DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39, 41-44, 46, 49, 50, 50, 51 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 20220086673) in view of Yang (US 20210345144) further in view of Breuer (US 20210352538)
Regarding claim 39 and 53, Fujishiro teaches a method by a wireless device, the method comprising:
logging information related to a coverage enhancement, CE, level of a cell, the information (Fig. 8 Step S4 Logging; [0085] “the UE 100 stores the measurement log in association with information regarding the enhanced coverage in which the UE 100 is located (hereinafter referred to as “CE-related information”)”) comprising:
an identifier of the CE level and/or CE level change in a cell ([0087] The UE 100 includes, in the CE-related information, the identifier of the coverage enhancement level (coverage enhancement level number) of the enhanced coverage),
a carrier ([0083] “The measurement information regarding the radio environment may include the identifier of a carrier (one resource block) subjected to the measurement.”), and
a received signal quality (RSRP or RSRQ) and/or a received signal strength measured by the wireless device ([0083] “The UE 100 stores a measurement log .. the UE 100 measures the radio environment .. includes, for example, reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ)”); and
transmitting the information related to the CE level to a network node (Fig. 8 Step S7; UE transmits Log to gNB200)
However, Fujishiro teaches the step of transmitting logging information related to the CE level but does not explicitly teach that the transmitting the information in response to determining that the wireless device has switched to a higher Radio Resource Control activity state.
In an analogous art, Yang teaches in response to determining that the wireless device has switched to a higher Radio Resource Control activity state, transmitting logging information related to the CE level (“when the terminal device is in connected mode” [0130]) that the wireless device has switched to a higher (from low/Idle to higher/Connected RRC activity state) Radio Resource Control activity state ([0130] The measurement report is reported when the terminal device is in connected mode, and the terminal device reports the measurement report to the access network device when switching from RRC idle mode or inactive mode to RRC connected mode. [0138] the terminal device performs the logged MDT measurement in RRC idle mode .. sends the measurement report to the access network device after switching from RRC idle mode or inactive mode to RRC connected mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fujishiro’s teaching of transmitting logging information related to the CE level to also include Yang’s teaching of transmitting the logging information in response to determining that the wireless device has switched to a higher Radio Resource Control activity state because Reporting log measurements when in a connected state allows for proactive issue detection by allowing for the detection of anomalies and potential problems as they arise. This allows for faster response times to issues and prevents them from escalating.
With further regard to claim 53, Fujishiro further teaches a processor (Fig. 2; controller 130).
However, Fujishiro and Yang do not explicitly teach logging information related to the CE level in an Automatic Neighbor Relations, ANR, report.
In an analogous art, Breuer teaches logging information related to the CE level (coverage enhancement level) in an Automatic Neighbor Relations, ANR, report. ([0147] FIG. 3 represents a sequence diagram of the ANR/SON procedure for narrowband communication according to an exemplifying embodiment of the invention; [0079] “According to another preferred embodiment it is suggested that the neighbor measurement report comprises at least one parameter for at least one neighbor base station out of the group of: [0080] reception level of signals from said neighbor base station… [0086] indication about being a user equipment operating in coverage enhancement mode and/or coverage enhancement level” [0173] Once the connection is established the neighbor measurement report M34 is transmitted to the active base station eNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fujishiro’s teaching of transmitting logging information and Yang’s teaching of transmitting the logging information in response to determining that the wireless device has switched to a higher Radio Resource Control activity state to also include Breuer's teaching including the CE level (coverage enhancement level) in an Automatic Neighbor Relations as additional parameter in the report to provide more useful details for the base station to analyze.
Regarding claim 41, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 39, wherein logging the information associated with the CE level comprises periodically determining and logging the CE level of the cell according to a regular time interval (Fujishiro [0073] “As a logging event, periodic logging is configured or an event related to the coverage enhancement function is configured. In a case where the periodic logging is configured, a logging period is specified”).
Regarding claim 42, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the cell is associated with a carrier frequency (Yang [0021] “A “cell” is also used as a term that indicates a function or resource that performs radio communication with the UE 100. One cell belongs to one carrier frequency”).
Regarding claim 43, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the information comprises a relative timestamp indicating a time when the information associated with the CE level was logged (Fujishiro “[0084] The UE 100 stores the measurement information regarding the radio environment along with the position information and the timestamp. A combination of the measurement information regarding the radio environment, the position information, and the time stamp is referred to as a measurement log”).
Regarding claim 44, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the received signal quality and/or the received signal strength comprises a Reference Signal Received Quality, RSRQ, and/or a Reference Signal Received Power, RSRP (Fujishiro [0083] “The UE 100 stores a measurement log .. the UE 100 measures the radio environment .. includes, for example, reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ)”).
