DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2 in the reply filed on 8/11/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 27, 25 and 28, 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In regard to claims 24 and 27, there is no description of the first routing layer abutting the substrate- the only supported description is “on” the substrate- this constitutes new matter. In regard to claims 25, 28 and 30- there is no description of the wafer bonding material abutting the substrate. This constitutes new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 2017/0077158).
9. An electronic device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]) having: opposite first (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) and second sides (Fig.1B-1H (100b) and [0026]),
a first conductive routing structure (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]) on the first side (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]), and a via opening (Fig.1B-1H (190) and [0026]) extending from the first side (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]) to the second side (Fig.1B-1H (100b) and [0026]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]),
a portion of the first conductive routing structure (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]) extending over the via opening (Fig.1B-1H (190) and [0026]),
a transparent cover (Fig.1A-1H (170) and [0023]) over a portion of the first side (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]), the transparent cover (Fig.1A-1H (170) and [0023]) covering the patterned first conductive routing structure(Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]);
an insulator layer (Fig.1C-1H (210) and [0028]) on the second side (Fig.1B-1H (100b) and [0026]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]) and along a sidewall of the via opening (Fig.1C-1H (190) and [0026 and 0028]), the insulator layer (Fig.1C-1H (210) and [0028]) including a polyimide material [0028]; and
a second conductive routing structure (Fig.1C-1H (220) and [0029]) on an outer side of the insulator layer (Fig.1C-1H (210) and [0028]), the second conductive routing structure (Fig.1C-1H (220) and [0029]) extending through a center portion of the via opening (Fig.1C-1H (190) and [0026 and 0029]) and directly contacting the portion of the first conductive routing structure (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]).
26. (New) The electronic device of Claim 9, wherein the first conductive routing structure (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]) is directly on the first side of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) [0021].
27. (New) The electronic device of Claim 9, wherein a portion of the first conductive routing structure (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]) abuts the first side of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]).
28. (New) The electronic device of Claim 9, further including wafer bonding material (Fig.1A-1D (160) and [0024]) extending between the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) and the transparent cover, (Fig.1A -1D (170) and [0023]) a portion of the wafer bonding material (Fig.1A-1D (160) and [0024]) abutting the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]).
29. (New) The electronic device of claim 9, further comprising a solder structure (Fig.1E (280) and [0068]) attached to the second conductive routing structure (Fig.1C-1H (220) and [0029]) and extending outward from a bottom side of the electronic device (Fig.1E).
30. (New) The electronic device of Claim 9, further including wafer bonding material (Fig.1A-1D (160) and [0024]) extending between the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) and the transparent cover (Fig.1A -1D (170) and [0023]), a portion of the wafer bonding material (Fig.1A-1D (160) and [0024]) abutting the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]).
31. (New) The electronic device of Claim 30, wherein the wafer bonding material is at least partially transparent [0023-0025].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2017/0077158) in further view of Oganesian (US 2013/0056844).
Huang teaches the following claimed limitations as cited below:
1. An electronic device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]) having: opposite first (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) and second sides (Fig.1B-1H (100b) and [0026]),
a first conductive routing structure (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]) on the first side (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]), and a via opening (Fig.1B-1H (190) and [0026]) extending from the first side (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]) to the second side (Fig.1B-1H (100b) and [0026]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]), a portion of the first conductive routing structure (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]) extending over the via opening (Fig.1B-1H (190) and [0026]),
a transparent cover (Fig.1A-1H (170) and [0023]) over a portion of the first side (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]), the transparent cover (Fig.1A-1H (170) and [0023]) covering the patterned first conductive routing structure(Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]);
an insulator layer (Fig.1C-1H (210) and [0028]) on the second side (Fig.1B-1H (100b) and [0026]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]) and along a sidewall of the via opening (Fig.1C-1H (190) and [0026 and 0028]), the insulator layer (Fig.1C-1H (210) and [0028]) including a photo-imageable material [0028]; and
a second conductive routing structure (Fig.1C-1H (220) and [0029]) on an outer side of the insulator layer (Fig.1C-1H (210) and [0028]), the second conductive routing structure (Fig.1C-1H (220) and [0029]) extending through the via opening (Fig.1C-1H (190) and [0026 and 0029]) and directly contacting the portion of the first conductive routing structure (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]).
However, Huang fails to teach the additional limitation required by claim 1 as follows: the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]) having a thickness distance between the first (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) and second sides (Fig.1B-1H (100b) and [0026]) of approximately 20 um or more and less than 150 um.
Oganesian teaches a substantially similar image sensor (Fig.1E) including the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1E (6) and [ 0017]) having a thickness distance between the first (Fig.1E (8) and [0017]) and second sides (Fig.1E (10) and [0017]) of approximately 20 um or more and less than 150 um [0017].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang’s teachings to include the thickness ranges 20 to 150 um- which values are suggested by Oganesian [0017] which teaches the openings/cavities (Fig.1E (12) would extend no further than ¾ the substrate thickness, leaving a minimum thickness at the maximum depth to be 50 um [0017-thus is it readily calculated that Oganesian suggests the thicknesses to be within the ranges of 20um and 150 um], since such thicknesses are considered known and suitable for image sensor with an underlying opening.
