DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s reply filed 10/28/2025.
Claim Status
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are pending (claims 1, 13, and 19 independent).
Claim 10 is cancelled.
Claim 21 is new.
Claims 1, 8-9, 13, and 18-20 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carducci (US Pub. 2017/0365443) in view of Shanbhag (US Pub. 2019/0185999) and Zhao (US Patent 5,882,411).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Carducci teaches a substrate processing apparatus ([0025] and Fig. 1, entirety) comprising: a process chamber (Fig. 1, processing chamber #100); a substrate support structure disposed at a lower portion of the process chamber and configured to accommodate a substrate (Fig. 1, support assembly #115 for substrate; [0026]); and a gas supply module disposed at an upper portion of the process chamber and supplying a process gas to the substrate (Figs. 1 and 2, gas distribution plate assembly #110/#200), wherein the gas supply module includes a showerhead that includes: a first showerhead body (Fig. 1, any of body #142, faceplate #125, bond layer #144, plate members #146,148) including a plurality of injection ports configured to transfer gas transferred from a gas inlet into the process chamber ([0028] and Figs. 1 and 2, openings #160); a temperature control unit controlling a temperature of the showerhead ([0031] and Fig. 2, thermal control conduits #150b comprise a resistive heater); and wherein the first showerhead body includes a metal matrix composite (MMC) ([0036]: base plate #210 comprises MMC; see Fig. 2), wherein the showerhead has a first region in which the plurality of injection ports is disposed (see Figs. 1-2, central region).
Carducci does not teach a coating layer covering the first showerhead body and including aluminum fluoride.
However, Shanbhag teaches the above (Shanbhag – [0089]; Abstract: one or more chamber components).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the first showerhead body of Carducci to comprise an aluminum fluoride coating since Shanbhag teaches this modification would reduce contamination and uniformizing processing results (Shanbhag – Abstract, [0089]).
Modified Carducci does not teach wherein the showerhead has a second region extending from the first region in a vertical direction, and the second region is disposed at a higher level than the first region, wherein the showerhead includes at least one thermal isolation region disposed in a side region of the showerhead and the at least one thermal isolation region includes a groove structure recessed toward an inner side of the side region, and wherein the at least one thermal isolation region is disposed in the second region of the showerhead.
However, Zhao teaches a showerhead (Zhao – plate #100/#102) and thermal isolation region (Zhao – C3, L62-C4,L2 and Fig. 2, grooves #140+#142 and wall #146 form a thermal choke) meeting the limitations above (see annotated Zhao Fig. 2 below; second region is vertically higher, thermal choke region formed in a side of said region, groove #140 pointing towards inner side).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Carducci apparatus with the thermal isolation structure of Zhao in order to create a region of thermal resistance that effects uniform temperature distribution of the showerhead, which promotes deposition uniformity (Zhao – C4, L21-27).
Regarding claim 2, Carducci does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Shanbhag teaches wherein the coating layer further includes yttrium oxide (Shanbhag – [0089]: aluminum fluoride and yttrium oxide, can be a combination thereof).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the first showerhead body of Carducci to comprise an aluminum fluoride coating since Shanbhag teaches this modification would reduce contamination and uniformizing processing results (Shanbhag – Abstract, [0089]).
Regarding claim 3, Carducci teaches wherein the gas supply module further includes a temperature control unit configured to control a temperature of the gas supply module and including a heater, and the temperature control unit is disposed on the showerhead ([0031] and Fig. 2, thermal control conduits #150b comprise a resistive heater).
Regarding claim 4, Carducci teaches wherein the temperature control unit includes a plurality of temperature control units, the plurality of temperature control units are spaced apart from each other and are each disposed on the gas supply module, and the plurality of temperature control units control the temperature of the gas supply module independently of each other ([0031]: may comprise multiple resistive heaters; temperature sensors provide feedback for adjusting).
Regarding claim 11, Carducci teaches wherein the showerhead further includes a second showerhead body disposed on the first showerhead body and including a metal material
Carducci does not teach wherein the coating layer covers the first showerhead body and the second showerhead body.
