DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 09/14/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 5, 12-19 and 21-23, remain pending in the application. Claim 20 has been cancelled. Claims 3-4 and 6-11 have been withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 112(b) rejections of claims 5, 15, 17, 18, 22 and 23 and the objection of claims 12, 16 and 19 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 07/09/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the upper sides of the inserts”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Claims 16, on which claim 23 depends, does not disclose upper sides of the inserts. For the purpose of examination, claim 23 will be interpreted as: The method of claim 16, wherein before joining the heat sink to each of the inserts, a lower side of the heat sink and the insert material from each of the semiconductor packages that extends along a single plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16, on which claim 19 depends, includes all the limitations of claim 19. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakajima et al., (United States Patent Number, US 7,151,311 B2), hereinafter referenced as Nakajima.
Regarding claim 1, Nakajima teaches a semiconductor package, comprising: a semiconductor die thermally coupled to a planar metal pad (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, semiconductor die, element #2 is thermally coupled with the planar metal pad, element #8, column 7, rows 12-15); an encapsulant body that encapsulates the semiconductor die (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, element #5, column 7, row 28) and comprises a recess that extends from an outer upper side of the encapsulant body towards a rear side of the planar metal pad (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, element #5 comprises a recess that extends from the upper side, element #5B towards the rear side of the metal pad, element #8B); and an insert arranged within the recess (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, insert formed by elements #6 and #7) that is thermally coupled to the planar metal pad (column 7, rows 30-33) and extends to the outer upper side of the encapsulant body (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, insert formed by elements #6 and #7 extend to the upper side, element #5B), wherein the insert that is arranged within the recess completely fills the recess (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, insert formed by elements #6 and #7 completely fills the recess), and comprises a curable polymer compound (column 7, rows 45-47).
Regarding claim 2, Nakajima teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Nakajima further teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the curable polymer compound comprises a matrix of pre-polymerized resin combined with a thermally conductive filler (column 7, rows 45-47).
Regarding claim 12, Nakajima teaches a method of forming a semiconductor package, the method comprising: thermally coupling a semiconductor die to a planar metal pad (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, semiconductor die, element #2 is thermally coupled with the planar metal pad, element #8, column 7, rows 12-15); forming an encapsulant body that encapsulates the semiconductor die (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, encapsulant element #5, column 7, row 28) and comprises a recess that extends from an outer upper side of the encapsulant body towards a rear side of the planar metal pad (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, element #5 comprises a recess that extends from the upper side, element #5B towards the rear side of the metal pad, element #8B); and providing an insert within the recess (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, insert formed by elements #6 and #7) that is thermally coupled to the planar metal pad (column 7, rows 30-33) completely fills the recess (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, insert formed by elements #6 and #7 completely fills the recess) and extends to the outer upper side of the encapsulant body (Fig.3 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, insert formed by elements #6 and #7 extend to the upper side, element #5B), wherein the insert that is arranged within the recess comprises a curable polymer compound (column 7, rows 45-47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 12, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2021/0057375 A1) in view of Masanori Tanaka, (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2021/0287968 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tanaka.
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches a semiconductor package, comprising: a semiconductor die (Fig.2A, element #110) thermally coupled to a planar metal pad (Fig.2A, element #110 is thermally coupled to element #120, paragraph [0021], rows 1-7); an encapsulant body that encapsulates the semiconductor die (Fig.2A, element #130) and comprises a recess that extends from an outer upper side of the encapsulant body towards a rear side of the planar metal pad (Fig.2A, element #130 has a recess that extend from the top side of element #130 towards the top side of element #120); and an insert arranged within the recess (Fig.2A, element #140) that is coupled to the planar metal pad that extends to the outer upper side of the encapsulant body (Fig.2A, element #140 is coupled to element #120 extends to the top side of element #130, paragraph [0025], rows 1-2), wherein the insert that is arranged within the recess completely fills the recess (Fig.2A, element #140 completely fills the recess), and comprises silicone or thermal interface material (paragraph [0024], rows 1-6).
