DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is fraught with indiscriminate and inconsistent description of reference characters as well as seemingly random interchanging of terms. Accordingly, the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 13, line 18, please replace “pre-processing” with “preprocessing” so that term is consistent with spelling throughout the remainder of the specification.
On page 13, line 25, please replace “block 90” with “other facility 90” so that term is consistent that recited on page 15, line 17 and 27 and on page 16, line 22.
On page 18, line 27, the term “waste plastic stream 100” is inconsistent with the term “stream 100” in line 21. Please replace “waste plastic stream 100” with “stream 100 of waste plastic”.†
On page 20, lines 5 and 12, please insert “100” after “total weight of the stream”.
On page 20, line 11, specification introduces the term “MPW stream” which appears to be associated with reference numeral 100. However, the term “MPW stream” is inconsistent with the term “stream 100” defined on page 18, line 21. Please replace “MPW stream” with “stream 100”.†
On page 20, lines 20 and 22, please insert “100” after “total weight of the stream”.
-------------------------
__________________________
† Each reference numeral is associated with a single element. According to the disclosure at page 18, line 21, the stream 100 may be a stream of waste plastic, and the waste plastic may be mixed plastic waste (MPW). Therefore, the term “stream” is generic and may contain, or be a stream of, waste plastic, mixed plastic waste, or a combination of waste plastic and mixed plastic waste. The terms, “waste plastic” and “plastic waste” appear to be synonymous, but it appears that mixed plastic waste (MPW) is a type of “plastic waste”. Therefore, it is deemed that “stream 100” is neither interchangeable with, nor the same as, the terms “waste plastic stream” or “MPW stream”.
On page 21, line 2, replace “the municipal waste stream (or portion of the stream)” with “stream 100”. The municipal waste constitutes a portion of stream 100, and therefore, the relative basis is stream 100, not the municipal waste stream.
On page 21, lines 7, 14, 24, 28, and 31, please insert “100” after “total weight of the stream”.
On page 23, lines 22 and 24, please insert “100” after “total weight of the stream”.
On page 24, lines 3 and 5, please insert “100” after “total weight of the stream”.
On page 24, line 12, please replace “waste plastic stream” with “stream 100 of waste plastic”; see also paragraph 3, supra.
On page 24, lines 14 and 31, please insert “100” after “total weight of the stream”.
On page 25, lines 2, 8, and 11, please insert “100” after “total weight of the stream”.
On page 26, line 22, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 27, line 5, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 27, lines 15 and 17, please replace “waste plastic stream” with “stream 100 of waste plastic”.
On page 30, lines 23 and 29, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 31, line 10, please replace “MPW stream” with “stream 100”; see also paragraph 5, supra.
On page 31, line 13, delete “MPW” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 31, line 24, the term “line 100” is inconsistent with the term “stream 100” defined on page 18, line 21.
On page 32, lines 3 and 5, delete “MPW” which appears prior to “stream 100” (three occurrences).
On page 35, line 17, please replace “pre-processing” with “preprocessing”.
On page 35, line 25, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 36, line 20, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 39, line 26, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 39, line 27, please insert “20” after “facility”.
On page 39, line 29, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 40, line 5, please insert “100” after “stream”.
On page 42, line 4, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 43, line 14, please replace “facility 20 or step” with “step/facility 20” so that terminology is consistent with that written on page 13, line 19.
On page 43, line 15, delete “process or”.
On page 44, line 16, the term “waste plastic feed stream” is inconsistent with the term “stream 100” defined on page 18, line 21. Delete “waste plastic feed”.
On page 44, line 23, please replace “waste plastic (e.g., MPW) stream” with “stream 100 of waste plastic (e.g., MPW)”.
On page 44, line 26 delete “a MPW” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 44, line 27, please insert “112” after “stream”.
On page 44, line 29 delete “MPW” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 44, line 29, please insert “114” after “stream”.
On page 44, line 30, please insert “112” after “stream”.
On page 44, line 30, please insert “112” after “stream”.
On page 45, line 5, delete “product” which appears prior to “stream 114”. Specification defines the term “PET-depleted stream 114” at page 43, line 23.
On page 45, line 16, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 45, line 18, delete “product” which appears prior to “stream 114”.
On page 45, line 21, please replace “MPW 100” with “stream 100”.
On page 45, line 25, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 45, line 26, delete “product” which appears prior to “stream 114”.
On page 45, line 28/29, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 45, line 29, delete “product” which appears after “PET-depleted”.
On page 45, line 30, please insert “114” after “stream”.
On page 46, line 8, delete “product” which appears after “PET-enriched”.
On page 46, line 10, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 46, line 12, delete “product” which appears after “PET-depleted”.
On page 46, line 15, delete “MPW” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 46, line 17/18, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 46, line 18, delete “product” which appears after “PET-enriched”.
On page 46, line 21, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 46, line 22, delete “product” which appears after “PET-enriched”.
On page 47, line 4, delete “product” which appears prior to “stream 114”.
On page 47, line 5, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 47, line 7, delete “product” which appears after “PET-enriched”.
