DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 2/10/2026. Claims 1-2, 6-12, and 14-21 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 9 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLyon et al. (US 10720456; hereinafter ‘DeLyon’) in view of Ariyawansa et al. (Micromachines 2019, 10, 806; hereinafter ‘Ariyawansa’).
Regarding claim 1, DeLyon teaches a focal plane array (FIG. 2, col 3, lines 21-27), comprising:
a substrate wafer (201, col 7, line 3);
an n-type indium arsenide layer (205 is n-type and comprises InAs, col. 6, lines 49-51, col 7, lines 25-26, 30-31) disposed atop the substrate wafer (shown in FIG. 2);
a barrier layer (207, col 7, lines 36-37) disposed atop the substrate wafer (shown in FIG. 2); and
a doped n-type layer (209 is doped with the n-type dopant, col 7, line 47, 51-54) disposed atop the barrier layer (shown in FIG. 2).
Delyon does not teach the focal plane array wherein a thickness of the n-type indium arsenide layer is greater than 5 microns and less than or equal to 8 microns.
Ariyawansa teaches a focal plane array (Abstract) wherein a thickness of the n-type indium arsenide layer (n-type absorber including InAs, Figure 1 (b), 2. Strained-Layer Superlattice (SLS) Design and Detector Structure) is greater than 5 microns and less than or equal to 8 microns (n-type absorber including InAs has a thickness of 5.5 µm).
As taught by Ariyawansa, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into DeLyon to obtain and achieve the focal plane array wherein a thickness of the n-type indium arsenide layer is greater than 5 microns and less than or equal to 8 microns as claimed, because absorber thickness affects detector performance, including carrier collection and quantum efficiency, through its relationship with carrier diffusion length (Figure 6, 4. Discussion). Further, it has been held that where the criticality of the claimed range is not shown and the prior art discloses a value within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ariyawansa in combination with DeLyon due to above reason.
Regarding claim 7, DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 1, wherein the n-type indium arsenide layer detects wavelengths in the range of 400 nm to 3 microns (DeLyon: the spectral response of the polycrystalline InAs barrier detector has a cutoff wavelength of 3.03 µm, FIG. 5B, col 13, lines 52-57).
Regarding claim 8, DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 1, wherein the barrier layer is a Group III-V compound semiconducting material (DeLyon: 207 is a third Group III-V compound semiconductor material, col 7, lines 36-39).
Claims 2, 6, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLyon (US 10720456) in view of Ariyawansa (Micromachines 2019, 10, 806), and further in view of Dixon (US 9111830).
Regarding claim 2, DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 1, but does not teach the focal plane array wherein the substrate wafer is gallium antimony.
Dixon teaches a focal plane array (col 1, lines 9-10) comprising the substrate wafer, wherein the substrate wafer is gallium antimony (substrate comprising GaSb, col 5, line 62).
As taught by Dixon, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array comprising the substrate wafer, wherein the substrate wafer comprises gallium antimony as claimed, because GaSb are well-known material and widely used as a substrate material in the art and is suitable for achieving the desired electro-optical performance (col 5, line 60~col 6, line 2). Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Dixon in combination with DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Regarding claim 6, DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 1, but does not teach the focal plane array wherein a metal layer is disposed atop the doped n-type layer.
Dixon teaches a focal plane array (col 1, lines 9-10) wherein a metal layer (6, FIG. 3C, col 7, lines 14-15, 18) is disposed atop the doped n-type layer (6 is disposed atop 5).
As taught by Dixon, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array wherein a metal layer is disposed atop the doped n-type layer as claimed, because the metal contact atop the diode junction provides low contact resistance or ohmic conditions, which are crucial for the efficient transmission of electrical signals and the functional completion of the focal plane array (col 7, lines 13-29).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Dixon in combination with DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Regarding claim 20, DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 1, but does not teach the focal plane array wherein the substrate wafer is indium arsenide.
