DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by How to Grow a Coffee Plant from Roasted Beans.
Claim 10 is directed toward roasted coffee beans that’s been washed and dried.
How to Grow a Coffee Plant from Roasted Beans teaches soaking roasted beans in water and removing the water. The soaking step of How to Grow a Coffee Plant from Roasted Beans is the claimed wash. The removing the water step of How to Grow a Coffee Plant from Roasted Beans is the claimed drying step.
In the instant case, How to Grow a Coffee Plant from Roasted Beans teaches the claimed roasted coffee beans that’s been washed and dried. Therefore, the claimed invention is anticipated by How to Grow a Coffee Plant from Roasted Beans.
Re claim 11 is directed toward a drinkable composition made from either roasted coffee that’s been washed and dried, or the wash solution that the roasted coffee bean was washed in.
In the instant case, How to Grow a Coffee Plant from Roasted Beans teaches roasted coffee beans that’s been washed and dried. How to Grow a Coffee Plant does not explicitly teach using the washed and dried roasted coffee or the wash solution as a drinkable composition. However, given that How to Grow a Coffee Plant teaches the use of water for the wash, How to Grow a Coffee Plant implicit teaches a drinkable composition.
Conclusion
Amended claims 1-9 and 12-14 are allowable for reason(s) set forth in the nonfinal. Newly added claim 15 is also allowable for reciting dependency to allowable claim and of the same statutory class of invention as allowable claim.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/EMILY M LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793