On page 47, line 10, delete “MPW” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 47, line 14, delete “MPW” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 47, line 17, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 47, line 18, delete “product” which appears after “PET-enriched”.
On page 47, line 26, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 47, line 28, delete “product” which appears after “PET-depleted”.
On page 48, line 1, delete “product” which appears after “PET-enriched”.
On page 48, line 4, delete “MPW” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 48, line 7, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 48, line 8, delete “product” which appears after “PET-enriched”.
On page 48, line 16, delete “MPW feed” which appears prior to “stream 100”.
On page 48, line 18, delete “product” which appears after “PET-depleted”.
On page 48, line 20, delete “product” which appears after “PET-enriched”.
On page 49, lines 2, 11, 13, and 14, please insert “112” after “PET-enriched stream”.
On page 49, line 11, please insert “112” after “PET-enriched stream”.
On page 51, line 2, please insert “114” after “(or PO-enriched stream)”.
On page 51, line 7, please insert “114” between “stream” and “The”.
On page 51, line 7, please replace “or PO-enriched” with “(or PO-enriched)”.
On page 51, line 7, please insert “114” between “stream” and “may”.
On page 51, line 12, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)”.
On page 51, line 14, please replace “(or PO-enriched stream)” with “(or PO-enriched) stream 114”.
On page 51, line 19, please replace “or PO-enriched stream” with “(or PO-enriched) stream 114”.
On page 51, line 19, please replace “PO-enriched (or PET-depleted)” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)”.
On page 51, line 22, please insert “20” after “facility”.
On page 51, line 24, please replace “or PO-enriched” with “(or PO-enriched)”.
On page 51, line 28/29, please replace “or PO-enriched” with “(or PO-enriched)”.
On page 51, line 29, please replace “or PO-enriched” with “(or PO-enriched)”.
On page 52, line 4, please replace “or PO-enriched” with “(or PO-enriched)”.
On page 52, line 13, please replace “or PO-enriched” with “(or PO-enriched)”.
On page 52, line 13, please insert “114” after “stream”.
On page 52, line 17, please replace “Or the stream” with “Or the PET-depleted (or PO-enriched) stream 114”.
On page 52, line 23, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)”.
On page 57, line 28, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 58, line 5, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 58, line 7, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 58, line 15, please replace “stream of recycle content glycol 154” with “stream 154 of recycle content glycol” so that terminology is consistent with that recited in line 29.
On page 58, line 19, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 58, line 27, please insert “154” after “stream”.
On page 58, line 29, please insert “154” after “stream”.
On page 59, line 4, please insert “158” between “stream” and “of recycle”.
On page 59, line 4, delete “principal”. Stream 158 of recycle content terephthalyl is generic and contains a principal terephthalyl component.
On page 59, line 5, delete “158” which appears prior to “withdrawn”.
On page 59, line 5, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 59, line 13, please insert “158” after “stream” (two occurrences).
On page 59, line 19, please insert “158” after “stream”.
On page 59, line 20, please replace “154” with “158”.
On page 59, line 22, please replace “154” with “158”.
On page 59, line 24, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 59, line 25, delete “, shown as stream”.
On page 59, line 27, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 60, line 4, please insert “110” after “stream”. The remainder of specification recites the term “solvolysis coproduct stream”. See also Figure 1.
On page 60, lines 9, 11, and 12, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 61, lines 5 and 15, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 61, line 20, please insert “non-PET separation” prior to “zone 208”.
On page 61, line 29, please insert “138” after “stream”.
On page 62, line 7, please insert “138” after “stream”.
On page 62, line 14, please insert “138” after “stream”.
On page 62, line 31, please insert “polyolefin-containing” prior to “coproduct”.
On page 63, lines 1, 4, 8, 13, and 18, please insert “140” after “stream”.
On page 64, line 4, please insert “140” after “stream”.
On page 65, line 20, please replace “the stream” with “the polyolefin-containing coproduct stream 140”.
On page 65, line 22, please insert “140” after “stream”.
Each reference numeral is associated with a single element. Specification defines “reaction zone 210” on page 62, line 1. A solvolysis reactor is a specific type of reactor in the reaction zone. Therefore, on page 66, line 22, please replace “solvolysis reactor (or reaction zone) 210” with “reaction zone (or solvolysis reactor) 210”.
On page 66, line 19/20, please replace “solvolysis reactor (or reaction zone) 210” with “reaction zone (or solvolysis reactor) 210”.
On page 66, line 23/24, please replace “solvolysis reactor (or reaction zone) 210” with “reaction zone (or solvolysis reactor) 210”.
On page 67, line 3, please insert “solvolysis” prior to “facility 30”.
On page 67, line 20, delete “or methanolysis” which appears prior to “facility 30”.
On page 67, line 23, please insert “coproduct” prior to “stream 142” so that language is consistent with that written in lines 26 and 30, as well as that depicted in Figure 3.
On page 68, line 3, please insert “reactor purge coproduct” prior to “stream 142”.
On page 68, line 3, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 68, line 9, please insert “reactor purge coproduct” prior to “stream 142”.
On page 68, line 12, please insert “reactor purge coproduct” prior to “stream 142”.
On page 68, line 23, please insert “reactor purge coproduct” prior to “stream 142”.