However, Shanbhag teaches the above (Shanbhag – [0089]; Abstract: one or more chamber components).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the first and/or second showerhead body of Carducci to comprise an aluminum fluoride coating since Shanbhag teaches this modification would reduce contamination and uniformizing processing results (Shanbhag – Abstract, [0089]).
Regarding claim 12, Carducci teaches wherein the second showerhead body includes two or more metal elements (see claim 20).
Regarding claim 20, Carducci teaches wherein each of the plurality of injection ports includes a hole penetrating through a lower region of the showerhead (see Figs. 1-2).
Carducci does not teach wherein the coating layer covers adjacent surfaces surrounding each hole.
However, Shanbhag teaches the above (Shanbhag – [0015]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the first showerhead body of Carducci to comprise a coating since Shanbhag teaches this modification would reduce contamination and uniformizing processing results (Shanbhag – Abstract, [0089]).
Claims 5-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carducci (US Pub. 2017/0365443), Shanbhag (US Pub. 2019/0185999), and Zhao (US Patent 5,882,411), as applied to claims 1-4, 11-12, and 19-20 above, further in view of Silvetti (US Pub. 2005/0229849).
The limitations of claims 1-4, 11-12, and 19-20 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, modified Carducci does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Silvetti teaches wherein the gas supply module further includes an insulating member disposed between the showerhead and the process chamber (Silvetti – [0040] and Figs. 2-3, thermal isolator #24).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to include the insulating member of Silvetti with the modified Carducci apparatus in order to minimize thermal gradients and reduce likelihood of cracking (Silvetti – [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Carducci does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Silvetti teaches wherein the insulating member is in contact with the process chamber and the showerhead (Silvetti – [0040] and Figs. 2-3, thermal isolator #24).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to include the insulating member of Silvetti with the modified Carducci apparatus in order to minimize thermal gradients and reduce likelihood of cracking (Silvetti – [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, Carducci teaches a temperature control unit configured to control a temperature of the gas supply module and disposed on the showerhead; and a sealing member ([0027] and Fig. 1, seal #156) connected to the showerhead.
Modified Carducci does not teach an insulating member.
However, Silvetti teaches the above (Silvetti – [0040] and Figs. 2-3, thermal isolator #24) .
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to include the insulating member of Silvetti with the modified Carducci apparatus in order to minimize thermal gradients and reduce likelihood of cracking (Silvetti – [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Carducci teaches wherein the sealing member is disposed adjacent to the temperature control unit (see Figs. 1-2).
Modified Carducci does not teach wherein the showerhead has the at least one thermal isolation region positioned between a first portion of the first showerhead body and a second portion of the first showerhead body, wherein the first portion is in contact with the temperature control unit, and the second portion is in contact with the sealing member, and the showerhead has a portion in the at least one thermal isolation region that has a smaller width than that of regions of the showerhead adjacent to the at least one thermal isolation region.
However, Zhao teaches a thermal isolation region (Zhao – C3, L62-C4,L2 and Fig. 2, grooves #140+#142 and wall #146 form a thermal choke).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Carducci apparatus with the thermal isolation structure of Zhao in order to create a region of thermal resistance that effects uniform temperature distribution of the showerhead, which promotes deposition uniformity (Zhao – C4, L21-27).
Regarding the limitations: “positioned between a first portion of the first showerhead body and a second portion of the first showerhead body, wherein the first portion is in contact with the temperature control unit, and the second portion is in contact with the sealing member, and the showerhead has a portion in the thermal isolation region that has a smaller width than that of regions of the showerhead adjacent to the thermal isolation region”, the breadth of the word “portion” reads on any arbitrarily defined sub-region of the above structural elements. As such, Carducci modified by at least Zhao would satisfy the above limitations based upon any number of sub-regions.
Additionally, the word “in contact with the temperature control unit” is construed to cover thermal contact, thus also being satisfied by the above combination of references.
Regarding claim 9, modified Carducci does not teach wherein the showerhead has one or more grooves in the at least one thermal isolation region.
However, Zhao teaches the grooves (Zhao – C3, L62-C4,L2 and Fig. 2, grooves #140+#142 and wall #146 form a thermal choke).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Carducci apparatus with the thermal isolation structure of Zhao in order to create a region of thermal resistance that effects uniform temperature distribution of the showerhead, which promotes deposition uniformity (Zhao – C4, L21-27).
