DETAILED ACTION
RCE, received 2/9/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-10 and 12-36 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-15, 17-19 and 21-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0043715 A1), hereafter referred to as Han.
As to claim 1, Han discloses a light-emitting display apparatus (fig 3), comprising:
a substrate (fig 7, 100) including an active area (DA) and a non-active area (NDA) adjacent to the active area (DA);
a protection layer (300) disposed in the active area (DA) and the non-active area (NDA);
a planarization layer (113) in the active area (DA) and in a first part (part adjacent to DA) of the non-active area (NDA);
a bank layer (180), a light emitting diode layer (220), and a first pattern (PW1 in region NDA adjacent to DA) disposed on the planarization layer (113); and
a second pattern (see annotated fig 7 below) and a dam (PW3) disposed in a second part (outer part) adjacent to the first part (part adjacent DA) of the non-active area (NDA),
wherein a vertical height of an upper surface of the first pattern (height of PW1) is greater than a vertical height of an upper surface of the second pattern (vertical height of 2nd pattern shown in fig 7 below), and
wherein the upper surfaces of the first and second patterns are topmost surfaces contacting the protection layer (top of PW1 contacts protection 300 and top of 2nd pattern shown below is contacting protection 300).
As to claim 2, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the planarization layer (113) extends from the active area (DA) to the first part of the non-active area (NDA).
As to claim 3, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the second pattern (see annotate fig 7 below) is spaced apart from the first pattern (PW1) and the dam (PW3) and is disposed between the first pattern (PW1) and the dam (PW3).
As to claim 4, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a spacer (190) disposed on the bank layer (180),
wherein the first pattern (PW1) is located on a same layer (100) as the spacer (190) and is formed of the same material as the first pattern ([0125]).
As to claim 5, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the second pattern (see annotated fig 7 below, patterned layer 113 within the region PW2) is formed of a same material as the planarization layer (113).
As to claim 6, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 5 (paragraphs above),
at least one metal layer (75a; [0123]) disposed on the second pattern (see annotated fig 7 above).
As to claim 7, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the vertical height of the first pattern (height of PW1) is greater than a vertical height of the dam (one of the vertical heights of the dam PW3 include the vertical height of patterned layer 113 in the dam PW3), and the vertical height of the dam (vertical height of patterned layer 113 in the dam PW3) is greater than the vertical height of the second pattern (2nd pattern shown in annotated fig 7 above) in a cross sectional view.
As to claim 8, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 4 (paragraphs above),
wherein the dam (PW3) includes materials of the planarization layer (113), the bank layer (180), and the spacer (190).
As to claim 9, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein a number of each of the first pattern (first pattern PW1 has a number two layers / also plurality of patterns of 181 in region adjacent to DA) and the second pattern (second pattern has a number two layers) is two or larger.
As to claim 10, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein a number of the dam is smaller than the number of the first pattern and the number of the second pattern (dam PW3 is smaller in number than PW2/PW1).
As to claim 12, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the protection layer (300) includes a second protection layer (320) including an organic material ([0081]).
As to claim 13, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 12 (paragraphs above),
wherein at least a part of the second protection layer (320) is disposed between the second pattern (portion of second pattern including 171 and 109 in the TFT region) and the dam (PW3).
As to claim 14, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a touch line (fig 12, 410) disposed on the protection layer (300).
As to claim 15, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 14 (paragraphs above),
wherein the touch line (450) is spaced apart from a part of at least one of the first pattern and the dam (PW3).
As to claim 17, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a first touch electrode (420) and a second touch electrode (420) disposed in the active area (DA).
As to claim 18, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 17 (paragraphs above),
wherein a presence of a touch and a touch position of the touch is sensed by sensing a variation of a mutual capacitance formed between the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode ([0082]).
As to claim 19, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a driving circuit (fig 3, 150),
wherein the first pattern (PW1), the second pattern (see annotated 2nd pattern in fig 7 above), and the dam (PW3) are disposed between the active area (DA) and the driving circuit (150).
As to claim 21, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a gate driving circuit (figs 3 and 7, 110) disposed in the non-active area (NDA),
wherein the gate driving circuit (110) is disposed between the active area (DA) and the first pattern (PW1), the active area (DA) and the second pattern (2nd pattern), or the active area (DA) and the dam (PW3).
As to claim 22, Han discloses a light emitting display apparatus (figs 1 and 7), comprising:
a substrate (100) including an active area (DA) and a non-active area (NDA) enclosing the active area (DA);
a planarization layer (113) in the active area (DA);
a spacer (190) on the planarization layer (113) and in the active area (DA);
a first pattern (191) on the planarization layer (113; specifically, 191 is on the side of 113) and in the non-active area (NDA);
a second pattern (see annotated fig 7 above) in the non-active area (NDA); and
a protection layer (300) in the active area (DA) and the non-active area (NDA), and disposed on the first pattern (191) and the second pattern (annotated 2nd pattern),
wherein a bottommost surface of the first pattern (bottom of 191) is higher than a topmost surface of the second pattern (top of 2nd pattern shown in annotation above), and
wherein the topmost surface of the second pattern (top of 2nd pattern) contacts the protection layer (300).
As to claim 23, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 22 (paragraphs above),
wherein the non-active area (NDA) includes a first part that is adjacent the active area (part adjacent to DA), and a second part that is outward of the first part (outer part), and a boundary between the first part and the second part (between outer part and part adjacent to DA), and
wherein the second part of the non-active area does not include the planarization layer (part with layer 113 removed).
