DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, 18 recite a “threshold value… based on the input temperature setting value”. It is not clear if the “threshold value” must be a different temperature than the input temperature setting value, or not. It is not clear if the threshold is actually a range of temperatures, or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11-13, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al [Pat. No. 6,389,960] in view of Cadima [US 2021/0148575A1] and Querejeta Andueza et al [US 2019/0309954A1].
Williams et al teach gas-fired cooking system (title) comprising a heat management system including partitions (Figure 2, #44) extending up from an underbracing panel (Figure 2, #24) as well as burners (Figure 2, #22); a griddle top above the heat management system (Figure 2, #12), a metal body (Figure 1-2, #14), rectangular compartments defined by the partitions (Figure 2, #20, 44), each compartment having a gas burner (Figure 2, #22; column 2, line 23), the device having a fuel source, controls, and user interface such as switches, knobs, warning lights, display, etc… (column 3, lines 9-15), the device including temperature sensors such as thermocouples attached to the underside of the griddle top (column 3, lines 15-19), and the partitions defining compartments (Figure 2, #20, 44).
Williams et al do not explicitly recite receiving a gas valve for each burner, an input temperature setting and temperature data, automatically maintaining heat distribution based upon a comparison of the sensor data and a threshold value (claim 1, 11, 18), and a microcontroller and memory (claim 11).
Cadima teaches a method for operating a cooktop appliance (title) by providing a griddle top (Figure 2, #310), a heat management system comprising gas burners (Figure 10, #240A-B), each burner having a gas valve (Figure 10, #120A-B), temperature sensors (Figure 10, #400A-B), a digital control system with a microprocessor and memory (Figure 10, #130; paragraph 0029), a user interface (paragraph 0028), the controller receiving a set temperature value (paragraph 0055), and the controller receiving temperature data from the temperature sensors, comparing the set temperature and temperature data, and automatically maintaining the set temperature by changing the fuel level of the valves to the burners (Figure 12; paragraph 0056, 0061-0062).
Querejeta Andueza et al teach a gas cooking appliance (Figure 1, #200) comprising a burner and gas valve (Figure 1, #10, 20), a pilot (Figure 1, #11), a temperature sensor contacting a food vessel/support (Figure 1, #60, 110), a control unit and valve (Figure 1, #100, 50), a program selector with user selected cooking programs with temperature regulation (Figure 1, #70, 140), a temperature setting of 150C (paragraph 0045), the system regulating gas flow as the temperature sensor reaches upper and lower threshold temperature values (Figure 7A-B; paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed gas valves, temperature and fuel control features, microcontroller, and memory into the invention of Williams et al, in view of Cadima and Querejeta Andueza et al , since all are directed to methods of cooking food with gas burners, since Williams et al already included a fuel source, controls, and user interface such as switches, knobs, warning lights, display, etc… (column 3, lines 9-15) and the device including temperature sensors such as thermocouples attached to the underside of the griddle top (column 3, lines 15-19), since griddle top systems commonly included each burner having a gas valve (Figure 10, #120A-B), temperature sensors (Figure 10, #400A-B), a digital control system with a microprocessor and memory (Figure 10, #130; paragraph 0029), a user interface (paragraph 0028), the controller receiving a set temperature value (paragraph 0055), and the controller receiving temperature data from the temperature sensors, comparing the set temperature and temperature data, and automatically maintaining the set temperature by changing the fuel level of the valves to the burners (Figure 12; paragraph 0056, 0061-0062) as shown by Cadima; since gas cooking systems commonly included the system regulating gas flow as the temperature sensor reaches upper and lower threshold temperature values (Figure 7A-B; paragraph 0046) as shown by Querejeta Andueza et al, since using a threshold range rather than a single temperature value would have reduced the number of corrective actions needed by the gas regulation system and thus extended the life of the various physical components, and since automatic temperature control would have enabled more efficient and effective cooking of foods as compared to manual control in the method of Williams et al, in view of Cadima.
Claims 3-7, 15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al, in view of Cadima and Querejeta Andueza et al, as applied above, and further in view of Best [Pat. No. 5,676,043].
Williams et al, Querejeta Andueza et al, and Cadima each the above mentioned concepts and components. Willisma et al also taught independent control of plural burners in a multi-burner mode (paragraph 0058). Williams et al do not explicitly recite a divider extending from the bottom of the griddle top (claim 3, 19), secondary burners or pilot lights (claim 4, 7), leveling feet (claim 15).
Best teaches a griddle assembly with discrete cooking zones (title) comprising a griddle top (Figure 1, #20a), a heat management system including dividers extending below the griddle top (Figure 5, #94-95) and an underbracing panel below the burners (Figure 5-6, #60, 13), secondary or pilot burners (Figure 7, #66), temperature sensors at the griddle bottom surface (Figure 1, #65), receiving an input temperature at the cooking device via control knobs (column 7, lines 57-60), receiving temperature data from the temperature sensors and adjusting the fuel amount to the burners (column 9, lines 39-49), and the use of leveling feet to adjust the griddle angle (Figure 5-6, #47-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed feet, divider, and pilot lights into the invention of Williams et al, in view of Best, since both are directed to cooking systems, since Williams et al already included a griddle top, since griddle cooking systems commonly included dividers extending below the griddle top (Figure 5, #94-95) and the use of leveling feet to adjust the griddle angle (Figure 5-6, #47-48) as shown by Best, since adjustable feet would have made it easier to level or slant the cooking surface of Williams et al, and since dividers would have helped better isolate the compartments of Williams et al and thus provide better heat control on the griddle top, in view of Best.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams, in view of Cadima and Querejeta Andueza et al as applied above, and further in view of Becker et al [US 2019/0246837A1].