On page 69, line 5, please “the stream” with “the reactor purge coproduct stream 142”.
On page 69, line 8, please insert “142” after “stream”.
On page 69, line 28, please insert “reactor” prior to “effluent stream 144”.
On page 69, line 31, please insert “reactor” prior to “effluent stream 144”.
On page 70, line 5, please replace “feed stream 144” with “reactor effluent stream 144”.
Specification appears to define a “heavy organic materials stream 148”. On page 70, line 6, delete “146” and “148” and in line 11, please insert “materials” prior to “organic stream 148”.
On page 70, line 15, please replace “the stream” with “the heavy organic materials stream 148”.
On page 70, line 17, the term “primary terephthalyl product stream 158” is inconsistent with the term “stream 158 of recycle content terephthalyl (r-terephthalyl)” defined on page 59, line 4/5. See also paragraphs 99-101, supra. Replace “primary terephthalyl product stream 158” with “stream 158 of recycle content terephthalyl (r-terephthalyl)”.
On page 70, line 24, please insert “158” after “stream”.
On page 70, line 31, delete the redundant term “coproduct stream” which appears prior to “160”.
On page 71, line 2, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 71, line 6, please replace “coproduct stream” with “terephthalyl bottoms coproduct stream 160” so that language is consistent with that written on page 70, line 17/18 and line 29.
On page 71, line 21, delete “column” so that language is consistent with that written on page 70, line 17/18 and line 29.
On page 71, line 25, delete “column” so that language is consistent with that written on page 70, line 17/18 and line 29.
On page 72, line 2, delete “column” which appears prior to “bottoms”.
On page 72, line 4, delete “column” which appears prior to “bottoms”.
Specification appears to describe a “light organic materials stream 146”. On page 72, line 10, delete “predominantly” and replace “organics” with “organic materials”.
On page 72, line 13, please insert “light organic materials” prior to “stream 146”.
On page 72, line 22, please insert “solvent” prior to “stream 150”.
On page 72, line 23, please insert “solvent” prior to “stream 150”.
On page 72, line 25, please replace “the stream” with “the solvent stream 150”.
On page 72, line 26, please replace “the stream” with “the solvent stream 150”.
On page 72, line 27, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 73, line 5, please replace “the coproduct stream” with “the light organics solvolysis coproduct steam 152”.
On page 73, line 11, please insert ““the light organics solvolysis coproduct” prior to “stream 152”.
On page 73, line 15, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 73, line 16, please insert “solvolysis” prior to “coproduct stream 152”.
On page 73, line 23, please insert “the light organics solvolysis” prior to “coproduct stream 152”.
On page 74, line 1, please replace “the coproduct stream” with “the light organics solvolysis coproduct steam 152”.
On page 74, line 4, please replace “the coproduct stream” with “the light organics solvolysis coproduct steam 152”.
On page 74, line 5, please insert “solvolysis” prior to “coproduct stream 152”.
On page 74, line 13, please replace “the coproduct stream” with “the light organics solvolysis coproduct steam 152”.
On page 74, line 15, please replace “the coproduct stream” with “the light organics solvolysis coproduct steam 152”.
On page 74, line 16, please insert “solvolysis” prior to “coproduct stream 152”.
On page 74, line 28, it is unclear which compound is represented by the term “EG benzoate”.
On page 75, line 11, the term “stream predominantly comprising the principal glycol 154” is inconsistent with the term “stream 154 of recycle content glycol (r-glycol)” described on page 58, line 15. See also paragraph 95, supra, and Figure 3. At the very least, on line 11, insert “154” prior to “predominantly” and on line 12, delete “154” which appears prior to “may also”. In this case, reference numeral “154” corresponds generically to “stream”.
On page 75, line 14, please replace “stream of principal glycol 154” with “stream 154 of principal glycol”.
On page 75, line 17, please replace “principal glycol stream 154” with “stream 154 of principal glycol”.
On page 75, line 18/19, please replace “principal glycol product stream 154” with “stream 154 of principal glycol”.
On page 75, line 23, please replace “glycol-containing” with “glycol” so that terminology is consistent with that written in line 30 and in Figure 3.
On page 78, line 6, delete “stream or” which appears after “solvolysis coproduct”.
On page 78, line 6, delete “(shown as stream” and delete the close parenthesis mark “ ) ” which appears after “FIG. 1”.
On page 78, line 13, please insert “110” after “streams”.
On page 78, line 15, please insert “110” after streams”
On page 78, line 17, please insert “solvolysis” prior to “coproduct” and insert “110” after “stream”.
On page 78, line 19, please insert “solvolysis coproduct” prior to “stream” and insert “110” prior to “may be divided”.
On page 78, line 22, please insert “solvolysis” prior to “coproduct” and insert “110” after “stream”.
On page 78, line 26/27, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)”. Specification defines “PET-depleted stream 114” on page 43, line 23 and recites the term “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched) stream 114” on page 50, line 28.
On page 78, line 27, delete “plastic” which appears prior to “stream 114”.
On page 78, line 27, please replace “pre-processing” with “preprocessing”.
