DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on March 23, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 7, 9, 12, 14, 16-21, 27, 29, 30, 32, 34, 36, and 40 are presently pending with claims 1, 20-21, and 40 being independent. Claim 30 is an original claim. Claims 2-6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15, 22-26, 28, 31, 33, 35, and 37-39 are canceled. Claims 7, 9, 12, 14, 16-17, 19, 27, 29, 32, and 34 have been previously presented. Claims 1, 18, 20-21, 36, and 40 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, pages 2-8, filed March 23, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 20, Applicant argues that Pelletier et al. (US 2013/0242730 A1; hereinafter Pelletier) does not disclose and would not have suggested that “WTRU 102 itself (as opposed to the data being transmitted by the WTRU 102) has a priority, and Pelletier does not disclose and would not have suggested determining PRACH configuration based on a priority of the WTRU 102. To the contrary, the determination of Pelletier is made at a time of transmission because Pelletier discloses that the determination is based on a source type of data being transmitted or a current state (e.g., dormant) of the WTRU 102.” Applicant disagrees with the assertion that “Pelletier’s priority is not limited to merely a priority of data, but is also based on WTRU attributes (i.e., characteristics of the WTRU itself).” Applicant asserts that “the selection based on the capabilities of a WTRU disclosed by Pelletier is different than a selection based on a priority of the WTRU itself.” However, the rejection does not equate the capabilities of the WTRU with its priority. Rather Pelletier teaches that “priority may also be a function of WTRU capabilities,” including support for a specific feature or application class (¶ [0146]). The WTRU’s capabilities provide a basis for determining a priority; they are not themselves substituted for the claimed priority. Pelletier further teaches that a first configuration may be associated with a first priority level and a second configuration may be associated with a second priority level (¶ [0137]). The WTRU indicates priority information during preamble transmission by selecting a PRACH resource or PRACH opportunity as a function of the priority level associated with the procedure (¶¶ [0152]-[0156]). Pelletier provides a first PRACH for a procedure initiated with a first priority and a second PRACH for a procedure initiated with a second priority. These teachings support the finding that the selection is based on a priority applicable to the WTRU’s random access and determined using characteristics of the WTRU itself, rather than being limited to the priority of particular data. Applicant’s identification of priority and capability as distinct information do not establish that a priority cannot be determined using capability as a factor. Moreover, making the selection at the time of transmission does not negate reliance on that priority, and the recited selection does not require the priority to be determined independently of the WTRU’s capabilities or at a particular earlier time. Accordingly, Applicant’s asserted distinction does not overcome the cited teachings of Pelletier and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding independent claims 21 and 40, Applicant argues that “Pelletier does not disclose and would not have suggested that the PRACH configuration used to perform an uplink transmission is based on a priority of the WTRU 102 itself. To the contrary, the determination of Pelletier is made at a time of transmission because Pelletier discloses that the determination is based on a source type of data being transmitted or a current state (e.g., dormant) of the WTRU 102. A determination of a priority of the WTRU itself is different than a determination of capabilities of the WTRU. As the PRACH configuration used to perform the uplink transmission of Pelletier is not based on a priority of the WTRU 102 itself (as opposed to the data being transmitted or the capabilities of the WTRU 102), the Node-B 140 of Pelletier would not be able to determine a priority of the WTRU 102 based on a determination of the PRACH configuration used for transmission.” However, the rejection does not equate the WTRU’s capabilities with its priority. Pelletier teaches that priority may be a function of WTRU capabilities; thus, the capabilities provide a basis for determining the priority, rather than being substituted for the priority itself. Pelletier further associates first and second configurations with respective first and second priority levels (¶ [0137]) and teaches that the WTRU indicates priority information during preamble transmission (¶ [0152]). The WTRU may select a first PRACH for a procedure initiated with a first priority and a second PRACH for a procedure initiated with a second priority (¶ [0155]). Accordingly, the selected PRACH serves as an indication of the priority applicable to the transmitting WTRU’s random access. Pelletier also teaches that the time-frequency resource used to transmit the random access preamble may be unambiguously identified, (¶ [0094]), and that the network provides enhanced service to requests indicating high priority or best-effort handling of low-priority service requests (¶ [0168]). These teachings suggest configuring the receiving network node to identify the first or second PRACH resource used by the WTRU and apply the corresponding configuration to priority association to determine the WTRU’s indicated first or second priority. This allows the determination of the priority indicated by the WTRU, not merely its underlying capabilities. Moreover, selecting the PRACH configuration at the time of transmission does not prevent the network node form determining the indicated priority upon receiving the preamble. Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the cited teachings and the rejection of claims 21 and 40 is maintained.