Dixon teaches a focal plane array (col 1, lines 9-10) wherein the substrate wafer is indium arsenide (substrate comprising InAs, col 5, lines 62-63).
As taught by Dixon, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array wherein the substrate wafer is indium arsenide as claimed, because InAs is well-known material and widely used as a substrate material in the art and is suitable for achieving the desired electro-optical performance (col 5, line 60~col 6, line 2). Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Dixon in combination with DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Regarding claim 21, DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 1, but does not teach the focal plane array wherein the substrate wafer is gallium arsenide.
Dixon teaches a focal plane array (col 1, lines 9-10) wherein the substrate wafer is gallium arsenide (substrate comprising GaAs, col 5, lines 62-63).
As taught by Dixon, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array wherein the substrate wafer is gallium arsenide as claimed, because GaAs is well-known material and widely used as a substrate material in the art and is suitable for achieving the desired electro-optical performance (col 5, line 60~col 6, line 2). Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Dixon in combination with DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Claims 9, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wicks (US 2010/0230720) in view of DeLyon (US 10720456) and Ariyawansa (Micromachines 2019, 10, 806).
Regarding claim 9, Wicks teaches a focal plane array (10, FIGURE 9, [0054]), comprising:
a substrate wafer (18);
an n-type indium arsenide layer (12) disposed atop the substrate wafer (shown in FIGURE 9); and
a p-type indium arsenide layer (14) positioned at a first surface of the n-type indium arsenide layer opposite an interface surface of the n-type indium arsenide and the substrate wafer (shown in FIGURE 9).
Wicks does not teach the focal plane array comprising the p-type indium arsenide layer implanted into the first surface of an n-type indium arsenide layer.
DeLyon teaches a focal plane array (col 3, lines 21-22) comprising the p-type indium arsenide layer implanted into the first surface of an n-type indium arsenide layer (a portion of the doping is performed after deposition of the Group III-V compound semiconductor material using ion implantation of dopant materials (col 5, lines 4-6).
As taught by DeLyon, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Wicks to obtain and achieve the focal plane array comprising the p-type indium arsenide layer implanted into the first surface of an n-type indium arsenide layer as claimed, because ion implantation is a common technique to form p-type regions with controlled depth and doping concentration.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by DeLyon in combination with Wicks due to above reason.
Wicks in view of Delyon does not teach the focal plane array wherein a thickness of the n-type indium arsenide layer is greater than 5 microns and less than or equal to 8 microns.
Ariyawansa teaches a focal plane array (Abstract) wherein a thickness of the n-type indium arsenide layer (n-type absorber including InAs, Figure 1 (b), 2. Strained-Layer Superlattice (SLS) Design and Detector Structure) is greater than 5 microns and less than or equal to 8 microns (n-type absorber including InAs has a thickness of 5.5 µm).
As taught by Ariyawansa, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Wicks in view of Delyon to obtain and achieve the focal plane array wherein a thickness of the n-type indium arsenide layer is greater than 5 microns and less than or equal to 8 microns as claimed, because absorber thickness affects detector performance, including carrier collection and quantum efficiency, through its relationship with carrier diffusion length (Figure 6, 4. Discussion). Further, it has been held that where the criticality of the claimed range is not shown and the prior art discloses a value within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ariyawansa in combination with Wicks in view of Delyon due to above reason.
Regarding claim 11, Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 9, wherein the substrate wafer comprises indium arsenide (Wicks: 18 is InAs, Figure 9, [0054]).
Regarding claim 14, Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 9, but Wicks in view of Ariyawansa does not teach the focal plane array wherein the n-type indium arsenide layer detects wavelengths in the range of 400 nm to 3 microns.