As to claim 24, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 22 (paragraphs above),
wherein the non-active area includes a first part (inner part of NDA), and a second part outward of the first part (outer part of NDA), and
wherein a dam (PW3) is further disposed in the second part (outer part) of the non-active area (NDA).
As to claim 25, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 22 (paragraphs above),
a dam (PW3) in the non-active area (NDA).
As to claim 26, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 25 (paragraphs above),
wherein the protection layer (300) inward of the first pattern (191) and the protection layer (300) outward of the first pattern (191) have an elevation difference (see heights of 300).
As to claim 27, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 25 (paragraphs above),
an anode electrode (210) on the planarization layer (113), a bank layer (180) on the anode electrode (210), a light emitting diode layer (220) on the anode electrode (210), and a cathode electrode (230) on the light emitting diode layer (220),
wherein a material of the anode electrode is disposed in the non-active area (75 in NDA), and
wherein the second pattern (annotated 2nd pattern shown above) and the dam (PW3) is on the material of the anode electrode in the non-active area (75 in NDA).
As to claim 28, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 25 (paragraphs above),
wherein a surface of the protection layer (300) between the spacer (190) and the first pattern (191) includes a planar portion (flat portion), and wherein the surface of the protection layer (300) between the first pattern (191) and the second pattern (2nd pattern) or the dam (PW3) includes an uneven portion.
As to claim 29, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 25 (paragraphs above),
wherein a thickness of the protection layer (300) between the spacer (190) and the first pattern (191) is different from the thickness of the protection layer (300) between the first pattern (191) and the second pattern (2nd pattern) or between the second pattern and the dam (PW3).
As to claim 30, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 25 (paragraphs above),
wherein the protection layer (300) includes a first protection layer (310) and a second protection layer (320), and
wherein a thickness of the second protection layer changes in extending outward from the active area to the non-active area (320 changes such that it is thinner).
As to claim 31, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 30 (paragraphs above),
wherein the second protection layer (320) is not disposed outward of the dam (PW3).
As to claim 32, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 22 (paragraphs above),
wherein a thickness of the planarization layer (113) over the spacer (190) is about the same as a thickness of the planarization layer (113) over the first pattern (191).
As to claim 33, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 25 (paragraphs above),
wherein a thickness of the protection layer (310) over the spacer (190) is the same as the thickness of the protection layer (310) over the first pattern (191) and the second pattern (2nd pattern).
As to claim 34, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 25 (paragraphs above),
wherein a thickness of the protection layer (310/320) over the spacer (190) is different from the thickness of the protection layer (310/320) over at least one of the second pattern (2nd pattern) and the dam (PW3).
As to claim 35, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 22 (paragraphs above),
an anode electrode (210) on the planarization layer (113), a bank layer (180) on the anode electrode (210), a light emitting diode layer (220) on the anode electrode (210), and a cathode electrode (230) on the light emitting diode layer (220),
wherein a material of the anode electrode is disposed in the non-active area (75a), and
wherein the second pattern (2nd pattern) is on the material of the anode electrode (75a).
As to claim 36, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 22 (paragraphs above),
wherein the second pattern (2nd pattern) contacts an auxiliary electrode (75a) of an anode electrode (210) located in the non-active area (NDA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Hwang et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0126066 A1), hereafter referred to as Hwang.
As to claim 16, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 14 (paragraphs above),
Han does not disclose wherein the touch line overlaps at least a part of the second pattern.
Nonetheless, Hwang discloses a similar display apparatus with a touch line overlapping at least a part of a second pattern (fig 9, touch line Y-TE extending to Y-TP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to form the touch line of Han overlapping at least a part of the second pattern as taught by Hwang such that the touch line can make improved electrical contact to a pad region on the substrate.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Bang et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0134928 A1), hereafter referred to as Bang.
As to claim 20, Han discloses the light emitting display apparatus according to claim 19 (paragraphs above).
Han does not disclose wherein the driving circuit includes at least one MUX, and ESD circuit, a VDD line, or a VSS line, and wherein the first pattern, the second pattern, and the dam are disposed between the active area and the MUX, the ESD circuit, the VDD line, or the VSS line.
Nonetheless, Bang discloses wherein a driving circuit includes at least one MUX, and ESD circuit, a VDD line, or a VSS line, and wherein a first pattern, a second pattern, and a dam are disposed between the active area and the MUX, the ESD circuit, the VDD line, or the VSS line (figs 1 and 5, VSS line and VDD line 10 and 20 disposed with first pattern 130, second pattern 110 and dam 120 between DA and VSS/VDD 10/20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the first pattern, second pattern and dam of Han between the display area and the VSS/VDD lines as taught by Bang since this will ensure that the organic encapsulation material does not overflow to the pad regions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that: “Han discloses that, in the second barrier PW2, a height of a topmost surface contacting the thin film encapsulation layer 300 is disposed lower than a height of a topmost surface contacting the thin film encapsulation layer 400 in the first barrier PW 1.”
Examiner disagrees because the topmost surface of PW2 contacting 300 is higher than topmost surface of PW1 contacting 300. Additionally, the Han reference does not include reference number 400, it appears that 400 is meant to recite 300.
Applicant argued that Han fails to disclose a configuration in which a height of a bottom surface of the first barrier is higher than a height of a topmost surface of the second barrier contacting the thin film encapsulation layer 300.
Examiner disagrees because, as detailed in the office action above, Han does anticipate this limitation.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2021/0202895 A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 4/6/2026