The applicant also argues that the dependent claims 7, 9, 12, 14, 16-19, 27, 29-30, 32, 34, and 36 are patentable over the cited references for the same reasons set forth for the independent claims. Since applicant’s arguments related to the independent claims are not persuasive to overcome the §103 rejection, the rejection of all dependent claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, 12, 14, 16-18, 20-21, 27, 29-30, 32, 34, 36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier et al. (US 2013/0242730 A1; hereinafter Pelletier) in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2021/0058971 A1; hereinafter MolavianJazi).
Regarding claim 1, Pelletier teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (read as WTRU) (Fig. 1B, element 102 UE; ¶ [0040] Example of WTRU.),
the method comprising:
selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration from a group including at least a first PRACH configuration associated with a first group (read as configure PRACH resources) and a second PRACH configuration associated with a second group (read as configure additional PRACH resources) (¶ [0128] Methods to configure additional PRACH resources; methods to determine a second set of PRACH resources within configured resource sets.; ¶ [0137] A priority level may be associated with a configuration used to perform transmission. A WTRU may be configured to determine which of a plurality of configurations to use when performing an uplink transmission.)
wherein the first and second PRACH configurations are different (¶ [0191] The second set uses different preamble format.),
the selection is based on a priority of the UE (read as WTRU) (¶ [0146] Priority may be a function of WTRU capabilities.; ¶ [0152] The WTRU may indicate priority information when performing preamble transmission (MSG1) during random access procedure. The WTRU may perform PRACH selection, PRACH opportunity selection, and/or PRACH length selection.),
transmitting a random access preamble in accordance with the selected PRACH configuration as part of a contention free random access procedure (¶ [0099] Depending on whether or not the WTRU is assigned dedicated RACH resources, for example, a specific preamble, the RA procedure may be either contention-free (CFRA) or contention-based (CBRA). ¶ [0155] The WTRU may be configured with multiple PRACHs. A PRACH may refer to a specific set of PRACH resources.; ¶ [0157] The WTRU may transmit the preamble on the selected first set of PRBs.),
Pelletier does not explicitly teach the first PRACH configuration comprises a first list of PRACH occasions, the second PRACH configuration comprises a second list of PRACH occasions, the first and second lists of PRACH occasions are different, the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) resources, the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of SSB resources, and the first and second lists of SSB resources are different.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches the first PRACH configuration comprises a first list of PRACH occasions, the second PRACH configuration comprises a second list of PRACH occasions, the first and second lists of PRACH occasions are different (¶ [0174] The list of PRACH occasions (ROs) as indicated by RRC parameter ra-OccasionList includes PRACH repetition.; ¶ [0176] A first UE of a first UE-type can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as one or more of a first set of RACH occasions. A second UE of a second UE-type can be configured with a second PRACH configuration, such as one or more of a second set of RACH occasions. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.),
the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) resources (read as first set of DL RS resources), the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of SSB resources (read as second set of DL RS resources), and the first and second lists of SSB resources are different (¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of RACH occasions and a first set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. A second UE can be configured with a second set of PRACH configuration, such as a second set of RACH occasions and a second set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be an SSB resource associated with PRACH.; ¶ [0218] Each PRACH repetition group is associated with a different DL RS, such as a different SS/PBCH block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 7, Pelletier does not explicitly teach wherein the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of CSI- RS resources, and the first and second lists of CSI-RS resources are different.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of CSI- RS resources, and the first and second lists of CSI-RS resources are different (¶ [0174] The list of ROs as indicated by RRC parameter ra-OccasionList includes PRACH repetition associated with a CSI-RS index indicated by csi-RS.; ¶ [0176] A first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of RACH occasions and a first set of DL RS resources. A second PRACH configuration, such as a second set of RACH occasions and a second set of DL RS resources. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be a CSI-RS resource associated with PRACH.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 9, Pelletier teaches wherein the first PRACH configuration has a first set of preamble indexes per PRACH occasion, the second PRACH configuration has a second set of preamble indexes per PRACH occasion, and the first and second sets of preamble indexes do not overlap (¶ [0070] A first PRACH configuration (e.g., first set of PRACH resources). A second PRACH configuration (e.g., a second set of PRACH resources).; ¶ [0071] A WTRU may be configured to determine a second set of PRACH preambles, wherein the second set may utilize a second rootSequenceIndex, the second set may utilize a grouping of preambles of a first set, and/or the second set may define more (or less) than 64 preambles. A WTRU may be configured to utilize PRACH resources with different preamble formats.; ¶ [0206] Resources corresponding to a second set may include the first PRACH occasion. Such a scheme may be used for the initial preamble transmission. Preamble retransmissions may use a resource determined according to a different method, for example, as a function of the PRACH occasion used for the initial preamble transmission for a RACH procedure.; ¶ [0217] There may be no overlap between PRACH resources associated with the first set and the PRACH resources with the second set.).
Regarding claim 12, Pelletier does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of preamble indexes is associated with a first list of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, the second set of preamble indexes is associated with a second list of CSI- RS resources, and the first and second lists of CSI-RS resources are different.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the first set of preamble indexes is associated with a first list (read as first set) of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, the second set (read as second set) of preamble indexes is associated with a second list of CSI- RS resources, and the first and second lists of CSI-RS resources are different (¶ [0096] The PRACH preamble is selected by an explicit indication of the preamble index associated with the DL RS selected for PRACH.; ¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first set of PRACH preambles and first set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. A second UE can be configured with a second set of PRACH preambles and a second set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be a CSI-RS resource associated with PRACH.; ¶ [0218] Different groups can be associated with a different DL RS, such as different CSI-RS resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 14, Pelletier does not explicitly teach wherein the first PRACH configuration includes a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource configuration, the second PRACH configuration includes a second PUSCH resource configuration, and the first and second PUSCH resource configurations are different.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the first PRACH configuration includes a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource configuration (read as a first set of PUSCH occasions), the second PRACH configuration includes a second PUSCH resource configuration (read as a second set of PUSCH occasions), and the first and second PUSCH resource configurations are different (¶ [0175] A PRACH configuration can include PUSCH occasions.; ¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of PUSCH occasions. A second UE can be configured with a second PRACH configuration, such as a second set of PUSCH occasions. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 16, Pelletier teaches wherein the selection is based on the priority of the UE, the first group (read as first configuration) is associated with a first priority, the second group (read as second configuration) is associated with a second priority (¶ [0137] A WTRU can be configured to determine which of a plurality of configurations to use when performing an uplink transmission. The first configuration may be associated with a first priority level and a second configuration may be associated with a second priority level.),
the second priority is higher than the first priority (¶ [0168] A first priority may indicate a low priority level.),
the first PRACH configuration is selected (read as determine which configuration to use) if the UE has the first priority, and the second PRACH configuration is selected if the UE has the second priority (¶ [0137] WTRU may be configured to determine which of a plurality of configurations to use when performing uplink transmission. The first configuration may be associated with a first priority level and a second configuration may be associated with a second priority level.).
