DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 21, 22, and 24-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (CN 109438446) (hereafter “Gao”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 16, 21, 22, and 24-32, Gao teaches an electroluminescent device comprising, an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (page 6 of the machine translation). Gao teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a dopant (page 6 of the machine translation). Gao teaches that the light emitting layer is made using vacuum deposition (page 6 of the machine translation). Gao teaches that the dopant material can have the following structure,
, which meets applicant’s formula I where X is ), Y is CR1R2, where R1 and R2 are substituted phenyl groups, where the substitutes form a fused ring system (pages 6-8 of the machine translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach of make obvious compounds that meet applicant’s formula 1a, the closest prior art Gao et al. (CN 109438446) (hereafter “Gao”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent, teaches the following compound,
, but the prior art fails to teach or make obvious modify the compounds of Gao to arrive at the applicant’s claimed formula.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 2020/0411763) teaches boron compounds comprising a nitrogen containing heterocyclic group and the use of the compounds in the light emitting layer of electroluminescent devices.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759