DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 5, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 states that the UV absorber includes “benzophenon” wherein it is believed applicant meant benzophenone. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (JP 2018156068).
With regards to claim 1, Lee teaches a photosensitive resin composition (title) that contains a binder (0043), a photopolymeric compound (0008) that includes acrylate monomers (0063), a photopolymerization initiator (0065), a solvent (0082) and a UV absorber (0086). Lee teaches the binder to have the following repeating units:
(0114) reading on claimed formula I and the first repeating unit,
(0114) reading on claimed formula 2 and the second repeating unit,
(0114) reading on claimed formula 4 which reads on the claimed third, fourth, and fifth repeating units, and
(0114) reading on claimed formula 5 which reads on the claimed third, fourth, and fifth repeating units. It is important to note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 does not require the repeating units to be different from one another. Therefore, because the claimed formula 5 reads on the third, fourth, and fifth repeating units it would read on all three being present.
With regards to claim 2, Lee teaches the ultraviolet absorber to include benzotriazole compounds (0091).
With regards to claim 3, Lee teaches the amount of additives to be 0.13% (01119 examples 1-5).
With regards to claim 4, Lee teaches the composition to contain scattering particles (0003).
With regards to claim 6, Lee teaches the amount of the claimed first repeating unit to be 30% and the amount of the claimed third repeating unit to be 10% (0114) reading on a ratio of 3:1.
With regards to claim 7, It is important to note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 does not require the repeating units to be different from one another. Therefore, because the claimed formula 5 reads on the third, fourth, and fifth repeating units it would read on all three being present.
With regards to claim 8, Lee teaches the amount of the claimed first repeating unit to be 30% and the amount of the claimed second repeating unit to be 20% (0114). It is important to note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 does not require the repeating units to be different from one another. Therefore, because the claimed formula 5 reads on the third, fourth, and fifth repeating units it would read on all three being present.
With regards to claim 9, Lee teaches the composition to include polyethylene glycol monomethyl ether (0090).
With regards to claim 10, Lee teaches the photoinitiator to include acetophenone, acetophenone, thioxanthone, or benzophenone compounds (0065).
With regards to claim 11, Lee teaches the amount of photoinitiator to be 0.01 to 5% by weight (0074).
With regards to claim 12, Lee teaches the solvent to include ethylene glycol monoethyl ether (0083).
With regards to claim 13, Lee teaches the composition to contain 21.64 parts with the remainder being solvent (0119) reading on 78.36 parts solvent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (JP 2018156068).
The disclosure of Lee is adequately set forth in paragraph 5 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 5, Lee is silent on the particle size of the particles in the composition.
However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 124 (CCPA 1955). In this case, one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to alter the size of the particle in order to achieve the desired opacity of the composition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following reference teaches the claimed composition but the binder resin does not contain the claimed third, fourth, or fifth repeating units: Nozawa et al (US 2009/0054543); and the following reference teaches the claimed binder resin and composition: Cho et al (KR 1020190111637).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763