Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9-27-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that with the amendment that the art no longer meets the limitation, “focusing the forward scattered laser light into a first end of an optical fiber that does not collect side scattered laser light;” because of cited passages of Berezhnyy (Paragraphs 71-73). However, when arguing against a reference, the attorney failed to consider all of the disclosure. First, it is stated that “Laser light modulated by the particle in this way is subsequently focused by objective lens 901 onto refractive optical element 902 which collects the objective lens focused light and projects it onto fiber optic light conveyor 903,” and in this case the modulation referred to can be a by diffraction, refraction, reflection, scattering or absorption and re-emission. Notably in fig. 9 there are no objects labeled 901, 902, or 903. If one looks at figure 9 one can see that the side scattered and fluorescence light is illustrated as outputting from the flow cell in a direction perpendicular from the forward scattered light (this is generally true in these situations). Further, if one were to look at fig. 4 this is generally describing the same optical setup as talked about in regards to fig. 9. There is an objective lens (402) which focuses light and an optical element (403) which then passes it onto a fiber optic light conveyor (405) (Paragraph 43). As is shown this system is collecting light from one side of a flow cell, which in the art is generally the case. Thus, because the side scattered light and forward scattered light are perpendicular to each other one optical system is not collecting both, which again is generally how these machines are designed. Therefore, when the disclosure states, “The fluorescence emissions as well as the diffracted light, refracted light, reflected light, and scattered light may be routed via the fiber optic light conveyor 903 to one or more of the forward scatter detector 930, side scatter detector 935, and the one or more fluorescent light detectors 960a-960f through one or more of the beam splitters 945a-945g, the bandpass filters 950a-950e, the longpass filters 955a-955b, and the fluorescence collection lens 940” this is a general catch all statement about how the machine functions and not a statement saying that only one optical fiber collects both the side scattered light and forward scattered light. Without some form of specialized disclosed objective lens that wraps around the flow cell and gets both side and forward scattered light onto the same optical axis this would not work. Thus, the examiner finds the applicant’s arguments not persuasive and will maintain the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 1, the applicant has amended the claim with the limitation, “focusing the forward scattered laser light into a first end of an optical fiber that does not collect side scattered laser light;” however there is no specific disclosure in the specification of the amended part of the limitation nor a statement that it is particularly important the optical fiber not collect both side and forward scattered light. Thus, this limitation would be new matter and not supported by the specification.
Claims 2-10 are rejected based on their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(2) as being anticipated by Berezhnyy (PGPub 2022/0155210) (Berezhnyy).
Regarding Claim 1, Berezhnyy discloses a method comprising:
flowing a cell/particle in a flow cell (925) through an optical axis of an incident laser light (Paragraphs 71 & 72);
striking portions of the cell/particle with the incident laser light to generate forward scattered laser light (Paragraph 73);
focusing the forward scattered laser light into a first end of an optical fiber (903) (Paragraph 73) that does not collect side scattered laser light. The fiber that collects the forward scattered light would be different from the fiber that collects the side scattered light for the reasons the examiner made clear in the response to arguments;
directing the forward scattered laser light towards a second end of the optical fiber (Paragraph 73); and
launching the forward scattered laser light out of the second end of the optical fiber into a sensor subsystem (930) to detect the forward scattered laser light (Paragraph 73).
Regarding Claim 2, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned. Further, by its very nature an optical fiber will filter out unwanted scattered light from spatial and angular perspectives since optical fibers only have a limited range of acceptance angles for incoming light.
Regarding Claim 3, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned. Further, Berezhnyy discloses filtering the forward scattered laser light into a pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light; and detecting an intensity of the pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light (Paragraph 56).
Regarding Claim 5, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned. Further, Berezhnyy discloses receiving the forward scattered laser light out from the second end of the optical fiber (Paragraph 73); focally reimaging the forward scattered laser light into a photodiode detector (Paragraph 76); filtering the focused forward scattered laser light into a pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light into the photodiode detector (Paragraph 56); and detecting an intensity of the pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light (Paragraph 76).
Regarding Claim 10, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned. Further, Berezhnyy discloses wherein the photodiode detector is an avalanche photodiode (Paragraph 53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, & 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berezhnyy.
Regarding Claim 4, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned. Further, Berezhnyy discloses among the wavelengths of the excitation lasers one is 488nm (Paragraph 71). Berezhnyy fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light is in a range inclusively between 492 nanometers and 484 nanometers around 488 nanometers;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Berezhnyy with wherein the pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light is in a range inclusively between 492 nanometers and 484 nanometers around 488 nanometers because forward scattered light would not significantly change wavelength from the excitation laser and one would want to filter out wavelengths that were not from the forward scattered light to reduce noise on the detector.
Regarding Claim 6, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose adjusting a signal gain of the photodiode detector to detect the intensity of the pass band of wavelengths of the forward scattered laser light;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Berezhnyy with adjusting a signal gain of the photodiode detector to detect the intensity of the pass band of wavelengths of the forward scattered laser light because this is often done to balance the detection sensitivity of the detector with the noise produced by increasing the gain to receive an optimal signal for detection.
Regarding Claims 7 & 8, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose prior to the focusing, blocking the incident laser light; and wherein while the cell/particle is outside the optical axis of the incident laser light, blocking the incident laser light from reaching the detector;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Berezhnyy with prior to the focusing, blocking the incident laser light; and wherein while the cell/particle is outside the optical axis of the incident laser light, blocking the incident laser light from reaching the detector because this would prevent false detections of cells when they are not present.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berezhnyy in view of Kaiser et al (PGPub 2022/0003660) (Kaiser).
Regarding Claim 6, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose after the striking, blocking the incident laser light, wherein the incident laser light is blocked while the cell/particle is outside the optical axis of the incident laser light;
However, Kaiser teaches after the striking, blocking the incident laser light, wherein the incident laser light is blocked while the cell/particle is outside the optical axis of the incident laser light (Fig. 1(a), Paragraph 209);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Berezhnyy with after the striking, blocking the incident laser light, wherein the incident laser light is blocked while the cell/particle is outside the optical axis of the incident laser light because that prevents the non-forwarded scattered light from washing out the signal of the forward scattered light at the detector and improves the signal-to-noise ratio of the detection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 December 3, 2025
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877