DETAILED ACTION
2. This Final office action is in response to application 17/991,806, Applicant’s amendment and remarks filed on 11/24/2025. In the amendment, claims 1, 8 and 15 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner comments in response to Applicant’s remarks appear below:
4a. On page 6 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant asserts that Park and Ren, taken individually or in combination, fails to disclose processing the graph data structure to select one or more characteristics for the components. Examiner disagrees with this assertion.
4b. Examiner points out that Park teaches processing the graph data structure to select one or more characteristics for the components (see processing graph structure which contains connection relationships and evaluating power, performance and area characteristics of components and relationships to optimize IC design, para 45-48; data structure that determines the characteristic of the neural network, para 120; characteristics of elements and the connection relationship between components, para 44; see information/data processing for optimizing parameters/characteristics such as wire length, power, para 93-94). More specifically, Park discloses a graph structure based on a netlist design that characterizes relationship attributes between components such as wire length, power, area, etc. Park further teaches that the graph structure can be used to optimize the design in view of these characteristic attributes based on the relationship between components as conveyed in the graph structure. Therefore, Examiner maintains that Park discloses processing the graph data structure to select one or more characteristics for the components, as recited in at Applicant’s claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PARK et al. (US PG Pub No. 2023/0153492).
6. With respect to independent claims 1, 8, and 15, PARK teaches:
A computer-implemented method for selecting characteristics (see selecting to optimize based on characteristics such as area, power, para 94; see metrics/characteristics such as power, performance, area – optimizing to reduce power based on wire length, reaching of electrical signals, represented by nodes and edges of graph, para 45-47) for components of a netlist (netlist information regarding placement order of elements and connection relationships in netlist, para 9; connecting two elements will be selected, para 94), comprising:
generating a graph data structure (generating a complete graph, para 17; converting to a hypergraph structure, para 11; see graph data structure, para 119), the components and nets (graph structure representing logical design into ordinary graph structure, nodes and edges representing netlist, para 10-11, 81-82, 114; see netlist, set of nets as part of netlist, para 45) of the netlist being represented by nodes in the graph data structure (see nodes of the edge of the graph structure, para 15-20; plurality of nodes unlike an ordinary graph, para 45; graph structure expressing connection relationships of the semiconductor element, para 11),
wherein the nodes representing the nets (see netlist, set of nets as part of netlist, para 45; converting netlist into graph structure representing logical design into ordinary graph structure, nodes and edges representing netlist, para 10-11, 81-82, 114) indicate types of the connections between the components (graph structure that expresses the connection relationship between the semiconductor elements, para 82); and
processing the graph data structure to select one or more characteristics for the components (see processing graph structure which contains connection relationships and evaluating power, performance and area characteristics of components and relationships to optimize IC design, para 45-48; data structure that determines the characteristic of the neural network, para 120; characteristics of elements and the connection relationship between components, para 44; see information/data processing for optimizing parameters/characteristics such as wire length, power, para 93-94).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US PG Pub No. 2023/0153492) in view of Ren et al. (US PG Pub No. 2023/0237313).
10. With respect to claims 2, 9 and 16, PARK teaches:
the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a node embedding includes a reference for each of the components in the graph data structure to a table of components (embedding for semiconductor elements based on feature information, para 104; embedding for semiconductor elements already placed, para 104-105; see embedding on learning data, para 105).
Park appears to be silent regarding:
a table of components.
However, Ren teaches:
a table of components (see table showing values of parameters and parasitics for components such as transistors, etc., para 35-40; also see lookup tables for map node embeddings, para 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the time of the invention to have incorporated Ren’s table of components for a graph structure into the graph structure of Park for at least the following reason(s): the extracted device data for each type of device net enables parameters to be viewed and optimized for higher performance in a circuit design, as motivated by the description in paragraphs 35-40 of Ren.
11. With respect to claims 3, 10, and 17, while PARK fails to teach the limitations below, Ren teaches:
the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the table of components has records for each component type (see entries into table showing values of parameters and parasitics for components such as transistors, etc., para 35-40; also see lookup tables for map node embeddings, para 9).
12. With respect to claims 4, 11, and 18, PARK teaches:
the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the one or more characteristics include one or more of gain, bandwidth, and power (see characteristics including power, para 47).
13. With respect to claims 5, 12, and 19, PARK teaches:
the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the processing is performed using a relational graph convolution network (RGCN) (see convolutional neural network CNN, para 72).
14. With respect to claims 6, 13 and 20, PARK teaches:
the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the processing is performed using a relational graph convolution network (RGCN) (see convolutional neural network CNN, para 72).
15. With respect to claims 7 and 14, PARK teaches:
the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the node embeddings are processed by an actor model and a critic model (see model illustrating a actor model and a critic model, see description of model in para 78-80).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUCHIN PARIHAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851