Regarding claim 21, Carducci teaches wherein the gas supply module further comprises a cooling member ([0031] and Fig. 1, conduit #178 supplied with coolant) disposed in a region adjacent to the sealing member ([0027] and Fig. 1, seal #156 is adjacent to #105 provided with cooling member #178).
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carducci (US Pub. 2017/0365443) in view of Shanbhag (US Pub. 2019/0185999), Silvetti (US Pub. 2005/0229849), and Zhao (US Patent 5,882,411).
Regarding claim 13, Carducci teaches a substrate processing apparatus ([0025] and Fig. 1, entirety) comprising: a process chamber (Fig. 1, processing chamber #100); a substrate support structure disposed at a first portion of the process chamber and configured to accommodate a substrate (Fig. 1, support assembly #115 for substrate; [0026]); and a gas supply module disposed at a second portion of the process chamber and supplying a process gas to the substrate (Figs. 1 and 2, gas distribution plate assembly #110/#200), wherein the gas supply module includes: a showerhead including a showerhead body (Fig. 1, any of body #142, faceplate #125, bond layer #144, plate members #146,148), wherein the showerhead body includes a gas inlet (Figs. 1-2, conduits #162) and a plurality of injection ports configured to transfer the process gas transferred from the gas inlet into the process chamber ([0028] and Figs. 1 and 2, openings #160), and a temperature control unit controlling a temperature of the gas supply module ([0031] and Fig. 2, thermal control conduits #150b comprise a resistive heater), the showerhead has a first region in which the plurality of injection ports are disposed, and the showerhead body includes a metal matrix composite (MMC) ([0036]: base plate #210 comprises MMC; see Fig. 2).
Carducci does not teach a coating layer, wherein the coating layer covers the showerhead body.
However, Shanbhag teaches the above (Shanbhag – [0089]; Abstract: one or more chamber components).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the first showerhead body of Carducci to comprise an aluminum fluoride coating since Shanbhag teaches this modification would reduce contamination and uniformizing processing results (Shanbhag – Abstract, [0089]).
Modified Carducci does not teach an insulating member disposed between the showerhead and the process chamber, the insulating member is disposed on the second region and separates the second region from the process chamber.
However, Silvetti teaches (Silvetti – [0040] and Figs. 2-3, thermal isolator #24).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to include the insulating member of Silvetti with the modified Carducci apparatus in order to minimize thermal gradients and reduce likelihood of cracking (Silvetti – [0040]).
Modified Carducci does not teach wherein the showerhead has a second region extending from the first region in a vertical direction, and the second region is disposed at a higher level than the first region, wherein the showerhead includes at least one thermal isolation region disposed in a side region of the showerhead and the at least one thermal isolation region includes a groove structure recessed toward an inner side of the side region, and wherein the at least one thermal isolation region is disposed in the second region of the showerhead.
However, Zhao teaches a showerhead (Zhao – plate #100/#102) and thermal isolation region (Zhao – C3, L62-C4,L2 and Fig. 2, grooves #140+#142 and wall #146 form a thermal choke) meeting the limitations above (see annotated Zhao Fig. 2 below; second region is vertically higher, thermal choke region formed in a side of said region, groove #140 pointing towards inner side).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Carducci apparatus with the thermal isolation structure of Zhao in order to create a region of thermal resistance that effects uniform temperature distribution of the showerhead, which promotes deposition uniformity (Zhao – C4, L21-27).
Regarding claim 14, Carducci teaches wherein the substrate support structure includes a horizontal support including a susceptor, wherein the susceptor includes aluminum nitride,
Carducci does not teach wherein the coating layer includes aluminum fluoride.
However, Shanbhag teaches the above (Shanbhag – [0089]; Abstract: one or more chamber components).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the first showerhead body of Carducci to comprise an aluminum fluoride coating since Shanbhag teaches this modification would reduce contamination and uniformizing processing results (Shanbhag – Abstract, [0089]).
Regarding claim 15, Carducci teaches wherein each of the plurality of injection ports includes a hole penetrating through the first region of the showerhead (see Figs. 1-2).
