baseline in Boguslawski’s time-window monitoring framework, where the monitored/recent ESP behavior for the corresponding time period is compared with the predicted ESP behavior.)
… a predicted ESP behavior over the test time period(Col. 8, lines 35-57: Describes that the deep learning model outputs a prediction of an ESP operating condition, such as flow rate or gas lock, at a future time based on operating condition data.; Boguslawski [0096-0100] describes an alarm/abnormal operation indication based on detected deviation/threshold behavior, while the proposed combination supplies Beck’s predicted behavior as the expected baseline against which the monitored behavior is evaluated.);
Beck further teaches performing the following after the alarm is generated,
inputting the ESP data into a trained machine learning model (Beck Col. 9, lines 63-67 Cont. Col. 10, lines 1-7: Describes that the machine learning model receives inputs from ESP sensors, where ESP data is input into a trained model.; Col. 11, lines 8-13: Describes that the models input stage receives inputs form sensors for ESP data.);
determining, with the trained machine learning model, an incident class
based on the ESP data (Col. 10, lines 8-43: Describes a trained model which outputs a classification state (incident class) derived from ESP inputs and used operationally. It further describes a “Gas Lock” as a classification state, which is produced by the model for a condition of an ESP diagnosis. ); and
performing a wellbore operation including modifying one or more operating parameters of the ESP based on the incident class (Col. 7 lines 54 cont. Col. 8 lines 1-13: Describes ESP operating parameters including frequency setpoint, operating mode, pump/motor speed, voltage, current, temperature, and pressure that may be changed by the motor controller.; Col. 10 lines 15-57: Describes the centralized computer system outputting a classification state, such as Gas Lock, and the motor controller adjusting operating parameters of the ESP motor based on the classification state.)
Regarding claim 2, Boguslawski in view of Beck, teaches, the method of claim 1.
Beck teaches, determining at least one mitigation activity from a plurality of historical
mitigation activities based on the incident class (Beck Col 14, lines 1-38: Describes that system identifies a classification state, then depending on that state sends a signal to a controller adjustment (mitigation action) for the pump, indicating that a mitigation is done depending on a particular incident. ; Col. 14, lines 39-67: Describes that the system contains a centralized logging database of past states/inputs which includes classification states and supervisory input/actions. This shows the system keeps historical data that can be used for future mitigation taking from similar classification states of the past.).
Regarding claim 3, Boguslawski in view of Beck, teaches the method of claim 2.
wherein determining the at least one mitigation activity comprises inputting the
incident class and the plurality of historical mitigation activities(Col. 6, lines 13-50: Describes labels, tied to each recorded situation, these same logged records include the action taken (mitigation) giving the historical class to action pair. ;Col. 14, lines 39-67: Describes a centralized history of classification states and supervisory input. Corresponding to a plurality of historical mitigation activities.; ).
Although Beck teaches an incident class and the plurality of historical mitigation activities. It does not teach an into a correlation model to determine the at least one mitigation activity.
Boguslawski teaches into a correlation model to determine the at least one mitigation activity ([0064-0065]: Describes a correlation model maintained by the database that relates observed patterns to event types/causes, and it is iteratively updated from field experience. The selection mechanism computes similarity to past events, associating with the known class, then reuses the historical mitigation which resolved that incident.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine Boguslawski’s correlation model with the historical mitigation of Beck. Doing so would have enabled the system to determine the proper mitigation task as needed depending on the current situation based on past experiences.
Regarding claim 4, Boguslawski in view of Beck, teaches, the method of claim 1.
Boguslawski in view of Beck teaches, updating the alarm based on the incident class (Boguslawski [0094]: Describes that the system supports different alarm severities (medium vs high) and different alarm types/indicates depending on conditions, the annunciation is updated according to the detected situation.; [0100]: Describes different alarm types presented for different detected events.; Beck Col. 9, lines 54-67 Cont. Col 10, lines 1-57: Describes that the system produces a class, and once that class is known it is routine to configure the annunciation (type/severity) to reflect that class.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine Boguslawski’s alarm type with the classification system of Beck. Doing so would have enabled the system to determine the proper alarm based on the current incident enhancing the prediction capability of the system.