The remaining claimed citations are in reference to the Huang reference; they are considered obvious for the same rationale provided above for claim 1, based upon their dependency:
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]) and second conductive routing structures (Fig.1C-1H (220) and [0029]) include copper [0030].
3. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the transparent cover includes glass (Fig.1A-1H (170) and [0023]).
4. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the insulator layer includes polyimide material (Fig.1C-1H (210) and [0028]).
7. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a solder structure (Fig.1E-1H (280) and [0033]) attached to the second conductive routing structure (Fig.1C-1H (220) and [0029]) and extending outward from a bottom side of the electronic device (Fig.1E-1H (280) and [0033]).
8. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a sensing area (Fig.1A-1H (120) and [0019]) exposed along the first side (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]) and spaced apart from the first conductive routing structure (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]).
23. (New) The electronic device of Claim 1, further including the second conductive routing structure (Fig.1C-1H (220) and [0029]) extending through a center portion of the via opening (Fig.1C-1H (190) and [0026 and 0029]).
24. (New) The electronic device of Claim 1, wherein a portion of the first conductive routing structure (Fig.1A-1H (140) and [0021]) abuts the first side of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]).
25. (New) The electronic device of Claim 1, further including wafer bonding material (Fig.1A-1D (160) and [0024]) extending between the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) and the transparent cover, (Fig.1A -1D (170) and [0023]) a portion of the wafer bonding material (Fig.1A-1D (160) and [0024]) abutting the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2017/0077158), as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Oganesian (US 2013/0056844).
Huang teaches the limitations of claim 9 as cited above.
However, Huang fails to teach the additional limitation required by claim 10 as follows: the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1A-1H (100) and [ 0018-0019]) having a thickness distance between the first (Fig.1A-1H (100a) and [0019]) and second sides (Fig.1B-1H (100b) and [0026]) of approximately 20 um or more and less than 150 um.
Oganesian teaches a substantially similar image sensor (Fig.1E) including the semiconductor substrate (Fig.1E (6) and [ 0017]) having a thickness distance between the first (Fig.1E (8) and [0017]) and second sides (Fig.1E (10) and [0017]) of approximately 20 um or more and less than 150 um [0017].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang’s teachings to include the thickness ranges 20 to 150 um- which values are suggested by Oganesian [0017] which teaches the openings/cavities (Fig.1E (12) would extend no further than ¾ the substrate thickness, leaving a minimum thickness at the maximum depth to be 50 um [0017 thus is it readily calculated that Oganesian suggests the thicknesses to be within the ranges of 20um and 150 um], since such thicknesses are considered known and suitable for image sensor with an underlying opening.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Huang fails to teach the amended language of claim 9 which requires the second conductive routing structure to extend through the center of the via- this is not persuasive- see annotated Fig.1D above and the rejection cited by the Examiner above. The arguments purport that the claim language is not taught by Huang because a void still exists in the via- this is not required by the claim- the language does not state that the second routing structure “fills the via”? Applicant’s own drawings (Fig.14) leaves a void in the via? There is no required thickness recited for the second conductive routing. The name of the game is the claim. The claim language is anticipated by Huang. Huang’s routing layer 220 extends through the center of the via as claimed. If the Applicant wants a to claim a thicker routing layer- this should be supported by the application as filed and clearly stated in the claims themselves. But Applicant should note that should the future prosecution add such a thickness of routing layers to the claim- such a limitation is not considered critical to the Applicant’s invention and would likely be rendered obvious- since conductive layers in vias is extremely well known and commonly practiced- there is an enormous amount of art regarding this parameter. The Examiner recommends a more meaningful amendment be made to the claims in order to expedite prosecution forward; an amendment more closely aligned to the heart of the application (inventative step).
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments regarding the obviousness of the thickness of the semiconductor substrate. Semiconductor substrates are the conventional backbone basis behind all of the art of semiconductors- the range of thicknesses is simply not novel it is within the standard thinned die thickness range- the limitation is not unusual and considered conventional in the art. The Examiner supplied a secondary reference teaching thicknesses within the range that the Applicant’s claim recites for yet another image sensor and the Applicant is arguing the thickness of a semiconductor substrate. Applicant should amend the claims to expedite prosecution on the merits and try to get the claims in condition for allowance. Standard thinned dies are 50-200um; ultra thin chips are less than 50 um. This is reflected in the teachings of thicknesses taught by Oganesian and supplied as another image sensor which teaches the range of substrate thicknesses. The rejection is proper.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hayashi et al (EP 2802005); Aggarwal et al (US 20240038695; US 20240038694) teach similar structures.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
5/22/26