Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6-12-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that newly added amendments,
“accepting, with the optical fiber, wanted forward scattered laser light that is within an acceptance angle relative to the optical axis;
rejecting unwanted scattered laser light that is outside the acceptance angle relative to the optical axis,”
are not taught by Berezhnyy because basically no discussion of the subject matter appears in the specification. However, what these limitations are discussing is the concept in optics of the Numerical Aperture (NA) (see wiki citation from May 21st, 2021). In particular, all fibers have a NA and all light that is not at the angle of acceptance will be rejected (See wiki citation, the section labeled Fiber optics). Thus, the disclosure of using a fiber to collect the light meets this limitation. Further, if the applicant has a particular NA of their fiber that they feel is not disclosed they should claim it. However, upon a quick review of the specification the examiner notes they appear only to discuss the concept of the NA of their fiber without disclosing a particular NA number. Thus, the examiner is not persuaded that broadly claiming a physical concept shared by all optics is allowable or that it overcomes the art. The examiner will be maintaining the rejection with modifications based upon the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(2) as being anticipated by Berezhnyy (PGPub 2022/0155210) (Berezhnyy).
Regarding Claim 1, Berezhnyy discloses a method comprising:
flowing a cell/particle in a flow cell (925) through an optical axis of an incident laser light (Paragraphs 71 & 72);
striking portions of the cell/particle with the incident laser light to generate forward scattered laser light (Paragraph 73);
focusing the forward scattered laser light into a first end of an optical fiber (903) (Paragraph 73);
accepting, with the optical fiber, wanted forward scattered laser light that is within an acceptance angle relative to the optical axis (Wiki citation, Fiber Optics section);
rejecting unwanted scattered laser light that is outside the acceptance angle relative to the optical axis (Wiki citation, Fiber Optics section);
As the examiner explained in the arguments the above two limitations are merely the concept of Numerical Aperture which as the citation explains applies to fiber optics too. Thus, Berezhnyy teaches this limitation by implication since they teach collecting the forward scattered light with a fiber;
directing the forward scattered laser light towards a second end of the optical fiber (Paragraph 73); and
launching the forward scattered laser light out of the second end of the optical fiber into a sensor subsystem (930) to detect the forward scattered laser light (Paragraph 73).
Regarding Claim 2, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned. Further, by its very nature an optical fiber will filter out unwanted scattered laser light from certain spatial and angular perspectives since optical fibers only have a limited range of acceptance angles for incoming light.
Regarding Claim 3, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned. Further, Berezhnyy discloses filtering the forward scattered laser light into a pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light; and detecting an intensity of the pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light (Paragraph 56).
Regarding Claim 5, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned. Further, Berezhnyy discloses receiving the forward scattered laser light out from the second end of the optical fiber (Paragraph 73); focally reimaging the forward scattered laser light into a photodiode detector (Paragraph 76); filtering the focused forward scattered laser light into a pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light into the photodiode detector (Paragraph 56); and detecting an intensity of the pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light (Paragraph 76).
Regarding Claim 10, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned. Further, Berezhnyy discloses wherein the photodiode detector is an avalanche photodiode (Paragraph 53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, & 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berezhnyy.
Regarding Claim 4, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned. Further, Berezhnyy discloses among the wavelengths of the excitation lasers one is 488nm (Paragraph 71). Berezhnyy fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light is in a range inclusively between 492 nanometers and 484 nanometers around 488 nanometers;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Berezhnyy with wherein the pass band of wavelengths of forward scattered laser light is in a range inclusively between 492 nanometers and 484 nanometers around 488 nanometers because forward scattered light would not significantly change wavelength from the excitation laser and one would want to filter out wavelengths that were not from the forward scattered light to reduce noise on the detector.
Regarding Claim 6, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose adjusting a signal gain of the photodiode detector to detect the intensity of the pass band of wavelengths of the forward scattered laser light;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Berezhnyy with adjusting a signal gain of the photodiode detector to detect the intensity of the pass band of wavelengths of the forward scattered laser light because this is often done to balance the detection sensitivity of the detector with the noise produced by increasing the gain to receive an optimal signal for detection.
Regarding Claims 7 & 8, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose prior to the focusing, blocking the incident laser light; and wherein while the cell/particle is outside the optical axis of the incident laser light, blocking the incident laser light from reaching the detector;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Berezhnyy with prior to the focusing, blocking the incident laser light; and wherein while the cell/particle is outside the optical axis of the incident laser light, blocking the incident laser light from reaching the detector because this would prevent false detections of cells when they are not present.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berezhnyy in view of Kaiser et al (PGPub 2022/0003660) (Kaiser).
Regarding Claim 9, Berezhnyy discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose after the striking, blocking the incident laser light, wherein the incident laser light is blocked while the cell/particle is outside the optical axis of the incident laser light;
However, Kaiser teaches after the striking, blocking the incident laser light, wherein the incident laser light is blocked while the cell/particle is outside the optical axis of the incident laser light (Fig. 1(a), Paragraph 209);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Berezhnyy with after the striking, blocking the incident laser light, wherein the incident laser light is blocked while the cell/particle is outside the optical axis of the incident laser light because that prevents the non-forwarded scattered light from washing out the signal of the forward scattered light at the detector and improves the signal-to-noise ratio of the detection.
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 June 24, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877