Regarding claim 5, Boguslawski in view of Beck, teaches, the method of claim 1.
Boguslawski in view of Beck teaches, separating the recent ESP behavior from at least a portion of the ESP data to generate a training dataset (Beck, Col. 5, lines 66-67 Cont. Col. 6, lines 1-12: Describes stored training data compared to current/recent data. Differentiating real time and earlier data. ;Col. 14, lines 39-67: Describes a training dataset (in a training database) composed of stored ESP data/labels. Which inherently distinguishes stored (historical) data used for training from current data used for inference control.);
inputting the training dataset into the forecasting model to determine the predicted ESP behavior (Beck, Col. 14, lines 39-67: Describes that the training dataset is input to the model for training. ; Col 20, lines 15-18: Describes that the model produces a forecast/prediction of ESP behavior. Which corresponds to training a dataset from a model to predict future ESP behavior.)
Although Beck teaches separating recent ESP behavior from at least a portion of the ESP data to generate a training dataset and inputting the training dataset into a forecasting model to determine a predicted ESP behavior. It does not teach generating an ESP health score based on a comparison of the recent ESP behavior and the predicted ESP behavior, wherein the comparison is based on attributes including a prediction interval and distance metrics and generating the alarm based on the ESP health score.
Boguslawski teaches, generating an ESP health score based on a comparison of the recent ESP behavior and the predicted ESP behavior, wherein the comparison is based on attributes including a prediction interval and distance metrics ( [0061-0064]: Describes using a distance metric to compare observed behavior (current/recent slope vector x) against an expected distribution and converts that distance into a probability P via the x2 relationship. The P is your health score, a high P is normal, and low P is abnormal. The comparison uses a plurality of attributes (multiple ESP parameters/slopes), each scored, then combined into a resultant probability/health value. The probability region corresponds to the prediction interval, with thresholds that stage severity. This is the same construct as a prediction/confidence interval used to decide if the recent behavior is inside/outside the expected region.); and
generating the alarm based on the ESP health score ( [0093]: Describes how the annunciation is tied to the health score (resultant probability) and shows severity/type selection derived from that score.;[0096-0097]: The resultant probability vector P corresponds to the health score, when that score crosses the threshold, the system generates an indicator (alarm), which means the alarm is based on the score.).
Regarding claims 9-13. Which recites substantially the same limitations as claims 1-5. Claims 9-13 further recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Boguslawski [0106]: Describes a non-transitory medium comprising computer hardware to execute store instructions to perform method steps.) to perform the method steps of claims 1-5, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claims 16-17. Which recites substantially the same limitations as claims 1-2. Claims 16-17 further recites a system comprising: an electrical submersible pump (ESP) to be disposed in a wellbore; a processor; and a computer-readable medium having instructions (Boguslawski [0036] and [0106-0107]: Describes computers with their hardware to perform instructions and methods based on ESP data.) to perform the method steps of claims 1-2, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 18. Which recites substantially the same limitations as claim 5. Claim 18 further recites a system comprising: an electrical submersible pump (ESP) to be disposed in a wellbore; a processor; and a computer-readable medium having instructions (Boguslawski [0036], and [0106-0107]) to perform the method steps of claim 5, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 6-8, 14-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boguslawski et al. (US 20230095709 A1, referred to as Boguslawski), in view of Beck et al. (US 11480039 B2, referred to as Beck), in view of Zhu (US 20130211811 A1, referred to as Zhu).
Regarding claim 6, Boguslawski in view of Beck teaches, the method of claim 1.
