DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 7 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Song (CN 107487205A), with the publication date: Dec, 19, 2017.
Applicant further argue on page 9, Kojima does not explicitly disclose, “a high-frequency oscillation current equal to the compensating heating current”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kojima discloses step s206 calculate the compensating current which is used to warm up the battery at the required heating demand, paragraph [0041]-[0043]. The current is an alternating current (AC) and if the current is used to warm the battery, then it would inherently have a high oscillation frequency to produce heat.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al. (US 2012/0200241), herein after Kojima and Song (CN 107487205A), attached is human translation.
Regarding claim 1, Kojima discloses battery needs to be warmed up. When, for instance, the battery temperature acquired at step S101 is not higher than a predetermined value, battery warm-up is judged at step S104 to be necessary, so that processing proceeds to step S200, step s104, fig. 2) set by a user of the electric vehicle;
acquiring power demand information of a driving module of the electric vehicle in real time, and determining a current heating power of the power battery according to the power demand information (the vehicle ECU 30 calculates a torque command (required drive torque) to be output from the drive motor 10 in accordance with a value sensed by the accelerator pedal sensor 13 and the information acquired through the vehicle network at step 102, paragraph [0030], fig. 2; Note: by reviewing the specification the power demand information includes torque demand information, rotational speed demand information, and the like, (PGPub (0020)), and determining a current heating power of the power battery according to the power demand information), wherein the driving module (12+10, fig. 1) is connected with the power battery (12+10 is connected to the battery 20, fig. 1); and the driving module comprises a motor controller and a driving motor (12+10, fig. 1);
when the current heating power is less than the heating power demand (We is less than the Wr, S203, fig. 2), acquiring a compensating heating current according to the heating power demand and the current heating power to achieve the heating power demand set by the user (compensating current is calculated at the step S205 according to Wr and We at the step s204, fig. 2);
causing, during control of the driving motor to drive the electric vehicle into operation according to the power demand information by the motor controller (s206 shows the correction of d-axis current according to the power demand information in step s102, fig. 2, 3; where the d-axis current is adjusted by the operation of the motor controlled by the controller, paragraph [0026]), the motor controller to regulate a control current of the driving motor according to the compensating heating current, so that the driving motor outputs a high-frequency oscillation current equal to the compensating heating current (step s206 calculate the compensating current which is used to warm up the battery at the required heating demand, paragraph [0041]-[0043]Note: the current is an alternating current (AC) and if the current is used to warm the battery then it would be inherently has the high oscillation frequency to produce heat); and
causing the power battery to perform self-heating according to the high-frequency oscillation current outputted by the driving motor (paragraph [0033]-[0034]). However, Kojima is silent about the heating power demand of power battery is set by user.
Song discloses the electric vehicle power battery can be warm up according to the instruction of the user (paragraph [0040]-[0041], Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima’s battery heating system to include the instruction to heat the battery set by user as taught by Song, in order to provide flexible control of battery temperature, reduce unnecessary energy consumption, and ensure proper battery performance under different environmental conditions.
Regarding claim 2, Kojima further discloses wherein the power demand information comprises torque demand information and rotational speed demand information (step 102 shows the power demand information which is required drive torque, fig. 2, paragraph [0030]: Note the torque is directly related to the rotational speed); and the determining a current heating power of the power battery according to the power demand information (calculating the heating current at the step s205, fig. 3) comprises: obtaining driving information of the driving motor according to the torque demand information and the rotational speed demand information (s102, fig. 2); and determining, according to the driving information, a driving current during the control of the driving motor to drive the electric vehicle into operation by the motor controller (paragraph [0070]), and determining the current heating power for heating the power battery according to the driving current (s205,fig. 3, paragraph [0070]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 3, Kojima further discloses wherein the causing the motor controller to regulate a control current of the driving motor according to the compensating heating current, so that the driving motor outputs a high-frequency oscillation current equal to the compensating heating current (paragraph [0046]-[0048])comprises: acquiring a reactive power of the driving motor in real time (paragraph [0033] the equation shows the reactive power of the motor which can warm up the battery); and acquiring a maximum limit power of the motor controller (fig. 4 and 5 shows the value of the maximum limit for the power), and causing the motor controller to increase the control current of the driving motor according to the compensating heating current, the reactive power, and the maximum limit power, so that the driving motor outputs the high- frequency oscillation current equal to the compensating heating current (paragraph [0033]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 4, Kojima further discloses wherein the causing the motor controller to increase the control current of the driving motor according to the compensating heating current, the reactive power, and the maximum limit power, so that the driving motor outputs the high-frequency oscillation current equal to the compensating heating current comprises: acquiring a difference power according to the compensating heating current and an internal resistance value of the power battery; and denoting a sum of the difference power and the reactive power as a superimposed power, and obtaining a superimposed current according to the superimposed power and the internal resistance value of the power battery, so as to increase the control current of the driving motor to the superimposed current (paragraph [0033]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Kojima further discloses wherein the increasing the control current of the driving motor to a superimposed current comprises: increasing the control current of the driving motor to the superimposed current by increasing an exciting current of the driving motor or through space vector modulation (paragraph [0033]-[0038]), such that the reactive power is increased while ensuring that an active power corresponding to the power demand information is satisfied (when the required drive torque is zero (the vehicle is in a stopped state), the q-axis current value iq is zero, the d-axis current id1 is set to target total current Ia1 (id1=Ia1), paragraph [0042] Note: Reactive power (Q) is the power (kvar) that oscillates between the battery and the motor to create magnetic fields, without performing mechanical work. When the inverter drives the motor in a way that creates high reactive current flow within the windings while maintaining a net zero torque. Thus, when the torque is zero, the reactive power increase and the real power remain stable).
