DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 1-2, filed 8 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 14, & 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the addition of Asanoi to teach the amendments to the claim. Examiner asserts the amendments of the claims including “a detection of a slow wave sleep state” taught in paragraph 106 and 111 which teaches of a determining means for determining if a subject is in a slow-wave sleep state. While the new limitation, “sensors indicating an occurrence of a slow wave detection threshold crossing” is taught by paragraphs 237 & 313, which state slow wave activity can be detected by measuring a respiratory cycle and comparing it to a threshold.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-13 & 15-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9, 14, 15, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0337625 hereinafter Aimone in view of US 2012/0125337 hereinafter Asanoi.
In regards to Claim 1: Aimone teaches of a sleep assessment system comprising:
a sensor assembly comprising:
a plurality of sensors configured to capture measurements that include indications of both brain and eye activity (Aimone, Paragraphs 0065-0066, Item 112), the plurality of sensors being configured to be directed to a forehead of a subject; (Aimone, Paragraph 0059)
processing circuitry operably coupled to the sensor assembly (Aimone, Paragraph 0060, Item 120),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive sensor signals based on the measurements made by the plurality of sensors (Aimone, Paragraph 0060);
process the sensor signals to generate sleep data (Aimone, Paragraph 0055);
apply a sleep state convolutional neural network to the sleep data to determine a current sleep state of a subject (Aimone, Paragraph 0343) (Aimone, Figure 5B);
identify, based on the sleep data and the current sleep state, a sleep state-based data feature (Aimone, Paragraph 0226); and
output a stimulus to the subject based on sleep state-based data feature (Aimone, Paragraph 0359); and a housing configured to be secured to the forehead of the subject, wherein the sensor assembly and processing circuitry are disposed on or within the housing (Aimone, Paragraph 0059, Item 110).
Aimone does not teach the sleep state-based data feature being a detection of a slow wave sleep state indicated by the brain and eye activity with a measurement from the plurality of sensors indicating an occurrence of a slow wave detection threshold crossing.
Asanoi teaches of the sleep state-based data feature being a detection of a slow wave sleep state (Asanoi, Paragraphs 106 & 111) indicated by the brain and eye activity with a measurement from the plurality of sensors indicating an occurrence of a slow wave detection threshold crossing (Asanoi, Paragraphs 237 & 313).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the repeated determinations of slow wave sleep as taught by Asanoi to the processing circuitry of Aimone, the motivation being to provide constant feedback to the user to keep them appraised of the test results in real time.
In regards to Claim 2: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 1, and a sounder, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to output the stimulus as an audible output from the sounder (Aimone, Paragraph 0061, “speaker”).
In regards to Claim 7: Aimone teaches the sleep assessment system of claim 1, wherein the sleep state convolutional neural network is based on a sleep state transitional pattern of sleep states (Aimone, Paragraph 0325) (Aimone, Figure 19).
In regards to Claim 9: Aimone teaches the sleep assessment system of claim 1, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to output the stimulus to the subject (Aimone, Paragraph 146) in a repeating pattern based on repeated determinations that the current sleep state is [[a]]the slow wave sleep state and a delay duration of time (Asanoi, Paragraph 111 & 106).
In regards to Claim 14: Aimone teaches a sleep assessment system comprising:
a sensor assembly comprising:
a plurality of sensors configured to capture measurements that include indications of both brain and eye activity (Aimone, Paragraphs 0065-0066, Item 112), the plurality of sensors being configured to be directed at a forehead of a subject (Aimone, Paragraph 0059);
a sounder configured to output an audible sound (Aimone, Paragraph 0061, “speaker”); and
processing circuitry operably coupled to the sensor assembly, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive sensor signals based on the measurements made by the plurality of sensors (Aimone, Paragraph 0060, Item 120);
process the sensor signals to generate sleep data (Aimone, Paragraph 0055);
apply a sleep state convolutional neural network to the sleep data to determine a current sleep state of a subject (Aimone, Paragraph 0343) (Aimone, Figure 5B);
identify, based on the sleep data and the current sleep state, a sleep state-based data feature (Aimone, Paragraph 0226); and
output a stimulus in the form of the audible sound via the sounder to the subject based on sleep state-based data feature (Aimone, Paragraph 0359)
Aimone does not teach the sleep state-based data feature being a detection of a slow wave sleep state indicated by the brain and eye activity with a measurement from the plurality of sensors indicating an occurrence of a slow wave detection threshold crossing.