Beck teaches, determining, for a first machine learning model, a feature set, wherein the feature set includes an ESP data feature (Col. 9, lines 63-67 Cont. Col 10, lines 1-7, and Col. 14, lines 39-67: Describes determining a feature set for the model, as it specifies categories of inputs used by the ESP deep-learning model and stores that schema in the training database for model generation, the practitioner must select/define those features up front.);
configuring the first machine learning model to receive the feature set as input (Col. 9, lines 63-67 Cont. Col 10, lines 1-7: Describes that the model receives feature set categories as inputs.);
training the first machine learning model based on the training samples to generate the trained machine learning model, wherein each training sample includes an incident class sample that is associated with at least one cluster sample (Col. 14, lines 39-67: Describes training datasets are used to train and generate a trained model. The training samples include a classification state (incident class sample).
Although Beck teaches, determining, for a first machine learning model, a feature set, wherein the feature set includes an ESP data feature, configuring the first machine learning model to receive the feature set as input and training the first machine learning model based on the training samples to generate the trained machine learning model, wherein each training sample includes an incident class sample that is associated with at least one cluster sample. It does not teach generating training samples.
Zhu teaches, generating training samples ([0034-0035]: Describes each generated input/output pair becomes one data row in a training dataset (training sample). It repeatedly creates those rows to obtain the training dataset.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine Beck’s deep learning model with the training samples of Zhu. Doing so would have enabled the model to generate larger, balanced datasets without expensive field collection, accelerating training and improving robustness of the model.
Regarding claim 7, Boguslawski in view of Beck, in view of Zhu teaches, the method of claim 6. Zhu further teaches, generating the training samples further comprises:
obtaining a historical ESP data sample;
generating a processed dataset based on the historical ESP data sample ([0031-0033]: Describes that measured ESP parameters are pulled from a repository. This upstream dataset is used by the later model steps for use in model generation.);
inputting the processed dataset into a second machine learning model ([0036]: Describes that unsupervised second model where input is received and then a finite set of clusters is produced as output. Which each represent a group of similar samples.);
generating, with the second machine learning model, at least one cluster sample based on the processed dataset( [0041]: Describes that each measured row is mapped to a winning cluster, rows are associated with that cluster.);
Although Zhu teaches obtaining a historical ESP data sample generating a processed dataset based on the historical ESP data sample inputting the processed dataset into a second machine learning model generating, with the second machine learning model, at least one cluster sample based on the processed dataset. It does not teach, labelling each of the at least one cluster samples with an incident class sample to generate the training samples.
Beck teaches, labelling each of the at least one cluster samples with an incident class sample to generate the training samples(Beck Col. 8, lines 51-57: Describes that each training sample may include a classification state as part of the input/output that is stored in the training dataset. This shows that each stored training row (sample) includes the incident class label. ; Col. 14, lines 39-67: Describes that deep learning model is generated based on the training dataset. The rows in that dataset are training samples used to produce the trained model.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine Beck’s training datasets formation with the organized mapping of Zhu. Doing so would have enabled the system to create a predictable dataset, organized by improving class consistent groupings, reducing duplicate rows and outlier isolation. Simplifying training and yielding a more stable model performance.
Regarding claim 8, Boguslawski in view of Beck, in view of Zhu teaches, the method of claim 7
Zhu further teaches, wherein the second machine learning model comprises unsupervised clustering ([0036]: Describes performing self-organizing mapping (SOM) or other cluster analysis on the dataset. ;[0041]: Describes that each measured row is mapped to a winning cluster (per-sample cluster association). This corresponds to unsupervised clustering and the association of each data row to at least on cluster sample.).
Regarding claims 14 and 15. Which recites substantially the same limitations as claims 6 and 7. Claims 14 and 15 further recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Boguslawski [0106-0107]) to perform the method steps of claims 6 and 7, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claims 19 and 20. Which recites substantially the same limitations as claims 6 and 7. Claims 19 and 20 further recites a system comprising: an electrical submersible pump (ESP) to be disposed in a wellbore; a processor; and a computer-readable medium having instructions (Boguslawski [0036], and [0106-0107]) to perform the method steps of claims 6 and 7, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for additional art including.
• US 11236751 B2: ESP data detection
• US 20200386091 A1: prediction/forecasting of behavior/health
• US 20210148380 A1: interference context
/D.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2128
/OMAR F FERNANDEZ RIVAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2128