Williams et al, Querejeta Andueza et al, Cadima teach the above mentioned concepts and components. Williams et al do not explicitly recite a display on the gas knob displaying both the input temperature and temperature data (claim 10).
Cadima also disclosed gas controllers with knobs for selecting and displaying the temperature setting (Figure 1, #112).
Becker et al teach a cooking appliance with programmable zone profiles (title) comprising burner control knobs with LED displays (Figure 1A, #130, 132, 134), temperature sensors (Figure 1A, #122), a controller (Figure 1A, #110), and displaying the measured zone temperature (paragraph 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed knob display features into the invention of Williams et al, in view of Cadima and Becker et al, since all are directed to cooking systems, since Williams et al already included knobs and a display, since Cadima already included gas controllers with knobs for selecting and displaying the temperature setting (Figure 1, #112), since cooking systems commonly included burner control knobs with LED displays (Figure 1A, #130, 132, 134) and displaying the measured zone temperature (paragraph 0027) as shown by Becker et al, since displaying information for a particular zone on the associated knob would have provided improved clarity with regard to the temperature setting and sensed temperature for each zone of Williams et al, and since displaying individual zone settings as well as sensed temperatures on the individual control knobs would have enabled more accurate and precise control of the cooking device of Williams et al, in view of Cadima and Becker et al.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al, in view of Querejeta Andueza et al and Cadima as applied above, and further in view of Becker et al [US 2019/0246837A1] and Crow Jr et al [Pat. No. 5,186,159].
Williams et al, Querejeta Andueza et al, Cadima teach the above mentioned concepts and components. Williams et al do not explicitly recite digital dial and a heat shield panel (claim 14).
Becker et al teach a cooking appliance with programmable zone profiles (title) comprising burner control knobs with LED displays (Figure 1A, #130, 132, 134), temperature sensors (Figure 1A, #122), a controller (Figure 1A, #110), and displaying the measured zone temperature (paragraph 0027).
Crow Jr et al teach a cooking device comprising control dials (Figure 1, #137, 135) and a heat shield panel (Figure 9-10, #134).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed digital dial and heat shield panel into the invention of Williams et al, in view of Cadima, Becker et al, and Crow Jr et al; since all are directed to cooking systems, since Williams et al already included knobs and a display, since Cadima already included gas controllers with knobs for selecting and displaying the temperature setting (Figure 1, #112), since cooking systems commonly included burner control knobs with digital LED displays (Figure 1A, #130, 132, 134) as shown by Becker et al, since cooking systems commonly included a heat shield panel to protect knobs as shown by Crow Jr et al, since a digital dial would have permitted accurate and precise temperature settings in the system of Williams et al, and since a heat shield panel would have protected the control system of Williams et al from excessive heat generated by the burners.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al, in view of Cadima, Querejeta Andueza et al, and Best as applied above, and further in view of Bush III et al [US 2021/0244233A1].
Williams et al, Best, Querejeta Andueza et al, and Cadima teach the above mentioned concepts and components. Williams et al do not explicitly recite side protrusions of the leveling feet (claim 16). Bush III et al teach a griddle cooking station (title) comprising leveling feet having side protrusions (Figure 5, #126, 140) and openings in the metal body (Figure 8, #190). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed feet structure into the invention of Williams et al, in view of Best and Bush III et al, since all are directed to griddle cooking systems, since Best already included leveling feet, since griddle systems commonly included leveling feet with protrusions as shown by Bush III et al, and since the protrusions would have provided a more secure connection between the components of Williams et al, in view of Best and Bush III et al.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al, in view of Cadima and Querejeta Andueza et al as applied above, and further in view of Overholser [Pat. No. 4,895,131] and Ferris [Pat. No. 2,520,389].
Williams et al, Querejeta Andueza et al, Cadima teach the above mentioned concepts and components. Williams et al do not explicitly recite two foldable side shelves with plural heat distribution perforations (claim 17).
Overholser teaches a griddle top system comprising foldable side shelves with plural heat distribution perforations (Figure 1-2, #18).
Ferris teaches a rack for carving and cooling roasts (column 1, line 3) including plural heat distribution perforations (Figure 1, #28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed side shelf features into the invention of Williams et al, in view of Overholser and Ferris, since all are directed to cooking systems, since Williams et al already included a grill top, since grill tops were commonly used in outdoor settings, since outdoor cooking devices commonly included foldable side shelves as shown by Overholser, since foldable side shelves would have provided extra workspace for preparing food items in the method of Williams et al, since cooking systems commonly included a rack with plural heat distribution perforations (Figure 1, #28) as shown by Ferris, and since a side shelf with perforations would have provided a simple and convenient means for cooling and carving food items which have been cooked on the griddle of Williams et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the references do not disclose using a temperature threshold value. However, Cadima teaches a method for operating a cooktop appliance (title) by providing a griddle top (Figure 2, #310), a heat management system comprising gas burners (Figure 10, #240A-B), each burner having a gas valve (Figure 10, #120A-B), temperature sensors (Figure 10, #400A-B), a digital control system with a microprocessor and memory (Figure 10, #130; paragraph 0029), a user interface (paragraph 0028), the controller receiving a set temperature value (paragraph 0055), and the controller receiving temperature data from the temperature sensors, comparing the set temperature and temperature data, and automatically maintaining the set temperature by changing the fuel level of the valves to the burners (Figure 12; paragraph 0056, 0061-0062).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Peery disclose temperature control for a burner of a cooking appliance, Chin disclose computer-controlled grill, Hamlin disclose a griddle plate for a gas grill, Czajka disclose a gas-fired cooking griddle.
/DREW E BECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792