Lim does not teach the insert is thermally coupled to the planar metal pad and comprises a curable polymer compound. Tanaka teaches the insert (Fig.12, element #70) is thermally coupled to the planar metal pad (Fig.12, element #70 is thermally coupled to element #41a1, paragraph [0048], rows 6-12) and comprises a curable polymer compound (paragraph [0035], rows 1-3). Thus, both references Lim and Tanaka teach an insert coupled to a planar metal pad and comprising an insulating material. A person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that the silicone or TIM disclosed by Lim could have been replaced with the curable polymer compound disclosed by Tanaka because both serve the same purpose of providing an insulating material coupled to a metal pad. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing a cooling agent for the cooler. As disclosed by Tanaka, thermally coupling the curable polymer to the planar metal pad results in curing the polymer and the formation of a strong connection between the two elements.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lim and Tanaka teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Lin does not teach the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the curable polymer compound comprises a matrix of pre-polymerized resin combined with a thermally conductive filler. Tanaka teaches, wherein the curable polymer compound comprises a matrix of pre-polymerized resin combined with a thermally conductive filler (paragraph [0035], rows 1-6). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka and disclose the curable polymer compound comprises a matrix of pre-polymerized resin combined with a thermally conductive filler. The matrix of pre-polymerized resin is a foundational component of the curable polymer which provides improved mechanical strength as compared to fully liquid resin systems, while the thermally conductive filler improves the heat transfer properties of the polymer.
Regarding claim 12, Lim teaches a method of forming a semiconductor package, the method comprising: thermally coupling a semiconductor die to a planar metal pad (Fig.2A, semiconductor die, element #110 is thermally coupled to metal pad, element #120, paragraph [0021], rows 1-7); forming an encapsulant body that encapsulates the semiconductor die (Fig.2A, element #130) and comprises a recess that extends from an outer upper side of the encapsulant body towards a rear side of the planar metal pad (Fig.2A, element #130 has a recess that extend from the top side of element #130 towards the top side of element #120); and providing an insert within the recess (Fig.2A, element #140) that is coupled to the planar metal pad, completely fills the recess and extends to the outer upper side of the encapsulant body (Fig.2A, element #140 completely fills the recess, is coupled to element #120, and extends to the top side of element #130, paragraph [0025], rows 1-2), wherein the insert that is arranged within the recess comprises silicone or thermal interface material (paragraph [0024], rows 1-6).
Lim does not teach the insert is thermally coupled to the planar metal pad and comprises a curable polymer compound. Tanaka teaches the insert (Fig.12, element #70) is thermally coupled to the planar metal pad (Fig.12, element #70 is thermally coupled to element #41a1, paragraph [0048], rows 6-12) and comprises a curable polymer compound (paragraph [0035], rows 1-3). Thus, both references Lim and Tanaka teach an insert coupled to a planar metal pad and comprising an insulating material. A person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that the silicone or TIM disclosed by Lim could have been replaced with the curable polymer compound disclosed by Tanaka because both serve the same purpose of providing an insulating material coupled to a metal pad. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing a cooling agent for the cooler. As disclosed by Tanaka, thermally coupling the curable polymer to the planar metal pad results in curing the polymer and the formation of a strong connection between the two elements.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lim and Tanaka teaches the method of claim 12 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Lim further teaches the method of claim 12, wherein providing the insert within the recess comprises filling the recess (Fig.7, steps #703 and #704, Fig.5, the recess is filled with the insert, element #140). Lin does not each providing a mixture of material that comprises a matrix of pre-polymerized resin combined with a thermally conductive filler. Tanaka teaches providing a mixture of material that comprises a matrix of pre-polymerized resin combined with a thermally conductive filler (paragraph [0035], rows 1-6). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka and disclose a mixture of material that comprises a matrix of pre-polymerized resin combined with a thermally conductive filler. The matrix of pre-polymerized resin is a foundational component of the curable polymer which provides improved mechanical strength as compared to fully liquid resin systems, while the thermally conductive filler improves the heat transfer properties of the polymer.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lim and Tanaka teaches the method of claims 12 and 13 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Lim teaches filling the recess with the insulator material (Fig.7, steps #703 and #704, Fig.5, the recess is filled with the insert, element #140). Lim does not teach wherein providing the insert within the recess further comprises: heating the mixture of material to a temperature that is below a curing temperature of the matrix but increases the viscosity of the mixture to reach a semi-liquid state and filling the recess with the mixture of material in the semi-liquid state. Tanaka teaches heating the mixture of material to a temperature that is below a curing temperature of the matrix but increases the viscosity of the mixture to reach a semi-liquid state and filling the recess with the mixture of material in the semi-liquid state (paragraph [0048], rows 2 and 13-17). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka and disclose wherein providing the insert within the recess further comprises: heating the mixture of material to a temperature that is below a curing temperature of the matrix but increases the viscosity of the mixture to reach a semi-liquid state and filling the recess with the mixture of material in the semi-liquid state. As disclosed by Tanaka, thermally coupling the semi-cured polymer to the planar metal pad results in curing the polymer, and the formation of a strong connection between the two elements (paragraph [0048], rows 13-17).