On page 78, line 29, please insert “solvolysis” prior to “coproduct” and insert “110” after “streams”.
On page 79, line 7, please replace “cracker” with “cracking”. Specification defines a “cracking facility 70” on page 13, line 21.
On page 79, line 8, please replace “generation” with “recovery”.
On page 79, line 11, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “waste plastic”.
On page 79, line 13, please insert “40” after “liquification zone”.
On page 80, line 11, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 81, lines 15 and 17, it is unclear which stream the term “total weight of the stream” refers.
On page 81, line 18/19, replace “waste plastic stream” with “stream 100 of waste plastic”. See paragraph 3, supra.
On page 81, lines 28 and 30, it is unclear which stream the term “total weight of the stream” refers. It cannot be stream 100, mentioned in the same paragraph because stream 100 enters a preprocessing facility 20 rather than liquification zone 40.
On page 82, line 1, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “plastic”.
On page 82, line 2, please insert “110” after “coproduct stream”.
On page 82, line 4, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “waste plastic”.
On page 82, line 8, please insert “110” after “coproduct streams”.
On page 82, line 9, please insert “40” after “zone”.
On page 82, line 11, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “waste plastic”.
On page 82, line 15/16, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “plastic”.
On page 82, line 18/19, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “plastic”.
On page 82, line 19/20, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “plastic”.
On page 82, line 25, please replace “chemical recycling” with “chemical processing”.
On page 82, line 29, please insert “110” after “coproduct streams”.
On page 83, line 14, please insert “110” after “coproduct streams”.
On page 83, line 17, please insert “161” after “plastic stream”. Based on Figure 1, it appears that specification is describing a liquified plastic stream 161 that is withdrawn from liquification zone 40.
On page 83, line 27, please replace “stream” with “liquified plastic stream 161”.
On page 83, line 29, please replace “stream” with “liquified plastic stream 161”.
On page 83, line 31, please insert “161” after “plastic stream”.
On page 84, line 10, please insert “161” after “plastic stream”.
On page 84, line 10, please insert “40” after “zone”.
On page 84, line 13, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and insert “114” after “stream”.
On page 84, line 15, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 84, line 20/21, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “waste plastic”.
On page 84, line 23, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “waste plastic”.
On page 85, line 1, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “waste plastic”.
On page 85, line 22, the term “line 171” is inconsistent with the term “stream of liquified plastic 171” recited in line 14/15.
On page 86, lines 8, 10, and 14, please replace “stripper” with “stripping column”. See definition at page 84, line 26.
On page 86, line 20, please insert “stream” prior to “173”.
On page 86, line 21, please replace “stripper” with “stripping column”.
On page 86, line 27, the term “PO-enriched product stream 161” is inconsistent with the term “conduit 61” on page 85, line 27.
On page 86, line 28, please replace “vessel 162” with “vessel 320”.
On page 87, line 2, the term “dehalogenated liquified plastic waste stream 161” is inconsistent with the term “conduit 61” on page 85, line 27.
On page 87, line 6, the term “liquified plastic stream 161” is inconsistent with the term “conduit 61” on page 85, line 27.
On page 87, line 9, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and insert “114” after “stream”.
On page 87, line 10, please insert “40” after “zone”.
On page 87, line 11/12, the term “dehalogenated liquified plastic waste stream 161” is inconsistent with the term “conduit 61” on page 85, line 27.
On page 87, line 16/17, the term “dehalogenated liquified plastic waste stream 161” is inconsistent with the term “conduit 61” on page 85, line 27.
On page 87, line 25, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “plastic”.
On page 88, line 8, please insert “60” after “facility”.
On page 88, line 15, the term “waste plastic stream 116” is inconsistent with the definition “feed stream 116” recited on page 82, line 31. See also page 88, line 22.
On page 88, line 23, please insert “110” after “coproduct stream”.
On page 88, line 24, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and replace “of waste plastic” with “114”.
On page 89, line 23, please replace “reactor 500” with “reactor 510”.
On page 90, line 21/22, the term “waste plastic stream 116” is inconsistent with the definition “feed stream 116” recited on page 82, line 31.
On page 91, lines 4, 10, 16, 18, 22, 25, and 29, please insert “510” after “pyrolysis reactor”.
On page 92, lines 2, 7, and 9, please insert “510” after “pyrolysis reactor”.
On page 92, line 23, please insert “pyrolysis” prior to “reactor 510”.
On page 93, lines 4 and 12, it appears that “heated reactor” refers to “pyrolysis reactor 510”.
On page 93, line 31, it appears that “the stream” should be replaced with “the pyrolysis effluent”.
On page 94, line 12, it appears that “the stream” should be replaced with “the pyrolysis effluent”.
On page 94, line 20, it appears that “pyrolysis unit” refers to “pyrolysis reactor 510” (two occurrences).
On page 95, line 29, please replace “the stream” with “the pyrolysis oil stream 174”.
On page 98, 9, please insert “510” after “pyrolysis reactor 510”.
On page 99, line 14, please insert “gasification” prior to “facility 50”.
On page 99, line 27, please replace “176” with “174”.
On page 99, line 14, please insert “gasification” prior to “facility 50”.
