DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 22 January 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “there is no serious search or examination burden. Indeed, both claim 1 and 19 recite "[a] transfer apparatus comprising: a body[,] and a plurality of substrate supports inserted at least partially into the body, each of the plurality of substrate supports comprising: . . . silicon carbide (SiC)." For this reason, examination should encompass claims 1-20.” This is not found persuasive because moving out of the processing volume is only in Claims 19-20. There is no claim to the steps of moving a transfer apparatus along with heating a substrate in said processing volume in Claims 1-18.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 22 January 2026.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” “The present disclosure relates to,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FREERKS FREDERICK W et al. (EP1063683A2) (“Freerks”).
[AltContent: textbox (fin)][AltContent: textbox (inner segment)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Claim 1: a substrate (12) in relation to semiconductor manufacturing, the transfer apparatus comprising:
a body (para. [0001]/[0028]/[0029]-[0032]]; 30); and
a plurality of substrate supports (36a-36d) inserted at least partially into the body, each of the plurality of substrate supports comprising:
an inner segment (see FIG. 8 above, “inner segment”), and
one or more fins (see FIG. 8 above, “fin”) extending outwardly relative to the inner segment each of the inner segment and the one or more fins comprising silicon carbide (SiC) (para. [0036]);
Claim 2: wherein the body is a blade, and each of the inner segment and the one or more fins is formed of the SIC (FIG. 8; para. [0036]);
Claim 4: wherein the inner segment is ball shaped, and each of the one or more fins is cylindrical or rectangular in shape (para. [0032]; ball = spherical; cylindrical = convex);
Claim 6: wherein the inner segment is cylindrical in shape, and each of the one or more fins is cylindrical or rectangular in shape (para. [0032]; cylindrical = convex);
Claim 7: wherein the inner segment is semi-ball shaped and cylindrical in shape, and each of the one or more fins is cylindrical or rectangular in shape (para. [0032]; semi-ball = semi-spherical; cylindrical = convex);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freerks in view of Parkhe et al. (US 8852348) (“Parkhe”). Freerks discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Freerks does not directly show:
Claim 3: wherein each of the inner segment and the one or more fins is formed of graphite coated with the SIC.
Parkhe shows a similar device having:
Claim 3: wherein each of the inner segment and the one or more fins is formed of graphite coated with the SIC (col. 9, lines 23-29);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a sealant against moisture and improving substrate processing performance (col. 8, lines 55-57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Freerks as taught by Parkhe and include Parkhe’s similar device having:
Claim 3: wherein each of the inner segment and the one or more fins is formed of graphite coated with the SIC;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a sealant against moisture and improving substrate processing performance.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freerks in view of Greenberg et al. (US 9202738) (“Greenberg”). Freerks discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Freerks does not directly show:
Claim 5: wherein the inner segment is rectangular in shape, and each of the one or more fins is cylindrical or rectangular in shape.
Greenberg shows a similar device having:
Claim 5: wherein the inner segment is rectangular in shape, and each of the one or more fins is cylindrical or rectangular in shape (col. 5, lines 35-37);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of suitably holding the substrate in place (col. 3, lines 10-16; col. 5, lines 35-37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Freerks as taught by Greenberg and include Greenberg’s similar device having:
Claim 5: wherein the inner segment is rectangular in shape, and each of the one or more fins is cylindrical or rectangular in shape;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of suitably holding the substrate in place.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freerks in view of Srivastava et al. (US 2022/0336248) (“Srivastava”). Freerks discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Freerks does not directly show:
Claim 8: one or more heat transfer elements embedded in the inner segment of at least one of the plurality of substrate supports.
Srivastava shows a similar device having:
Claim 8: one or more heat transfer elements embedded in the inner segment of at least one of the plurality of substrate supports (para. [0046]);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving green-to-green time of the transfer apparatus (para. [0026]/[0062]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Freerks as taught by Srivastava and include Srivastava’s similar device having:
Claim 8: one or more heat transfer elements embedded in the inner segment of at least one of the plurality of substrate supports;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving green-to-green time of the transfer apparatus.