Regarding claim 6, Kojima further discloses wherein after the causing, during control of the driving motor to drive the electric vehicle into operation according to the power demand information by the motor controller, the motor controller to regulate a control current of the driving motor according to the compensating heating current, so that the driving motor outputs a high-frequency oscillation current equal to the compensating heating current (paragraph [0033]-[0038]), the method further comprises:
acquiring a high-frequency oscillation current outputted by the driving motor after the regulation, and prompting a regulation failure if the high-frequency oscillation current is less than the compensating heating current and detecting a real-time temperature of the power battery, and prompting a temperature anomaly of the power battery when the real-time temperature is less than a lower limit of a preset normal temperature range (the process of figs 2 and 3 is repeatedly performed to make the temperature of the battery at the optimum required temperature, paragraph [0039]Note: the process is performed at one time interval and check the temperature again through the battery temperature sensor and repeat if needed); the battery sensor 22 calculate the battery temperature in real time and compare it with the required temperature in order to adjust the compensating current, see the steps of figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kojima discloses a power battery heating device for an electric vehicle (fig. 1), comprising:
a driving module (12+10, fig. 1),
a three-phase inverter (11, fig. 1), and
a controller (30, fig. 1), wherein the driving module comprises a motor controller and a driving motor (12+10, fig. 1); the motor controller is connected with the three-phase inverter , the controller, and the driving motor (12 is connected to 11, and it is further connected to 30, fig. 1);
the three-phase inverter is connected with the power battery and the driving motor (11 is connected with the battery and the motor 10, fig. 1);
the controller is connected with the power battery (the controller 30 is connected to the battery 21 fig. 1); and
the controller is configured to: acquire a heating power demand of the power battery (at step S104, the vehicle ECU30 or the motor ECU 12 judges whether the battery needs to be warmed up. When, for instance, the battery temperature acquired at step S101 is not higher than a predetermined value, battery warm-up is judged at step S104 to be necessary, so that processing proceeds to step S200, step s104, fig. 2);
acquire power demand information of the driving module of the electric vehicle in real time (the vehicle ECU 30 calculates a torque command (required drive torque) to be output from the drive motor 10 in accordance with a value sensed by the accelerator pedal sensor 13 and the information acquired through the vehicle network at step 102, paragraph [0030], fig. 2; Note: by reviewing the specification the power demand information includes torque demand information, rotational speed demand information, and the like, (PGPub (0020))), and determine a current heating power of the power battery according to the power demand information (in step s101 the current temperature of the battery is measured, paragraph [0030], fig. 2 );
when the current heating power is less than the heating power demand (We is less than the Wr, S203, fig. 2), acquire a compensating heating current according to the heating power demand (s201, fig. 3) and the current heating power (s202, fig. 3);
cause, during control of the driving motor to drive the electric vehicle into operation according to the power demand information by the motor controller (s206 shows the correction of d-axis current according to the power demand information in step s102, fig. 2, 3; where the d-axis current is adjusted by the operation of the motor controlled by the controller, paragraph [0026]), the motor controller to regulate a control current of the driving motor according to the compensating heating current, so that the driving motor outputs a high-frequency oscillation current equal to the compensating heating current (paragraph [0041]-[0043]), paragraph [0039]; Note: that ECU output a pulse signal to drive the motor, thus the compensating heating current to drive the motor is also in the form of oscillated form, paragraph [0026]-[0027] ); and
cause the power battery to perform self-heating according to the high-frequency oscillation current outputted by the driving motor (paragraph [0033]-[0034]).
However, Kojima is silent about the heating power demand of power battery is set by user.
Song discloses the electric vehicle power battery can be warm up according to the instruction of the user (paragraph [0040]-[0041], Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima’s battery heating system to include the instruction to heat the battery set by user as taught by Song, in order to provide flexible control of battery temperature, reduce unnecessary energy consumption, and ensure proper battery performance under different environmental conditions.
Regarding claim 8, Kojima further discloses wherein the power demand information comprises torque demand information and rotational speed demand information(step 102 shows the power demand information which is required drive torque, fig. 2, paragraph [0030]: Note the torque is directly related to the rotational speed) ; and the controller is further configured to: acquire driving information of the driving motor according to the torque demand information and the rotational speed demand information(s102, fig. 2); determine, according to the driving information, a driving current during the controlling of the driving motor to drive the electric vehicle into operation by the motor controller(paragraph [0070]); and determine the current heating power for heating the power 29battery according to the driving current(s205,fig. 3, paragraph [0070]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 9, Kojima further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: acquire a reactive power of the driving motor in real time(paragraph [0033] the equation shows the reactive power of the motor which can warm up the battery); acquire a maximum limit power of the motor controller (fig. 4 and 5 shows the value of the maximum limit for the power); and cause the motor controller to increase the control current of the driving motor according to the compensating heating current, the reactive power, and the maximum limit power, so that the driving motor outputs the high-frequency oscillation current equal to the compensating heating current(paragraph [0033]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Kojima further discloses a vehicle, comprising the power battery heating device according to claim 7 (see the rejection of claim 7) and a power battery associated with the power battery heating device (power battery 20 and its heating system , fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, Yaguchi (US 7,629,755).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859