On page 99, line 28, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “waste plastic”.
On page 100, line 23, please replace “cracker facility” with “cracking facility”. Specification defines a “cracking facility 70” on page 13, line 21.
On page 100, line 30, please insert “cracker” prior to “furnace 720”.
On page 101, line 6, please insert “cracker” prior to “feed stream 119”. This term is used throughout the description of Figure 6 and 6b.
On page 101, line 8, please insert “cracker” prior to “feed stream 119”.
On page 101, line 10, please replace “PO-enriched” with “PET-depleted (or PO-enriched)” and delete “of waste plastic”.
On page 101, line 11, please insert “stream” prior to “172” and insert “stream” prior to “174”.
On page 101, line 24, please replace “stream of pyrolysis gas” with “pyrolysis gas stream”.
On page 101, line 25, please insert “stream” prior to “174”.
On page 101, line 25, please replace “cracker facility” with “cracking facility”.
On page 101, line 26, please replace “136” with “119”.
On page 101, line 31, please insert “cracker feed” prior to “stream 119”.
On page 102, lines 7 and 10, please insert “cracker feed” prior to “stream 119”.
On page 103, line 31, please insert “cracker feed” prior to “stream 119”.
On page 104, line 8, please insert “cracker feed” prior to “stream 119”.
On page 104, line 10, please insert “720” after “furnace”.
On page 104, line 21, please insert “cracker feed” prior to “stream 119”.
On page 104, line 28, please replace “sections” with “section”.
On page 104, line 25, please replace “cracker” with “cracking” and insert “70” after “facility”.
On page 104, line 30, delete “752” as Figure 6b lacks this reference numeral.
On page 105, line 10, please insert “cracker” prior to “furnace”.
On page 105, line 13, please insert “cracker” prior to “furnace” (two occurrences).
On page 105, line 14, please insert “radiant section” prior to “tubes 752b”.
On page 105, line 17, please replace “radiant 748 sections” with “radiant section 748”.
On page 105, line 18, please insert “cracker” prior to “furnace”.
On page 105, line 22/33, please replace “cracking furnace 720” with “cracker furnace 720” as described previously on page 100, line 24.‡
On page 105, line 27, please insert “cracker” prior to “furnace”.
_______________________
‡ Each reference numeral is associated with a single element. Specification describing Figures 6 and 6b uses the terms “cracker furnace” and “cracking furnace” interchangeably. While Applicant may be his own lexicographer, the appropriate term is “cracking furnace” as it describes a furnace in which cracking takes place. Additionally, a cracking facility 70 comprises a cracking furnace. Applicant is encouraged to select one definition and use it consistently throughout specification.
On page 106, line 2, please replace “cracker facility” with “cracking facility”.
---
On page 106, line 2, please replace “single cracking” with “single cracker”
On page 106, line 3, please insert “720” after “furnace”.
On page 106, line 4, please replace “cracking furnaces” with “cracker furnaces 720”.
On page 106, line 5, please replace “furnace(s)” with “cracker furnace(s) 720”.
On page 106, line 6, please replace “furnace” with “cracker furnace 720”.
On page 106, line 7, please insert “119” after “stream”.
On page 106, line 9, please replace “furnace” with “cracker furnace 720”.
On page 106, line 10, please replace “furnace” with “cracker furnace 720”.
On page 106, line 7, please insert “136” after “cracker feed”.
On page 106, line 7, please replace “furnace” with “cracker furnace 720”.
On page 106, line 12, please replace “cracking furnace” with “cracker furnace”.
On page 106, line 13, please insert “119” after “stream”.
On page 106, line 27, please insert “stream 119” after “cracker feed”.
On page 106, line 28, please insert “stream 119” after “feed”.
On page 107, line 8, please replace “feed stream” with “cracker feed stream 119”.
On page 107, line 27, please insert “chemical recycling” prior to “facility”.
On page 107, line 28, please replace “cracking furnace” with “cracker furnace”.
On page 107, line 29, please insert “cracker” prior to “furnace”.
On page 107, line 30, please insert “cracker” prior to “furnace”.
On page 108, line 2, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 108, line 3, please replace “cracker” with “cracking”.
On page 108, line 3, please insert “720” after “furnace”.
On page 108, line 5, please insert “feed” prior to “stream 119”.
On page 108, line 5/6, please replace “cracking furnace” with “cracker furnace”.
On page 108, line 8, please replace “cracker stream” with “cracker feed stream 119 in.”
On page 108, line 9, please insert “cracker” prior to “furnace”.
On page 109, line 6, please insert “cracked” prior to “olefin”.
On page 109, line 6, please replace “stream” with “125”. Specification defines “cracked olefin-containing effluent 125” at page 105, line 31.
On page 109, line 10, please insert “cracked olefin-containing” prior to “effluent” and replace “stream” with “125”.
On page 109, 1ine 15, please insert “cracked” prior to “olefin-containing” and delete “stream”.
On page 109, line 19, please replace “stream” with “cracked olefin-containing effluent”.
On page 109, 1ine 21, please insert “cracked” prior to “olefin-containing” and delete “stream”.