Regarding claim 17, Pelletier teaches wherein the selection is further based on a type of the UE (¶ [0130] The term Multiple PRACH UE (MPUE) refers to WTRUs that may support and/or operate according to a configuration with a plurality of PRACH resource sets/configurations.; ¶ [0131] Single PRACH UE (SPUE) refers to legacy WTRUs.; ¶ [0135] The first set of PRACH resources may generally refer to PRACH resources that may be used by SPUEs.; ¶ [0136] The second set of PRACH resources may refer to PRACH resources that are implemented in addition to the PRACH resources that may be utilized by SPUEs (i.e., by MPUEs).; ¶ [0228] SPUE may be configured according to existing method. MPUE may be configured with additional parameter that the MPUE may derive an additional group of preambles. The WTRU may select a preamble for transmission that corresponds to a second set of PRACH resources.),
the second group (read as second set) is associated with a set of one or more UE types (read as MPUE) (¶ [0130] The term Multiple PRACH UE (MPUE) refers to WTRUs that may support and/or operate according to a configuration with a plurality of PRACH resource sets/configurations.; ¶ [0131] Single PRACH UE (SPUE) refers to legacy WTRUs.; ¶ [0135] The first set of PRACH resources may generally refer to PRACH resources that may be used by SPUEs.; ¶ [0136] The second set of PRACH resources may refer to PRACH resources that are implemented in addition to the PRACH resources that may be utilized by SPUEs (i.e., by MPUEs).), and
the second PRACH configuration (read as second set of PRACH resources) is selected if the type of the UE is within the set of one or more UE types (read as MPUEs) (¶ [0136] The second set of PRACH resources may refer to PRACH resources that are implemented in addition to the PRACH resources that may be utilized by SPUEs (i.e., by MPUEs).; ¶ [0228] The WTRU may select a preamble for transmission that corresponds to a second set of PRACH resources.).
Regarding claim 18, Pelletier teaches wherein the method is for establishing a connection with a network node to obtain a service (¶ [0080] Radio Resource Control (RRC) may handle the control plane signaling and the exchange of layer 3 messages between enhanced Node B (eNB) and WTRU.; ¶ [0098] The WTRU may initiate the RA procedure when the WTRU attempts to obtain the initial access to the network to establish an RRC connection.), and
the selection is further based on a priority or a type of the service (¶ [0070] A first PRACH configuration (e.g., first set of PRACH resources) may be used for a first set of functions (and/or a first traffic priority) and a second PRACH configuration (e.g., a second set of PRACH resources) may be used for a second set of functions (and/or a second traffic priority).; ¶ [0137] A priority may be associated with configuration used to perform transmission. The first configuration may be associated with a first priority level and a second configuration may be associated with a second priority level.; ¶ [0154] The WTRU may select a preamble group as a function of the priority level associated with the procedure.).
Regarding claim 20, Pelletier teaches a user equipment (UE) (read as WTRU) adapted to (Fig. 1B, element 102 UE; ¶ [0040] Example of WTRU.):
select a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration from a group including at least a first PRACH configuration associated with a first group (read as configure PRACH resources) and a second PRACH configuration associated with a second group (read as configure additional PRACH resources) (¶ [0128] Methods to configure additional PRACH resources; methods to determine a second set of PRACH resources within configured resource sets.; ¶ [0137] A priority level may be associated with a configuration used to perform transmission. A WTRU may be configured to determine which of a plurality of configurations to use when performing an uplink transmission.)
wherein the first and second PRACH configurations are different (¶ [0191] The second set uses different preamble format.),
the selection is based on a priority of the UE (read as WTRU) (¶ [0146] Priority may be a function of WTRU capabilities.; ¶ [0152] The WTRU may indicate priority information when performing preamble transmission (MSG1) during random access procedure. The WTRU may perform PRACH selection, PRACH opportunity selection, and/or PRACH length selection.),
transmit a random access preamble in accordance with the selected PRACH configuration as part of a contention free random access procedure (¶ [0099] Depending on whether or not the WTRU is assigned dedicated RACH resources, for example, a specific preamble, the RA procedure may be either contention-free (CFRA) or contention-based (CBRA). ¶ [0155] The WTRU may be configured with multiple PRACHs. A PRACH may refer to a specific set of PRACH resources.; ¶ [0157] The WTRU may transmit the preamble on the selected first set of PRBs.),
Pelletier does not explicitly teach the first PRACH configuration comprises a first list of PRACH occasions, the second PRACH configuration comprises a second list of PRACH occasions, the first and second lists of PRACH occasions are different, the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) resources, the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of SSB resources, and the first and second lists of SSB resources are different.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches the first PRACH configuration comprises a first list of PRACH occasions, the second PRACH configuration comprises a second list of PRACH occasions, the first and second lists of PRACH occasions are different (¶ [0174] The list of PRACH occasions (ROs) as indicated by RRC parameter ra-OccasionList includes PRACH repetition.; ¶ [0176] A first UE of a first UE-type can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as one or more of a first set of RACH occasions. A second UE of a second UE-type can be configured with a second PRACH configuration, such as one or more of a second set of RACH occasions. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.),
