DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2018/033966 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-4, 10-20, Park teaches an electric element (OLED, paragraphs 19-23) the first electrode(anode), 130: the hole injection layer (paragraph 0021) 140: the hole transport layer, 141: a buffer layer (paragraph 0022) 150: the emitting layer, 151: the emitting auxiliary layer [0023] 160: the electron transport layer, 170: the electron injection layer (paragraph0024) 180: the second electrode (cathode). Park teaches that a compound can be used in the hole transport layer (paragraph 157). The compound (an amine-based compound ) can be represented by 1-1 (page 5):
Formula 1-1 shows X1 and X2 as CH; X3 and X4 as CZ3 and CZ4 as Z3 and Z4 are bonded together to form an naphthyl ring system; T2 = Formula 2 (L1 = single bond; Ar1 and Ar2 = phenyl); a1 = 0; a2 = 1; 1-1 lacks at least one of Z1 to Z4 represented by Formula 2.
Formula 1-1 is a derivative of generic Formula (1) (page 3):
Formula 1-1 corresponds to generic Formula (1) all R(s) = H; Ar1 and Ar2 = phenyl; A = naphthyl.
.
The office notes that the R groups of generic Formula (1) are independently defined by a finite set of options which are viewed as functionally equivalent substituents which upon selection gives rise to obvious variants of generic Formula (1), absent unexpected results.
One such variant reading on applicants’ Formula 1 is best viewed as a modification of Park’s 1-1 wherein R1 is represented by -U-NRaRb (corresponding to applicants’ Formula 2), (above in paragraph 55); all remaining R(s) = H ;L’ as (U) is a single bond and Ra and Ra are aryl or heteroaryl groups; A = phenyl (corresponding to applicants’ A1) fused to A2 as phenyl (Formula 1A); applicants’ T2 is a diphenylamine group.
[The office notes the U is not defined in the reference which is viewed as a typo as L appears to be the correct symbol. For purposes of examination U will be treated as L’ (paragraph 55).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have made a variety of derivatives of Park’s generic Formula (1) by selecting various functional equivalent substituents which would have included the above variant which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claims 1, 10, 12).
The hole transport layer is viewed as an interlayer between the anode and the emitting layer(above) (per claims 2-4).
Park’s modified 1-1 shows A2 as phenyl (per claim 11)
Park’s modified 1-1 shows fused rings at Z3 and Z4; therefore Z1 or Z2 which corresponds to Park’s R1 can be the carbon bonded to the amino group Formula 2 with the remaining group as H (per claims 13-14)
Park’s modified 1-1 shows a1 = 0; a2 = 1 (per claim 15)
Park’s modified 1-1 shows one of R1 or R2 as Formula 2; all remaining R(s) = H (per claim 16)
Park’s modified 1-1 shows Formula 2 (L1 = single bond; Ar1 and Ar2 = phenyl), 2A-1 (per claims 17-19)
Park’s modified 1-1 reads on applicants’
wherein R1-R3 and R5 = H; T2 and T11 = Formula 2 (L1 = single bond; Ar1 and Ar2 = phenyl) (per claim 20).
Regarding Claim 7, Park a display device including the organic electric element (OLED); and a control part driving the display apparatus (paragraph 84) (per claim 7).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable overpark (US 2018/033966 A1) in view of Seki (US 2013/0105785).
Regarding Claims 8-9, Park teaches the OLED used in a transistor (paragraph 85) but fails to mention the remaining components.
Seki teaches an image display apparatus including an organic light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor (TFT) device wherein the anode or a cathode of the organic light-emitting device is connected to a drain electrode or a source electrode of the TFT device. The thin-film transistor device serves as a device configured to apply an electrical current to the organic light-emitting device (paragraph 52). The organic light-emitting device also contains a color filter (paragraph 50).
As both Park and Seki teaches organic light-emitting devices and Seki teaches an organic light-emitting device configured in an electronic apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have used the organic light-emitting device of Park in known application areas which would have included in an electronic apparatus as taught by Seki which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claims 8-9).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable overpark (US 2018/033966 A1) in view of Hwang (US 2016/0190450 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Park teaches the invention of claim 1, but fails to mention capping layers.
Hwang teaches an OLED with the following layering:
first capping layer, first electrode, organic layer, second electrode, and second capping layer, wherein layers of each structure are sequentially stacked in the stated order (paragraph 148). The first capping layer and the second capping layer may help improve external luminous efficiency based on the principle of constructive interference (paragraph 260).
The office interprets the above to mean that before the filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the OLED of Park by adding a capping layer outside of the first and second electrodes since Hwang teach this configuration may improve luminous efficiency, absent unexpected results (per claim 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to show:
a capping layer located outside the first electrode or located outside the second electrode, wherein the capping layer comprises the amine-based compound (per claim 5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786