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, in view of Tanaka, and in view of Kweon et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2019/0318994 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kweon.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lim and Tanaka teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Lim and Tanaka does not teach the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the encapsulant body comprises one or more overflow channels, wherein the one or more overflow channels each extend vertically into the encapsulant body from the outer upper side of the encapsulant body and extend laterally from the sidewalls of the recess to the outer edge sides of the encapsulant body. Kweon teaches wherein the encapsulant body (Fig.2, element #130, paragraph [0029], rows 3-10) comprises one or more overflow channels (Fig.2, elements #139), wherein the one or more overflow channels each extend vertically into the encapsulant body from the outer upper side of the encapsulant body (Fig.2, elements #139 extend vertically into the encapsulant body from the outer upper side of the encapsulant, paragraph [0031], rows 13-15), and extend laterally from the sidewalls of the recess to the outer edge sides of the encapsulant body (Fig.2, elements #139 extend from sidewalls or the recess, elements #137, to the outer edges of element #135 of the encapsulant body, element #130). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Kweon and disclose the encapsulant body comprises one or more overflow channels, wherein the one or more overflow channels each extend vertically into the encapsulant body from the outer upper side of the encapsulant body and extend laterally from the sidewalls of the recess to the outer edge sides of the encapsulant body. As disclosed by Kweon, the channels provide an overflow path for the insert material (element #180) to flow between the cavity and the outside walls of the semiconductor package.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lim and Tanaka teaches the method of claims 12 and 13 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Lim and Tanaka does not teach the method of claim 13, wherein the encapsulant body comprises one or more overflow channels, each extend vertically into the encapsulant body from the outer upper side of the encapsulant body and extend laterally from the sidewalls of the recess to the outer edge sides of the encapsulant body, and wherein the mixture of material is provided within the one or more overflow channels. Kweon teaches wherein the encapsulant body (Fig.2, element #130, paragraph [0029], rows 3-10) comprises one or more overflow channels (Fig.2, element #139), wherein the one or more overflow channels each extend vertically into the encapsulant body from the outer upper side of the encapsulant body (Fig.2, elements #139 extend vertically into the encapsulant body from the outer upper side of the encapsulant, paragraph [0031], rows 13-15), and extend laterally from the sidewalls of the recess to the outer edge sides of the encapsulant body (Fig.2, elements #139 extend from sidewalls or the recess, elements #137, to the outer edges of element #135 of the encapsulant body, element #130) and wherein the mixture of material is provided within the one or more overflow channels (Fig.2, element #180). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Kweon and disclose the encapsulant body comprises one or more overflow channels, wherein the one or more overflow channels each extend vertically into the encapsulant body from the outer upper side of the encapsulant body and extend laterally from the sidewalls of the recess to the outer edge sides of the encapsulant body. As disclosed by Kweon, the channels provide an overflow path for the insert material (element #180) to flow between the cavity and the outside walls of the semiconductor package.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ossimitz et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2015/0062825 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ossimitz in view of Lim and Tanaka and in view of Noriyuki Besshi et al., (United States Patent Number US 9,236,324 B2), hereinafter referenced as Besshi.
Regarding claim 16, Ossimitz teaches a method of assembling an electronics device, the method comprising: providing a plurality of semiconductor packages (Fig.2, rotated vertically with 180 degrees, element #102), where the semiconductor packages comprise power semiconductor chips, such as MOSFETs (paragraph [0045], rows 2-6). Ossimitz does not teach a semiconductor package that comprising a semiconductor die thermally coupled to a planar metal pad, an encapsulant body that encapsulates the semiconductor die, a plurality of leads exposed from the encapsulant body, a recess that extends from an outer upper side of the encapsulant body towards a rear side of the planar metal pad, and an insert arranged within the recess that is thermally coupled to the planar metal pad and extends to the outer upper side of the encapsulant body. Lim teaches a semiconductor package where the semiconductor package comprises power semiconductor chips, such as MOS transistors (paragraph [0017], rows 1-5) comprising a semiconductor die (Fig.2A, element #110) thermally coupled to a planar metal pad (Fig.2A, element #110 is thermally coupled to element #120, paragraph [0021], rows 1-7), an encapsulant body that encapsulates the semiconductor die (Fig.2A, element #130), a plurality of leads exposed from the encapsulant body (Fig.2A, elements #210 and #220), a recess that extends from an outer upper side of the encapsulant body towards a rear side of the planar metal pad (Fig.2A, element #130 has a recess that extend from the top side of element #130 towards the top side of element #120), and an insert arranged within the recess (Fig.2A, element #140) that is coupled to the planar metal pad and extends to the outer upper side of the encapsulant body (Fig.2A, element #140 is coupled to element #120 and extends to the top side of element #130, paragraph [0025], rows 1-2). Thus, both references Ossimitz and Lim teach semiconductor packages comprised of power semiconductor chips. A person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that the semiconductor packages disclosed by Ossimitz could have been replaced for the semiconductor packages disclosed by Lim because both are comprised of power semiconductor chips. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing power semiconductor chips that can be assemble to form an electronic device.
