Detailed Action
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lenchenkov (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0228689).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 4 of Lenchenkov discloses a solid-state imaging element comprising: a first light receiving pixel (38C) that receives visible light; a second light receiving pixel (38N) that receives infrared light; and a metal layer (34) provided to face at least one of a photoelectric conversion unit (140) of the first light receiving pixel and a photoelectric conversion unit of the second light receiving pixel on an opposite side of a light incident side, the metal layer containing tungsten as a main component [0033].
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 4 of Lenchenkov discloses the metal layer is provided to face the photoelectric conversion unit of the second light receiving pixel.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 4 of Lenchenkov discloses the metal layer is a multilayer [0033].
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 1 of Lenchenkov discloses an electronic device comprising: a solid-state imaging element (12); an optical system (16) that captures incident light from a subject and forms an image on an imaging surface of the solid-state imaging element; and a signal processing circuit (18) that perform processing on an output signal from the solid-state imaging element, wherein (FIG. 4) the solid-state imaging element includes a first light receiving pixel (38C) that receives visible light, a second light receiving pixel (38N) that receives infrared light, and a metal layer (34) provided to face at least one of a photoelectric conversion unit of the first light receiving pixel and a photoelectric conversion unit of the second light receiving pixel on an opposite side of a light incident side, the metal layer containing tungsten as a main component [0033].
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 3 and 5-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenchenkov, in view of Yokogawa (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0244992).
Regarding Claim 3
Lenchenkov discloses Claim 1.
Lenchenkov is silent with respect to “the metal layer is provided to face the photoelectric conversion unit of the first light receiving pixel”.
FIG. 10 of Yokogawa discloses a similar solid-state imaging element, wherein the metal layer (RM1) is provided to face the photoelectric conversion unit of the first light receiving pixel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lenchenkov, as taught by Yokogawa. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lenchenkov in the above manner for purpose of improving sensitivity ([0004] of Yokogawa).
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 9 of Yokogawa discloses the metal layer (RM) has a gap in plan view.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 10 of Yokogawa discloses a semiconductor layer (103) in which the photoelectric conversion unit of the first light receiving pixel and the photoelectric conversion unit of the second light receiving pixel are provided; and a wiring layer (101) provided on a surface on an opposite side of a light incident side of the semiconductor layer and having a plurality of layers of wiring (106), wherein the metal layer (RM) is provided on a light incident side of the plurality of layers of wiring in the wiring layer.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 10 of Yokogawa discloses the wiring layer (101) includes a plurality of pixel transistors respectively connected to the photoelectric conversion unit of the first light receiving pixel and the photoelectric conversion unit of the second light receiving pixel, and the metal layer (RM) is arranged not to overlap the pixel transistor in plan view (FIG. 9).
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 10 of Yokogawa discloses the wiring layer (101) includes a plurality of pixel transistors respectively connected to the photoelectric conversion unit of the first light receiving pixel and the photoelectric conversion unit of the second light receiving pixel, and the metal layer (RM) is arranged to ride on an opposite side of a light incident side of the pixel transistor.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 10 of Yokogawa discloses the wiring layer includes a lens (22) provided on a light incident side of the metal layer.
Claims 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenchenkov and Yokogawa, in view of Nagai (JP 2012084815, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 10
Lenchenkov as modified by Yokogawa discloses Claim 6.
Lenchenkov as modified by Yokogawa is silent with respect to “the metal layer includes a plurality of protrusion portions arranged on a surface on the light incident side, and a wall-shaped side wall portion protruding from a peripheral edge portion of the surface on the light incident side toward the light incident side”.
FIG. 10 of Nagai discloses a similar solid-state imaging element, wherein the metal layer (112) includes a plurality of protrusion portions arranged on a surface on the light incident side, and a wall-shaped side wall portion protruding from a peripheral edge portion of the surface on the light incident side toward the light incident side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lenchenkov, as taught by Nagai. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lenchenkov in the above manner for purpose of suppressing color-mixing (Advantage of Nagai).
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 10 of Nagai discloses the wiring layer includes a high reflectance film (Cu) arranged to cover a surface on the light incident side in the metal layer.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 10 of Nagai discloses a semiconductor layer (101) in which the photoelectric conversion unit of the first light receiving pixel and the photoelectric conversion unit of the second light receiving pixel are provided; and a wiring layer provided on a surface on an opposite side of a light incident side of the semiconductor layer and having a plurality of layers of wiring, wherein the metal layer is provided on the semiconductor layer.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenchenkov, in view of Kitamura (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0140000).
Regarding Claim 13
Lenchenkov discloses Claim 1.
Lenchenkov is silent with respect to “the metal layer is connected to a ground potential”.
FIG. 1 of Kitamura discloses a similar solid-state imaging element, wherein the metal layer (114) is connected to a ground potential [0026].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lenchenkov, as taught by Kitamura. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lenchenkov in the above manner for purpose of reducing noise in photodiode ([0026] of Kitamura).
Claims 14 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenchenkov, in view of Kokubun (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0343766).
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 4 of Lenchenkov discloses a solid-state imaging element comprising: a first light receiving pixel (38C) that receives visible light; a second light receiving pixel (38N) that receives infrared light; and a reflection layer (34) provided to face at least one of a photoelectric conversion unit of the first light receiving pixel and a photoelectric conversion unit of the second light receiving pixel on an opposite side of a light incident side.
Lenchenkov is silent with respect to the reflection layer is “an optical filter reflection layer” “having a reflectance of a given value or more”.
FIG. 1 of Kokubun discloses a similar solid-state imaging element, wherein the reflection layer (22) is an optical filter reflection layer having a reflectance of a given value or more [0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lenchenkov, as taught by Kokubun. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lenchenkov in the above manner for purpose of reducing occurrence of sensing malfunction ([0027] of Kokubun).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 1 of Kokubun discloses the optical filter reflection layer is provided over an entire pixel region.
Pertinent Art
US 20100110271, 20180019270, 20110049330.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897