Claim(s) 9-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freerks in view of Tsuji et al. (US 2015/0217456) (“Tsuji”). Freerks discloses:
Claim 9: a substrate (12) in relation to semiconductor manufacturing, the transfer apparatus comprising:
a body (para. [0001]/[0028]/[0029]-[0032]]; 30) comprising:
a wrist (para. [0028]), and
a plurality of arms defining a support face (FIG. 3-4,7; at least 30), the plurality of arms each having an arm thickness, and the plurality of arms are each formed of an arm material (FIG. 3-4; 2 has arms);
and a plurality of substrate supports (36a-36d) inserted at least partially into the support face of the body, each of the plurality of substrate supports formed of a support material that is different than the arm material (para. [0034]/[0036]; 30 and 36a-36d are capable of having different materials; 36a-36d is preferred to be 6061 aluminum in para. [0036]), and each of the plurality of substrate supports comprising:
an inner segment (see FIG. 8 above, “inner segment”), and
one or more fins (see FIG. 8 above, “fin”) extending outwardly relative to the inner segment, each of the one or more fins having a fin thickness that is a thickness ratio of the arm thickness (FIG. 4-7);
Claim 10: wherein the support material comprises silicon carbide (SiC) (FIG. 8; para. [0036]), and the arm material comprises quartz (SiO2) (para. [0039]);
Claim 11: wherein the wrist comprises a wrist ledge, each of the plurality of arms comprises an arm ledge, and each of the plurality of substrate supports is positioned inwardly of the wrist ledge and each arm ledge (edge of at least 30; FIG. 3-4,7; 32/34/etc.);
Claim 12: wherein the inner segment comprises:
a support portion on a first side of the one or more fins, the support portion extending past the support face (see FIG. 8 above, “inner segment” top portion); and
an insertion portion on a second side of the one or more fins, the insertion portion extending into a retention opening formed in one of the plurality of arms (portion/opening near leaders 29/38d in FIG. 8);
Claim 14: wherein the inner segment has a segment major dimension and each of the one or more fins has a fin major dimension, wherein the fin major dimension is larger than the segment major dimension (the fin is larger than the inner segment);
Claim 17: wherein the support material has a thermal conductivity that is at least 100 W/m*°K. (for SiC in Freerks = 3.6-4.9 W/cm*°C = 360-490 W/m*°K which is above 100 W/m*°K; see https://www.ioffe.ru/SVA/NSM/Semicond/SiC/thermal.html reference thereto);
Claim 18: wherein the support material has an absorptivity that absorbs at least 95% of light having a wavelength in the infrared (IR) range (for SiC in Freerks, see reference “Silicon‑based ultra‑broadband mid‑IR and LWIR near‑perfect metamaterial absorber” (see https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s11082-024-06996-2 ) that discloses that SiC is capable of meeting the claimed absorptivity).
Freerks does not directly show:
Claim 9: the thickness ratio is 0.7 or less;
Claim 13: wherein the support portion extends past the support face by a gap, the gap is a gap ratio of the arm thickness, and the gap ratio is 0.3 or higher;
Claim 15: wherein the fin major dimension is a dimension ratio of the arm thickness, and the dimension ratio is 2.0 or higher;
Claim 16: wherein the dimension ratio is 4.0 or higher.
Tsuji shows a similar device having:
Claim 9: the thickness ratio is 0.7 or less (41a-41d; para. [0046]-[0047]; Fig. 3-4);
Claim 13: wherein the support portion extends past the support face by a gap, the gap is a gap ratio of the arm thickness, and the gap ratio is 0.3 or higher (3-10 mm or 5-7 mm);
Claim 15: wherein the fin major dimension is a dimension ratio of the arm thickness, and the dimension ratio is 2.0 or higher (3-10 mm or 5-7 mm);
Claim 16: wherein the dimension ratio is 4.0 or higher (3-10 mm or 5-7 mm);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the throughput of the substrate through the transfer apparatus by reducing transfer errors (para. [0059]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Freerks as taught by Tsuji and include Tsuji’s similar device having:
Claim 9: the thickness ratio is 0.7 or less;
Claim 13: wherein the support portion extends past the support face by a gap, the gap is a gap ratio of the arm thickness, and the gap ratio is 0.3 or higher;
Claim 15: wherein the fin major dimension is a dimension ratio of the arm thickness, and the dimension ratio is 2.0 or higher;
Claim 16: wherein the dimension ratio is 4.0 or higher;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the throughput of the substrate through the transfer apparatus by reducing transfer errors.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/108,432 (reference application; US 2024/0274448). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application fit into (are broader than) Claim 8 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2008/0105201 have supports 208/124.
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652