On page 109, 1ine 22, please insert “cracked” prior to “olefin-containing” and delete “stream”.
On page 109, 1ine 31, please replace “cracker” with “cracking”.
On page 110, 1ine 1, please insert “stream” prior to “172”.
On page 110, 1ine 2, please insert “stream 172” after “pyrolysis gas”.
On page 110, 1ine 4, please replace “cracker” with “cracking”.
On page 110, 1ine 8, please replace “cracker” with “cracking”.
On page 110, 1ine 10, please insert “60” after “facility”.
On page 110, 1ine 15, please replace “cracker” with “cracking”.
On page 110, 1ine 27, please insert “pyrolysis gas” prior to “stream 172”.
On page 111, 1ine 2, please insert “pyrolysis gas” prior to “stream 172”.
On page 111, 1ine 8, please insert “pyrolysis gas” prior to “stream 172”.
On page 111, line 9/10, please insert “cracked” prior to “olefin-containing” and delete “stream” which appears prior to “125”.
On page 111, line 14/15, please insert “cracked” prior to “olefin-containing” and insert “125” after “effluent”.
On page 110, 1ine 27, please insert “pyrolysis gas” prior to “stream 172”.
On page 118, 1ine 27, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 118, 1ine 28, please insert “50” after “facility”.
On page 121, 1ine 1, please replace “feeds” with “feed”.
On page 121, 1ine 2, please insert “52” after “reactor”.
On page 121, 1ine 9, delete “in” which appears prior to “stream 180”.
On page 121, line 18, please insert “gasification” prior to “feed”.
On page 121, line 19, please insert “gasification” prior to “feed” and insert “116” after “stream”.
On page 122, line 4, please insert “52” after “reactor”.
On page 124, line 8, please insert “52” after “reactor”.
On page 125, line 7, please insert “52” after “reactor”.
On page 126, line 29, please insert “raw” prior to “syngas” and insert “127” after “stream”.
On page 127, line 2, please insert “raw” prior to “syngas” and insert “127” after “stream”.
On page 129, 1ine 24, 26, and 30, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 130, 1ines 3, 4, and 18, please insert “80” after “facility”.
On page 131, 1ine 4, please insert “80” after “facility”.
On page 131, 1ine 6, please insert “30” after “solvolysis facility”.
On page 131, 1ine 6, please insert “60” after “pyrolysis facility”.
On page 131, 1ine 6, please replace “cracker” with “cracking”.
On page 131, 1ine 7, please insert “70” after “facility”.
On page 131, 1ine 7, please insert “50” after “gasification facility”.
On page 131, 1ine 13, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 131, 1ine 14, please insert “50” after “facility”.
On page 132, 1ine 7, please insert “110” after “streams”.
On page 132, 1ine 28, please insert “10” after “facility”.
On page 132, 1ine 29, please insert “30” after “facility”.
On page 133, 1ine 23, please insert “60” after “facility”.
On page 133, 1ine 24, please insert “80” after “facility”.
On page 133, 1ine 24, please insert “50” after “gasification facility”.
On page 134, 1ine 10, please insert “110” after “streams”.
Drawings
Figure 1 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because it includes reference numerals 106 and 108 not mentioned in the description.
Figure 1 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because it includes reference numerals 124 and 126 not mentioned in the description.
Figure 1 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because it includes reference numeral 128 not mentioned in the description.
Figure 1 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because it includes reference numeral 161 not mentioned in the description. See claim objections, paragraphs 204-208, supra.
Figure 3 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because it includes reference numeral 212 not mentioned in the description.
Figure 4 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because it includes reference numeral 128 not mentioned in the description.
Figure 4 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because it does not include reference numeral 312 mentioned in the specification at page 84, line 25.
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please place abbreviations immediately after the term with which it is associated: (i) place “(“pr-propylene”)” after “recycle content propylene composition” in line 1, (ii) place “(POXr-propylene”)” after “gasification recycle content propylene composition” in line 3, (iii) place “(“sr-propylene”)” after “propylene composition” in line 5.
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please place abbreviations immediately after the term with which it is associated. Place “(“dr-propylene”)” after “pyrolysis recycle content propylene composition” in line 3.
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear what is meant by the terms “r-pyoil” and “r-pyrolysis gas” in line 4/5.
Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear what is meant by the terms “r-pyoil” and “r-pyrolysis gas” in line 2.
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear what is meant by the term “r-pyoil” and “r-pyrolysis gas” in line 2.
Claim 39 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 36. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear what is meant by the terms “r-pyoil” and “r-pyrolysis gas” in line 2.
Claim 40 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 37. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear what is meant by the terms “r-pyoil” and “r-pyrolysis gas” in line 2.
Claim 41 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 38. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 42 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, please replace “claims 33” with “claim 33”.
Claim 42 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear what is meant by the term “r-pyoil” in line 2.
Claim 43 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, please replace “claims 34” with “claim 34”.
Claim 43 s objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear what is meant by the term “r-pyoil” in line 2.
Claim 44 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, please replace “claims 35” with “claim 35”.
Claim 45 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear what is meant by the term “r-pyoil” and “r-propylene” in line 2.