The combination of Ossimitz and Lim does not teach the insert is thermally coupled to the planar metal pad. Tanaka teaches the insert (Fig.12, element #70) is thermally coupled to the planar metal pad (Fig.12, element #70 is thermally coupled to element #41a1, paragraph [0048], rows 6-12). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka and disclose the insert is thermally coupled to the planar metal pad. As disclosed by Tanaka, thermally coupling an insert made of curable polymer to the planar metal pad results in curing the polymer and the formation of a strong connection between the two elements.
Ossimitz further teaches providing a circuit carrier (Fig.2 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, element#100, paragraph [0074], rows 1-3) that comprises a plurality of contact pads disposed on an upper side of the circuit carrier (Fig.2 rotated vertically with 180 degrees, elements #102 are electrically connected to the substrate #100 via wirebonds, element #120, and therefore contact pads must exist on the circuit carrier, paragraph [0074], rows 4-6); arranging the plurality of semiconductor packages on the circuit carrier with connection elements from each package facing the contact pads (Fig.2, rotated vertically with 180 degrees, element #102 are arranged on element #100 with the wirebonds, element #120 facing the pads). Ossimitz teaches the connection elements are wire bonds (paragraph [0074], rows 4-6). Ossimitz does not teach the connection elements are leads. Lim teaches the connection elements are leads (Fig.2A, elements #210 and #220). Therefore, the combination of Ossimitz and Lim teaches the plurality of leads from each package facing the contact pads. Thus, both references Ossimitz and Lim teach semiconductor packages comprised of connecting elements. A person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that the wirebonds disclosed by Ossimitz could have been replaced for the leads disclosed by Lim because both provide means of connecting the semiconductor packages. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing means of connecting the semiconductor devices.
Ossimitz further teaches the outer upper sides of each of the encapsulant bodies facing away from the circuit carrier (Fig.2, rotated vertically with 180 degrees, upper sides of elements #102 face away from element #100); arranging a heat sink over the plurality of semiconductor packages such that the heat sink contacts the upper sides of the semiconductor packages (Fig.2, rotated vertically with 180 degrees, element #200) and joining the heat sink to each of the upper sides of the semiconductor packages so as to form a thermally coupled connection between the heat sink and each of the semiconductor packages (paragraph [0076], rows 1-3). Lim teaches the inserts top side is coplanar with the upper side of the semiconductor package (Fig.2A, upper sides of elements #140 and #130 are coplanar). Therefore, the combination of Ossimitz and Lim teaches the heat sink contacts the upper sides at least some of the inserts, and joining the heat sink to each of the inserts so as to form a thermally coupled connection between the heat sink and each of the semiconductor packages.
Ossimitz teaches joining the heat sink to the semiconductor package comprises soldering or a hardenable mold (paragraph [0077], rows 1-3). The combination of Ossimitz, Lim and Tanaka does not teach wherein joining the heat sink to each of the inserts comprises flowing material from the inserts laterally away from the recesses. Besshi teaches wherein joining the heat sink to each of the inserts comprises flowing material from the inserts laterally away from the recesses (Fig.2a, 2b and 2c, show the material, element #9, column 5, rows 5-8, flowing laterally when the heat sink, element #8, column 5, row 3, is joined). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Besshi and disclose wherein joining the heat sink to each of the inserts comprises flowing material from the inserts laterally away from the recesses. As disclosed by Besshi, the material flowing laterally away from the recess seals the contact area between the heat sink and the package and prevents the formation of an air layer or voids between the insert and the heat sink, which would degrade the heat dissipation properties of the structure and compromise its electrical insulating properties (column 5, rows 59-64 and column 6, rows 21-26).