the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) resources (read as first set of DL RS resources), the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of SSB resources (read as second set of DL RS resources), and the first and second lists of SSB resources are different (¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of RACH occasions and a first set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. A second UE can be configured with a second set of PRACH configuration, such as a second set of RACH occasions and a second set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be an SSB resource associated with PRACH.; ¶ [0218] Each PRACH repetition group is associated with a same DL RS, such as a same SS/PBCH block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 21, Pelletier teaches a method performed by a network node (Fig. 1C, element 140 Node-B; ¶ [0049] The RAN may include Node-Bs, which may each include transceivers for communicating with WTRUs.),
the method comprising:
receiving a random access preamble transmitted by a user equipment (UE) as part of a contention free random access procedure (¶ [0099] Depending on whether or not the WTRU is assigned dedicated RACH resources, for example, a specific preamble, the RA procedure may be either contention-free (CFRA) or contention-based (CBRA). ¶ [0155] The WTRU may be configured with multiple PRACHs. A PRACH may refer to a specific set of PRACH resources.; ¶ [0157] The WTRU may transmit the preamble on the selected first set of PRBs.);
determining a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration (read as time-frequency resources) that was used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble (¶ [0094] A Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI) may be used to indicate scheduling of the Random Access Response (RAR) on PDCCH, and may unambiguously identify which time-frequency resource was used by a WTRU to transmit the random access preamble.);
determining that the UE has a first priority if the PRACH configuration of the received random access preamble is determined to be a first PRACH configuration (¶ [0137] The first configuration may be associated with a first priority level.; ¶ [0146] Priority may be a function of WTRU capabilities.; ¶ [0152] The WTRU may indicate priority information when performing preamble transmission (MSG1) during random access procedure. The WTRU may perform PRACH selection, PRACH opportunity selection, and/or PRACH length selection.),
determining that the UE has a second priority if the PRACH configuration of the received random access preamble is determined to be a second PRACH configuration (¶ [0137] The second configuration may be associated with a second priority level.; ¶ [0146] Priority may be a function of WTRU capabilities.; ¶ [0152] The WTRU may indicate priority information when performing preamble transmission (MSG1) during random access procedure. The WTRU may perform PRACH selection, PRACH opportunity selection, and/or PRACH length selection.),
wherein the first and second PRACH configurations are different (¶ [0191] The second set uses different preamble format.).
Pelletier does not explicitly teach wherein the first PRACH configuration comprises a first list of PRACH occasions, and the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) resources; and the second PRACH configuration comprises a second list of PRACH occasions, the first and second lists of PRACH occasions are different, the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of SSB resources, and the first and second lists of SSB resources are different.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the first PRACH configuration comprises a first list of PRACH occasions, and the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) resources (¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of RACH occasions and a first set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. A second UE can be configured with a second set of PRACH configuration, such as a second set of RACH occasions and a second set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be an SSB resource associated with PRACH.; ¶ [0218] Each PRACH repetition group is associated with a different DL RS, such as a different SS/PBCH block.); and
the second PRACH configuration comprises a second list of PRACH occasions, the first and second lists of PRACH occasions are different, the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of SSB resources, and the first and second lists of SSB resources are different (¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of RACH occasions and a first set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. A second UE can be configured with a second set of PRACH configuration, such as a second set of RACH occasions and a second set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be an SSB resource associated with PRACH.; ¶ [0218] Each PRACH repetition group is associated with a different DL RS, such as a different SS/PBCH block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 27, wherein the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of CSI- RS resources, and the first and second lists of CSI-RS resources are different.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of CSI- RS resources, and the first and second lists of CSI-RS resources are different (¶ [0174] The list of ROs as indicated by RRC parameter ra-OccasionList includes PRACH repetition associated with a CSI-RS index indicated by csi-RS.; ¶ [0176] A first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of RACH occasions and a first set of DL RS resources. A second PRACH configuration, such as a second set of RACH occasions and a second set of DL RS resources. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be a CSI-RS resource associated with PRACH.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 29, Pelletier teaches wherein the first PRACH configuration has a first set of preamble indexes per PRACH occasion, the second PRACH configuration has a second set of preamble indexes per PRACH occasion, and the first and second sets of preamble indexes do not overlap (¶ [0070] A first PRACH configuration (e.g., first set of PRACH resources). A second PRACH configuration (e.g., a second set of PRACH resources).; ¶ [0071] A WTRU may be configured to determine a second set of PRACH preambles, wherein the second set may utilize a second rootSequenceIndex, the second set may utilize a grouping of preambles of a first set, and/or the second set may define more (or less) than 64 preambles. A WTRU may be configured to utilize PRACH resources with different preamble formats.; ¶ [0206] Resources corresponding to a second set may include the first PRACH occasion. Such a scheme may be used for the initial preamble transmission. Preamble retransmissions may use a resource determined according to a different method, for example, as a function of the PRACH occasion used for the initial preamble transmission for a RACH procedure.; ¶ [0217] There may be no overlap between PRACH resources associated with the first set and the PRACH resources with the second set.), and
determining the PRACH configuration (read as time-frequency resource) of the received random access preamble comprises determining whether a preamble index of the received random access preamble is in the first set or the second set (¶ [0094] A Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI) may be used to indicate scheduling of the Random Access Response (RAR) on PDCCH, and may unambiguously identify which time-frequency resource was used by a WTRU to transmit the random access preamble.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 30, Pelletier does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of preamble indexes is associated with a first list of synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) resources, the second set of preamble indexes is associated with a second list of SSB resources, and the first and second lists of SSB resources are different.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the first set of preamble indexes (read as PRACH configuration) is associated with a first list of synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) resources (read as first set of DL RS resources), (¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of RACH occasions and a first set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. A second UE can be configured with a second set of PRACH configuration, such as a second set of RACH occasions and a second set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be an SSB resource associated with PRACH.; ¶ [0218] Each PRACH repetition group is associated with a same DL RS, such as a same SS/PBCH block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 32, Pelletier does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of preamble indexes is associated with a first list of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, the second set of preamble indexes is associated with a second list of CSI- RS resources, and the first and second lists of CSI-RS resources are different.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the first set of preamble indexes is associated with a first list (read as first set) of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, the second set (read as second set) of preamble indexes is associated with a second list of CSI- RS resources, and the first and second lists of CSI-RS resources are different (¶ [0096] The PRACH preamble is selected by an explicit indication of the preamble index associated with the DL RS selected for PRACH.; ¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first set of PRACH preambles and first set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. A second UE can be configured with a second set of PRACH preambles and a second set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be a CSI-RS resource associated with PRACH.; ¶ [0218] Different groups can be associated with a different DL RS, such as different CSI-RS resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 34, Pelletier does not explicitly teach wherein the first PRACH configuration includes a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource configuration, the second PRACH configuration includes a second PUSCH resource configuration, and the first and second PUSCH resource configurations are different.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the first PRACH configuration includes a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource configuration (read as a first set of PUSCH occasions), the second PRACH configuration includes a second PUSCH resource configuration (read as a second set of PUSCH occasions), and the first and second PUSCH resource configurations are different (¶ [0175] A PRACH configuration can include PUSCH occasions.; ¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of PUSCH occasions. A second UE can be configured with a second PRACH configuration, such as a second set of PUSCH occasions. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Regarding claim 36, Pelletier teaches wherein the second priority is higher than the first priority (¶ [0168] A first priority may indicate a low priority level.).