Claim 46 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear what is meant by the term “r-pyoil” and “r-propylene” in line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim recites a step of applying a recycle content value to at least a portion of a polypropylene composition. Specification at page 196, paragraph [0533] defines “recycle content value” as a unit of measure (i.e., a mass or a percentage) representative of a quantity of material having its origin in recycled waste. It is not evident how a recycle content value, or unit of measure, can be “applied to” a material, thereby converting a polypropylene composition into a recycle content polypropylene composition. That is, it is unclear what physical process is carried out resulting in a recycle content value being applied to the polypropylene composition. Claim further recites a step of deducting a recycle content value from a recycle inventory. Specification at page 196, paragraph [0534] defines a recycle inventory as an electronic or paper collection of allotments, wherein an allotment is a type recycle content value (page 194, paragraph [0524]). It is unclear from claim how such a deduction leads to one obtaining the recycle content polypropylene composition.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “same entity” in line 9.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “amount of recycle content” in line 11.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim is drawn to a method of making a recycle content polypropylene (r-polypropylene) comprising a step b of making a polypropylene composition. None of the steps describes or indicates formation of claimed recycle content polypropylene. Therefore, claim is indefinite because it is unclear after which step(s) the r-polypropylene is actually made.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim recites a step of applying a recycle content value to at least a portion of any polypropylene composition. Specification at page 196, paragraph [0533] defines “recycle content value” as a unit of measure (i.e., a mass or a percentage) representative of a quantity of material having its origin in recycled waste. It is not evident how a recycle content value can be “applied to” a material. That is, it is unclear what physical process is carried out when a recycle content value being applied to the polypropylene composition. Furthermore, it is entirely unclear how a recycle content value based on recycle content in dr-propylene is “applied to” a generic polypropylene composition that may or may not have any connection with the dr-propylene. Finally, it is unclear how carrying out step c) using a generic polypropylene composition, which appears to be different from the polypropylene composition in step b), results in the formation of the recycle content polypropylene (r-polypropylene). See also preceding paragraph 378.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “r-olefin”, “r-propylene”, and “r-polypropylene”.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “r-olefin” and “r-propylene”.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “r-olefin” and “r-propylene”.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “r-olefin”, “r-propylene”, and “r-polypropylene”.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “r-olefin” and “r-propylene”.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “r-olefin” and “r-propylene”.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “r-olefin”, “r-propylene”, and “r-polypropylene”.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “r-olefin” and “r-propylene”.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “r-olefin” and “r-propylene”.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “said propylene composition” in line 1.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “said cracking” (line 2) in the context of deriving the propylene composition.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim recites a step to obtain a r-propylene composition. Claim lacks nexus between the term “r-propylene composition” and terms “pr-propylene”, “POXr-propylene”, and “sr-propylene” recited in claim 33, and therefore, it is unclear how obtaining the r-propylene composition is related to the method of processing recited in independent claim 33.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “said pyrolysis of waste plastic” in line 2.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “said cracking of r-pyoil” in line 3.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim lacks nexus between the term “r-propylene composition” and the term “propylene composition” in step (a) of claim 34 and the term “r-polypropylene” in step (b) of claim 34. Therefore, it is unclear how obtaining r-propylene is related to the method of making a recycle content polypropylene (r-polypropylene) recited in independent claim 34.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “said propylene composition” in line 1.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “said pyrolysis of waste plastic” in line 2.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “said cracking of r-pyoil” in line 3.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim recites a step to obtain a r-propylene composition. Claim lacks nexus between terms “r-propylene composition” and “dr-propylene” in claim 35 and between terms “r-propylene composition” and “r-polypropylene” in claim 35. Therefore, it is unclear how obtaining the r-propylene composition is related to, or results in, formation of the recycle content polypropylene (r-polypropylene) as described in independent claim 35.
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “said polypropylene”.
Claims 38 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 38 states that recycle content polypropylene (r-polypropylene) is derived from directly or indirectly from cracking r-pyoil or obtained from r-pyrolysis gas. Independent claim 35 recites a step a) of making a recycle content polypropylene (r-polypropylene) comprising obtaining a dr-propylene that is directly derived from cracking r-pyoil or obtained from pyrolysis gas. In some manner, carrying out step a) leads to production of the r-polypropylene (see paragraph 378, supra), and it may be concluded that the r-polypropylene is derived directly or indirectly from cracking r-pyoil or obtained from r-pyrolysis gas. Claim 38 appears to state the same conclusion, and therefore, claim 38 appears to fail to limit further the subject of claim 35.
Since claim 41 is a duplicate of claim 38 (see paragraph 366, supra), the analysis of claim 38 applies to claim 41.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-35, 37, 38, 40, 41, and 45-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Zijl et al. (US 11,667,854; relying on foreign application priority date of February 19, 2019).
