DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on each of 11/28/2022 and 11/24/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claims 1 and 14, it is suggested that "at least one of R5 to R7 is each independently a substituted or unsubstituted o-biphenyl…" be changed to " at least one of R5 to R7 is
in claims 1 and 14 it is suggested that "at least one of R1 to R4 is each independently a group represented by one of Formula 2-1 to Formula 2-3" be changed to "at least one of R1 to R4 is.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. US-20230129854-A1 (hereinafter "Ahn").
Regarding claims 1-9 and 14-20, Ahn discloses a light-emitting device including at least one functional layer between a first electrode and a second electrode and including an aromatic compound represented by Formula 1 (¶ [0007]), wherein the at least one functional layer includes a light-emitting layer, a hole transport region between the first electrode and the light-emitting layer, and an electron transport region between the light-emitting layer and the second electrode, wherein the light-emitting layer includes the aromatic compound (¶ [0020]). Ahn discloses that the device exhibits excellent (high) luminous efficiency and having a low driving voltage (¶ [0005]). Ahn discloses examples of the aromatic compound represented by Formula 1 (¶ [0113]) including compound 5
(page 11), which corresponds to the claimed compound ET-1 and meets the claimed Formula 1-1 and 4-1 wherein:
X1 and X2 are each N;
R1 is a group represented by 2-1, 5-1, and 6-1, R2 and R3 are each an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and R4 is a hydrogen atom;
Ara and Arb are each an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms;
Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted arylene group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms;
A is a group represented by Formula 3;
Xa and Xb are each N and Xc is C(Rd);
Rb and Rc are each an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms; and
Ra is a connecting part to eh group represented by Formula 2-1.
It is noted that a compound of Formula 1-2 and variables X3 to X5 and R5 to R8 are not required to be present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. US-20230129854-A1 (hereinafter "Ahn") as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, Ahn discloses the device as described above with respect to claim 1.
Ahn does not specifically exemplify a device as described above further comprising a compound of the claimed Formula H-1 in the light-emitting layer. However, Ahn teaches the light-emitting layer may include a compound represented by Formula E-2a or Formula E-2b to be used as a phosphorescence host material (¶ [0143]) and teaches examples of the phosphorescence host material including compound E-2-11 (¶ [0148], page 26), which is a compound of the claimed Formula H-1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the phosphorescence host material as compound E-2-11, because it would have been choosing from the list of specifically exemplified phosphorescence host materials, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the phosphorescence host material in the light emitting layer of the device of Ahn and possessing the benefits taught by Ahn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Ahn's Formula E-2a or Formula E-2b having the beneficial properties of high luminous efficiency and having a low driving voltage taught by Ahn in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
Regarding claim 11, Ahn teaches the device as discussed above with respect to claim 10.
Ahn does not specifically exemplify a device as described above wherein the phosphorescence dopant material corresponds to one of the specific compounds claimed in claim 13. However, Ahn teaches that in Formula E-2b, Cbz1 and Cbz2 may be each independently an unsubstituted carbazole group or a carbazole group which is substituted with an aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms (¶ [0147]), and Ahn teaches examples of the aryl group include phenyl, biphenyl (¶ [0073]).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Ahn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the biphenyl substituent on Cbz1/Cbz2 of compound E-2-11, because Ahn teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as the phosphorescence host material in the light emitting layer of the device of Ahn and possess the beneficial properties of high luminous efficiency and having a low driving voltage taught by Ahn. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
The modified compound corresponds to the claimed compound 1-11.
Regarding claim 12, Ahn discloses the device as described above with respect to claim 1.
Ahn does not specifically exemplify a device as described above further comprising a compound of the claimed Formula D-1 in the light-emitting layer. However, Ahn teaches The light-emitting layer EML may include a compound represented by Formula M-a or Formula M-b to be used as a phosphorescence dopant material (¶ [0151]). and teaches examples of the phosphorescence dopant material including compound M-b-9 (¶ [0158], page 32), which is a compound of the claimed Formula D-1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the phosphorescence dopant material as compound M-b-9, because it would have been choosing from the list of specifically exemplified phosphorescence dopant materials, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the phosphorescence dopant material in the light emitting layer of the device of Ahn and possessing the benefits taught by Ahn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Ahn's Formula M-a or Formula M-b having the beneficial properties of high luminous efficiency and having a low driving voltage taught by Ahn in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
Regarding claim 13, Ahn teaches the device as discussed above with respect to claim 12.
Ahn does not specifically exemplify a device as described above wherein the phosphorescence dopant material corresponds to one of the specific compounds claimed in claim 13. However, Ahn teaches that in Formula M-b, R34 may be a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms (¶ [0156]), and Ahn teaches examples of the alkyl group include a t-butyl group (¶ [0070]).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Ahn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the hydrogen in the position corresponding to R34 with a t-butyl group in compound M-b-9, because Ahn teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as phosphorescence dopant material in the light emitting layer of the device of Ahn and possess the beneficial properties of high luminous efficiency and having a low driving voltage taught by Ahn. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Shin US-20140231786-A1 teaches a compound of Chemical Formula 2
(¶ [0050]).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786