Carducci does not teach wherein the coating layer conformally covers an inside of the hole.
However, Shanbhag teaches the above (Shanbhag – [0015]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the first showerhead body of Carducci to comprise a coating since Shanbhag teaches this modification would reduce contamination and uniformizing processing results (Shanbhag – Abstract, [0089]).
Regarding claim 16, Carducci teaches wherein the showerhead has a protrusion extending in a horizontal direction from the second region toward the process chamber (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Carducci teaches a sealing member ([0027] and Fig. 1, seal #156) disposed between a lower surface of the protrusion (see Figs. 1-2); and a fastening member disposed between an upper surface of the protrusion and the process chamber ([0027] and Figs. 1-2, fasteners #152), wherein the lower surface of the protrusion is in contact with the insulating member, and the upper surface of the protrusion is in contact with the process chamber (due to the breadth of the word “in contact with” including thermal contact, the contiguous nature of the structural elements of the showerhead are considered to be in intimate thermal contact, meeting the limitations of the claim).
Modified Carducci does not teach the insulating member.
However, Silvetti teaches wherein the gas supply module further includes an insulating member disposed between the showerhead and the process chamber (Silvetti – [0040] and Figs. 2-3, thermal isolator #24).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to include the insulating member of Silvetti with the modified Carducci apparatus in order to minimize thermal gradients and reduce likelihood of cracking (Silvetti – [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Carducci does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Zhao teaches wherein the showerhead has the at least one thermal isolation region positioned in at least a part of the second region adjacent to the protrusion, and the showerhead has a groove structure in the at least one thermal isolation region (Zhao – C3, L62-C4,L2 and Fig. 2, grooves #140+#142 and wall #146 form a thermal choke).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Carducci apparatus with the thermal isolation structure of Zhao in order to create a region of thermal resistance that effects uniform temperature distribution of the showerhead, which promotes deposition uniformity (Zhao – C4, L21-27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant has appropriately amended claim 20 to eliminate indefinite claim language, thus the §112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the Zhao reference as utilized in the §103 rejections have been carefully considered, but are not persuasive. As a whole, the Applicant is too narrowly interpreting the limitations of claims 1, 13, and 19 as amended (see below), rather than considering their broadest reasonable interpretation.
The Examiner has provided an annotated Zhao Fig. 2 herein (reproduced below for convenience) that demonstrates how the reference continues to meet the added limitations of the claim:
Even assuming, arguendo, that Zhao’s groove structures are “formed around the holes of the shower head” and/or “located far from the O-ring grooves” (Remarks, pg. 9) as argued by Applicant, these alleged distinctions are not present in or excluded by the claims. As such, this argument is not persuasive.
Additionally, Zhao explicitly teaches wherein the thermal break (formed by #140, #146, #142) allows for uniform temperature distribution of the showerhead, which promotes deposition uniformity (Zhao – C4, L12-32). Applicant acknowledges Zhao teaches a thermal choke (Remarks, pg. 9), but appears to omit the ascribed thermal benefits from Zhao when describing the alleged purpose of said member (Remarks, pg. 9-10). Instead, Applicant appears to only describe the mechanical benefits in an attempt to detract from the Examiner’s case of obviousness. As such, this argument is not persuasive.
Next, Applicant argues against obviousness by alleging that Zhao does not contemplate “minimiz[ing] heat transfer to the sealing member” (Remarks, pg. 10). In response, the Examiner notes it is not necessary that the prior art reference disclose the same benefit of the instant application to establish prima facie obviousness. The courts have held that the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). As such, this argument is not persuasive.
Finally, Applicant alleges that Zhao teaches wherein the grooved structures and the holes of the showerhead are at “essentially the same level” (Remarks, pg. 10), thus the reference does not teach the added limitations of the claim. In rebuttal, the Examiner notes that the claim language does not preclude such a placement, even assuming arguendo that Zhao teaches this alleged positioning. The claims merely require that the second region is disposed at a higher level than the first region. The Examiner respectfully submits that this feature is shown in Zhao (see at least the annotated Fig. 2 provided above), thus the reference continues to meet the added limitations of the claims. As such, this argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kurt Sweely/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718