Regarding claim 46, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the information associated with the CE level further comprises at least one of
at least one signal level threshold used by the wireless device for deriving the CE level (“[0063] “the UE 100 measures Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and compares the measured RSRP with an RSRP threshold value for each coverage enhancement level to determine the coverage enhancement level of the UE 100. The coverage enhancement level is associated with the number of transmissions in the repetition transmission (i.e., the number of repetitions)”),
a last CE level determined by the wireless device,
the CE level in a particular cell,
a current CE level,
a target CE level, and
a configured number of CE levels,
a relative logging time, Tg,
a transmission configuration of signals associated with one or more CE levels in the cell and
when the information associated with the CE level is logged by the wireless device one or more parameters used by the wireless device for deriving CE level,
an amount of time spent in a CE level before a CE level change occurred,
location information when a CE level change occurred,
a location of the wireless device when the information associated with the CE level is logged (Fujishiro [0051] “the UE 100 ..performs radio measurement, and records measurement results along with UE position information and a timestamp, and transmits log information recorded (measurement log)”);
one or more PRACH configuration parameters associated with the CE level determined by the wireless device (Fujishiro “[0088] The UE 100 includes, in the CE-related information, the number of repetition transmissions actually required for uplink transmission .. In this regard, the uplink transmission is not limited to transmission of uplink data, and may be transmission of a random access preamble (PRACH transmission) in a random access procedure”).
Further, although the limitation has been addressed above for compact prosecution, it is considered that merely listing what the information are without any recited function/step related to the determination of such information or dependency on such information, renders the “information” nonfunction. The list of information plays no role in how the (logging and transmitting) steps are to be performed to achieve the utility of the invention.
Regarding claim 49, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 39, further comprising determining that a threshold amount of time has passed, and wherein the information associated with the CE level is transmitted to the network node in response to determining that the threshold amount of time has passed (Yang “[0024] “the RRC release message may further include a timer used to indicate the terminal device to perform the logged MDT measurement .. The measurement report is reported within the time indicated by the timer so that the energy consumption overheads of the terminal device and the air interface signaling overheads can be further reduced”;” [0067] the timer is used to indicate the end time of the measurement” “[0198] “The timer may be further used to indicate a time (including a start time and an end time of the measurement) within which the logged MDT measurement is performed or an end time”).
Regarding claim 50, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 39, further comprising receiving, from a network node, a configuration for performing the logging of the information associated with the CE level (Fujishiro, Fig. 8 Step S1 UE receives measurement configuration message [0071]), and
wherein logging the information is performed in response to or based on the configuration (Fujishiro, Fig. 8 Step S4 performs logging; or Yang [0142] “the terminal device receives the RRC release message from the access network device. The RRC release message includes the measurement configuration information. [0143] S402. The terminal device performs the logged MDT measurement for the target frequency”).
Regarding claim 51, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 39, further comprising receiving, from a network node, a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message (Yang, RRC release message; [0142]) that triggers or initiates the logging of the information associated with the CE level by the wireless device, and wherein the logging of the information is performed in response to or based on the RRC message (Yang [0141] S401. The access network device sends the RRC release message to the terminal device. [0142] “the terminal device receives the RRC release message from the access network device. The RRC release message includes the measurement configuration information. [0143] S402. The terminal device performs the logged MDT measurement for the target frequency”).
Claim(s) 45, 47-48 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 20220086673) in view of Yang (US 20210345144) further in view of Lee (US 20170374574)
Regarding claim 45, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teach the method of claim 39, further comprising at least one of:
determining a requirement to be fulfilled by the wireless device ([0081],” The UE 100 can find out the number of repetition transmissions actually required for uplink transmission, for example, based on the timing at which the UE 100 receives the ACK from the gNB 200”);
adapting (modify/convert a baseband signal) at least one transceiver parameter for transmitting and/or receiving signals by the wireless device (“[0027] The transmitter 120 performs various types of transmission under control of the controller 130.. The transmitting unit converts the baseband signal (transmission signal) to be output by the controller 130 into a radio signal and transmits the signal from the antenna.”).
However, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer does not explicitly teach “selecting a CE level”
In an analogous art, Lee teaches selecting a CE level ([0215] “Referring to FIG. 22, the UE may receive a measurement configuration from a network (S2210.. include information on a coverage enhancement level needed for the UE for measurement. The coverage enhancement level may be set to one or more levels”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer’s teaching of logging measurement and to also include Lee‘s teaching of selecting a CE level to allow the system the flexibility to choose the most suitable level based on the current condition and instead of being stuck to one particular CE setting.
Regarding claim 47, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 39, further comprising:
determining that an event has occurred or at least one condition has been fulfilled (Fujishiro Fig. 8; detect Logging event S3); and
logging the information associated with a CE level in response to determining that the event has occurred or the at least one condition has been fulfilled (Fujishiro; Fig. 8; in response to step S3 of detecting logging event, perform logging at step S4), wherein the event or the at least one condition comprises at least one of:
acquiring a cell global identity of the cell (Yang “[0155] S501. “The access network device sends the broadcast message to the terminal device.” [0036] “The measurement configuration information is obtained by receiving the broadcast message from the access network device”);
acquiring system information (SIB =system information block) for performing cell reselection to the cell (Yang [0016] The terminal device obtains the measurement configuration information by receiving the broadcast message from the access network device. [0056] “Optionally, the broadcast message may include at least one of the following messages: a SIB 2, a SIB 3, a SIB 4, or a SIB 5. The SIB 2 includes cell re-selection information used for intra-frequency, inter-frequency, and/or inter-RAT cell re-selection, and intra-frequency cell re-selection information other than a neighboring cell.”);
receiving a request from a network node (Yang “[0133] “S301. The access network device sends the logged measurement configuration message to the terminal device”), the request indicating that a measurement is to be performed (Yang “[0135] S302. The terminal device performs the logged MDT measurement for the target frequency.”);
detecting a time expiration (Fujishiro “[0099] Note that the log held in the logged MDT is discarded when a certain period of time has elapsed (i.e., deletion of a log file or deletion of data from the memory). The certain period is, for example, 48 hours”).
However, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer does not explicitly teach performing a cell reselection procedure from a source cell to a target cell. In an analogous art, Lee teaches performing a cell reselection procedure from a source cell to a target cell ([0075],”The UE performs cell reselection based on a service environment provided by the cell or the environment of the UE (S440). If the value of the intensity or quality of a signal measured based on a BS from which the UE is provided with service is lower than that measured based on a BS of a neighboring cell, the UE selects a cell that belongs to other cells and that provides better signal characteristics than the cell of the BS that is accessed by the UE.”);
detecting a change in the CE level in a serving cell, a neighboring cell, and/or a strongest cell; detecting a change in a signal level by more than a threshold amount in the cell ([0075],”The UE performs cell reselection based on a service environment provided by the cell or the environment of the UE (S440). If the value of the intensity or quality of a signal measured based on a BS from which the UE is provided with service is lower than that measured based on a BS of a neighboring cell, the UE selects a cell that belongs to other cells and that provides better signal characteristics than the cell of the BS that is accessed by the UE.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer’s teaching of logging measurement and transmitting the log to also included Lee‘s teaching of detecting a change in a signal level by more than a threshold amount in the cell in order for the system to know when to reselect to a better cell for providing better quality.
Regarding claim 48, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 47, wherein the event or the at least one condition triggers the performance of a measurement to be performed in the cell, and the method further comprises performing the measurement, and wherein the measurement comprises at least one of an ANR measurement (“ranking Rn of a neighboring cell” [0064])(Fujishiro [0064] “Note that the UE existing in the enhanced coverage may perform cell re-selection by using ranking, based on a reception level (RSRP) in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. For example, the UE calculates the ranking Rs of the current serving cell and the ranking Rn of a neighboring cell”; ranking of neighboring cell requires the measurements of neighboring cells to create the neighbor/candidate list/ANR)
a positioning measurement (Fujishiro “[0084] The UE 100 stores the measurement information regarding the radio environment along with the position information and the timestamp. A combination of the measurement information regarding the radio environment, the position information, and the time stamp is referred to as a measurement log”), and
However, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer does not explicitly teach “a cell change measurement. Lee teaches a cell change measurement (“[0015] The measurement configuration may include a threshold for uplink transmission, and when a number of times the UE performs repetitions for uplink transmission exceeds the threshold for uplink transmission, the cell may be measured in the CE mode”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer’s teaching of logging measurement and transmitting the log to also included ‘s teaching to Lee’s teaching of measurement of cell change in order for the system to determine when to make the appropriate change/cell reselection.
Regarding claim 52, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the CE level further comprises at least one of:
a relation between the received signal quality measured by the wireless device and a signal quality threshold (Fujishiro [0063] “the UE 100 measures Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and compares the measured RSRP with an RSRP threshold value for each coverage enhancement level to determine the coverage enhancement level of the UE 100.”),
a relation between the received signal strength measured by the wireless device and a signal strength threshold (Fujishiro [0063] “the UE 100 measures Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and compares the measured RSRP with an RSRP threshold value for each coverage enhancement level to determine the coverage enhancement level of the UE 100”), and
However, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer does not explicitly teach “an indicator of CE level received from the network node”. In an analogous art, Lee teaches “an indicator of CE level received from the network node” ([0215] “Referring to FIG. 22, the UE may receive a measurement configuration from a network (S2210.. include information on a coverage enhancement level needed for the UE for measurement. The coverage enhancement level may be set to one or more levels”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer’s teaching of logging measurement and to also include Lee‘s teaching of selecting a CE level to allow the system the flexibility to choose the most suitable level based on the current condition and instead of being stuck to one particular CE setting.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 20220086673) in view of Yang (US 20210345144) further in view of ANR-reporting (R2-1816427 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #104; “ANR considerations for NB-IoT)
Regarding claim 40, Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer teach the method of claim 39, except wherein the information is transmitted to the network node in an Automatic Neighbor Relations, ANR, report. In an analogous art, ANR-reporting teaches the information is transmitted to the network node in an Automatic Neighbor Relations, ANR, report (Section 1, “ANR reporting” for NB-IoT; Section 2 “The UE performs the measurements and reports the detected neighbor cells”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fujishiro, Yang and Breuer’s teaching of logging measurement and to also include Lee‘s teaching of ANR-reporting teaches the information is transmitted to the network node in an Automatic Neighbor Relations, ANR, report in order to facilitate the process of reselecting a neighboring cell in case of the serving cell signal quality is declining.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 39 and 41-53 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG L LAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646