Asanoi teaches the sleep state-based data feature being a detection of a slow wave sleep state (Asanoi, Paragraphs 106 & 111) indicated by the brain and eye activity with a measurement from the plurality of sensors indicating an occurrence of a slow wave detection threshold crossing (Asanoi, Paragraphs 237 & 313).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the repeated determinations of slow wave sleep as taught by Asanoi to the processing circuitry of Aimone, the motivation being to provide constant feedback to the user to keep them appraised of the test results in real time.
In regards to Claim 15: Aimone teaches the sleep assessment system of claim 14, and wherein the sleep state convolutional neural network is based on a sleep state transitional pattern of sleep states. (Aimone, Paragraph 0325) (Aimone, Figure 19).
In regards to Claim 20: Aimone teaches a method for performing a sleep assessment of a subject, the method comprising:
receiving sensor signals based on measurements made by a plurality of sensors (Aimone, Paragraphs 0065 & 0066, Item 112), the plurality of sensors being configured to capture measurements that include indications of both brain and eye activity and to be directed at a forehead of the subject (Aimone, Paragraph 0059);
processing the sensor signals to generate sleep data (Aimone, Paragraph 0055);
applying, via processing circuitry, a sleep state convolutional neural network to the sleep data to determine a current sleep state of a subject (Aimone, Paragraph 0060),
identifying, based on the sleep data and the current sleep state, a sleep state-based data feature (Aimone, Paragraph 0226); and
outputting a stimulus in the form of an audible sound via a sounder based on the sleep state-based data feature (Aimone, Paragraph 0359).
Aimone does not teach the sleep state-based data feature being a detection of a slow wave sleep state indicated by the brain and eye activity with a measurement from the plurality of sensors indicating an occurrence of a slow wave detection threshold crossing.
Asanoi teaches the sleep state-based data feature being a detection of a slow wave sleep state (Asanoi, Paragraphs 106 & 111) indicated by the brain and eye activity with a measurement from the plurality of sensors indicating an occurrence of a slow wave detection threshold crossing (Asanoi, Paragraph 237 & 313).
Claim(s) 3 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0337625 hereinafter Aimone in view of US 2012/0125337 hereinafter Asanoi in further view of US 2022/0386947 hereinafter Garcia Molina.
In regards to Claim 3: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 1 but does not teach of a processing circuitry further configured to output the stimulus by communicating instructions to a temperature-controlled mattress to control a temperature based on the sleep state-based data feature.
Garcia Molina teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to output the stimulus by communicating instructions to a temperature-controlled mattress to control a temperature based on the sleep state-based data feature (Garcia Molina, Paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the temperature control output to the processing circuitry described in Aimone, the motivation being to provide a better sleep experience for the user by creating a more optimal environment to facilitate sleep.
In regards to Claim 4: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 1, applying an exponential weighting to the buffered sleep data to generate weighted sleep data (Aimone, Paragraph 237), wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to apply the sleep state convolutional neural network to the weighted sleep data to determine the current sleep state of the subject (Aimone, Paragraph 240), but does not teach of a processing circuitry further configured to generate the sleep data by; capturing and buffering the sensor signals for a buffer duration to assemble buffered sleep data; and wherein the buffer duration is a thirty second epoch.
Garcia Molina teaches capturing and buffering the sensor signals for a buffer duration to assemble buffered sleep data and wherein the buffer duration is a thirty second epoch (Garcia Molina, Paragraph 0209).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the buffer duration for buffering the sensor signals taught by Garcia Molina to the processing circuitry in Aimone, the motivation being to provide greater processing speed by the device to improve responsiveness.