Regarding claim 40, Pelletier teaches a network node adapted to (Fig. 1C, element 140 Node-B; ¶ [0049] The RAN may include Node-Bs, which may each include transceivers for communicating with WTRUs.):
receive a random access preamble transmitted by a user equipment (UE) as part of a contention free random access procedure (¶ [0099] Depending on whether or not the WTRU is assigned dedicated RACH resources, for example, a specific preamble, the RA procedure may be either contention-free (CFRA) or contention-based (CBRA). ¶ [0155] The WTRU may be configured with multiple PRACHs. A PRACH may refer to a specific set of PRACH resources.; ¶ [0157] The WTRU may transmit the preamble on the selected first set of PRBs.);
determine a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration (read as time-frequency resources) that was used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble (¶ [0094] A Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI) may be used to indicate scheduling of the Random Access Response (RAR) on PDCCH, and may unambiguously identify which time-frequency resource was used by a WTRU to transmit the random access preamble.);
determine that the UE has a first priority if the PRACH configuration of the received random access preamble is determined to be a first PRACH configuration (¶ [0137] The first configuration may be associated with a first priority level.; ¶ [0146] Priority may be a function of WTRU capabilities.; ¶ [0152] The WTRU may indicate priority information when performing preamble transmission (MSG1) during random access procedure. The WTRU may perform PRACH selection, PRACH opportunity selection, and/or PRACH length selection.),
determine that the UE has a second priority if the PRACH configuration of the received random access preamble is determined to be a second PRACH configuration (¶ [0137] The second configuration may be associated with a second priority level.; ¶ [0146] Priority may be a function of WTRU capabilities.; ¶ [0152] The WTRU may indicate priority information when performing preamble transmission (MSG1) during random access procedure. The WTRU may perform PRACH selection, PRACH opportunity selection, and/or PRACH length selection.),
wherein the first and second PRACH configurations are different (¶ [0191] The second set uses different preamble format.).
Pelletier does not explicitly teach wherein the first PRACH configuration comprises a first list of PRACH occasions, and the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) resources; and the second PRACH configuration comprises a second list of PRACH occasions, the first and second lists of PRACH occasions are different, the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of SSB resources, and the first and second lists of SSB resources are different
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the first PRACH configuration comprises a first list of PRACH occasions, and the first list of PRACH occasions is associated with a first list of synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) resources (¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of RACH occasions and a first set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. A second UE can be configured with a second set of PRACH configuration, such as a second set of RACH occasions and a second set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be an SSB resource associated with PRACH.; ¶ [0218] Each PRACH repetition group is associated with a different DL RS, such as a different SS/PBCH block.); and
the second PRACH configuration comprises a second list of PRACH occasions, the first and second lists of PRACH occasions are different, the second list of PRACH occasions is associated with a second list of SSB resources, and the first and second lists of SSB resources are different (¶ [0176] A first UE can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as a first set of RACH occasions and a first set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. A second UE can be configured with a second set of PRACH configuration, such as a second set of RACH occasions and a second set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. The first PRACH configuration and the second PRACH configuration can be different.; ¶ [0179] A DL RS can be an SSB resource associated with PRACH.; ¶ [0218] Each PRACH repetition group is associated with a different DL RS, such as a different SS/PBCH block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi with the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by improving detection of preamble and limiting preamble collisions for different UE types and priority of the UE (MolavianJazi: ¶¶ [0003-0004] and ¶ [0277]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier in view of MolavianJazi further in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0079059 A1; hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 19, Pelletier does not explicitly teach wherein the selection is further based on a network slice identification (ID).
In analogous art, Li teaches wherein the selection is based on a network slice identification (ID) (¶ [0124] PRACH #0 may be a common PRACH. PRACH #1 may be a dedicated PRACH assigned to network slice #1. When the network slice is in a dormant state or idle state, devices may perform a RA procedure in the common PRACH, during which the network slice may be triggered. The RA sequence used to access a network slice may carry the sNetID.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine network slicing taught by Li with transmission of a PRACH preamble as taught by MolavianJazi and the selection of PRACH resources taught by Pelletier. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by mapping slice identifier to PRACH configurations (Li: ¶¶ [0051-0054]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US 2023/0007702 A1) discloses “Random Access Method and Device for Reduced Capability Terminal in Wireless Communication System”
Svedman (US 2021/0068165 A1) discloses “Efficient Signaling Based on Associations of Configuration Parameters”
Xiong et al. (US 2020/0229242 A1) discloses “Method and Apparatus for Transmitting and Receiving a Signal in a Wireless Communication System”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464