DeLyon teaches the focal plane array wherein the n-type indium arsenide layer detects wavelengths in the range of 400 nm to 3 microns (203 is n-type and comprises InAsSb and the spectral response of the polycrystalline InAs barrier detector has a cutoff wavelength of 3.03 µm, FIGS. 2 and 5B, col 7, lines 6-7, 27, Col 8, lines 49-52, col 13, lines 52-57).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in DeLyon to include the focal plane array wherein the n-type indium arsenide layer detects wavelengths in the range of 400 nm to 3 microns as claimed, because this modification allows for an expanded detection range from visible light to near-infrared and provides consistent performance across a wide range of operating temperatures (col 13, lines 45-60).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wicks (US 2010/0230720) in view of DeLyon (US 10720456) and Ariyawansa (Micromachines 2019, 10, 806), and further in view of Dixon (US 9111830).
Regarding claim 10, Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 9, but does not teach the focal plane array wherein the substrate wafer comprises gallium antimony.
Dixon teaches a focal plane array (col 1, lines 9-10), wherein the substrate wafer is gallium antimony (substrate comprising GaSb, col 5, line 62).
As taught by Dixon, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array wherein the substrate wafer comprises gallium antimony as claimed, because GaSb are well-known material and widely used as a substrate material in the art and is suitable for achieving the desired electro-optical performance (col 5, line 60~col 6, line 2). Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Dixon in combination with Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Regarding claim 12, Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 9, but does not teach the focal plane array wherein the substrate wafer comprises gallium arsenide.
Dixon teaches a focal plane array (col 1, lines 9-10), wherein the substrate wafer is gallium arsenide (substrate comprising GaAs, col 5, line 63).
As taught by Dixon, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array wherein the substrate wafer comprises gallium arsenide as claimed, because GaAs are well-known material and widely used as a substrate material in the art and is suitable for achieving the desired electro-optical performance (col 5, line 60~col 6, line 2). Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Dixon in combination with Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLyon (US 10720456) in view of Ariyawansa (Micromachines 2019, 10, 806), and further in view of Wicks (US 2010/0230720).
Regarding claim 15, DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 1, but does not teach the focal plane array comprising an absorber layer disposed directly atop the substrate wafer, wherein the absorber layer comprises the n-type indium arsenide layer.
Wicks teaches a focal plane array (10, FIGURE 7, [0047, 0054]) comprising an absorber layer disposed directly atop the substrate wafer, wherein the absorber layer comprises the n-type indium arsenide layer (n-InAs 12 disposed directly atop 18 as an absorber layer).
Although Wicks does not explicitly teach that the n-InAs layer is the absorber layer is designated as an “absorber layer”.
Wicks, however, discloses that the n-InAs serves as the photon absorbing layer of the photodiode, generating photocurrent in response to incident light. The photodiode operates by optical creation of electron-hole pair by band-to-band transitions, and the n-InAs is the primary layer where optical absorption and photocurrent generation occur [0048].
As taught by Wicks, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array comprising an absorber layer disposed directly atop the substrate wafer, wherein the absorber layer comprises the n-type indium arsenide layer as claimed, because it is well known that focal plane arrays require an absorber layer to generate photocurrent and the-n-InAs layer absorbs incident light to generate photocurrent [0048]. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Wicks in combination with DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLyon (US 10720456) in view of Ariyawansa (Micromachines 2019, 10, 806), and further in view of Ting et al. (US 2012/0145996: hereinafter ‘Ting’).
Regarding claim 16, DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 1, further comprising a trench through the doped n- type layer and the barrier layer (DeLyon: multiple depositions of Group III-V materials with masking and etching between depositions to define pixels isolated from one another, col. 11, lines 27-32).
DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa does not teach the focal plane array further comprising a trench, wherein a bottom end of the trench is defined by the n-type indium arsenide layer.
Ting teaches a focal plane array (1, FIG. 2, [0089]) further comprising a trench, wherein a bottom end of the trench is defined by the n-type indium arsenide layer (the bottom end of the trench is defined by 6).
As taught by Ting, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array further comprising a trench, wherein a bottom end of the trench is defined by the n-type indium arsenide layer as claimed, because focal plane arrays require trench formation to electrically isolate pixels and reduce crosstalk [0154]. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ting in combination with DeLyon in view of Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wicks (US 2010/0230720) in view of DeLyon (US 10720456) and Ariyawansa (Micromachines 2019, 10, 806), and further in view of White (Journal of Lightwave Technology, Vol. 34, Issue. 11).