Claim(s) 5 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0337625 hereinafter Aimone in view of US 2012/0125337 hereinafter Asanoi in further view of US 2020/0215299 hereinafter Myllymaki.
In regards to Claim 5: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 1, subject based training for the sleep state neural network (Aimone, Paragraph 0219), but does not teach of short-term training periods for the sleep state neural network.
Myllymaki teaches of short-term training for a training period of time (Myllymaki, Paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add time requirement for training taught in Myllymaki to the processing circuitry of Aimone, the motivation being to provide an appropriate length of training time for a neural network used by an individual.
In regards to Claim 6: A modified Aimone teaches of Claim 1, non-subject based training using prior captured, historical sleep-related data (Aimone, Paragraph 0123), but does not teach of long-term training of the neural network.
Myllymaki teaches of long-term training of the neural network (Myllymaki, Paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add long-term training timetable taught in Myllymaki with the processing circuitry of Aimone, the motivation being to create a more stable brain model by letting it absorb as much information as possible from the databases described.
Claim(s) 8 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0337625 hereinafter Aimone in view of US 2012/0125337 hereinafter Asanoi in further view of US 2016/006716 hereinafter Rao.
In regards to claim 8: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 1 and determining that the current sleep state is the slow wave sleep state (Asanoi, Paragraph 106 & 111), but does not teach of the processing circuitry is further configured to apply the sleep state convolutional neural network to determine the current sleep state of the subject by: determining a confidence estimate of the current sleep state; and determining the current sleep state based on the confidence estimate exceeding a sleep state confidence threshold, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to identify the sleep state-based data feature in response to the confidence estimate exceeding a sleep state confidence threshold.
Rao teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to apply the sleep state convolutional neural network to determine the current sleep state of the subject by:
determining a confidence estimate of the current sleep state (Rao, Paragraph 0120); and
determining the current sleep state based on the confidence estimate exceeding a sleep state confidence threshold (Rao, Paragraph 0120),
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to identify the sleep state-based data feature in response to the confidence estimate exceeding a sleep state confidence threshold (Rao, Paragraph 0126, Item 2828).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the confidence estimate with the identification feature taught by Rao to the processing circuitry of Aimone, the motivation being to ensure the accuracy of the data and identifying the sleep state with the data accuracy in mind.
In regards to Claim 16: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 1, but does not teach of the processing circuitry is further configured to apply the sleep state convolutional neural network to determine the current sleep state of the subject by: determining a confidence estimate of the current sleep state; and determining the current sleep state based on the confidence estimate exceeding a sleep state confidence threshold, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to identify the sleep state-based data feature in response to the confidence estimate exceeding a sleep state confidence threshold.
Rao teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to apply the sleep state convolutional neural network to determine the current sleep state of the subject by:
determining a confidence estimate of the current sleep state; and
determining the current sleep state based on the confidence estimate exceeding a sleep state confidence threshold (Rao, Paragraph 0120),
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to identify the sleep state-based data feature in response to the confidence estimate exceeding a sleep state confidence threshold (Rao, Paragraph 0126, Item 2828).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the confidence estimate with the identification feature taught by Rao to the processing circuitry of Aimone, the motivation being to ensure the accuracy of the data and identifying the sleep state with the data accuracy in mind.
Claim(s) 10, 11, & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0337625 hereinafter Aimone in view of US 2012/0125337 hereinafter Asanoi in further view of US 2015/0105687 hereinafter Abreu.
In regards to Claim 10: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 1, but does not teach of the processing circuitry further configured to output a stimulus within four seconds of identifying the sleep state-based data feature.
Abreu teaches the processing circuitry further configured to output the stimulus within four seconds of identifying the sleep state-based data feature. (Abreu, Paragraph 0499)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to add the frequency of repetition or measurements taught by Abreu to the processing circuitry of Aimone, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is time which achieves the recognized result of keeping the user up to date on the test being performed therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In regards to Claim 11: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 1, but does not teach the processing circuitry is further configured to identify the sleep state-based data feature based on less than four seconds of sleep data.