Lim teaches the insert from each semiconductor package comprises silicone or a thermal interface materials (paragraph [0024], rows 1-7). The combination of Ossimitz and Lim does not teach wherein the inserts from each of the semiconductor packages comprises a curable polymer compound. Tanaka teaches wherein the inserts from each of the semiconductor packages (Fig.12, element #70) comprises a curable polymer compound (paragraph [0035], rows 1-3). Thus, both references Lim and Tanaka teach an insert. A person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that the silicone insert disclosed by Lim could have been replaced for curable polymer compound insert disclosed by Tanaka because both provide means of connecting a heat sink to semiconductor packages. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing means of connecting the heat sink to semiconductor packages.
The combination of Ossimitz, Lim and Tanaka does not teach wherein joining the heat sink to each of the inserts comprises curing the curable polymer compound from each of the inserts. Besshi teaches the insert from each of the semiconductor packages (Fig.2a, element #9) comprises a curable polymer compound (column 5, rows 5-10), and wherein joining the heat sink to each of the inserts comprises curing the curable polymer compound from each of the inserts (column 5, rows 47-53). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Besshi and disclose the semiconductor packages comprises a curable polymer compound, and wherein joining the heat sink to each of the inserts comprises curing the curable polymer compound from each of the inserts. Curable polymers, such as the ones comprised of resins as disclosed by Besshi, have good electrical insulating and thermal conductive properties and can be easily molded. Curing the polymer in the process of attaching the heat sink results in hardening of the polymer which creates a strong mechanical connection between the semiconductor die and the heat sink while providing a path for heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ossimitz, Lim, Tanaka and Besshi teaches the method of claim 16 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Ossimitz further teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the joining process comprises forming an interface between abetween a lower side of the heat sink and the insert material from each of the semiconductor packages that extends along a single plane.
Claims 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ossimitz, in view of Lim, Tanaka, Besshi and in view of Wensen Hung et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2021/0343619 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hung.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ossimitz, Lim, Tanaka and Besshi teaches the method of claim 16 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Ossimitz, Lim, Tanaka and Besshi does not teach the method of claim 16, wherein before arranging the heat sink over the plurality of semiconductor packages, upper sides of the inserts are arranged at different heights relative to the upper side of the circuit carrier. Hung teaches wherein before arranging the heat sink over the plurality of semiconductor packages (Fig.9A, heat sink element #126, paragraph [0023], row 10-11, packages #108 and #106, paragraph [0023], rows 3-4), the upper sides of the thermal interface material over the different packages is arranged at different heights relative to the upper side of the circuit carrier (Fig.9A, upper sides are arranged at different heights relative to circuit carrier (Fig.9A, element #104, paragraph [0022], rows 1-2). Hung further teaches the thermal interface material is arranged in the recesses formed by elements #122 and is located inside the recesses, similar to the inserts located inside recesses disclosed by Lim, Tanaka and Besshi. Furthermore, the thermal interface material and the inserts have the same function, to connect the heat sink to the semiconductor packages while providing a heat dissipation path. Therefore, a person skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that, similar to the thermal interface material having the upper sides arranged at different heights relative to the upper side of the circuit carrier, the inserts can have the upper sides arranged at different heights relative to the upper side of the circuit carrier. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hung and disclose upper sides of the inserts are arranged at different heights relative to the upper side of the circuit carrier. As disclosed by Hung, the semiconductor devices may have different power consumption and generate different amounts of heat. Having the upper sides of the inserts arranged at different heights allows the control of the heat dissipation by designing the heat sink with different thicknesses on top of the different devices, which helps reduce thermal stress to do uneven generation of heat, while improving the conformability of the heat sink with the rest of the package (paragraph [0038], rows 11-13).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Ossimitz, Lim, Tanaka and Besshi teaches the method of claim 16 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Ossimitz, Lim, Tanaka and Besshi does not teach the method of claim 16, wherein before joining the heat sink to each of the inserts, lower side of the heat sink and the thermal interface material from each of the semiconductor packages that extends along a single plane (Fig.9B, lower side of the heat sink element #126, paragraph [0023], row 10-11, and the top sides on the thermal interface material above each package, elements #108 and #106, paragraph [0023], rows 3-4, are in a single plane for each package). As noted in the rejection of claim 18, Hung teaches the thermal interface material is arranged in the recesses formed by elements #122 and is located inside the recesses, similar to the inserts disclosed by Lim, Tanaka and Besshi. Furthermore, the thermal interface material and the inserts have the same function, to connect the heat sink to the semiconductor packages while providing a heat dissipation path. Therefore, a person skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that the thermal interface material and the insert material can be substituted. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a connection between the heat sink and the semiconductor packages while providing a heat dissipation path. Therefore, the combination of Ossimitz, Lim, Tanaka and Besshi and Hung teaches wherein joining the heat sink to each of the inserts forms an interface between the lower side of the heat sink and the insert material from each of the semiconductor packages that extends along a single plane. As shown by Hung, this improves the conformability of the heat sink with the rest of the package (paragraph [0038], rows 11-13).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ossimitz in view of Lim, Tanaka, Besshi and in view of Ralf Otremba et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2009/0230535 A1) hereinafter referenced as Otremba, and in view of Takashi Kanda et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2007/0222039 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kanda.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Ossimitz, Lim, Tanaka and Besshi teaches the method of claim 16 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Ossimitz teaches wherein the plurality of semiconductor packages is arranged on the circuit carrier using wire bonds (paragraph [0074], rows 4-6). The combination of Ossimitz, Lim, Tanaka and Besshi does not teach the method of claim 16, wherein the plurality of semiconductor packages is arranged on the circuit carrier with solder material between the leads and the contact pads. Otremba teaches, wherein the plurality of semiconductor packages is arranged on the circuit carrier with solder material between the leads and the contact pads (paragraph [0049], rows 7-9). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Otremba and disclose wherein the plurality of semiconductor packages is arranged on the circuit carrier with solder material between the leads and the contact pads. Using solder to form electrical connections between wires or leads and pads is well known in the art and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.03). The combination of Ossimitz, Lim, Tanaka, Besshi and Otremba does not teach wherein the heat treatment is a combined process that reflows the solder material and melts the material from the inserts. Kanda teaches wherein the heat treatment is a combined process that attaches the heat sink with the semiconducting packages and the circuit layer (paragraph [0043], rows 11-17), during each, the resin (element #34, paragraph [0042], rows 3-5) that connects the heat sink and the semiconductor packages and the conductive paste (element #12, paragraph [0042], rows 11) that connects the packages to the circuit board are soften (paragraph [0043], rows 5-11). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Kanda and disclose the heat treatment is a combined process that reflows/melts the materials used to connect the heat sink with the semiconducting packages and the circuit layer. This reduces the number of process steps required to assembly the semiconductor structure and thus reduces costs.
Kanda does not teach the conductive paste is a solder material between the semiconductor packages and circuit board. As noted above, Otremba teaches a solder between the semiconductor packages and circuit board. Therefore, a person skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that the conductive paste of Kanda can be replaced with the solder disclose of Otremba because they both serve the same purpose of providing electrical connections. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing electrical connections between the packages and circuit board. As a result, the combination of Otremba and Kanda teaches wherein the heat treatment is a combined process that reflows the solder material and melts the material from the inserts.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ossimitz in view of Lim, Tanaka, Besshi and Kweon.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Ossimitz, Lim, Tanaka and Besshi teaches the method of claim 16 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Ossimitz, Tanaka and Besshi does not teach the method of claim 16, wherein the encapsulant body comprises a plurality of overflow channels, wherein the overflow channels form an open passage between an upper region of the recess and each outer edge side of the encapsulant body, and wherein flowing the material from the inserts to form a level interface comprises pushing the material from the inserts through the overflow channels. Kweon teaches wherein the encapsulant body (Fig.2, element #130, paragraph [0029], rows 3-10) comprises a plurality of overflow channels (Fig.2, elements #139), wherein the overflow channels form an open passage between an upper region of the recess and each outer edge side of the encapsulant body (Fig.2, elements #139 form an open passage between top surface element #133 and each outer side, element #135, paragraph [0031], rows 13-15). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Kweon and disclose wherein the encapsulant body comprises a plurality of overflow channels, wherein the overflow channels form an open passage between an upper region of the recess and each outer edge side of the encapsulant body. As disclosed by Kweon, the channels provide an overflow path for the insert material (element #180) to flow between the cavity and the outside walls of the semiconductor package. As note in the rejection of claim 16, Besshi teaches wherein flowing the material from the inserts to form a level interface comprises pushing the material from the inserts laterally away from the recess. (Fig.2a, 2b and 2c, show the material, element #9, column 5, rows 5-8, flowing laterally when the heat sink, element #8, column 5, row 3, under pressure). It is obvious that, if channels were present on the same side as the insert material, when the heat sink is pressed on to the insert material some the insert material would be pushed through the overflow channels.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 09/14/2025 have been fully considered but they
are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRISTIAN A TIVARUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899