Van Zijl et al. a process for production of propylene-based polymers from waste plastics feedstocks. Waste plastics are first processed in a pyrolysis unit to obtain a hydrocarbon stream (col. 5, line 40). The hydrocarbon stream is introduced into a thermal cracking furnace to produce a cracked hydrocarbon stream comprising mono-olefins such as ethylene, propylene and butenes (col. 10, line 27). In particular, the inventive process allows for production of a particularly high quantity of propylene as part of the cracked hydrocarbon stream (col. 10, line 40). The cracked hydrocarbon stream undergoes separation to produce a product stream comprising propylene (col. 10, line 45). Finally, the product stream is supplied to a polymerization reactor to obtain a propylene-based polymer (col. 11, line 7). The catalyst is a Ziegler-Natta catalyst (col. 11, line 30). Since the resulting polypropylene is derived from waste plastic, it has a recycle content value, and one may “apply” a recycle content value to the polypropylene.
Claims 33-35, 37, 38, 40, 41, and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanislaus et al. (WO 2018/025104) in view of Narayanaswamy et al. (US 9,428,695).
Stanislaus et al. discloses a method of processing mixed plastics comprising: (a) contacting the mixed plastics with a zeolitic catalyst in a pyrolysis unit to produce a hydrocarbon product and (b) separating the hydrocarbon product into a hydrocarbon gas stream and a hydrocarbon liquid stream, (d) conveying the hydrocarbon product to a fluid catalytic cracker to produce a treated hydrocarbon liquid stream, (e) feeding the treated hydrocarbon liquid stream into a steam cracker to give a steam cracker product stream, (g) introducing the steam cracker product stream and a scrubbed hydrocarbon gas stream into a separation unit to produce an olefin gas stream (claim 20, Figure 1). Table 10 shows that inventive process produces an olefin gas stream having an increased ratio of propylene product. Reference is silent with the fate of the olefin gas stream.
The invention of Narayanaswamy et al. discloses conversion of plastics to olefin products with product recycle. Inventors teach that light gas olefins such as ethylene, propylene, and butenes can be used in polymerization (col. 24, line 18). One of ordinary skill in the art, practicing the invention of Stanislaus et al., would have found it obvious to use propylene product as monomer for polymerization to make polypropylene. Since the resulting polypropylene is derived from waste plastic, it has a recycle content value, and one may “apply” a recycle content value to the polypropylene.
Claims 48-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanislaus et al. (WO 2018/025104) in view of Narayanaswamy et al. (US 9,428,695), and further in view of Weber et al. (US 3,326,872).
The discussion of the disclosure of the prior art from the preceding paragraph is incorporated here by reference. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make polypropylene by polymerizing propylene in the presence of a Ziegler-Natta catalyst.
Claims 33-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bitting et al. (US 11,946,000; relying on provisional filing date of May 24, 2019) in view of Narayanaswamy et al. (US 9,428,695).
Bitting et al. teaches conversion of waste plastic to useful products. Waste plastic is subjected to pyrolysis in a pyrolysis unit to produce a pyrolysis oil composition. The pyrolysis oil composition is cracked in a gas furnace cracking unit to provide an olefin containing effluent stream (col. 1, line 64 – col. 2, line 30; Figures 1 and 10). The effluent stream is separated into olefin products including propylene. Reference is silent with the fate of the separated propylene.
The invention of Narayanaswamy et al. discloses conversion of plastics to olefin products with product recycle. Inventors teach that light gas olefins such as ethylene, propylene, and butenes can be used in polymerization (col. 24, line 18). One of ordinary skill in the art, practicing the invention of Stanislaus et al., would have found it obvious to use propylene product as monomer for polymerization to make polypropylene. Since the resulting polypropylene is derived from waste plastic, it has a recycle content value, and one may “apply” a recycle content value to the polypropylene.
Claims 48-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bitting et al. (US 11,946,000) in view of Narayanaswamy et al. (US 9,428,695), and further in view of Weber et al. (US 3,326,872).
The discussion of the disclosure of the prior art from the preceding paragraph is incorporated here by reference. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make polypropylene by polymerizing propylene in the presence of a Ziegler-Natta catalyst.
Double Patenting
Claims 33, 36, 42, and 45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 34, 40, 43, and 46 of copending Application No. 17/995,715. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Copending claims are drawn to substantially the same method of processing a pyrolysis recycle content composition (pr-composition) derived directly or indirectly from pyrolysis of waste plastic, a POX gasification recycle content composition (POXr-composition) derived directly or indirectly from POX gasisification of waste plastic, and/or a solvolysis recycle content composition (sr-composition) derived directly or indirectly from solvolysis of waste plastic, wherein the method comprises feeding the pr-composition, the POXr-composition, and/or the sr-composition into a reactor, wherein the composition is a propylene composition. In this case, the pr-composition, POXr-composition, and sr-composition of copending claims is substantially the same as the pr-propylene, POXr-propylene, and sr-propylene of instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 33, 36, 42, and 45 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 34, 40, 43, and 46 of commonly assigned Application No. 17/995,715 for the same reasons set in preceding paragraph 411.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned Application No. 17/995,715, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Information Disclosure Statement
References lined out in the information disclosure statement dated January 11, 2023 were not considered because these references contain disclosures not germane to the subject of instant invention.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Rip A. Lee whose telephone number is (571)272-1104. The examiner can normally be reached 9 AM - 5 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Jones can be reached at 571-270-7733. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RIP A LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
July 9, 2025