Abreu teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to identify the sleep state-based data feature based on less than four seconds of sleep data. (Abreu, Paragraph 0499)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to add the frequency of repetition or measurements taught by Abreu to the processing circuitry of Aimone, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is time which achieves the recognized result of keeping the user up to date on the test being performed therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In regards to Claim 17: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 1, but does not teach of the processing circuitry further configured to output a stimulus within four seconds of identifying the sleep state-based data feature.
Abreu teaches the processing circuitry further configured to output the stimulus within four seconds of identifying the sleep state-based data feature. (Abreu, Paragraph 0499)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to add the frequency of repetition or measurements taught by Abreu to the processing circuitry of Aimone, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is time which achieves the recognized result of keeping the user up to date on the test being performed therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 12 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0337625 hereinafter Aimone in view of US 2012/0125337 hereinafter Asanoi in further view of US 2020/0306494 hereinafter Molina.
In regards to Claim 12: A modified Aimone teaches all of Claim 1, but does not teach of processing circuitry further configured to: output the stimulus as a first stimulus at a first time and a second stimulus at a second time; implement a refractory period after the second stimulus before reconfirming the current sleep state.
Molina teaches of processing circuitry further configured to: output the stimulus as a first stimulus at a first time and a second stimulus at a second time; implement a refractory period after the second stimulus before reconfirming the current sleep state. (Molina, Paragraph 0068 & 0069, The art teaches of stimulation being administered to the user with sensors in place to sense for changes in status of the user. It further teaches that the stimulation can be paused for a predefined period before resuming stimulation and the monitoring of the user. The predetermined pause could be set to the noted refractory period described in paragraph 0069.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the configuration of pausing stimulation after arousal detection taught by Molina with the processing circuitry of Aimone, the motivation being to allow for a baseline to be re-established before stimulating the user again.
In regards to Claim 18: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 14, but does not teach of processing circuitry further configured to: output the stimulus as a first stimulus at a first time and a second stimulus at a second time; implement a refractory period after the second stimulus before reconfirming the current sleep state.
Molina teaches of processing circuitry further configured to: output the stimulus as a first stimulus at a first time and a second stimulus at a second time; implement a refractory period after the second stimulus before reconfirming the current sleep state. (Molina, Paragraph 0068 & 0069)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the configuration of pausing stimulation after arousal detection taught by Molina with the processing circuitry of Aimone, the motivation being to allow for a baseline to be re-established before stimulating the user again.
Claim(s) 13 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0337625 hereinafter Aimone in view of US 2012/0125337 hereinafter Asanoi in further view of US 2020/0306494 hereinafter Molina in furthest view of US 2016/006716 hereinafter Rao.
In regards to Claim 13: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 12, but does not teach of a duration of the refractory period is proportional to a confidence estimate of the current sleep state that is output from application of the sleep state convolutional neural network.
A combination of Molina and Rao teaches a duration of the refractory period (Molina, Paragraph 0068) is proportional to a confidence estimate of the current sleep state that is output from application of the sleep state convolutional neural network (Rao, Paragraph 0120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the refractory period taught in Molina to the confidence estimate taught in Rao with the processing circuitry of Aimone, the motivation being to ensure that the refractory period duration is always applicable to user.
In regards to Claim 19: A modified Aimone teaches all of claim 18, but does not teach of a duration of the refractory period is proportional to a confidence estimate of the current sleep state that is output from application of the sleep state convolutional neural network.
A combination of Molina and Rao teaches a duration of the refractory period (Molina, Paragraph 0068) is proportional to a confidence estimate of the current sleep state that is output from application of the sleep state convolutional neural network (Rao, Paragraph 0120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the refractory period taught in Molina to the confidence estimate taught in Rao with the processing circuitry of Aimone, the motivation being to ensure that the refractory period duration is always applicable to user.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.R.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791