Regarding claim 17, Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 9, but does not teach the focal plane array wherein the p-type indium arsenide layer is implanted into the first surface of the n-type indium arsenide layer to a depth of at least 0.5 micron.
White teaches a focal plane array (Fig. 2, II. FABRICATION) wherein the p-type indium arsenide layer is implanted into the first surface of the layer to a depth of at least 0.5 micron (1 µm deep P+ InAs in i InAs)
Although White does not explicitly teach that the p-type indium arsenide layer is implanted into the first surface of the n-type indium arsenide layer.
White, however, discloses the use of ion implantation to achieve a p-type region with a depth of at least 1 µm, further enhanced to 2 µm through thermal annealing. The resulting junction depth and profile is readily tailored by adjusting implantation parameters such as temperature, time, ion species, and equipment settings (Fig. 7, III. RESULTS).
As taught by White, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array wherein the p-type indium arsenide layer is implanted into the first surface of the n-type indium arsenide layer to a depth of at least 0.5 micron as claimed, because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Alter, 105 USPQ 233.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by White in combination with Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Regarding claim 18, Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 9, but does not teach the focal plane array wherein the p-type indium arsenide layer is implanted into the first surface of the n-type indium arsenide layer to a depth of at least 1 micron.
White teaches a focal plane array (Fig. 2, II. FABRICATION) wherein the p-type indium arsenide layer is implanted into the first surface of the layer to a depth of at least 1 micron (1 µm deep P+ InAs in i InAs)
Although White does not explicitly teach that the p-type indium arsenide layer is implanted into the first surface of the n-type indium arsenide layer.
White, however, discloses the use of ion implantation to achieve a p-type region with a depth of at least 1 µm, further enhanced to 2 µm through thermal annealing. The resulting junction depth and profile is readily tailored by adjusting implantation parameters such as temperature, time, ion species, and equipment settings (Fig. 7, III. RESULTS).
As taught by White, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array wherein the p-type indium arsenide layer is implanted into the first surface of the n-type indium arsenide layer to a depth of at least 1 micron as claimed, because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Alter, 105 USPQ 233.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by White in combination with Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wicks (US 2010/0230720) in view of DeLyon (US 10720456) and Ariyawansa (Micromachines 2019, 10, 806), and further in view of Ting (US 2012/0145996).
Regarding claim 19, Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa teaches the focal plane array of claim 9, but Wicks does in view of Ariyawansa not teach the focal plane array further comprising a trench through the p-type indium arsenide layer, wherein a bottom end of the trench is defined by the n-type indium arsenide layer.
DeLyon teaches the focal plane array further comprising a trench through the p-type indium arsenide layer (multiple depositions of Group III-V materials with masking and etching between depositions to define pixels isolated from one another, col. 11, lines 27-32).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in DeLyon to include the focal plane array further comprising a trench through the p-type indium arsenide layer as claimed, because forming isolated pixels and electrical pathways requires etching through the upper semiconductor layers, which necessarily includes the p-type contact layer to expose the barrier or absorber beneath.
Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa does not teach the focal plane array further comprising a trench, wherein a bottom end of the trench is defined by the n-type indium arsenide layer.
Ting teaches a focal plane array (1, FIG. 2, [0089]) further comprising a trench, wherein a bottom end of the trench is defined by the n-type indium arsenide layer (the bottom end of the trench is defined by 6).
As taught by Ting, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa to obtain and achieve the focal plane array further comprising a trench, wherein a bottom end of the trench is defined by the n-type indium arsenide layer as claimed, because focal plane arrays require trench formation to electrically isolate pixels and reduce crosstalk [0154]. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ting in combination with Wicks in view of DeLyon and Ariyawansa due to above reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JIYOUNG OH/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 7/13/26